Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 06/03/2021 to 15/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 199 Reviews
                9/10 from 199 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  199 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stoldol 12 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site. The wardens are very friendly and work hard to keep it extremely tidy.

The toilets and showers were spotless and even though it was busy you never had to wait.

There is a lovely space down by the weir to exercise the dog or just sit and watch the water. There are plenty of walks and maps available, but be warned the hills are very steep. It may just of been the time of year but there were a lot and I mean a lot of scruffy looking Pheasants around, so if your dog likes to chase your best to keep it on a lead. Our working Cocker isn't much use on a shoot so we didn't have a problem.

There is a nice pub in the town and the village of Winsford is worth a visit.

With it being adults only and having a 10 year old it would be difficult to return, but it was such a lovely site it would be worth the effort to try.

I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LynnGT 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite for a short weekend break, arriving on Thursday evening and leaving on Sunday morning.

The site was well signposted and easy to find, set in the beautiful Exe Valley, beside the river. We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and loads of information about the site.

We'd paid an extra 3 for a larger pitch - well worth it as the pitches are huge and the overall nighly charge for peak season is very reasonable. Our pitch was beside the millstream so there was a bit of a slope, but it was fairly easy to find somewhere level to pitch the tent.

The showers, loos and other facilities are excellent. We were about halfway down the site, so a fair walk to them, but by no means the farthest we've had to do.

The site itself is in a beautiful setting and very peaceful. There is some noise from the adjacent road, but so little traffic that this isn't a problem.

What I liked about this site was all the little extras - the information cabin contains printed drives or walks you can do from the site and there's a little herb garden from which you are welcome to take for cooking.

I would say is that this is a place for dog lovers. Whilst we were there, there were quite a lot staying. However, there was very little barking, people stuck to the rule to keep them on leads on the site (there's a lovely dog walk and exercise area at the bottom of the site) and we saw no dog mess at all. I can imagine that if you don't like dogs, just the number present might be a problem for you though.

All in all, we loved this site and will definitely be back to recharge our batteries in the near future! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heysey 10 reviews from this member

 I sit here doing this review in my tent on the last day of my 5 days at Axe valley and what a week my wife and I have had

The pitch we had was number 28 nice easy ground to put pegs into and a good size we use a vango icarus 500 with horning and there is ample room to park the car next to the tent.

The showers and toilets are very clean just like the rest of the site, this a site for adults only and the only sound you hear is the sounds of the country, there's a little shop on site and the local meat pie's are to die for. The local pub is 100 yards or so down the road they do very good food if you don't fancy cooking.

There is an information board on site with lots of good local info and this is a great site to use as a base if you wish to get out and about around Exmoor. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillgoggs 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. We spent 4 nights here and we didn't want to leave. We had EHU and pitched at side of river; this was wonderful. Shower facilities were very clean with lots of hot water. There is also a lovely new toilet block that has 3 additional toilet cubicles, one of which has a sink in it for greater privacy (I like to brush my teeth in private and this was an excellent facility!) Great base for walkers and cyclists. We toured all around the coastline so was ideal for this. So many pretty places to visit in this area. Wash up area excellent. It has a washing machine and tumble drier and also a microwave. Very dog friendly too. Great walk beside the river up to the weir. I could go on and on about this site it was so good. We can't wait to return, loved it so much. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SAS59 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 might stay at the Exe Valley Caravan Site.

We first went two years ago and since then the toilet and shower block have been updated and are very nice.

This site is immaculate and very beautiful with a river along one side and a mill stream the other.

If you have dogs there is an excellent dog run down to the weir which have many birds flying around.

The local information provided is good with details of walks and drives.

The local pub provides very good meals.

The wardens are extremely helpful as is the owner. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daveandjac 1 review from this member

 The site is set in an idyllic setting. Excellent facilities on site. The wardens made us very welcome with a coffee on arrival. Local pub has a good selection of food and drink at reasonable prices, very friendly service. Perfectly placed for walking through exmoor, plus several beaches a short drive away, all dog friendly. With the enchanting dog walk area on site(not just for dogs), I'd have to say this is the best campsite I have been to as a dog owner. Understandably with the mill house, leat and stream it is not a place for children. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aawallet 4 reviews from this member

 This is a hidden gem of a site located in the beautiful Exe Valley.

