Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
                9/10 from 191 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LiamAshby 1 review from this member

We stayed here in a motorhome during a bitterly cold Easter 2013 and loved it. We will definitely be returning.

The wardens were excellent; friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The setting is picturesque, in a steep sided valley with the sparkling River Exe running along one side of the site and the mill stream running along the other into the large mill (complete with water wheel).

Pitches are arranged in two long rows either side of a central track running the length of the site meaning that not only are they wide but there is plenty of room in front (especially nearer the reception end). Pitches are well maintained and fairly level, slightly sloping towards the river. Most have ehu and TV arial giving access to the 5 terrestrial channels (wardens gave us a long arial to use)

The heated shower and toilet block was very clean and showers were hot (and free). A hairdryer was available for the women. The new, separate, toilet block was 5* hotel standard. You won't find better on any campsite.

Other facilities we saw (but didn't need ourselves) were laundry room, microwave, washing up area - all looked clean, well maintained and of a high standard.

Mobile phone reception was non-existent. I'm on Vodafone, my wife is on Three and we couldn't get a signal anywhere in the area, not just in the valley. Luckily there is a payphone on site and free wi-fi. The router is located in a hut by reception so you can take your laptop and sit in there but it is accessible (on your phone or iPad for example) anywhere near the reception. My wife found this very handy as she could 'facetime' the kids. The payphone is located in its own hut which is choc full of useful information about the surrounding area.

There is a little shop on site, in the reception hut, for all your essentials which was handy as the next nearest shop was in Winsford, about 3 miles away.

Less than 100yds from the entrance to the site is The Badgers Holt pub where you're sure of a warm welcome and a good pint and they offered a varied menu of very good food at very reasonable prices. We're not generally pub goers but we were there almost every night, and not just because of the toasty fireside sofa!

The site is adults only because of the danger of the river so there are no facilities for children but that suited us, a perfect, quiet place to get away from it all.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Turbodar 2 reviews from this member

Found this site by accident, what a lovely site it was. The couple running it were very very helpful with nothing too much trouble. There were little touches like soap and paper towels by the chemical disposal point, herb garden to help yourself to and the stunning views with plenty of walks and wild life. There's a pub 40 yards up the road that allow you to take your dog in and the toilet block is spotless.

We will be going back there again later in the year. Being adult only it was so piece full

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blanche29 4 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site and what a lovely welcome when you turn up! When we arrived at reception we were offered a cup of tea, which was perfect after the drive down. The relaxed atmosphere meant that we could choose our pitch, so we pitched up by the rivers edge. Such a lovely view to wake up to, despite the frosty weather!

The site is level which meant it took no time at all to pitch up. The showers, washing up facilities and toilets were all spotless and the shop well stocked. The dog walk up to the weir was perfect and the footpath on the other side of the river led onto many footpaths straight onto Exmoor.

There is a circular walk direct from the campsite over to neighbouring village of Winsford where you can stop over for a pint in the village pub. I'm a little reluctant to let you all know about this site, as I want to keep it all to myself!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twiggy1 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic sunny 6 nights at Exe valley, lovely adults only site in fantastic surroundings. Wardens were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the free cuppa on arrival was a lovely touch after a long drive.

Campsite clean and well maintained, showers/toilets basic but clean and always plenty of hot water. Owners were quick to clean up after an unexpected early morning walk through by a herd of local sheep! (not sure where they came from). The dog walk to the weir is very pleasant and the benches to sit on at the weir a nice touch, plenty of early morning wildlife to be seen. The sound of the leat trickling by was very soothing although sometimes there was some traffic noise from the road (especially heavy vehicles) but overall peaceful.

Only analogue TV, but cable available from wardens free of charge, and really what more do you need if you're on holiday! Be warned though No phone signal so if you want to be permanently attached to your phone you will struggle! however free Wi-Fi available in the hut and payphone should you desperately need it. Lots of info available for local walks/drives, things to do, recommend the coastal scenic drive to Ilfracombe well worth it, but not for the faint hearted as roads can be quite narrow.

