Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
                9/10 from 191 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 21 reviews from this member

Exe Valley Caravan & Camping Site – Well the site certainly lives up to & deserves the wonderful reviews on UK Campsites, (that’s how I find the good sites).

We have a large tunnel tent & the pitches were very spacious all with EHU, we pitched on the Mill stream side of the site, this enjoys the sun later in the evening & the weather was wonderful.

The owners, Christine & Paul, along with there wardens Kath & Paul, were very warm & welcoming, nothing was to much trouble, the site is keep immaculate, toilets, showers, washing up areas always spotlessly clean. The site was so quite & peaceful in such beautiful surroundings.

Some reviews suggests that there is not enough showers, the site was full as it was Bank holiday week & I never had to wait for a shower once.

On Sunday’s Christine & Paul invites everyone into the Mill House (their home) & Paul runs the Mill, underneath the house, giving all the history, supported by Christine who explains all the working of the Mill on the upper floor with all history of the four milling that took place until 1947.

There is little too no phone signal on site, but the sites free Wi-Fi system really works well, I was, during my stay, overseeing a charitable container into Malawi, so good internet connection was important.

There is much to see in Exmoor, the many beautiful villages, Dunster, Dulverton, Porlock, Lynmouth & Winsford, where we had a wonderful meal at The Royal Oak. The highlight of our visit was the Tarr Steps, a must for any visitor.

The only downside for me was that the week went far too quick, there was so much to see & do. I would rank Exe Valley in my top ten sites, Kath & Paul, keep up the good work, we will return in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aquabliss 7 reviews from this member

We were very pleasantly surprised at this tranquil and idealic campsite. This was our first visit, and it won't be our last. There are pitches to suit everyone, and their allocation is very relaxed. We had a pitch by the river bank which was delightful. The pitches at this site are very generous and spacious too. Although some reviews don't rate the toilets and showers very well, we thought they were quite adequate. The water was of a good pressure and hot, and everywhere was very clean. If anything, they might be a little overstretched at peak times as the facilities were of a limited nature. This is only a very minor concern when you take into account everything else that is offered. Free wifi, Orange mobile network, microwave oven, washing machines and other domestic necessities - all kept very clean and tidy. There is also a small shop which stocks most food and drink items that you may need. There are lovely walks to enjoy from the campsite, and there is a very picturesque spot by an attractive weir within the campsite itself. Within a 2 minute walk from the main gate there is the Badgers Holt - a lovely country pub. As well as a selection of real ales they also offer a very extensive and reasonably priced choice of lunches and dinners. All campsites have a mixture of good and bad points, but the good ones certainly out weigh the bad ones here. Kath and Pete (the site wardens) were very friendly and helpful. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, and we were even offered a cup of tea upon our arrival - we've not had the pleasure of that at other campsites before. Pete was always out mowing the grass or attending to minor repairs, and Kath was always on hand in the office for advice. Overall there was a very nice relaxed feel to the site which must be credited to the wardens. We'll hopefully return later this year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elsbycs 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site and so lovely stayed for an extra 2 nights. Beautiful adults only site, a river running down one side and a small leat the other so wherever you pitch you can hear the relaxing sound of trickling water. Immaculately clean showers and new toilet block. Powerful very hot free showers with no push buttons. Wardens very friendly and helpful and small but very well stocked little shop at reception, nothing was too much trouble. Dog walk is just outstandingly beautiful down to a weir, the whole area well maintained and just lovely and peaceful, as is the whole of Exmoor. Will definitely be returning to this gem of a site. I have no negatives to say about this campsiste at all, thank you for a very memorable holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 30 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site. Everything is lovely and clean and tidy. Immaculate toilets and lovely hot water in the showers. Both the Wardens and Owners take great pride in making everyone's stay as welcoming as possible.

Excellent tourist info, free wifi, books with local walks, menus for all of the pubs and restaurants. Bus stops right outside the door which is very handy.

One of the best sites we have used and we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indimeg 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely couple of days at this superb camp site. It was my first time camping on my own since becoming single again and I was slightly nervous but thanks to Paul and Kath the most friendliest of wardens and some other really friendly helpful campers, it was a total success.

I pitched riverside on a nice level pitch. Really dog friendly with a lovely area for them to run free.

The loos and showers were always spotless.

This really is a gem of a site, in a beautiful area and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Just lovely.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Guider 14 reviews from this member

Just spent 6 nights at exe valley. We followed their directions and had no problem getting there. On arrival we were greeted with a cuppa made by the very friendly wardens. Where you pitch was left to you and there is no formality on which way round you prefer. We used the walking guides they kindly print and although we have a good map, we didn't need it. Just follow their directions on the sheet.

The toilet and showers were spotless although if it had been a full site they would be inadequate due to the wait that would arise i. E not enough showers. We used the local pub which was fine; nothing special but reasonable value, and the landlord was very chatty and helpful.

We did a number of walks to Tarr steps, weddon cross, Dunkery beacon and visited Dunster castle which was superb.

A good site and well positioned. I would use again

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LOOPYLUNAR 9 reviews from this member

This is a great site with friendly, helpful wardens. The approach road from the A361 is a little bit narrow in places and you have to be aware of large vehicles such as tractors approaching. It is a really good base from which to explore Minehead, Porlock, Porlock Weir, and Lynton and Lynmouth. Tarr steps, Dulverton and of course, Exmoor are very close. Unfortunately there are only 2 male and 2 female toilets on site ( which are kept spotlessly clean) and it would be much better if there were more toilets at the opposite end of the site. This is an adults only site because of the river. What a beautiful place it is where the river and millstream separate at the weir, so peaceful. All in all a really nice site.

Management response: We are sorry that you did not find the other toilets. There are 4 toilets for ladies, and for the gentlemen there are 3 toilets and 2 urinals. These are in addition to the disabled toilet which is unisex. Because we are inside the National Park, we are restricted in the buildings we can have on the campsite and therefore unable to build further amenities.

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments: we hope to see you again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: St.bernard 7 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site. The wardens Paul and Kathie were very helpful in every sense of the word. The site is immaculately kept. The toilet and shower blocks were very good. Washinf up room with washing machine and tumble drier extremely well priced, compared with some sites we have visited. The site is set in some stunning scenery, as is the surrounding area. The owners ( who are in the backround) were also helpful especially on the guided tours of their home, which is the mill house, really worth seeing for yourselves on Sundays. We shall certainly be visiting again, complete with carrier bags Paul! So mnow you know who` s writing this.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salwayne1 2 reviews from this member

Wonderful. Quiet, and friendly site, would go back again. Staff made you feel very welcome. We've never been to a site where you are offered a drink when you first arrive. Plenty of water points and although there is only analogue TV, they will lone you an aerial lead to connect the TV. Wi-fi available, but the only mobile signal was for Orange and 3. For us it was a nice break from the outside world. Washing facilities were clean, although the shower block was looking a bit tired - we have come across much worse. New toilet block was lovely. Well stocked shop and information place.

If you are there on a Sunday, the owner has the water wheel running for an hour. Him and his wife will give you a tour for free, it's worth a look. He also puts up national flags of the people staying, it's a nice touch.

Surrounding area was beautiful. Amazing scenery and not too far to travel. If you enjoy walking its a good base. Lots of places to go.

Tried local pub out. It's a must. Pity more of the campers don't use it. Good choice of drinks - real ale especially. Great food, well presented and reasonably priced. We ate there a few time over our 2 week stay and had no complaints at all, have to say the steak we tried on our last night was one of the best we've ever had. Landlord and Landlady very friendly, great for a laugh and good choice of music. Locals lovely too. We even went to watch the local cricket match. Wow, what a place. Beautiful club house and entertaining watching the team fishing the ball out of the river. Take a look, even if there isn't a match on. Thanks for helping to make our holiday special.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SCAWI 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from our two night stay at Exe Valley. What a well kept site. Quiet, peaceful, next to the River Exe. We pitched next to the river and slept to the sound of the river flow. Bliss. Facilities are clean and pleasant. Shower block is older but had lots of hot water and is spotless. Toilet block is newer and also spotless. Laundry, dryer and dishwashing facilities and shop (9-6) all supplied. Rule to keep noise to a minimum after 11pm was abided by and slept well to the sound of owls. Staff are very friendly too. Couldn`t fault it and will return. Pub (Badger`s Holt) opposite - also friendly. 15 min drive to Mindhead. We enjoyed it so much, our one night stay became two.

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1565 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019