The site is very well maintained with generous pitches, mainly grass but some hard standing which we were on. The toilet block has been completely refurbished this year to an extremely high standard, would put many hotels to shame. There is an on site shop run by the very helpful and friendly wardens

The site has the river Exe on one side, which my dogs loved playing in, and on the other side is the mill stream which was used to power the old mill wheel. If you ask, the owner will show you around the old mill which s very interesting.

The site is set in the heart of Exmoor with all of the attractions that has to offer.

There is a pub within walking distance which does excellent food as well as drink.

This site is highly recommended 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SandV 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. Had a stunning 6 night break and decided to extend the trip due to excellent location and stunning weather

This site is tucked away along the A396 which is a little winding and narrow at points on the way. But once you get there its all worthwhile. A great welcome by excellent staff. The site is beautifully located by the river exe one side and the mill stream the other. We stopped on a hard standing pitch which is at the far end of the site on the mill stream side. I bit of a trek to the shower blocks but didn't bother us. The sun was on our pitch from 11am until mid afternoon.

Facilities were fine. Although on arrival seeing only two showers for the male side I expect queues although this was not the case and had plenty of hot water. The new toilet block consists of a urinal and two loo's for the gents. Very swish!

I must say the dog walk at the end was exceptional. My dog has never been so pleased to see a large open grassed with the river running down the side. At the far end was the weir where the water was crystal clear. My dog enjoyed hours of endless dips in the river to cool off. She would say its the best dog walk she's seen ever!

Close to Minehead ( 10 miles) with all amenities and plenty of sights to see in the area.

I would highly recommend the site if you wish to relax and unwind and enjoy the beauty of Somerset and North Devon 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juney18 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site lovely and clean. Very peaceful and the sound of the river and the mill stream sends you to sleep quick. The couple who run the place are friendly and very helpful. The toilet facilities and washing up areas are well maintained and kept clean. Lovely walks around the park esp at end of park where the dogs can go in the stream and you can even paddle. Good idea of supplying free tv extension leads and free wifi. Good food in pub opposite love the place mats. Good value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris Virgo 1 review from this member

 We spent a relaxing week camping on this site and have to say it is perfect for campers unaccompanied by children who want a quiet site, good walks and good facilities.

The setting is lovely; in a valley with the river on one side and a mill stream on the other and a family of running ducks, wooden bridge and flowers everywhere.

The gravel road down the centre of the site ensures no mud when it rains and there are some hard standing areas at the bottom. Plenty of room to pitch, most have electrical hookup available, lots of drinking water stand pipes plus waste water disposal. The pitches are all pretty flat, the ones on the mill stream side have a rise towards the back but with so much space you can position your unit forward to be comfortable.

You can hear a bit of traffic noise from the road but its never really busy and is generally quiet at night. This was not a problem at all.

The wardens were fantastic; a cup of coffee offered on arrival, always on hand to ask questions/give help as well as staffing the shop.

Main shower block is excellent. An older building with one loo and 3 powerful showers for the girls (I think there are 2 for the boys). Lots of hot (free) water. There is a room for pot wash, veg prep and laundry. A washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave, kettle, iron and ironing board are also here. A separate recently fitted out toilet block is also close by and reminded us of airport toilets, very smart indeed. There is a site shop for the basics, a local info shed and a free wifi cabin.

The owners welcome campers to view the mill working within their home on Sunday mornings, unmissable opportunity to meet them and to see this ancient mill actually working for 45 minutes or so.

For campers with dogs, there is a dog walk at the far end of the site running alongside the river to a weir where the mill stream starts. A must for all campers, not just dog owners.

The pub at the end of the road is a typical country pub, log fires, oak beams and a cosy atmosphere. The food was good and reasonably priced. A welcome retreat at the end of a full day.

They have thought of everything, I have never visited a better organised site and would recommend it to everyone. 


Previous     199 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement