Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 06/03/2021 to 15/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 201 Reviews
                9/10 from 201 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  201 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Badsey 1 review from this member

 Friendly and welcoming hosts, and the cup of tea we received on arrival hit the spot. Our pitch was level and in a very peaceful corner opposite the shop, water close and electric hook up even closer.

The walks were fantastic and everything was in spitting distance too, we heartily recommend the Badgers Holt pub across the road, the landlord Keith was friendly and the home cooked food was out of this world, you really have to try the steak and Exmoor ale pie!

It's the little things that did it for us. The help yourself to herbs garden by the shop, the nicely stocked shop, the picturesque setting, the peace and quiet and of course the weather too.

If I was going to find a down side, not that it really was one. There just aren't enough showers for the amount of pitches, but its such a lovely site I almost hate to say that.

We will all be going back again this year, oh and one more thing, only have one pint of the addlstones cloudy cider if you walk the 1 mile to Winsford, you have been warned! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lizziee 3 reviews from this member

 There's lots of things to like about this site, although for me it isn't really my cup of tea, being very orderly and regimented.

What I liked:

Nice large, flat, riverside pitch

Well mown grass

Good, clean facilities

Very handy and safe dog off-lead walking area

Good pub serving excellent food (the venison was to die for!) on the doorstep

Handy location for many of Exmoor's delights

What I liked less:

- On arrival, having driven for over 4 hours, we failed to notice the signs asking to report to reception and only saw that the shop was closed so assumed we were to help ourselves to a pitch. As we were nearly finished erecting our tent, the owner appeared to say that we should have been on the next-door pitch, and made us feel very unwelcome. When I went to the reception to pay, he made sure that he made all the changes he needed to make because of our 'stupidity' (how I felt, not what he said!) in front of me. I felt this was very poor customer care, especially as the next day he put 'reserved' signs on other pitches, so could easily done that on ours! We spent all the time there feeling faintly guilty.

- As mentioned previously, the site is very regimented, with everything 'just so'. I'm sure most people like this, but it's not my thing.

- The road was noisy (it's a main road) and there was noise of one sort or another (a strimmer or Chain saw and, on one evening, a woman wailing!) for hours every afternoon and evening we were there.

If you are after suburbia-in-the-countryside then this site is perfect, but if you like to feel you have gone somewhere a bit different and wild it may feel rather twee and parochial. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bohemia 7 reviews from this member

 This was a lovely site. We were next door to a babbling brook which the dogs loved. There was a super dog walking area and a pub within walking distance. Walking in the area is superb and we were spoilt for choice.

We were not crowded and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

There was plenty of free information on where to visit and the managers were friendly.

If you have a really big unit the way in could be tight but with a bit of assistance we saw one of those huge demountable units go out so it's not impossible. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Aguilera08 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful stay at this site, the pitch size was ample it was easy to find and our two dogs had a great time as the dog walking area at the end of the site was perfect. An enclosed area with access to the river so they could cool off. Any dog owners interested in this area should definitely visit this site.

The shop was well stocked and the site was easy to find. Toilet block and showers were fine, very clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anidav 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely camp site, excellent shower / toilets / facilities. Loads of room really spacious quiet, very laid back week, we were lucky and actually had sun!

Pub walking distance and really good food, roads were a little scary as busy and narrow. Dulverton really lovely and excellent supermarket for good food. Would definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

 Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

After much deliberation we decided to try this site. There was only two concerns:

1. Mixed reviews about road noise

2. Never been to an adult site only

Well, let me tell you. It was bliss! We arrived at 8pm on Friday evening and the owners welcomed us with a free hot drink. We were able to choose whichever pitch we wanted and whichever side you go you have the relaxing noise of water running through. Just a small point: if you wish sun in the morning (until 5-6 pm) use the left side of the side (as you drive in); if you prefer sun in the evenings but not too early in the morning use the right handside.

Imagine, trees, water, lots of pheasants and peace. That was our weekend. No road noise (you would not believe the road adjacent to the camp site is an A road - I would say is more of a country road) no kids noise, no loud music. Complete tranquillity.

Facilities: all good and free hot water. What more can you ask. Electricity and co-ax cable 2.50. You can't go wrong with that! All in all for two nights, a dog electrics and awning 26!

Lots of walks from campsite from 3 to 8 miles to suit all. The information hub has all the routes and instructions printed for the circular walks. Brilliant. Massive exercise area for dogs at the end of the site + relaxing bench by the weir. Perfect site if you have dogs.

Pub: 6 minutes walk, civilised with no big screen (ACE!). Food good, ale ace especially if you like real ale. What more can I say: I will be back 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prof9 4 reviews from this member

 Spent Easter Weekend at this site our Icarus 500 tent was pitched on the mill stream side on pitch 5 with ehu which was near the services and the only noise was from the water coming out of the mill which was not to much of a problem,

Very nice and friendly owners who were very helpful and welcoming with a cup of tea and hotcross bun.

Wash area and showers with plenty hot water and piped Radio two, clean and well maintained, small shop and information place with guides on local walks freely available.

Will definitely be returning in the future and as an adult only site nice and peaceful with sounds of water and ducks who welcome you when you arrive, a most relaxing and pleasant stay.

Would certainly recommend and thank you 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chelsea girl 56 reviews from this member

 We came to Exe Valley at almost the end of their season (late Sept). We normally caravan but as we live locally we decided to do a stay in our small tent.

Good points :

Pretty, wooded valley setting. Riverside pitches (no midges when we went!)

Well kept site - lovely bridge over the stream to the showers, plenty of information on local attractions/amenities.

Friendly owners, free cup of coffee.

Warm, clean showers with radio playing!

Probably the best dog walk in all the sites we have visited, if your dog loves water then it would love Exe Valley, beautiful walk where dogs can run free up to the stunning weir - plenty of little pools for pooches who like to swim!

Wildlife - a very natural site, plenty of birds - owls & pheasants, and bats.

The Badgers Holt Inn - excellent local pub within easy walking distance, friendly welcoming hosts and lots of specials from Steak & Ale pie to venison. They allow dogs in the bar and small outside seating area. Very friendly waiter service and good value (9.95 for 8oz rump steak)

Just some minor gripes :

Pitches - very small further up the park, we had a tiny 3 man tent and were not far from our neighbours, so much so that the bloke next door kept me awake with his snoring. If you have a large tent you may have problems. The pitches do narrow on the river side especially from pitches 44 upwards.

Privacy - Carrying on from the above really, due to the layout of the park (not the owners fault I know) we felt very 'overlooked', what with a motorhome either side of us and a row of caravans all looking on to us. (next time we will take more windbreaks!)

Tent pitches - a long walk from the toilets, showers and sink area, it seemed that caravans and motorhomes (who on the majority have their own sink and loo) were better catered for down near all the facilities and the tenters were furthest away, some tent pitches near the loos would be better.

I would recommend this site, and we would return (I know my dog would!) Although as another reviewer has already stated it felt more of a 'caravan & campervan' park so we would probably return in our caravan. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peteranddi 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Exe Valley for 2 weeks in July and thought it was a lovely site. One of the prettiest sites we have stayed at, there is the river on one side and the mill stream on the other, so wherever you pitch you will be next to water. The dog walk up to the weir is beautiful and in good weather it is an idyllic and peaceful site. The toilet blocks and showers were clean and free to use. Although sometimes busy, we never had to queue, and the laundry and washing up room were equally clean, with everything you need. Wifi is also available at reception.

The only downside for us, was whilst we appreciated the quiet and peaceful atmosphere of the site, we sometimes wondered if it was a little too quiet - we were almost afraid of making any noise at all. Unfortunately the weather was poor for most of our stay - as a result of this holiday we have now upgraded to a folding camper. When the sun did shine it tended to only be one side of the site due to the fact that it is in a deep valley. It is worth considering whether you would like evening or morning sunshine when picking your pitch.

We ate at the Badger's Holt on at least 3 occasions during our stay and were thoroughly satisfied with the variety of choice, quality and value. The service and atmosphere was also great.

All in all, a great site, and we would love to visit again some day. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shirl47 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at this site. The only complaint I have about this site is it is close to the A road so it is noisy. The site is very well kept nice and tidy and the toilet blocks always spotless. The owners were wonderful with a very welcome cup of tea and biscuit on arrival. The area is outstandingly beautiful but the roads are quite scary sometimes with very sharp bends that just jump out at you so be very cautious when driving. The walks are great and our dog enjoyed them. All in all a lovely site and reasonably priced too. 


Previous     201 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement