Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dese 3 reviews from this member

This is the second time we have been to this site and will definitely be returning again. Beautifully laid out pitches either by the river of the mill stream and with good sized pitches.

The dog walk area is on site and is very pretty with the river and millstream leading down to a weir. Owners very helpful. There are masses of walks close by and varied scenery with the moors and beautiful wooded valleys. Can't wait to go back. The only negative point is husband thought more Gents toilets would be good.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tockers 28 reviews from this member

We were welcomed with a cup of coffee and given several pitches to choose from. Most were flat or slightly sloping all were large and one side was against the road and the other side the river.

We chose the road half way up and it was noisy also we did not get the sun late in the day. Showers were hot but not much room to change and the toilet block seemed like public loos. All was clean and tidy and shop sold basics so take food with you as there are no shops in walking distance.

There wase water in several places and a waste drain for motorhomes and tv booster but only got 5 stations. Location was remote and quiet when out walking but the hills are very steep so not really suitable for cycling. We chose this site for peace and no kids but I was a little disappointed I'm not sure why!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SGThomas 106 reviews from this member

A very well maintained, adult only site, bordered by the river on one side and the mill stream on the other. The sites are reasonably flat and the EHUs are plentiful. There are many good, welcoming touches about the site; from the pick your own herbs, an extensive information centre and a neat little shop.

The toilet facilities are clean but inadequate, I would not recommend your going there without your own facilities. Owner's comment: It would appear that 'SGThomas' did not find the toilet block, but used the one toilet in the shower block which is about 5 yards away. The number of toilets on the campsite is twice the number required by our licence, and there should not be any reason for queues.

This problem is enough to deter us from returning to an otherwise idyllic site.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SeanK 2 reviews from this member

This is an immaculately well kept camping site set between a mill leat and a small river. The owner is happy to show people around the old mill which also comes complete with the odd resident bat.

It has plenty of shower, loo and washing up facilities, even a microwave oven and washing machine.

There's also a separate area between the leat and the river which is perfect for ex deciding dogs or having a picnic.

The nearby pub is also run by a very friendly couple and their food's pretty good too

I've returned to this site numerous times and can highly recommend it, if you like falling asleep to the sound of owls and wildlife you won't be disappointed, although it's close to a road it's amazingly quiet.

First class!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badsey 1 review from this member

Friendly and welcoming hosts, and the cup of tea we received on arrival hit the spot. Our pitch was level and in a very peaceful corner opposite the shop, water close and electric hook up even closer.

The walks were fantastic and everything was in spitting distance too, we heartily recommend the Badgers Holt pub across the road, the landlord Keith was friendly and the home cooked food was out of this world, you really have to try the steak and Exmoor ale pie!

It's the little things that did it for us. The help yourself to herbs garden by the shop, the nicely stocked shop, the picturesque setting, the peace and quiet and of course the weather too.

If I was going to find a down side, not that it really was one. There just aren't enough showers for the amount of pitches, but its such a lovely site I almost hate to say that.

We will all be going back again this year, oh and one more thing, only have one pint of the addlstones cloudy cider if you walk the 1 mile to Winsford, you have been warned!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizziee 3 reviews from this member

There's lots of things to like about this site, although for me it isn't really my cup of tea, being very orderly and regimented.

What I liked:

Nice large, flat, riverside pitch

Well mown grass

Good, clean facilities

Very handy and safe dog off-lead walking area

Good pub serving excellent food (the venison was to die for!) on the doorstep

Handy location for many of Exmoor's delights

What I liked less:

- On arrival, having driven for over 4 hours, we failed to notice the signs asking to report to reception and only saw that the shop was closed so assumed we were to help ourselves to a pitch. As we were nearly finished erecting our tent, the owner appeared to say that we should have been on the next-door pitch, and made us feel very unwelcome. When I went to the reception to pay, he made sure that he made all the changes he needed to make because of our 'stupidity' (how I felt, not what he said!) in front of me. I felt this was very poor customer care, especially as the next day he put 'reserved' signs on other pitches, so could easily done that on ours! We spent all the time there feeling faintly guilty.

- As mentioned previously, the site is very regimented, with everything 'just so'. I'm sure most people like this, but it's not my thing.

- The road was noisy (it's a main road) and there was noise of one sort or another (a strimmer or Chain saw and, on one evening, a woman wailing!) for hours every afternoon and evening we were there.

If you are after suburbia-in-the-countryside then this site is perfect, but if you like to feel you have gone somewhere a bit different and wild it may feel rather twee and parochial.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bohemia 6 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site. We were next door to a babbling brook which the dogs loved. There was a super dog walking area and a pub within walking distance. Walking in the area is superb and we were spoilt for choice.

We were not crowded and the facilities were clean and comfortable.

There was plenty of free information on where to visit and the managers were friendly.

If you have a really big unit the way in could be tight but with a bit of assistance we saw one of those huge demountable units go out so it's not impossible.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Aguilera08 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful stay at this site, the pitch size was ample it was easy to find and our two dogs had a great time as the dog walking area at the end of the site was perfect. An enclosed area with access to the river so they could cool off. Any dog owners interested in this area should definitely visit this site.

The shop was well stocked and the site was easy to find. Toilet block and showers were fine, very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anidav 7 reviews from this member

Lovely camp site, excellent shower / toilets / facilities. Loads of room really spacious quiet, very laid back week, we were lucky and actually had sun!

Pub walking distance and really good food, roads were a little scary as busy and narrow. Dulverton really lovely and excellent supermarket for good food. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

After much deliberation we decided to try this site. There was only two concerns:

1. Mixed reviews about road noise

2. Never been to an adult site only

Well, let me tell you. It was bliss! We arrived at 8pm on Friday evening and the owners welcomed us with a free hot drink. We were able to choose whichever pitch we wanted and whichever side you go you have the relaxing noise of water running through. Just a small point: if you wish sun in the morning (until 5-6 pm) use the left side of the side (as you drive in); if you prefer sun in the evenings but not too early in the morning use the right handside.

Imagine, trees, water, lots of pheasants and peace. That was our weekend. No road noise (you would not believe the road adjacent to the camp site is an A road - I would say is more of a country road) no kids noise, no loud music. Complete tranquillity.

Facilities: all good and free hot water. What more can you ask. Electricity and co-ax cable 2.50. You can't go wrong with that! All in all for two nights, a dog electrics and awning 26!

Lots of walks from campsite from 3 to 8 miles to suit all. The information hub has all the routes and instructions printed for the circular walks. Brilliant. Massive exercise area for dogs at the end of the site + relaxing bench by the weir. Perfect site if you have dogs.

Pub: 6 minutes walk, civilised with no big screen (ACE!). Food good, ale ace especially if you like real ale. What more can I say: I will be back

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Atera STRADA DL 2 Tilting Bike Carrier worth 457.50 Win a 7 night holiday at Lee Valley Campsite, near London!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977