Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 188 Reviews
                9/10 from 188 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  188 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsK29 1 review from this member

Just returned from 7 nights at this picturesque site. We are new to caravanning & this is the furthest we have been with the caravan so far. Well worth the 4 hour journey! On arrival the warden was very helpful. Offering a most welcome cup of tea! We were pitched near the facilities, which are modern and spotless. We were on the side next to the river, which got the sun in the mornings. The dog walk area and the weir are very pretty. I would not have been disappointed on any of the pitches to be honest. The site is kept immaculate. We will definitely return here, and would recommend it to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertwoody 2 reviews from this member

This was my third visit to this idyllic site and was pleased to find it as lovely as ever. Well maybe even better with the refurbished shower block. Our pitch was at the very far end, beside the river. I note a previous reviewer suggests more lighting at the top end, I think not! The help yourself herb garden is a great idea and welcome in the camp kitchen. The local area is fabulous for dog walking (take a tick puller with you though). We had a couple of very nice meals at the pub down the road. Thank you for your fantastic (child free!) site

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

What a wonderful site. We were met by a very friendly warden who gave us lots of useful information. We had a lovely big pitch by the River Exe. The facilities were very clean. The shop however, could have stocked a little more food essentials. A walk to the pretty village of Winsford is well worth doing. Whilst there pop into the Royal Oak Inn. Highly recommended and very picturesque. The Exmoor walks are breathtaking and if you want to get to Tarr Steps, ask yourself 'Are the signposts pointing the right way?' We ended up walking 12 miles! The pub in the village of Bridgetown is also worth visiting but not open everyday. We would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MickR58 1 review from this member

We stayed here the weekend after the late May bank holiday. Really impressed with the site. It is very pretty. We had our dog with us so used the dog walking area. Some visitors without a dog may not go there, but it is very pretty, overlooking the weir and with a few picnic benches dotted around (don't worry - the dog owners are good at clearing up). We liked being on the river side but many seemed to prefer the millstream side - maybe because it gets longer hours of sunshine in the evening. The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean. There were only two male toilet cubicles but there never seemed to be a queue. (Didn't ask my wife how many there were in the ladies) The local pub is good - we ate a very decent meal there and it has a nice 'local' feel to it. And Exmoor itself is a lovely part of the West Country. We'll certainly be going back.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pelro 1 review from this member

This is a lovely site. Toilet and shower facilities are of a very high standard. The site itself is picturesque with a river and mill stream bordering each side. Very peaceful site with a lovely dog walking area. Wonderful opportunity to visit the on site mill house and learn the history of the working mill. Even got to meet the resident bats which was a real treat. Area itself is quite remote but perfect for walking and cycling. Lovely to receive a coffee on arrival 👍

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rlemin 3 reviews from this member

Visited the site a number of times before and it never fails to impress. The site is kept immaculate by the very friendly wardens Kath and Nikki, both of whom will go out of there way to provide assistance. The shower block has been completely refurbished since our last visit and is kept in a pristine condition. It must be said that the recent weather has kept the site very quite, we had it almost to our selves but I know it is often very busy.

Only one comment, when we arrived the showers were excellent, but during the week the flow reduced to a dribble, making them very difficult to use, this was not from overuse by the campers on site!

I am sure that this must be a fault in a control valve the will be rectified by the proprietor otherwise an excellent stay in a stunning location.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lady of the lakes 29 reviews from this member

Imagine you are driving along a winding A-road through the Exmoor National Park in South Somerset. It is a fine early spring day, and the pheasants are out in force. To the right and left of you are wooded slopes rising gracefully from the valley floor. There, neatly bordered by a sparkling mill stream on one side and the river Exe on the other, lies a long triangle of green loveliness where the wardens offer a very warm welcome to campers and tourers alike. The wide end of the triangle, where the reception, facilities and picturesque mill house are to be found, has broad grass pitches; as you head down towards the narrow end, the grass gives way to hardstanding, and it was there, by the entrance to the dog walk, that we parked our motorhome for 2 nights. There is a small shop in reception, an information hut with a payphone (no mobile signal for our vodaphone network). We were at the far end of the site from the facilities so used our on-board washroom a lot, but did check out the shower block and toilet block to see how they were (very clean and well lit). There are plenty of water stands strategically located around the site. We were totally enchanted by this place. The river and the mill stream are both crystal clear, the grass is beautifully kept, and the dog walk - bounded by a high wall which made us feel like we were in the grounds of some stately home - led to a dam of surprising size and real beauty. Grey wagtails, wrens and dippers were active in the area, and a kingfisher made a couple of welcome appearances. For those who, like me, aren't too good at photographing wild birds, a sextet of runner ducks in assorted colours mooched around near the water mill and provided easier subjects. Just off site and across the bridge, a walk off to the right follows the Exe upstream; when you intersect with the road, turn left, walk a few hundred yards and take the forest track up the hill. Just before the switchback, you will find a heronry with 8 nests and plenty of birds in evidence. Do keep an eye on your dog if you go up the tracks, as there is a fairly steep drop as you get higher up. The dog and I were very happy with the whole area. Last night we stood in the moonlight listening to the owls calling, and really regretted we could not stay longer. We will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 17 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site three times this year. It is a lovely peaceful site with plenty full dog walking facilities.

The newer toilet block is clean & tidy, however we found the older toilet / shower facilities untidy & unclean this visit, there were numerous dead spiders & flies etc. All over the block, & my husband had to clean the shower before he was able to use it. It is a shame, but a great little site is being let down by its shower block which really does need refurbishing now.

Would we return. Yes we still would.

Management response: Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that on your next visit, the shower block will have been totally refurbished, and should be a pleasure to use.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Finnruss1 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite. Only drawback we thought was lack of lighting up top end of site and maybe extra shower block top end of site. But other than that beautifully kept site. Welcomed with hot drink on arrival. Very friendly wardens. Choice of pitches, we went on hardstanding but were able to face whichever way you wished, so pithed with awning on grass at side of river. The site was quiet even though road ran along side. More noise from pheasants than road. Would recommend this site to anyone

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this lovely campsite and we stayed for six nights.

We first encountered this site almost ten years ago and were blown away. Since then if we are in the area, we make a point of staying here.

It's a long narrow site, a single access track with very spacious grass pitches indeed to either side. One side backs onto a small river, the other a mill stream, which is why no children are allowed.

At the entrance to the site is the reception, which also stocks a selection of food and equipment. The wardens are lovely, pleasant and helpful.

Toilet blocks are scrupulously clean, and one small block has recently been renovated to a very high standard. Showers are electric and free.

Being a very elongated triangle the site narrows towards the far end. There we find small non-electric pitches and some hard-standing which I have to say looked very tight - happy we stayed on grass (which is our preference anyway).

This is also the entrance to the dog walk, and I think it's fair to say that it must be the loveliest and most picturesque dog walk in the UK. It's grassy and overhung with trees, with the aforesaid river and stream either side. At the end there is a weir, with benches provided to make the most of the view. If your dog likes water, as ours does, they will be in 7th heaven.

By car the site is close to numerous small towns and villages and excellent pubs. This was fortunate because the local, the Badgers Holt, has taken a turn for the worse since our last visit - we couldn't drink the stale ale and the landlord couldn't have cared less. That's a shame.

It's also, of course, in the Exmoor National Park with great touring and great walking.

I cannot speak too highly of this site.

Previous     188 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Babyhub SleepSpace Travel Cot worth 149.99 Win a OLPRO Knightwick 3 Tent

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 16 to 21 October, Birmingham NEC
Hundreds of caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4036 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977