Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue faulder 6 reviews from this member

This campsite is sooooo good. We only booked for 3 nights and the weather was diabolical, but the site is so lovely we really enjoyed it. We stayed on the Mill stream side next to the wheel outlet and enjoyed the sound of rushing water. Although the weather was bad, we walked down to the weir and it is worth the walk. The pitches are huge and level. There is a laundry, microwave, library, washing up area and required waste emptying facilities. The showers are the best we have ever used. Lovely and clean, heated with no press buttons in sight. Hubby was impressed with HOT water for a shave. The site is easily accessible although you have to watch out for pheasants in the road. The surrounding countryside is lovely and the site offers access to some great places to visit. All in all a wonderful site to stay at. We can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MandnMerv 1 review from this member

Another lovely holiday at this fabulous site. Everything is so clean and tidy and the facilities are brilliant. The wardens, Debbie and Steve, are friendly, helpful and welcoming, as is the owner and his daughter. We had a little problem with our caravan and had to get a new part for it and the owner lent us his box of spanners, for which we were very grateful.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 13 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to this Adult Only site this year, set by a Water Mill.

If you like quiet sites this is the one to visit, but have to use car to get around. Very poor local public transport.

But will definitely return.

When booking asked for same pitch we had in April or one close to it.

Ended up with the pitch next to it.

We arrived on a Sunday, so also booked a table for Sunday Lunch in Badgers Holt Pub just across the road from the site.

Our arrival was slightly early, we were welcomed by paul (the owner) and his daughter and as the pitch was ready for us, were able to pitch the tent before going for our Lunch.

As we were putting all our camping equipment into the tent, Steve the Warden also came over to welcome us. The pitches are very generous. The River Exe was at the back of our pitch. The Mill Stream is behind the pitches opposite, with a bridge to get to the Facilities.

There is a flag pole near the entrance of the site and flags are put up for the different nationalities that are staying on site.

Yet again the facilities are spotless at all times. Showers, dish washing Laundry and toilets. There is also a small shop in the Reception, for milk, butter, eggs, cakes, ice creams and some camping bits.

The resident ducks were still wandering near the mill stream.

Near by there are Road signs 'Pheasants on road' and many Pheasants can be seen in fields in the area.

In April there were diversions on some roads to the coast for repairs but all roads open now and easier to get to Dunster, Minehead, Blue Anchor and Watchet.

The Somerset Steam Railway goes to these villages and we saw different steam trains when we visited them.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Valerie Stratton 1 review from this member

Just arrived home from spending two brilliant weeks at exe valley site. Two adults and two dogs. Wardens Steve and Debbie are very helpful and met Paul the owner who also finds time to speak to visitors.

We were on pitch 17 by the stream and enjoyed watching the Dragon flies fluttering around while enjoying the best weather so far this year counted 13 one day. We managed to visit several places that we would recommend, I'm gluten free so sometimes it's difficult to eat out The Dulverton Fish & Chip shop does gluten free open every evening 5-9pm Wed -Sat 12-2pm closed Sunday. Royal Oak Winsford meals very nice we went for Sunday lunch need to book. Also Winsford Bridge Cottage tea rooms plus it's a very pretty village near site. Porlock tea rooms very nice good and friendly staff. Dunster castle and village loverly Went on the steam train from Minehead to Bishops Lydeard well worth the money the village is about fifteen minutes walk under the tunnel Bird in Hand pub very nice and do cream teas hubby had one but chef had not got gluten free scones so gave me a very big bag of cherries free lasted days and were best ever tasted.

So if Exmoor is the place you want to visit take a look you won't regret it.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 19 reviews from this member

This my second visit to Exe Valley Caravan & Camping site, it was excellent on my first visit, but the site just gets better.

My first visit was in May 2015 & I submitted a review on UK Campsites giving it 10 out 10.

The site deserved that grading, but my second visit was again in May this year, I had told my sister all about this site & the beautiful area the site is located in, in the middle of Exemoor.

Since my last visit of three years ago, the facilities blocks have been totally refurbished to the very highest of standards, all with power showers, it fact there so good you didnít want to get out.

This is an adult only site, it is so good to have really hot water for washing up, it makes the job quick & easy. The washing up area is inside, along with the vegetable preparation area.

The Electrical hook-ups are 16amp & all the hook-up boxes have a television socket & the site is cover by free wi-fi, most sites charge you for wi-fi facilities.

The site has new wardens Debbie & Steve since my first visit, so are very friendly & helpful, always had time to talk & they kept the site immaculate, a credit to them both.

It was wonderful to meet & talk with Christine & Paul the site owners, they are always re-investing in the site, it fact it is wonderful when you think we visited out of season in the middle of May & the site was over 80% full & some days totally full.

The weather was very kind to us, in fact we had just fours of light rain (early morning) during the week, the rest of the time the sun shone, so what more can you ask, a wonderful site & wonderful weather.

I took my sister to see the best the Exemoor as too offer, Dunster, Dunster Castle & Windmill, Dulverton, Minehead & my sister just loved the Tarr Steps. We can recommend the Royal Oak of Winsford, we had a lovely meal.

May we thank Christine & Paul, along with Debbie & Steve for a wonderful week, keep up the good work, we will be returning.

Brian & Martina Wilkins & Joy Croucher Ė Tonbridge, Kent

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanlife 5 reviews from this member

The rave reviews are well deserved. This is a well maintained, pleasant site.

The site has pitches on two sides of the field (some hard standing available) and you can choose riverside or mill stream side. By the river you get an uninterrupted view of the river and wooded hillside on the opposite bank. There is a footpath so people will walk past on the other side of the river. By the mill stream you will be looking across the grass towards other units possibly but there's plenty of space and you can still see parts of the river/hill. The mill stream is where the wall/hedge boundary to the site is and the road is the other side of this. Road noise is not bad but the occasional nutter roars into the village. It was quiet at night. Specify your preference when booking as the riverside pitches are popular.

Lots of dogs (good dog walk on site, at end) but no screaming kids! Plenty of good walks in the area including ones directly from the site.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 13 reviews from this member

This camping site is an Adult Only one because of the river. Originally booked for 3 nights, but enjoyed this quiet adult only site stayed and extra night. Tent and EHU. Good sized pitches.

A warm welcome from the Wardens and told to have a walk around then come back and say which pitch we wanted. All pitches are between a river and the Mill House. With walks either side of the Park, one walk leading to a Weir.

The Owners live in a Water Mill, and on Sunday mornings, will show campers the workings of the wheel then upstairs to his home where the mill stonestone are still in place in his lounge. His wife will then show old photos and give an outline of the working mill and people who had lived there.

The Facilities are housed in old milking buildings but are new and kept spotless. Will definitely be returning to this lovely site.

Only gave 8 out of 10 on Site location because only 1 bus in morning, so needed a car to get around.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bbdawes 12 reviews from this member

A well maintained site with a few extra perks like a dog wash, nice pub across the road and some great walks nearby. We would advise booking a pitch even though its a fairly big site because we weren't allowed on the grass pitches due to the rain. Luckily we managed to get the last remaining hardstanding. Good toilet/ shower blocks. Lots of local information available on site plus the ever friendly wardens on site to help.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark Palmer 9 reviews from this member

PERFECTION PERSONIFIED.

That's really all I can say about this site.

It was just as advertised. Quiet, friendly, adults only, and spotlessly clean.

A beautiful site located in the grounds of an old water mill, 10 minutes drive from Dulverton.

The pitches are well marked out, and very large. If you're not a fan of all day sunshine, then ask to be located on the river side of the park, likewise, if you want the full sun all day, ask to be located on the mill stream side of the park.

The showers are modern and spotless (and I'm heartened to see that a squeegee was provided, so we could do the continental thing of wiping away any excess water when you've finished), and are free, with plenty of hot water.

The toilets are located separately, and again are modern and spotless.

Dogs are welcome on site, and the dog walk area is almost as big as the site itself. Plenty of areas for our furry friends to explore. If your dogs are anything like ours, and love a good swim (straight from the back of the pitch!, then you'll find an elevated dog shower, with luke warm water. (Also free to use).

The site shop sells basic items (frozen meats and par baked bread, a few tinned goods), and is run by the site wardens. It must be noted that the shop is closed on one day of the week (everyone deserves a day off), but if the wardens are around, they were quite happy to open up for a few minutes. (This was a blessing, as we stayed during the scorching hot period, and ice cream was a necessity!) if the wardens aren't around, then the nearest big shop is in Dulverton (parking is a bit of a nightmare).

WIFI is site wide, (but was only working near the entrance on our visit. There was a fault, and the wardens were waiting for BT to visit to rectify the fault) Due to the number of pitches, they ask that you don't use the WIFI to download films, as the bandwidth is for everyone to use, and streaming/downloading takes up a lot of the bandwidth, therefore stopping others from getting online. If you want to watch films, it's probably best if you download them BEFORE you visit.

I can honestly say that this is the best site that we have visited in the UK. It rates up there with the best of the sites in Germany and Austria (if you've stayed in those places, you'll know what I mean!).

We will definitely be making a return visit, and it's not often that I can say that about a UK site.

One thing that you MUST pack for your visit, is bite cream, and antihistamines. There were a few horse flies around, and midges. Obviously this is due to the site being surrounded by water, and something that is completely out of the control of the site wardens/owners.

Other than that, I still rate this site as being 10/10.

If the wardens and owner read this review, then keep up the stirling effort.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SJJohns 7 reviews from this member

This site is excellent. Perfect location for touring Exmour and the North Somerset coast, easy to find and get to, quiet location, good walking from the site, excellent facilities, great wardens, good information hut and on-site shop - the fresh scones, cream and jam are highly recommended.

In terms of nearby facilities the pub across the road is good and out of the site, turn left and left at the next crossroads there is a garage with a 'One Stop Shop'

There are some slight negatives, but these do not outweigh the positives, in my view. Lack of phone signal - but okay if you are on virgin/ EE, no 3G - but this is normal across many remote areas, plus the WIFI was not working on the site when we were there. The only other slight negative is that the toilets and showers are near the entrance and so if you are down the other end of the site you have a little walk, however, they are excellent when you get there.

I can well recommend this site and we will be returning!

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1710 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977