Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 06/03/2021 to 15/10/2021
           06/03/2022 to 15/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 207 Reviews
                9/10 from 207 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  207 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bertwoody 5 reviews from this member

 This was my third visit to this idyllic site and was pleased to find it as lovely as ever. Well maybe even better with the refurbished shower block. Our pitch was at the very far end, beside the river. I note a previous reviewer suggests more lighting at the top end, I think not! The help yourself herb garden is a great idea and welcome in the camp kitchen. The local area is fabulous for dog walking (take a tick puller with you though). We had a couple of very nice meals at the pub down the road. Thank you for your fantastic (child free!) site 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baileybus 30 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. We were met by a very friendly warden who gave us lots of useful information. We had a lovely big pitch by the River Exe. The facilities were very clean. The shop however, could have stocked a little more food essentials. A walk to the pretty village of Winsford is well worth doing. Whilst there pop into the Royal Oak Inn. Highly recommended and very picturesque. The Exmoor walks are breathtaking and if you want to get to Tarr Steps, ask yourself 'Are the signposts pointing the right way?' We ended up walking 12 miles! The pub in the village of Bridgetown is also worth visiting but not open everyday. We would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MickR58 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here the weekend after the late May bank holiday. Really impressed with the site. It is very pretty. We had our dog with us so used the dog walking area. Some visitors without a dog may not go there, but it is very pretty, overlooking the weir and with a few picnic benches dotted around (don't worry - the dog owners are good at clearing up). We liked being on the river side but many seemed to prefer the millstream side - maybe because it gets longer hours of sunshine in the evening. The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean. There were only two male toilet cubicles but there never seemed to be a queue. (Didn't ask my wife how many there were in the ladies) The local pub is good - we ate a very decent meal there and it has a nice 'local' feel to it. And Exmoor itself is a lovely part of the West Country. We'll certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pelro 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site. Toilet and shower facilities are of a very high standard. The site itself is picturesque with a river and mill stream bordering each side. Very peaceful site with a lovely dog walking area. Wonderful opportunity to visit the on site mill house and learn the history of the working mill. Even got to meet the resident bats which was a real treat. Area itself is quite remote but perfect for walking and cycling. Lovely to receive a coffee on arrival 👍 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rlemin 3 reviews from this member

 Visited the site a number of times before and it never fails to impress. The site is kept immaculate by the very friendly wardens Kath and Nikki, both of whom will go out of there way to provide assistance. The shower block has been completely refurbished since our last visit and is kept in a pristine condition. It must be said that the recent weather has kept the site very quite, we had it almost to our selves but I know it is often very busy.

Only one comment, when we arrived the showers were excellent, but during the week the flow reduced to a dribble, making them very difficult to use, this was not from overuse by the campers on site!

I am sure that this must be a fault in a control valve the will be rectified by the proprietor otherwise an excellent stay in a stunning location. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 31 reviews from this member

 Imagine you are driving along a winding A-road through the Exmoor National Park in South Somerset. It is a fine early spring day, and the pheasants are out in force. To the right and left of you are wooded slopes rising gracefully from the valley floor. There, neatly bordered by a sparkling mill stream on one side and the river Exe on the other, lies a long triangle of green loveliness where the wardens offer a very warm welcome to campers and tourers alike. The wide end of the triangle, where the reception, facilities and picturesque mill house are to be found, has broad grass pitches; as you head down towards the narrow end, the grass gives way to hardstanding, and it was there, by the entrance to the dog walk, that we parked our motorhome for 2 nights. There is a small shop in reception, an information hut with a payphone (no mobile signal for our vodaphone network). We were at the far end of the site from the facilities so used our on-board washroom a lot, but did check out the shower block and toilet block to see how they were (very clean and well lit). There are plenty of water stands strategically located around the site. We were totally enchanted by this place. The river and the mill stream are both crystal clear, the grass is beautifully kept, and the dog walk - bounded by a high wall which made us feel like we were in the grounds of some stately home - led to a dam of surprising size and real beauty. Grey wagtails, wrens and dippers were active in the area, and a kingfisher made a couple of welcome appearances. For those who, like me, aren't too good at photographing wild birds, a sextet of runner ducks in assorted colours mooched around near the water mill and provided easier subjects. Just off site and across the bridge, a walk off to the right follows the Exe upstream; when you intersect with the road, turn left, walk a few hundred yards and take the forest track up the hill. Just before the switchback, you will find a heronry with 8 nests and plenty of birds in evidence. Do keep an eye on your dog if you go up the tracks, as there is a fairly steep drop as you get higher up. The dog and I were very happy with the whole area. Last night we stood in the moonlight listening to the owls calling, and really regretted we could not stay longer. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Luckyskip 18 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site three times this year. It is a lovely peaceful site with plenty full dog walking facilities.

The newer toilet block is clean & tidy, however we found the older toilet / shower facilities untidy & unclean this visit, there were numerous dead spiders & flies etc. All over the block, & my husband had to clean the shower before he was able to use it. It is a shame, but a great little site is being let down by its shower block which really does need refurbishing now.

Would we return. Yes we still would. 
Management response: Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that on your next visit, the shower block will have been totally refurbished, and should be a pleasure to use.


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Finnruss1 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite. Only drawback we thought was lack of lighting up top end of site and maybe extra shower block top end of site. But other than that beautifully kept site. Welcomed with hot drink on arrival. Very friendly wardens. Choice of pitches, we went on hardstanding but were able to face whichever way you wished, so pithed with awning on grass at side of river. The site was quiet even though road ran along side. More noise from pheasants than road. Would recommend this site to anyone 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

 This was our third visit to this lovely campsite and we stayed for six nights.

We first encountered this site almost ten years ago and were blown away. Since then if we are in the area, we make a point of staying here.

It's a long narrow site, a single access track with very spacious grass pitches indeed to either side. One side backs onto a small river, the other a mill stream, which is why no children are allowed.

At the entrance to the site is the reception, which also stocks a selection of food and equipment. The wardens are lovely, pleasant and helpful.

Toilet blocks are scrupulously clean, and one small block has recently been renovated to a very high standard. Showers are electric and free.

Being a very elongated triangle the site narrows towards the far end. There we find small non-electric pitches and some hard-standing which I have to say looked very tight - happy we stayed on grass (which is our preference anyway).

This is also the entrance to the dog walk, and I think it's fair to say that it must be the loveliest and most picturesque dog walk in the UK. It's grassy and overhung with trees, with the aforesaid river and stream either side. At the end there is a weir, with benches provided to make the most of the view. If your dog likes water, as ours does, they will be in 7th heaven.

By car the site is close to numerous small towns and villages and excellent pubs. This was fortunate because the local, the Badgers Holt, has taken a turn for the worse since our last visit - we couldn't drink the stale ale and the landlord couldn't have cared less. That's a shame.

It's also, of course, in the Exmoor National Park with great touring and great walking.

I cannot speak too highly of this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: St.bernard 10 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a lovely break, having spent two weeks at Exe Valley. Thank you Kath and Paul.

Toilets and showers were, as always, immaculate. The grass was also kept low and cut at every opportunity. Fabulous walks around the area.

Such a very friendly site, the wardens are very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. Will be back again next year.

Thank you,

Bagman 


Previous     207 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4536 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement