Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

This is a great site with friendly, helpful wardens. The approach road from the A361 is a little bit narrow in places and you have to be aware of large vehicles such as tractors approaching. It is a really good base from which to explore Minehead, Porlock, Porlock Weir, and Lynton and Lynmouth. Tarr steps, Dulverton and of course, Exmoor are very close. Unfortunately there are only 2 male and 2 female toilets on site ( which are kept spotlessly clean) and it would be much better if there were more toilets at the opposite end of the site. This is an adults only site because of the river. What a beautiful place it is where the river and millstream separate at the weir, so peaceful. All in all a really nice site.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not find the other toilets. There are 4 toilets for ladies, and for the gentlemen there are 3 toilets and 2 urinals. These are in addition to the disabled toilet which is unisex. Because we are inside the National Park, we are restricted in the buildings we can have on the campsite and therefore unable to build further amenities.

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments: we hope to see you again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: St.bernard 6 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. The wardens Paul and Kathie were very helpful in every sense of the word. The site is immaculately kept. The toilet and shower blocks were very good. Washinf up room with washing machine and tumble drier extremely well priced, compared with some sites we have visited. The site is set in some stunning scenery, as is the surrounding area. The owners ( who are in the backround) were also helpful especially on the guided tours of their home, which is the mill house, really worth seeing for yourselves on Sundays. We shall certainly be visiting again, complete with carrier bags Paul! So mnow you know who` s writing this.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salwayne1 1 review from this member

Wonderful. Quiet, and friendly site, would go back again. Staff made you feel very welcome. We've never been to a site where you are offered a drink when you first arrive. Plenty of water points and although there is only analogue TV, they will lone you an aerial lead to connect the TV. Wi-fi available, but the only mobile signal was for Orange and 3. For us it was a nice break from the outside world. Washing facilities were clean, although the shower block was looking a bit tired - we have come across much worse. New toilet block was lovely. Well stocked shop and information place.

If you are there on a Sunday, the owner has the water wheel running for an hour. Him and his wife will give you a tour for free, it's worth a look. He also puts up national flags of the people staying, it's a nice touch.

Surrounding area was beautiful. Amazing scenery and not too far to travel. If you enjoy walking its a good base. Lots of places to go.

Tried local pub out. It's a must. Pity more of the campers don't use it. Good choice of drinks - real ale especially. Great food, well presented and reasonably priced. We ate there a few time over our 2 week stay and had no complaints at all, have to say the steak we tried on our last night was one of the best we've ever had. Landlord and Landlady very friendly, great for a laugh and good choice of music. Locals lovely too. We even went to watch the local cricket match. Wow, what a place. Beautiful club house and entertaining watching the team fishing the ball out of the river. Take a look, even if there isn't a match on. Thanks for helping to make our holiday special.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SCAWI 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our two night stay at Exe Valley. What a well kept site. Quiet, peaceful, next to the River Exe. We pitched next to the river and slept to the sound of the river flow. Bliss. Facilities are clean and pleasant. Shower block is older but had lots of hot water and is spotless. Toilet block is newer and also spotless. Laundry, dryer and dishwashing facilities and shop (9-6) all supplied. Rule to keep noise to a minimum after 11pm was abided by and slept well to the sound of owls. Staff are very friendly too. Couldn`t fault it and will return. Pub (Badger`s Holt) opposite - also friendly. 15 min drive to Mindhead. We enjoyed it so much, our one night stay became two.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lucasdog 3 reviews from this member

Had a great stay here in July. We love this site and the wardens are fantastic. The shop is a great asset for essentials and super local meats. The pitches are spacious and the dog walk is brilliant. There are some lovely places round about including pubs that do fabulous meals.

The only downside at all are the very tired and outdated showers. They do let the site down badly. The blocks themselves and the showers need upgrading as they do not do the job. Because of this your star rating comes down I am afraid.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tyron 2 reviews from this member

We found this site very hard to fault, the pitches are all adjacent to either the river or the stream serving the mill which is very relaxing.

The facilities are very good and always clean, very handy on site shop with the basics and good information centre with detailed walks from the site and pub info/menus, nearest pub is approx 100m which is very good and friendly.

The free wi-fi was handy because phone signal wasn't the best and also the free loan of the aerial cable for the tv hook up is a nice touch

The warden's & owners are very friendly and helpful, the site is kept very clean and tidy.

If the showers were as modern as the toilet block then this site would be faultless.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malcbev 5 reviews from this member

Lovely site adults only. Quiet and peaceful at the side of the river. We were allocated a large pitch and had plenty of room to pitch tent and surface was flat Excellent ammenities always clean and tidy, nice little room for washing up, free use of microwave and freezer, washing machine 2x 50p for 70 minutes good value as I have paid 2 or more on some sites. Wardens very helpful, in fact give you a cup of tea or coffee on arrival. Handy little shop on site with everything you might need including gas. Pub just a short walk away that serves good food.

Situated well for exploring Somerset and Devon we were lucky as the weather was excellent. Do try the West Somerset Railway excellent day out, Minehead bit poor for shops but sea front lovely in fine weather.

Would visit this site again as lovely and peaceful.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rihizo 2 reviews from this member

We spent two nights at this lovely site. The location is beautiful and the Wardens are just fab. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely pitch next to the water mill. All pitches are a very good size and very well maintained.

We were however surprised at the out dated shower facilities. They really do not reflect the rest of the standard at the site. The ladies showers were cramped, damp and difficult to get dried and dressed in. Not to the standard we have experienced at other similar sites. This is a shame because in all other aspects this site is second to none. I do hope there are plans to upgrade these facilities?

All in all the site is well placed to visit the lovely surrounding area and we would return. We would have given 10/10 for everything if showers had been better. Decent washing facilities are important to us.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob ashcroft 12 reviews from this member

A delightful adult only site. Excellent pitches of a generous size on mostly level ground. Facilities were slightly on the compact size, but of good quality with hot powerful showers.

A pleasant rural location, although you will have to drive to get to various places such as shops and main walking routes. Very friendly wardens, who made our stay a very relaxing experience. The first site we have stayed at where we were offered a free coffee on arrival.

I feel like quoting that famous Arnold Schwarzenegger line 'I'll be back!'

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ourvan 5 reviews from this member

My wife and I have visited this site several times now, although on weekends only. Those running the site are always helpful and nothing too much trouble. The main reason of enjoying this site is its peace and quiet. It was a while ago when we did experience some noise from young guys who were camping close by, who kept us awake from 4am by their loud talking etc. But upon mentioning this to the owner, to his credit he went and had a chat with them, explaining they had disturbed others. Thankfully we were not the only ones who complained. Other than that it has been a nice quiet site.

There are walks nearby, although some can be hilly.

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets to the Into the Trees Festival

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet England's Medieval Festival 24th to 27th August, E Sussex
Discover the magic of history and celebrate the past at Herstmonceux Castle. Camping packages available ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


12099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1016