Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkshirekaren 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a week at Exe Valley and so wish it had been longer.

Where to start with this fantastic site.

The pitches were of a very good size we have a large tent 3. 5m x 5m plus a porch extension, it fit with ease and with good soft ground, well drained. We went river side.

The shower and toilet block were spotless well positioned at one end of the site. The showers in the women's rival the power shower at home with plenty of free hot water. Separate toilet block where modern and nice. Never had to queue for either.

Laundry was great with washer and a separate dryer - Cheap. (one full washing load cost us 1 and to dry 50p)

Dish washing area as above with very hot water, washing bowls provided too. A freezer for campers to freeze freezer blocks this was also free (thank you)

Site shop had all we required and more. I would also praise the fact that in the shop you paid no more than you would in a supermarket very rare for a site shop.

Info shed what a fab idea. Area leaflets and local events, folders for walks from site, local menus, fishing and lots more. (a donation in tin)

Other touches - a herb garden to help your self if required for cooking, flags flying of the different nationalities there. The resident ducks (could have watched them all day) An offer of a cuppa on arrival!

Dog walking field, more like a playground. With the river exe, the weir, clean, poo bin and trees and shrubs. Totally safe as no escape routes. I can see why most other people there had dogs as really dog friendly.

Others campers/caravanners where all friendly and on a very windy day (we had gone out and was oblivious)people kept an eye on the tent removed a blown down wind break and was prepared to tighten ropes and hammer down pegs.

Central to explore Exmoor national park. We used the The pathfinder walkers books for Exmoor the site was spot on for the walks although with several walks straight from the site we where never stuck.

I seriously can not praise this site enough - and the wardens - Thank you for such a relaxed, pleasant, clean and friendly site! We will be returning!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Patroy 1 review from this member

This was our very first adventure in our motorhome. We found the site after only one slight detour at the Black Cat. The Wardens were very helpful and welcoming and greeted us with a cup of tea and then recommended where to park up. We had a pitch right next to the River Exe with electric and tv hookup, great to watch the trout swimming upstream. The showers and toilets were immaculate with lots of hot water. There is a good bus service to Tiverton, Dulverton, Dunster and Minehead. If I had a criticism it would be that there is only one block of showers and if you are parked at the bottom end it is quite a walk. All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and the help we received.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stubbsy 3 reviews from this member

I cant speak highly enough of this site. 'van parked on the riverbank, with the gentle sound of water trickling by is fantastic. The loos are REALLY good, better than a lot of Hotels I have stayed in. Great walks from here, or just a stroll around the site alongside the river and back down the road to the pub is a pleasant experience. Very good tour of the Mill on Sunday mornings. Well placed for a visit to Dunster or Dulverton, and a walk up to Winsford is good. This was our third visit here, and I cant wait to go back. My only problem is that it could get too popular!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BJefferson 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site - quiet and welcoming. Loos etc. Clean and well appointed. Pitches are fairly level, with EHU (10 amps) and TV point (5 analogue stations via the village feed). We stayed for two night and wished we could stay longer. We have two collies and the site is ideal in this respect - the dog walk area is more than adequate and there are many walks of varying lengths directly from the site.

The pub down the road (The Badgers' Holt) is friendly but quite basic. The Royal Oak in Winsford is excellent, good ale and food. Both pubs welcome dogs.

The owners live in a restored water mill. If you are there on a Sunday they open it up to visitors and give lots of fascinating information about its history.

We are new hands at this life style, but this is certainly the best place we have stayed so far. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LiamAshby 1 review from this member

We stayed here in a motorhome during a bitterly cold Easter 2013 and loved it. We will definitely be returning.

The wardens were excellent; friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The setting is picturesque, in a steep sided valley with the sparkling River Exe running along one side of the site and the mill stream running along the other into the large mill (complete with water wheel).

Pitches are arranged in two long rows either side of a central track running the length of the site meaning that not only are they wide but there is plenty of room in front (especially nearer the reception end). Pitches are well maintained and fairly level, slightly sloping towards the river. Most have ehu and TV arial giving access to the 5 terrestrial channels (wardens gave us a long arial to use)

The heated shower and toilet block was very clean and showers were hot (and free). A hairdryer was available for the women. The new, separate, toilet block was 5* hotel standard. You won't find better on any campsite.

Other facilities we saw (but didn't need ourselves) were laundry room, microwave, washing up area - all looked clean, well maintained and of a high standard.

Mobile phone reception was non-existent. I'm on Vodafone, my wife is on Three and we couldn't get a signal anywhere in the area, not just in the valley. Luckily there is a payphone on site and free wi-fi. The router is located in a hut by reception so you can take your laptop and sit in there but it is accessible (on your phone or iPad for example) anywhere near the reception. My wife found this very handy as she could 'facetime' the kids. The payphone is located in its own hut which is choc full of useful information about the surrounding area.

There is a little shop on site, in the reception hut, for all your essentials which was handy as the next nearest shop was in Winsford, about 3 miles away.

Less than 100yds from the entrance to the site is The Badgers Holt pub where you're sure of a warm welcome and a good pint and they offered a varied menu of very good food at very reasonable prices. We're not generally pub goers but we were there almost every night, and not just because of the toasty fireside sofa!

The site is adults only because of the danger of the river so there are no facilities for children but that suited us, a perfect, quiet place to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Turbodar 2 reviews from this member

Found this site by accident, what a lovely site it was. The couple running it were very very helpful with nothing too much trouble. There were little touches like soap and paper towels by the chemical disposal point, herb garden to help yourself to and the stunning views with plenty of walks and wild life. There's a pub 40 yards up the road that allow you to take your dog in and the toilet block is spotless.

We will be going back there again later in the year. Being adult only it was so piece full

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blanche29 4 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site and what a lovely welcome when you turn up! When we arrived at reception we were offered a cup of tea, which was perfect after the drive down. The relaxed atmosphere meant that we could choose our pitch, so we pitched up by the rivers edge. Such a lovely view to wake up to, despite the frosty weather!

The site is level which meant it took no time at all to pitch up. The showers, washing up facilities and toilets were all spotless and the shop well stocked. The dog walk up to the weir was perfect and the footpath on the other side of the river led onto many footpaths straight onto Exmoor.

There is a circular walk direct from the campsite over to neighbouring village of Winsford where you can stop over for a pint in the village pub. I'm a little reluctant to let you all know about this site, as I want to keep it all to myself!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twiggy1 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic sunny 6 nights at Exe valley, lovely adults only site in fantastic surroundings. Wardens were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the free cuppa on arrival was a lovely touch after a long drive.

Campsite clean and well maintained, showers/toilets basic but clean and always plenty of hot water. Owners were quick to clean up after an unexpected early morning walk through by a herd of local sheep! (not sure where they came from). The dog walk to the weir is very pleasant and the benches to sit on at the weir a nice touch, plenty of early morning wildlife to be seen. The sound of the leat trickling by was very soothing although sometimes there was some traffic noise from the road (especially heavy vehicles) but overall peaceful.

Only analogue TV, but cable available from wardens free of charge, and really what more do you need if you're on holiday! Be warned though No phone signal so if you want to be permanently attached to your phone you will struggle! however free Wi-Fi available in the hut and payphone should you desperately need it. Lots of info available for local walks/drives, things to do, recommend the coastal scenic drive to Ilfracombe well worth it, but not for the faint hearted as roads can be quite narrow.

To get to the site do not do what we did though and come off the motorway too early as the sat nav tells you, as it will bring you down some extremely narrow back roads from Wheddon Cross not ideal when towing a caravan! stay on till junction 27 then drive up from Tiverton as this is a more suitable road.

I would highly recommend the site and wouldn't hesitate to return in future, ideally situated for Exmoor and surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

When we arrived we were struck by the visual impact of the site; a long, open view with no segregation between pitches and a river on one side, a stream on the other. The welcome was very friendly and the offer of a hot drink is welcome after the drive. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

The openness of the site made for a very friendly atmosphere and the dog walk is a gem, a beautiful riverside setting with a weir and benches to sit and watch the birdlife around the water. The adults only status makes for a very relaxed and quiet stay.

There are some good walks on nearby Exmoor when you get out of the river valley and the local villages and pubs are well worth a visit.

If you want to get away from it all , this place is ideal. If you do want to make contact with anyone by mobile, however, forget it. You won't get a signal within ten miles, even on the tops of the hills. If you need the public phone in an emergency (as we did) it eats money and cuts you off anyway. The TV is analogue and you need the aerial feeds provided on site.

The other downside is the the toilet and shower blocks which are small (2 WCs and 2 showers for the men and 3 each for the women on a site with 50 pitches) and old and tired. This wasn't a major issue as the site itself is excellent in most other ways.

All in all a very good site with some minor drawbacks

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba8649 3 reviews from this member

Came here with my wife and dog for 8 nights.

Wardens extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Pitches and site well kept and well maintained.

The location was fabulous, set next to a quiet small river, which even after a storm, its level hardly raised.

With no segregation of tents, caravans or motorhomes, there was no feeling of elitism and everyone on the site was friendly and welcoming.

Very peaceful all in all mainly due to adults only policy.

Will definitely visit again.

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12031 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1094