Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 191 Reviews
                9/10 from 191 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  191 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeakerUK 4 reviews from this member

We've just come back from 3 nights here, and it is a very pleasant site. Beautiful location in the valley along the riverbank and with the old mill leat. The central track runs down the middle with the pitches on either side. Each pitch either extends to the river, or to the leat on the other side (as far as I could tell) up to the central lane, so they are very long. There was plenty of room for our two tents and two cars. We were also next to a drinking water point (of which there were several) and there were also several neat and tidy places to put rubbish. The owners live onsite in the old mill, and were very friendly, offering any help they could as we are not experienced campers! Near the entrance is a small shop with a few basics which is open for a short time in the morning and afternoon. Also near the entrance is a toilet block with a couple of toilets each for men and women. The women's were very spacious in each cubicle! In a separate building is a laundry / washing up room (with sinks, washing machine, tumble drier, ironing boards and vegetable preparation area), the men's showers and the women's showers. The women's have a toilet cubicle, three sinks, a hairdrier and three showers with proper doors into a small drying / dressing area and a shower. All facilities are kept clean, tidy and free. I didn't see many people using them because most people seemed to be in caravans or motorhomes, with only a few other tents.

I was concerned about the proximity to the A road, but in fact it is a very quiet road with VERY few vehicles in the night and not many more during the day. (And I am very fussy about road noise!) The rooks in the trees and the young pheasants across the river were far more noisy!

The village has a fabulous pub with superb food reasonably priced (and very friendly staff), and it's not too far to pretty Dulverton which has a small Co-Op, bank, post office, tea rooms and so on. Further away are Minehead, Taunton, Tiverton and Exeter is probably accessible too. There's plenty to do on and around Exmoor, and I can't recommend enough the fantastic Barle Land Rover Safari.

Being at the bottom of a deep, wooded valley alongside a river, the site was very damp for us - it rained on and off all the time we were there and it got rather squelchy. There were some patches of mud from previous campers. When dry this site would be glorious. It was certainly very peaceful (aside from the previously mentioned wildlife!) and people seemed quiet and respectful of others. Most people pitched facing the river, so you got beautiful views and lots of peace and quiet, and the central lane meant you didn't have to battle through other people's pitches. I would definitely recommend it, though would be cautious of returning with a tent if it was going to be rainy.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hobbit1 16 reviews from this member

Our third year at Exe valley, this time we stayed for a week, a wonderful welcome from Paul with the new addition of tea/coffee and a biccie. Weather held out for us and the site is so well situated for exploring Exmoor. A real gem, pitched by the river, sitting out in the evening under the stars with owls and bats all around.Priceless. Details of walks and drives available, overall a fab site and one we hope to return to time and time again; the facilities are spotless but more toilets needed. Already looking forward t next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ruth+Ted 4 reviews from this member

This was our first trip in our new motorhome having previously used tents! What a difference! We were thrilled with the facilities on this site. The pitches are fantastic and the field is surrounded by a beautiful river (albeit, difficult to fish as it is very fast). The site is managed by the nicest of people who welcome you with a lovely tea or coffee and go through the procedures thoroughly! Any problems, they will try their best to fix. The toilet block, shower and laundry facilities are superb - kept spotlessly clean. The shop is basic but we didn't really need to use it.

Only small criticism - a few more pitches with hard standing would be great!

We didn't enjoy the food at the Badgers Holt Inn (contrary to public opinion)- the beer was good but the food is typically microwave to table and a bit too expensive! Good wines though, at good prices! Staff were a bit grumpy!

Some fantastic walks around with outstanding views! Take an Ordnance Survey Map as some of the walks can be quite difficult and the manager's own guides can be a bit misleading! We managed to get stuck in a field surrounded by cows and bullocks!

Overall, a great site and we will be back - thank you!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debgreen 33 reviews from this member

We've just returned from 10 days here - our first visit - and were delighted with the site, it's facilities, the size of the pitches and the care taken to look after an excellent site. Tea and biscuits on arrival - very civilised. The weather was mostly glorious, with a few heavy down-pours. The ground coped very well and drained quickly.

The loos and showers (3 loos, showers & basins per sex) were spotless, with powerful, hot & free showers - which is a bonus. The dishwashing/laundry area was also spotless and well looked after. Only used the shop once (for milk) but it seemed to have the basics. A paper-ording service would be useful, as it's a long drive if you want one. Information room was well stocked with menus, walk/drive info, and a public pay phone (v. Important as our mobiles didn't work and we needed to call the local vet - only Orange works, apparently).

We ate out most nights and used the local 'Bager's Holt' three times, the Royal Oak, Wood's and the Thai in Dulverton (these two a bit more expensive but it was hubby's birthday and our anni). All were excellent. The pub is friendly, with good service and reasonably priced food. We had a three-hour trip with Barle Land Rover Safaris on Sunday morning with a very knowledgeable drive - Alison - which was a fab way to see and get a feel for Exmoor. Highly recommended (dogs can go too).

There is a beautiful tiny cricket ground within easy walking distance, which we visited when not visiting local rugby clubs to see the Lion's Tests. My only small complaint is the road noise (and the noise from from people seemingly rebuilding the insides of their 'vans in the evening - what were you doing?) seems to echo around the valley. Otherwise the site is peaceful and calm, with lots of birds and good dog walks etc. Will visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quintonjan 6 reviews from this member

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful site, the toilets and showers were immaculate.

The site is ideally located for touring south Somerset and north Devon. We were lucky enough to see some wild ponies in the Exmoor national park. We visited Lynton and Lynmouth and Minehead and Porlock, all within easy reach. We travelled out every day as the weather was atrocious.
The Badgers Holt inn is just a few minutes walk away and their food was excellent and the friendly service was a bonus! The site owners were very helpful and insisted we had a free coffee before setting up our caravan. All employees on site will give you names of places to visit and directions.
This was only our second holiday since buying our caravan and it knocked spots off our first choice! As it is 'adults only' site it meant most of the people on site were in our age group and the peace and quiet not disturbed by noisy children. Peaceful bliss.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Oliver67 9 reviews from this member

Now the plumber has fixed the showers great The toilet block and showers are not enough for the pitch numbers but it does not matter as everything bar the dogs on site is great!
The site is lovely but alas when it rains it rains, we did have better drains this time and I noticed the water was not as bad on the pitches. Great site I will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AlandSuzy 7 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site in the heart of Exmoor. I honestly can't think of anything significantly at fault with either the site or the location.
We were there for the late May bank holiday weekend and although the site was busy it was relatively quiet (I guess partly due to the lack of children) and relaxing.
The facilities are very good with just enough showers / toilets (although if you arrive at the wrong time you might have to wait 5 minutes for a shower) and a good sized washing up/kitchen area with microwave and washing machine / dryer.
We loved the pub opposite the campsite. The food was superb as was the wine (an excellent value for money New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc).
You can walk up onto the moors direct from the campsite - we managed to walk to Dunkerry Beacon and Winsford Hill, but both of these can be reached by car if you prefer.
I would definitely recommend this site and will certainly consider going back at some point in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Val and Martin 2 reviews from this member

Wow what can I say the weather wasn't that kind to us but this site is just so peaceful and so very well kept. The added bonus just up the road is a fantastic pub serving the most fantastic well price food and is also run by really nice people

We will be back, just loved it.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glyndelahay 2 reviews from this member

There aren't many sites that when you arrive offer you coffee/tea, this one did. After booking in we were given the choice of any vacant pitch. We chose one next to the river.
A very peaceful site even with the A396 running along side site. The owners have certainly taken care of this site and on Sunday mornings invite campers to visit the water mill to see it working.The shop is handy for milk bread (frozen) and eggs etc.
Would we visit this site again? we have booked another week in July.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparry1163 14 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from two idyllic days right next to the river Exe. The weather was glorious and this no doubt enhanced this wonderful site.

Easy to find and get into, owners were helpful and we had our pick of the available pitches, all of which were large and well positioned.

Peaceful despite being next to a main road, you will be aware of nothing but the river and bird song. If the night is clear you will get a brilliant view of the stars.

The river is a constant hive of activity for the local birdlife and seems pretty well stocked with fish. Fishing on site is free, alas we didn't have our rods with us.

Plenty to see and do around the area, we took a bus which stops right outside the campsite into a lovely local village.

Plenty of walking to suit all abilities, we walked into Windsford and had a great meal in the Royal Oak. The local Pub, just outside the site gates , The Badgers Holt, was friendly enough, and seemed to have a reasonably priced and comprehensive menu.

The site has a small shop which would cater for most essential needs, opening times are limited but you are asked to go to the Mill house if you have and other enquiries or problems, the Owners always seemed to be on hand yet not intrusive.

The toilets were adequate and spotlessly clean, I have seen far plusher toilet blocks but as I cant say we go away camping to sample the bathrooms services we have no complaints.

Recycling on site and plenty of water points. At 10.50 a night we thought we had to be a bargain. We will certainly return and would recommend this adult only site

Previous     191 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019