Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GMJ1 3 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site and a wonderful welcome!

The wardens - Steve and Debbie - couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming for the 4 nights we stayed on this site.

Set in a beautiful location between a river and a mill stream, there are a choice of grass or hard standing pitches available. The grass is immaculately kept as is the whole site.

All caravan/motorhome pitches have electric hook up and fresh water is not far from any of them. The site has FREE wifi which is a bonus plus we managed to pick up a satellite signal for the TV although if you can't, each pitch has a digital TV plug in so you can get freeview TV via that.

The toilet and shower blocks were kept immaculately whilst we were there with ample supplies of hand soap, paper towels and loo roll. The showers are proper non push button ones as well and the water was ample and warm enough.

There is a small shop on site for some basic provisions (plus fantastic local ice cream!) and the local pub serves good food and beer (closed on Weds!).

The site provides oodles of local information including several well thought out local walks, with detailed guidance on each of them.

All in all one of the nicest sites we have ever visited. I am loathed to write this review in case it gets too popular and we can't get in next time we want to visit!

It's a shame we can't give 11 out of 10!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucasdog 3 reviews from this member

This is still a lovely site but has gone down hill this year. The grass is left far too long so on even the hottest days it never dries off. Consequently your feet and your unit be it a caravan or tent are always in the damp grass. The previous managers used to cut it much shorter and it was much better and much tidier. The bin area often was a mess and the showers and toilets were not as clean at all. The wifi did not work and we were told that it was just one of those things! Another lady was told that the reason it was free is because it never works! Then why advertise that the site has free wifi?? Utterly ridiculous! The wardens/ managers were not very friendly and need a lesson in customer service!

The upkeep of everything is poor in comparison to previous visits such a shame really! The whole site needs some tlc. Top whack prices charged for a now inferior site and facilities just not good enough!

Management response: I think your review is more than a little unfair, indeed none of the matters about which you have complained is true. We have employed wardens for the past 7 years and we are lucky in that they have all been very good. Nothing has changed and your review is not supported at all by the comments we, the owners, receive, nor is it supported by the high level of good comments on the review sites.

To suggest that the Wifi never works is nonsense. It works for over 95% of the time but occasionally we have to reboot it, and we have had to call out an engineer 3 times. The wardens rely on it because we get about 60% of our bookings online. It is better this year because we have a fibre optics connection which is much faster.

Furthermore we have added a dog wash facility and a defibrillator whilst keeping all general maintenance to our usual standards.

Having so many complaints, I am disappointed that you did not mention any of them to me when you were here. There must have been plenty of opportunity, particularly when we show the water mill to campers, and have it running every Sunday morning.

Paul, campsite owner

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 28 reviews from this member

What a beautiful site set in the exe valley, Exmoor. Fantastic views and beautiful scenery

Plenty of space on each pitch, with excellent dog walk and the river exe to one side and a pretty mill stream on the other.

Dogs loved playing in the water, dog area could be let off the leads to play.

Adult only - surprising what a difference it makes as the showers and toilets were immaculate at all times.

Very rural location - pub within walking distance. Supermarkets about 20-30 minute drive away. Local convenience shop in nearby fullerton along with an excellent fish and chip shop. Don't rely on sat nav under any circumstances to take you anywhere. Had several nightmare experiences using tom-tom to take us to places and kept routing down impassable roads.

Nearby towns Minehead - nice place but not much other than Butlins. Tesco and Morrisons supermarkets and Lidl. Watchet- very pretty little harbour town. Porlock- Very pretty nice walk to the the beach. Lots of national trust and english heritage places to visit within a short travel.

3G/4g was ok with EE or 3 No Vodafone. Not sure about o2 Free wifi on site but it never worked all the time we were there.

TV reception non existent. Need to use the sites own connection and then you only get 25 basic channels. Unable to locate a signal with satellite dish either due to location of site within a valley.

Wardens very pleasant and helpful- pick your own pitch on arrival

Site access is a little bit of a rollercoaster ride. Took the tiverton road to arrive and depart, glad we did- wouldn't like to take the duster road with a caravan on the back. PLEASE USE SITE DIRECTIONS ON WEBSITE- DON'T USE SAT NAV

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lucysmum 38 reviews from this member

We had a lovely time here. Nice size pitch. Good size dog walk & off lead opportunity. Nice walking nearby too & dog friendly pub within walking distance. Facilities block very nice & modern, and even has an iron & ironing board to use (free). I really liked the fact that the fresh fish man calls on a Friday. We live 5 miles from a fishing port and we can only get fresh fish from the supermarket here! Ooh and a free welcome cup of tea when you arrive.

We would definitely recommend this site and would happily go back there again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Marcusjp 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Met with a welcome tea or coffee, and shown to a good sized pitch. River on one side, and Mill stream on the other. Toilet block btter than some hotels I have stayed in. Dog walking area great. Pub is a 2 minute walk from the site entrance. We will return. Thankyou

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Paul 61 reviews from this member

Lovely site in a superb location along with the shop and superb helpful wardens. This time we enjoyed lovely new bathrooms ( where did the piped music go) which were a joy.

As ever the site was in lovely order and we had a fine time as usual.

One gripe though the newly installed wifi over the site is pathetic, it works, it doesn't, it partly works, it doesn't it was a nightmare.

Either offer something that works properly or not at all.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yogitrish 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2wks, lovely camp site, all facilities very clean although was high season never had to queue for loos or showers. The wardens were lovely and you get a hot drink when you arrive. Only bugbear was the rule is to move your tent after 7days (still on same pitch)to preserve the grass. We camped on the riverside which got sun in morning but was gone by about 4. 30pm; I would recommend you book on the millstream side as this gets the most sun. We found the valley weather was a lot of misty rain and wind but when driving out of area weather improved!Winding roads in either direction for half hour before you get to a main road with lots of pheasants on road to watch out for!(breeding area)The local pub is reached in about 3mins walk, its opening hours can be random, its a bit dingy and I would not recommend sunday roast although other campers had nice other meals there. The dog walk on site up to the weir is beautiful, very dog friendly site. On Sundays at 10am you can have a tour of the mill. Very peaceful site, we seemed to be the only ones sitting around drinking and having a laugh in the evenings(we ranged from 57-64) but most people were older. All in all this is a lovely site for peace and quiet and cleanliness, I would go back for the actual site but not for the weather which was erratic, changing in minutes, we decided not to camp in a valley again!as we like the sun!Having said that I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wiggy010 2 reviews from this member

Can't say much more than has already been said, lovely site, mostly flat on the river side with some pitches on the mill side slightly sloping. You have a choice of later sun on the mill side or more shade on the other. Mill visit well worth doing on Sunday. We will return if in the area. One warning if you are travelling to the site north on the A396, the Black Cat junction with the B3227 is more of a right turn than appears on the maps.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

Located right in the Exmoor Forest, although next to a main road (to Dunster, then Minehead) you wouldn't know it as at night it is dead quiet. Adults only site. On the left, the pitches are flat and have a small river behind, on the right the pitches are flat and sloping with a small stream behind. All pitches are grass, apart from a couple. The site is long and the toilets, showers, reception, laundry and dishwashing are all at the entrance and is quite a walk the further away you get. The toilet block is separate; 3 ladies and 2 mens, the showers are next to the laundry/washing and disabled shower/toilet. There are 3 showers and one toilet in the womens, not sure of the mens layout. The Badgers Holt inn is not always open, so be prepared to wait til they are or go elsewhere. We were told about the 'pretty sloping cricket ground' nearby. When we went there, we saw several steel mole traps in the ground with sticks as markers, so they were released! If you happen to go over and see any, please check them and release any trapped moles! I get the feeling these traps aren't checked regularly. Dunster is a short drive away, as is Englands Tallest tree, a small sign on your right says so before you get to Dunster, we also visited Minehead, Westward Ho! The Tarr Steps and had many drives around the moors and quiet lanes. Saw a deer and Exmoor ponies. There is a Co-Op in nearby Dulverton. The shop on site has a lot of good stuff too. On Sunday the site owner gives a talk and shows the mill wheel working.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rfrayling 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and the site is pure peace! Quiet, well maintained with nice clean modern facilities. At the far end of the park is a beautiful walk with a weir which should not be missed. The free wifi can be a bit hit and miss and there was no phone signal on Vodaphone. If you are on site on Sundays there is a small guided tour and the mill with was interesting. The very local pub (The Badgers Holt - 1 minute walk) serves great home cooked food and is dog friendly. Would certainly recommend and will be back!

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 16 to 21 October, Birmingham NEC
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4008 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016