To get to the site do not do what we did though and come off the motorway too early as the sat nav tells you, as it will bring you down some extremely narrow back roads from Wheddon Cross not ideal when towing a caravan! stay on till junction 27 then drive up from Tiverton as this is a more suitable road.

I would highly recommend the site and wouldn't hesitate to return in future, ideally situated for Exmoor and surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

When we arrived we were struck by the visual impact of the site; a long, open view with no segregation between pitches and a river on one side, a stream on the other. The welcome was very friendly and the offer of a hot drink is welcome after the drive. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

The openness of the site made for a very friendly atmosphere and the dog walk is a gem, a beautiful riverside setting with a weir and benches to sit and watch the birdlife around the water. The adults only status makes for a very relaxed and quiet stay.

There are some good walks on nearby Exmoor when you get out of the river valley and the local villages and pubs are well worth a visit.

If you want to get away from it all , this place is ideal. If you do want to make contact with anyone by mobile, however, forget it. You won't get a signal within ten miles, even on the tops of the hills. If you need the public phone in an emergency (as we did) it eats money and cuts you off anyway. The TV is analogue and you need the aerial feeds provided on site.

The other downside is the the toilet and shower blocks which are small (2 WCs and 2 showers for the men and 3 each for the women on a site with 50 pitches) and old and tired. This wasn't a major issue as the site itself is excellent in most other ways.

All in all a very good site with some minor drawbacks

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba8649 3 reviews from this member

Came here with my wife and dog for 8 nights.

Wardens extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Pitches and site well kept and well maintained.

The location was fabulous, set next to a quiet small river, which even after a storm, its level hardly raised.

With no segregation of tents, caravans or motorhomes, there was no feeling of elitism and everyone on the site was friendly and welcoming.

Very peaceful all in all mainly due to adults only policy.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hreynolds 1 review from this member

Lovely site, good sized pitches beside river or brook. Friendly. Some of the tent pitches right at the top of the park were very small, suggest check this on booking.

Very wet last summer when we visited but pitches were not waterlogged, though access to dog walk area was quite muddy. Dog walk area a very good size, easy to let dog off for a short run.

Pub across the road was great - good beer and excellent steak night. Suggest booking in advance for steak night which was very popular!

Washing facilities very good, plus laundry room with freezer - essential for text with no electric hookup.

Excellent access to Exmoor walks and Dulverton village which has great butcher, Co Op and Exmoor visitor centre.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Autocrazy 4 reviews from this member

What an absolute gem this site is! Arriving after a 6 hour drive the offer of tea/coffee was perfect.

The wardens are the very best we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble, they are relaxed and always smiling.

The site is beautifully kept and the dog loved the walk by the weir. The chance to see the water mill working on a Sunday morning and listening to the fascinating stories from the owners was an added bonus.

If we head west again this is the site we will be booking for sure! All the other reviews have said it all!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 69 reviews from this member

Again Paul & Kath did us proud, we were as usual given a warm welcome like old friends, which we will be one day.

Site and facilities superb as ever, best dog area we have ever found. It's a lovely clean site with peace and quiet and lovely views.

People it doesn't get much better than this, try it but don't tell to many people

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kennethyorkie 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from trip to exe valley caravan park had a brilliant time

Their staff were very welcoming, coffee on arrival, very much welcome as it was a warm day. Staff always ready to help.

Had a little shop in the reception just the essentials. Loads of information on site for the whole area and more.

Pub two minute walk up the road good beer great food and friendly. The bus stops at the top of the road see time table on arrival bus driver, s very good as well.

Quiet site some traffic noise but not a lot we will go back again and again. Marks out of ten twelve.

Take the information of how to get there with you as your sat nav may take you down some tight lanes ie 2 inches to spare either side of you.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019