Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 06/03/2021 to 15/10/2021
           06/03/2022 to 15/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daisyted 4 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay two nights after being recommended the site, we turned up all excited for our short break away, I was disappointed with the first impressions of the site. Two rows of pitches with no segregation everyone pitched just how they wanted to. We opted for pitch number fourteen that backed on to the Mill stream, but it was not the babbling of the stream we could hear but the noise of the passing traffic. In the morning we both showered and again not happy very small showers with shared drainage! We decided not to stay for the second night that we had paid for and moved on. We would not return to this site, but I am sure it fits the bill for some. 
Management response: Very disappointed to have a dissatisfied camper. This is in contrast to the other reviews, and the compliments we receive daily.


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RusstheWelshman 9 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site! It was great to wake up next to the River Exe bubbling its way through the site. Very friendly and helpful wardens. Site is between the river and a mill stream. The pitches adjacent to the river seem to be more level. Great dog walk at the bottom of the site, very picturesque. On site shop stocks the basics that you'll need. They will lend you an aerial to connect your TV to the communal antenna as there is no digital reception here. No phone signal either! Don't forget that payment is by cheque or cash only. They cleaned me out! Fortunately the local pub, the Badgers Holt, will accept credit & debit cards. Welcoming landlord, good Exmoor beer and good choice of pub food. They also allow dogs into the bar. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at Exe Valley and so wish it had been longer.

Where to start with this fantastic site.

The pitches were of a very good size we have a large tent 3. 5m x 5m plus a porch extension, it fit with ease and with good soft ground, well drained. We went river side.

The shower and toilet block were spotless well positioned at one end of the site. The showers in the women's rival the power shower at home with plenty of free hot water. Separate toilet block where modern and nice. Never had to queue for either.

Laundry was great with washer and a separate dryer - Cheap. (one full washing load cost us 1 and to dry 50p)

Dish washing area as above with very hot water, washing bowls provided too. A freezer for campers to freeze freezer blocks this was also free (thank you)

Site shop had all we required and more. I would also praise the fact that in the shop you paid no more than you would in a supermarket very rare for a site shop.

Info shed what a fab idea. Area leaflets and local events, folders for walks from site, local menus, fishing and lots more. (a donation in tin)

Other touches - a herb garden to help your self if required for cooking, flags flying of the different nationalities there. The resident ducks (could have watched them all day) An offer of a cuppa on arrival!

Dog walking field, more like a playground. With the river exe, the weir, clean, poo bin and trees and shrubs. Totally safe as no escape routes. I can see why most other people there had dogs as really dog friendly.

Others campers/caravanners where all friendly and on a very windy day (we had gone out and was oblivious)people kept an eye on the tent removed a blown down wind break and was prepared to tighten ropes and hammer down pegs.

Central to explore Exmoor national park. We used the The pathfinder walkers books for Exmoor the site was spot on for the walks although with several walks straight from the site we where never stuck.

I seriously can not praise this site enough - and the wardens - Thank you for such a relaxed, pleasant, clean and friendly site! We will be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Patroy 1 review from this member

 This was our very first adventure in our motorhome. We found the site after only one slight detour at the Black Cat. The Wardens were very helpful and welcoming and greeted us with a cup of tea and then recommended where to park up. We had a pitch right next to the River Exe with electric and tv hookup, great to watch the trout swimming upstream. The showers and toilets were immaculate with lots of hot water. There is a good bus service to Tiverton, Dulverton, Dunster and Minehead. If I had a criticism it would be that there is only one block of showers and if you are parked at the bottom end it is quite a walk. All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and the help we received. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stubbsy 4 reviews from this member

 I cant speak highly enough of this site. 'van parked on the riverbank, with the gentle sound of water trickling by is fantastic. The loos are REALLY good, better than a lot of Hotels I have stayed in. Great walks from here, or just a stroll around the site alongside the river and back down the road to the pub is a pleasant experience. Very good tour of the Mill on Sunday mornings. Well placed for a visit to Dunster or Dulverton, and a walk up to Winsford is good. This was our third visit here, and I cant wait to go back. My only problem is that it could get too popular! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BJefferson 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site - quiet and welcoming. Loos etc. Clean and well appointed. Pitches are fairly level, with EHU (10 amps) and TV point (5 analogue stations via the village feed). We stayed for two night and wished we could stay longer. We have two collies and the site is ideal in this respect - the dog walk area is more than adequate and there are many walks of varying lengths directly from the site.

The pub down the road (The Badgers' Holt) is friendly but quite basic. The Royal Oak in Winsford is excellent, good ale and food. Both pubs welcome dogs.

The owners live in a restored water mill. If you are there on a Sunday they open it up to visitors and give lots of fascinating information about its history.

We are new hands at this life style, but this is certainly the best place we have stayed so far. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LiamAshby 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in a motorhome during a bitterly cold Easter 2013 and loved it. We will definitely be returning.

The wardens were excellent; friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The setting is picturesque, in a steep sided valley with the sparkling River Exe running along one side of the site and the mill stream running along the other into the large mill (complete with water wheel).

Pitches are arranged in two long rows either side of a central track running the length of the site meaning that not only are they wide but there is plenty of room in front (especially nearer the reception end). Pitches are well maintained and fairly level, slightly sloping towards the river. Most have ehu and TV arial giving access to the 5 terrestrial channels (wardens gave us a long arial to use)

The heated shower and toilet block was very clean and showers were hot (and free). A hairdryer was available for the women. The new, separate, toilet block was 5* hotel standard. You won't find better on any campsite.

Other facilities we saw (but didn't need ourselves) were laundry room, microwave, washing up area - all looked clean, well maintained and of a high standard.

Mobile phone reception was non-existent. I'm on Vodafone, my wife is on Three and we couldn't get a signal anywhere in the area, not just in the valley. Luckily there is a payphone on site and free wi-fi. The router is located in a hut by reception so you can take your laptop and sit in there but it is accessible (on your phone or iPad for example) anywhere near the reception. My wife found this very handy as she could 'facetime' the kids. The payphone is located in its own hut which is choc full of useful information about the surrounding area.

There is a little shop on site, in the reception hut, for all your essentials which was handy as the next nearest shop was in Winsford, about 3 miles away.

Less than 100yds from the entrance to the site is The Badgers Holt pub where you're sure of a warm welcome and a good pint and they offered a varied menu of very good food at very reasonable prices. We're not generally pub goers but we were there almost every night, and not just because of the toasty fireside sofa!

The site is adults only because of the danger of the river so there are no facilities for children but that suited us, a perfect, quiet place to get away from it all. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Turbodar 2 reviews from this member

 Found this site by accident, what a lovely site it was. The couple running it were very very helpful with nothing too much trouble. There were little touches like soap and paper towels by the chemical disposal point, herb garden to help yourself to and the stunning views with plenty of walks and wild life. There's a pub 40 yards up the road that allow you to take your dog in and the toilet block is spotless.

We will be going back there again later in the year. Being adult only it was so piece full 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blanche29 4 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site and what a lovely welcome when you turn up! When we arrived at reception we were offered a cup of tea, which was perfect after the drive down. The relaxed atmosphere meant that we could choose our pitch, so we pitched up by the rivers edge. Such a lovely view to wake up to, despite the frosty weather!

The site is level which meant it took no time at all to pitch up. The showers, washing up facilities and toilets were all spotless and the shop well stocked. The dog walk up to the weir was perfect and the footpath on the other side of the river led onto many footpaths straight onto Exmoor.

There is a circular walk direct from the campsite over to neighbouring village of Winsford where you can stop over for a pint in the village pub. I'm a little reluctant to let you all know about this site, as I want to keep it all to myself! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twiggy1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic sunny 6 nights at Exe valley, lovely adults only site in fantastic surroundings. Wardens were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the free cuppa on arrival was a lovely touch after a long drive.

Campsite clean and well maintained, showers/toilets basic but clean and always plenty of hot water. Owners were quick to clean up after an unexpected early morning walk through by a herd of local sheep! (not sure where they came from). The dog walk to the weir is very pleasant and the benches to sit on at the weir a nice touch, plenty of early morning wildlife to be seen. The sound of the leat trickling by was very soothing although sometimes there was some traffic noise from the road (especially heavy vehicles) but overall peaceful.

Only analogue TV, but cable available from wardens free of charge, and really what more do you need if you're on holiday! Be warned though No phone signal so if you want to be permanently attached to your phone you will struggle! however free Wi-Fi available in the hut and payphone should you desperately need it. Lots of info available for local walks/drives, things to do, recommend the coastal scenic drive to Ilfracombe well worth it, but not for the faint hearted as roads can be quite narrow.

To get to the site do not do what we did though and come off the motorway too early as the sat nav tells you, as it will bring you down some extremely narrow back roads from Wheddon Cross not ideal when towing a caravan! stay on till junction 27 then drive up from Tiverton as this is a more suitable road.

I would highly recommend the site and wouldn't hesitate to return in future, ideally situated for Exmoor and surrounding areas. 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4548 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement