Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Exe Valley Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Dulverton > Exe Valley Caravan Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN
Tel: 01643 851432
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 194 Reviews
                9/10 from 194 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  194 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marcusjp 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Met with a welcome tea or coffee, and shown to a good sized pitch. River on one side, and Mill stream on the other. Toilet block btter than some hotels I have stayed in. Dog walking area great. Pub is a 2 minute walk from the site entrance. We will return. Thankyou 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 78 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in a superb location along with the shop and superb helpful wardens. This time we enjoyed lovely new bathrooms ( where did the piped music go) which were a joy.

As ever the site was in lovely order and we had a fine time as usual.

One gripe though the newly installed wifi over the site is pathetic, it works, it doesn't, it partly works, it doesn't it was a nightmare.

Either offer something that works properly or not at all. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yogitrish 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2wks, lovely camp site, all facilities very clean although was high season never had to queue for loos or showers. The wardens were lovely and you get a hot drink when you arrive. Only bugbear was the rule is to move your tent after 7days (still on same pitch)to preserve the grass. We camped on the riverside which got sun in morning but was gone by about 4. 30pm; I would recommend you book on the millstream side as this gets the most sun. We found the valley weather was a lot of misty rain and wind but when driving out of area weather improved!Winding roads in either direction for half hour before you get to a main road with lots of pheasants on road to watch out for!(breeding area)The local pub is reached in about 3mins walk, its opening hours can be random, its a bit dingy and I would not recommend sunday roast although other campers had nice other meals there. The dog walk on site up to the weir is beautiful, very dog friendly site. On Sundays at 10am you can have a tour of the mill. Very peaceful site, we seemed to be the only ones sitting around drinking and having a laugh in the evenings(we ranged from 57-64) but most people were older. All in all this is a lovely site for peace and quiet and cleanliness, I would go back for the actual site but not for the weather which was erratic, changing in minutes, we decided not to camp in a valley again!as we like the sun!Having said that I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wiggy010 8 reviews from this member

 Can't say much more than has already been said, lovely site, mostly flat on the river side with some pitches on the mill side slightly sloping. You have a choice of later sun on the mill side or more shade on the other. Mill visit well worth doing on Sunday. We will return if in the area. One warning if you are travelling to the site north on the A396, the Black Cat junction with the B3227 is more of a right turn than appears on the maps. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TomMac 27 reviews from this member

 Located right in the Exmoor Forest, although next to a main road (to Dunster, then Minehead) you wouldn't know it as at night it is dead quiet. Adults only site. On the left, the pitches are flat and have a small river behind, on the right the pitches are flat and sloping with a small stream behind. All pitches are grass, apart from a couple. The site is long and the toilets, showers, reception, laundry and dishwashing are all at the entrance and is quite a walk the further away you get. The toilet block is separate; 3 ladies and 2 mens, the showers are next to the laundry/washing and disabled shower/toilet. There are 3 showers and one toilet in the womens, not sure of the mens layout. The Badgers Holt inn is not always open, so be prepared to wait til they are or go elsewhere. We were told about the 'pretty sloping cricket ground' nearby. When we went there, we saw several steel mole traps in the ground with sticks as markers, so they were released! If you happen to go over and see any, please check them and release any trapped moles! I get the feeling these traps aren't checked regularly. Dunster is a short drive away, as is Englands Tallest tree, a small sign on your right says so before you get to Dunster, we also visited Minehead, Westward Ho! The Tarr Steps and had many drives around the moors and quiet lanes. Saw a deer and Exmoor ponies. There is a Co-Op in nearby Dulverton. The shop on site has a lot of good stuff too. On Sunday the site owner gives a talk and shows the mill wheel working. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rfrayling 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and the site is pure peace! Quiet, well maintained with nice clean modern facilities. At the far end of the park is a beautiful walk with a weir which should not be missed. The free wifi can be a bit hit and miss and there was no phone signal on Vodaphone. If you are on site on Sundays there is a small guided tour and the mill with was interesting. The very local pub (The Badgers Holt - 1 minute walk) serves great home cooked food and is dog friendly. Would certainly recommend and will be back! 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrsK29 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 7 nights at this picturesque site. We are new to caravanning & this is the furthest we have been with the caravan so far. Well worth the 4 hour journey! On arrival the warden was very helpful. Offering a most welcome cup of tea! We were pitched near the facilities, which are modern and spotless. We were on the side next to the river, which got the sun in the mornings. The dog walk area and the weir are very pretty. I would not have been disappointed on any of the pitches to be honest. The site is kept immaculate. We will definitely return here, and would recommend it to everyone. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bertwoody 5 reviews from this member

 This was my third visit to this idyllic site and was pleased to find it as lovely as ever. Well maybe even better with the refurbished shower block. Our pitch was at the very far end, beside the river. I note a previous reviewer suggests more lighting at the top end, I think not! The help yourself herb garden is a great idea and welcome in the camp kitchen. The local area is fabulous for dog walking (take a tick puller with you though). We had a couple of very nice meals at the pub down the road. Thank you for your fantastic (child free!) site 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Baileybus 30 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. We were met by a very friendly warden who gave us lots of useful information. We had a lovely big pitch by the River Exe. The facilities were very clean. The shop however, could have stocked a little more food essentials. A walk to the pretty village of Winsford is well worth doing. Whilst there pop into the Royal Oak Inn. Highly recommended and very picturesque. The Exmoor walks are breathtaking and if you want to get to Tarr Steps, ask yourself 'Are the signposts pointing the right way?' We ended up walking 12 miles! The pub in the village of Bridgetown is also worth visiting but not open everyday. We would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MickR58 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here the weekend after the late May bank holiday. Really impressed with the site. It is very pretty. We had our dog with us so used the dog walking area. Some visitors without a dog may not go there, but it is very pretty, overlooking the weir and with a few picnic benches dotted around (don't worry - the dog owners are good at clearing up). We liked being on the river side but many seemed to prefer the millstream side - maybe because it gets longer hours of sunshine in the evening. The toilet/shower facilities are modern and clean. There were only two male toilet cubicles but there never seemed to be a queue. (Didn't ask my wife how many there were in the ladies) The local pub is good - we ate a very decent meal there and it has a nice 'local' feel to it. And Exmoor itself is a lovely part of the West Country. We'll certainly be going back. 


Previous     194 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exe Valley Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exe Valley Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dulverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7078 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020