Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Twiggy1 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic sunny 6 nights at Exe valley, lovely adults only site in fantastic surroundings. Wardens were really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and the free cuppa on arrival was a lovely touch after a long drive.

Campsite clean and well maintained, showers/toilets basic but clean and always plenty of hot water. Owners were quick to clean up after an unexpected early morning walk through by a herd of local sheep! (not sure where they came from). The dog walk to the weir is very pleasant and the benches to sit on at the weir a nice touch, plenty of early morning wildlife to be seen. The sound of the leat trickling by was very soothing although sometimes there was some traffic noise from the road (especially heavy vehicles) but overall peaceful.

Only analogue TV, but cable available from wardens free of charge, and really what more do you need if you're on holiday! Be warned though No phone signal so if you want to be permanently attached to your phone you will struggle! however free Wi-Fi available in the hut and payphone should you desperately need it. Lots of info available for local walks/drives, things to do, recommend the coastal scenic drive to Ilfracombe well worth it, but not for the faint hearted as roads can be quite narrow.

To get to the site do not do what we did though and come off the motorway too early as the sat nav tells you, as it will bring you down some extremely narrow back roads from Wheddon Cross not ideal when towing a caravan! stay on till junction 27 then drive up from Tiverton as this is a more suitable road.

I would highly recommend the site and wouldn't hesitate to return in future, ideally situated for Exmoor and surrounding areas.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: DandT 25 reviews from this member

When we arrived we were struck by the visual impact of the site; a long, open view with no segregation between pitches and a river on one side, a stream on the other. The welcome was very friendly and the offer of a hot drink is welcome after the drive. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

The openness of the site made for a very friendly atmosphere and the dog walk is a gem, a beautiful riverside setting with a weir and benches to sit and watch the birdlife around the water. The adults only status makes for a very relaxed and quiet stay.

There are some good walks on nearby Exmoor when you get out of the river valley and the local villages and pubs are well worth a visit.

If you want to get away from it all , this place is ideal. If you do want to make contact with anyone by mobile, however, forget it. You won't get a signal within ten miles, even on the tops of the hills. If you need the public phone in an emergency (as we did) it eats money and cuts you off anyway. The TV is analogue and you need the aerial feeds provided on site.

The other downside is the the toilet and shower blocks which are small (2 WCs and 2 showers for the men and 3 each for the women on a site with 50 pitches) and old and tired. This wasn't a major issue as the site itself is excellent in most other ways.

All in all a very good site with some minor drawbacks

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jibbajabba8649 3 reviews from this member

Came here with my wife and dog for 8 nights.

Wardens extremely polite, friendly and helpful.

Pitches and site well kept and well maintained.

The location was fabulous, set next to a quiet small river, which even after a storm, its level hardly raised.

With no segregation of tents, caravans or motorhomes, there was no feeling of elitism and everyone on the site was friendly and welcoming.

Very peaceful all in all mainly due to adults only policy.

Will definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hreynolds 1 review from this member

Lovely site, good sized pitches beside river or brook. Friendly. Some of the tent pitches right at the top of the park were very small, suggest check this on booking.

Very wet last summer when we visited but pitches were not waterlogged, though access to dog walk area was quite muddy. Dog walk area a very good size, easy to let dog off for a short run.

Pub across the road was great - good beer and excellent steak night. Suggest booking in advance for steak night which was very popular!

Washing facilities very good, plus laundry room with freezer - essential for text with no electric hookup.

Excellent access to Exmoor walks and Dulverton village which has great butcher, Co Op and Exmoor visitor centre.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Autocrazy 4 reviews from this member

What an absolute gem this site is! Arriving after a 6 hour drive the offer of tea/coffee was perfect.

The wardens are the very best we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble, they are relaxed and always smiling.

The site is beautifully kept and the dog loved the walk by the weir. The chance to see the water mill working on a Sunday morning and listening to the fascinating stories from the owners was an added bonus.

If we head west again this is the site we will be booking for sure! All the other reviews have said it all!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Again Paul & Kath did us proud, we were as usual given a warm welcome like old friends, which we will be one day.

Site and facilities superb as ever, best dog area we have ever found. It's a lovely clean site with peace and quiet and lovely views.

People it doesn't get much better than this, try it but don't tell to many people

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kennethyorkie 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from trip to exe valley caravan park had a brilliant time

Their staff were very welcoming, coffee on arrival, very much welcome as it was a warm day. Staff always ready to help.

Had a little shop in the reception just the essentials. Loads of information on site for the whole area and more.

Pub two minute walk up the road good beer great food and friendly. The bus stops at the top of the road see time table on arrival bus driver, s very good as well.

Quiet site some traffic noise but not a lot we will go back again and again. Marks out of ten twelve.

Take the information of how to get there with you as your sat nav may take you down some tight lanes ie 2 inches to spare either side of you.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ladyfitzpaine 2 reviews from this member

My husband and I along with our two golden retrievers have been going to this campsite for 3 years now and we love it.

The owners and the wardens are very friendly and helpful.

The pitches are huge and well kept, we always park our caravan near the mill house as we like the sound of the mill stream trickling behind us.

On most Sunday mornings the owners welcome you in to the mill and their house so you can see the mill working and watch the wheel going round.

The toilets and facilities are lovely and clean and well maintained, there is a shop on site for basics and also details of the lovely walks you can go on from the site.

The dog walk is amazing for dogs and humans and you donít need a dog to enjoy it, our dogs drag us all the way there as they love to swim in the river.

Wimbleball Lake is a great place to visit and walk around.

I would highly recommend this picturesque and peaceful site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cc43 17 reviews from this member

Facilities of the usual high standard that is expected on a Caravan Club site. The wardens were very helpful, and no problems about arriving after 5pm.

The location is ideal - only a few minutes walk from the centre of Dulverton and local shops, including a late-opening Coop.

Exmoor is beautiful and unspoilt - narrow roads with passing places in some areas, but we were not discouraged from going where we wanted in a motorhome.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pam27 1 review from this member

We have just returned from the Exe Valley campsite, and I have to say it is a well kept well presented, adult only campsite.

I agree with some previous reviewers that you get the sun longer if you pitch on the mill side, but then you miss watching the river bubble past your pitch, therefore losing half an hours sunshine didn't appear too much of a sacrifice.

The wardens on arrival are friendly and helpful, even giving all those arriving a welcome cuppa! we were given a site map and told we could pick any of the non electric piches not taken and just to let them know which we had picked.

The toilets were clean as were the showers, and the piped radio very welcome. The dishwashing room was equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, sinks, (of course!)ironing board and iron, and a microwave!

The shop was stocked with all the basics and good ice-cream too, the wi-fi is free and set in its own little shed and next to it is the payphone, the mobile phone reception was non existent for us, which we didn't worry about at all.

The pub a short walk from the site is called Badgers Holt. A friendly pub, serving good standard fare, that's not over priced, got to love the place mats! a stroke of genius! You will bump into almost every one from the site there at some point, but locals use it too.

All in all a really nice site that I heartily recommend, and will be returning to.

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3861 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977