Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Exe Valley Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Exe Valley Caravan Site
Mill House
Bridgetown
Exmoor
Dulverton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA22 9JN   See Map
Tel: 01643 851432
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 16th March To 15th October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 185 Reviews
                9/10 from 185 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  185 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stanly 2 reviews from this member

A wonderful warm welcome on arrival by Paul and Kath with a most welcoming cup of tea after a very early start. Then given the choice of spacious flat pitches. The site was spotless, quiet and ideally positioned for exploring the beauty of Exmoor.

The showers and toilets were spotless. We will definitely return. We would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Luckyskip 17 reviews from this member

Spent the last couple of nights here. Loved it to bits!

The wardens are all very friendly and helpful. No issues with being ' off centre ' to the pitch marker unlike some clubs I could mention! The weather was excellent and the conditions superb.

The showers and toilets were a little. Bijoux, but clean and tidy.

There were walks that the wardens had put together which worked well. Only one issue was the public footpath had been left to grow a little wild for our liking, but it turned out ok. Grounds are well cared for and the shop provides a fair amount of bits and pieces.

If it's peace and quiet, then this is it! All in all. Well worth coming again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Howlerdog 1 review from this member

This is the first time we have have visited Ex Valley campsite but it certainly won't be the last! the site is is so tranquil and relaxing and the facilities are great, someone asked to have the showers updated (please don't) they are great you get a lovely hot shower and they are kept spotless all the time.

Kath & Paul are lovely people and could not have been more helpful Kath is always off around the site checking on pitch availability and Paul is out cutting the grass as soon as someone moves off of their pitch, I said to Kath that it would be nice to have a mirror on the main road as you can't see back down past the house but she said no need as Paul will see you out onto the main road (which he did) thanks Paul(Mr Mirror Man)there is also a lot to see and do around the area which we did every day look forward to our next visit SOON thank you Kath & Paul

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dreamer36 8 reviews from this member

There is very little I can add to the recent reviews. We had such a welcome from the owners at the Mill (warden's day off!) with a welcome cup of tea or coffee. We chose our pitch by the river and enjoyed 5 nights at one of the best campsites I've been to. The site was almost full but there were no problems with the showers. Indeed I rarely met another person using them at the same time. Yes, they may be slightly dated but please don't change them! They were hot, fully adjustable, not on timers or fixed to the ceiling. There were plenty of hooks for clothes etc. Paper towels and soap were freely available in the shower and toilet blocks. Dog walks on site, on the opposite bank of the river and further afield (all on sheets in the information shed)were lovely. We will definitely come back regularly and look forward to the mill wheel in operation on a Sunday morning which we missed on this visit. I could quibble in a tiny way that the wifi hubs 2 and 3 weren't working so connection was only available close to the shop, but had I not needed to be in contact with various family members that wouldn't have mattered.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 19 reviews from this member

Exe Valley Caravan & Camping Site – Well the site certainly lives up to & deserves the wonderful reviews on UK Campsites, (that’s how I find the good sites).

We have a large tunnel tent & the pitches were very spacious all with EHU, we pitched on the Mill stream side of the site, this enjoys the sun later in the evening & the weather was wonderful.

The owners, Christine & Paul, along with there wardens Kath & Paul, were very warm & welcoming, nothing was to much trouble, the site is keep immaculate, toilets, showers, washing up areas always spotlessly clean. The site was so quite & peaceful in such beautiful surroundings.

Some reviews suggests that there is not enough showers, the site was full as it was Bank holiday week & I never had to wait for a shower once.

On Sunday’s Christine & Paul invites everyone into the Mill House (their home) & Paul runs the Mill, underneath the house, giving all the history, supported by Christine who explains all the working of the Mill on the upper floor with all history of the four milling that took place until 1947.

There is little too no phone signal on site, but the sites free Wi-Fi system really works well, I was, during my stay, overseeing a charitable container into Malawi, so good internet connection was important.

There is much to see in Exmoor, the many beautiful villages, Dunster, Dulverton, Porlock, Lynmouth & Winsford, where we had a wonderful meal at The Royal Oak. The highlight of our visit was the Tarr Steps, a must for any visitor.

The only downside for me was that the week went far too quick, there was so much to see & do. I would rank Exe Valley in my top ten sites, Kath & Paul, keep up the good work, we will return in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aquabliss 7 reviews from this member

We were very pleasantly surprised at this tranquil and idealic campsite. This was our first visit, and it won't be our last. There are pitches to suit everyone, and their allocation is very relaxed. We had a pitch by the river bank which was delightful. The pitches at this site are very generous and spacious too. Although some reviews don't rate the toilets and showers very well, we thought they were quite adequate. The water was of a good pressure and hot, and everywhere was very clean. If anything, they might be a little overstretched at peak times as the facilities were of a limited nature. This is only a very minor concern when you take into account everything else that is offered. Free wifi, Orange mobile network, microwave oven, washing machines and other domestic necessities - all kept very clean and tidy. There is also a small shop which stocks most food and drink items that you may need. There are lovely walks to enjoy from the campsite, and there is a very picturesque spot by an attractive weir within the campsite itself. Within a 2 minute walk from the main gate there is the Badgers Holt - a lovely country pub. As well as a selection of real ales they also offer a very extensive and reasonably priced choice of lunches and dinners. All campsites have a mixture of good and bad points, but the good ones certainly out weigh the bad ones here. Kath and Pete (the site wardens) were very friendly and helpful. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, and we were even offered a cup of tea upon our arrival - we've not had the pleasure of that at other campsites before. Pete was always out mowing the grass or attending to minor repairs, and Kath was always on hand in the office for advice. Overall there was a very nice relaxed feel to the site which must be credited to the wardens. We'll hopefully return later this year.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elsbycs 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a week at this site and so lovely stayed for an extra 2 nights. Beautiful adults only site, a river running down one side and a small leat the other so wherever you pitch you can hear the relaxing sound of trickling water. Immaculately clean showers and new toilet block. Powerful very hot free showers with no push buttons. Wardens very friendly and helpful and small but very well stocked little shop at reception, nothing was too much trouble. Dog walk is just outstandingly beautiful down to a weir, the whole area well maintained and just lovely and peaceful, as is the whole of Exmoor. Will definitely be returning to this gem of a site. I have no negatives to say about this campsiste at all, thank you for a very memorable holiday.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 27 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site. Everything is lovely and clean and tidy. Immaculate toilets and lovely hot water in the showers. Both the Wardens and Owners take great pride in making everyone's stay as welcoming as possible.

Excellent tourist info, free wifi, books with local walks, menus for all of the pubs and restaurants. Bus stops right outside the door which is very handy.

One of the best sites we have used and we can't wait to go back.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Indimeg 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely couple of days at this superb camp site. It was my first time camping on my own since becoming single again and I was slightly nervous but thanks to Paul and Kath the most friendliest of wardens and some other really friendly helpful campers, it was a total success.

I pitched riverside on a nice level pitch. Really dog friendly with a lovely area for them to run free.

The loos and showers were always spotless.

This really is a gem of a site, in a beautiful area and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Just lovely.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Guider 10 reviews from this member

Just spent 6 nights at exe valley. We followed their directions and had no problem getting there. On arrival we were greeted with a cuppa made by the very friendly wardens. Where you pitch was left to you and there is no formality on which way round you prefer. We used the walking guides they kindly print and although we have a good map, we didn't need it. Just follow their directions on the sheet.

The toilet and showers were spotless although if it had been a full site they would be inadequate due to the wait that would arise i. E not enough showers. We used the local pub which was fine; nothing special but reasonable value, and the landlord was very chatty and helpful.

We did a number of walks to Tarr steps, weddon cross, Dunkery beacon and visited Dunster castle which was superb.

A good site and well positioned. I would use again

Previous     185 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review wo win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Kampa Portaflush 10 Portable Toilet! Win a 655ltr Waterproof Rooftop Bag worth £239

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 16th to 19th August, E Yorks
World's biggest tribute band festival. Family friendly. Discounted tickets and a chance to win some ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


11937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1025