Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 06/03/2021 to 15/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 199 Reviews
                9/10 from 199 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  199 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Thedales34 2 reviews from this member

 The approach road (A396) is a long winding road and quite narrow in places; however the site itself is worth the journey.

Pheasants were everywhere on-route and they also visited the campsite itself. The site is fairly flat with several hard standings.

There is free Wifi which was a real help as there was no Vodafone coverage there, in fact the whole of the valley appeared to lack Vodafone coverage. TV access is also available and Reception have coaxial leads available free of charge. We also managed to get a satellite connection.

The campsite shop is well stocked and Tonia worked hard keeping everything running during the terrible weather we experienced during our stay, helping units get off the soggy grass.

Due to Covid 19, there was only one shower and one toilet available, but both were spotless.

This campsite is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roswoo 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful, clean, so tidy,

Amazing spot to visit places,

Will definitely be going back next year, ,

Showers and toilets very clean,

They are so helpful, thank you exe valley from Rosalind wood 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wayliz 5 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful, very helpful staff, well maintained and very spacious.

When we arrived we were given a choice of two pitches, we chose near the Mill stream,

There is a road that passes along the one side of the field but not overly noisy.

The field is all plotted out with ample space for large tents, motorhome etc with still plenty of space between. Showers are good, clean and modern, as are the toilets.

The site shop is well stocked and you can order food for the next day if required.

There are lots of places to visit nearby.

We will definitely be going back next year for a longer stay, and take the dogs with us, as there is some great walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenniesdad 1 review from this member

 Lovely stay at friendly site- I rarely review so this must reflect my good impression!.

Had forgotten that by booking 7 nights we got one free, which was a nice surprise on arrival.

Owner/ manager was very friendly and helpful and all staff were really going all out to clean thoroughly with one way system to access reduced facilities. Most seemed to be using their own units when they could.

Reception doubled as village shop ( although I didn't see locals) great range of everything- local butcher plus fresh local bakery items. Local pub has limited opening due to covid, and no menu displayed outside.

Great hill walking from the site. Dulverton a 5ish mile hilly walk. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: VicciV 1 review from this member

 We loved our time on this quiet, spacious and well maintained site. The clear instructions on the website made it easy to find. The owner was very welcoming and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay, and there were very good sizes pitches to choose from with either the river or the mill stream behind.

The staff worked hard to keep everything clean during this Covid-19 period and it was clear that the site was taking care of everyone's safety.

We enjoyed the short stroll to the beautiful weir at one end of the park, and at the other we used the very well stocked shop- we were very impressed with the local cider that was sold!

There are many local attractions open - we visited the National Trust properties at Dunster and Knightshayes. Lynton and Lynmouth are within easy reach, and also enjoyed an afternoon at Porlock Weir.

Overall we had a fantastic stay here and we'll be sure to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jackiethebus 1 review from this member

 Just had 3 nights at this wonderful site. Actually I had only booked 2 but asked to stay for a 3rd as I didn’t want to go home. Very peaceful with a wee bit of road noise but not a problem. Lovely to have the river and mill stream behind your pitch with lots of wildlife to watch.

Pitches are well spaced although I was on one of the smaller ones as I had a small camper but still adequate. Facilities are second to none. They’ve thought of everything. Wash cubicles multiple showers and toilets. I never had to wait even though the site was very busy.

A bonus of laundry room with washing machines, microwave and freezer if you should need it. Information hut is well stocked. Folders with scenic drives and self-guided walks from the site. I did the shortest one on my own and it was very easy to follow.

The office even has a little shop selling essentials. Again a bonus on a relatively small site. There’s free wifi and a lovely pub down the road that made me feel very welcome as I was on my own. I had 2 meals there. Very friendly.

The site wardens and owners are lovely and give guided tours of their mill house on Sunday mornings. I will definitely be back as I am only 90 mins away.

This will be the perfect getaway. Thank you so much. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 3rackhams 11 reviews from this member

 Nightmare of a journey down and I missed the turning thankfully there is a turning just up the road also some room if coming down from minehead direction, just passed the pub, so we were well pleased with a warm welcome and a free coffee.

We were shown on a map the pitches and basically told help yourself to any empty pitch. Which was a nice touch. The loo`s spotless ever time, But do expect the spiders to return at some stage you are in the countryside after all.

The same with the showers and washing up room spotless. For a site with only 50 pitches it never seemed busy when it was and we never had to wait for the loo or the showers.

I was looking for a quite get away do a spot of fishing and relax AND IT WAS you are in the middle of nowhere, with the drive out to Minehead (20 miles ish away ) with superstore`s mcDonalds and all the trappings of the seaside or a little further ( and some ) going down the country lanes to Ilfracombe.

With the pub just down the road selling cold beer and hot food (not over priced and a good choose to offer ) and a mobile fish & chip van on Wednesdays, free WIFI and TV. Just sitting and relaxing was torbale.

What was there to dislike ?

For me it was a little to far out of the way that's all. Would I go back yes but a shorter stay  


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 Agree everything said on the post below. Our Fourth stay here and sadly it’s a downhill slide.

Dirty marks on bathroom walls there for the whole time we were there yet very visual, plus cobwebs galore.

Wi-fi very good though, as are the pitch conditions.

Golf buggy up and down at high speed at every opportunity throwing dust over us, not ideal at all, the same from speeding cars but no attempt to stop this so we asked a number of times.

Shop still bare, it would help a lot for MH owners to have access to more products.

Facilities overall good, would we return, we are 50/50. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil Heb 14 reviews from this member

 This site is generally as advertised, but in my opinion not quite as ‘perfect’ as you would expect from the website/brochure.

We arrived after reception closed, but a note for us pinned outside the door told us to pitch anywhere that was not ‘reserved’ and book in next morning. However, as we pulled up one of the wardens came out of their caravan and confirmed this, and also pointed out that the pitch numbers were supposed be the middle of the pitch (really not obvious).

Pitches are on either side of the central driveway, all really long and reasonable width. Most are grass, with some recently installed hardstanding (gravel) pitches, although these are some distance from the hook-up points, so long leads would be required. Note that these hard pitches are nowhere near level!

Facilities blocks are split up; ladies and gents shower blocks, with one WC in each and sinks. Main toilet blocks separate, with more sinks. Washing up and laundry room, with one sink reserved for laundry and one for veg prep, so limited number available.

The Information shed was a real disappointment; we visited in late April but most of the tourist info leaflets were from the previous year, so not really useful. Local bus info was supposed to be in a folder, presumably with copies to take away - there were none left and obviously the staff did not check this during our 4-day stay. A copy on the wall would have been more use. However there was a folder of local walks, written by the staff/owners which were quite good. Again there were copies to take away, but looked like some had ‘run out’.

Site is advertised as good for walking from the gate. True, but most walks on to the moor require walking 1. 5 miles up the lane (up to 1 in 4 hill) to start with, so beware. Over a 4 day stay we did this up twice and down twice!

In summary, a well-equipped site in a nice location, but with a bit more attention to detail it could be better. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JDTD 3 reviews from this member

 Very pretty site beautifully maintained. River flowing gently one side and Mill race on the other side with a great dog walk area upto the weir.

They have thought of everything, spotless facilities, library, info room, shop and a dog wash crufts would be proud to have. Very friendly hosts and great pub over the road.

We went on a few local walks from the site making use of local footpaths. Climbed cardiac hill as the locals call it, just about survived.

Fish and chips visited the site best chips I’d had for ages. Delightful site hope to visit again one day. 


Previous     199 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1917 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement