Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bingbong98 1 review from this member

 This was a first visit for us and first time camping. Facilities great, good separate area to walk dog. Couldn't fault shower/toilet facilities. We stayed for 3 nights and I only had to queue once for a few mins for showers.

We stayed on rally field which was great for kids as they could run about and play. Sadly we were told this was going to be turned into caravan super pitches for 2011 so tent spaces will be limited to the main park area.

Will be visiting again this year, but once the rally field is gone we may have to re-look at it as the kids liked the freedom of the field area. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Stevecunny 1 review from this member

 We'd been here two years ago and stayed in the Rally field after not being able to get on the site we wanted due to rain and waterlogged ground when we woke the bottom of hill was under a foot of water so we went back with some trepidation

We managed to get booked Ok but when we arrived it was absolutely full so much that I was dreading our stay.

How wrong I was.

The site was busy but we had enough room and space to park. The toilets were OK and did show at end of day they had been heavily used but still reasonably tidy. As with busy sites around meal times / morning it really showed especially as all the campers used 1 shower / toilet washup block

The BBQ smoked washed all over the site and this put me off a little bit but they no noise curfew really worked

I would say that it was worth a visit especially as cayton bay is 1 mile away and the surfing and sand is great.

There was a very small park there for young children far too small for the amount of people on it. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stokie74 2 reviews from this member

 This was my family's first time to this site and will definitely be returning.

I had originally booked near the playground but decided last minute to see if that could be changed as my 2 1/2 year old would drive me crazy so decided to go on the rally field with ehu which they changed no problem.

The field was not busy and we had plenty of space around us our 18 month little boy was wandering round all over and my 2 1/2 year old girl referred to it as her garden.

Showers were good and pot washing facilities were good too.

We never used the shop on site but did walk 5 mins to local shops and had a 5 minute drive to morrisons.

Overall we had a good couple of nights and we will be returning at some point. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pete_tong_mad 2 reviews from this member

 I have camped at this site many times now. The facilities are of an excellent standard. Very good clean showers, wash basins, sinks etc. The rally field is a bit exposed though so if its windy set up at the side near the bushes or you may get blown into the north sea!

Please also note the camping/rally field is far from flat. I went last year during a period of rain and lived to regret it. All the water runs down the hill and settles at the bottom near the toilet block meaning walking or driving through lots of mud so avoid if its going to rain.

The location is good. Its about 10 minutes to Scarborough or Filey by car. The site seems very strict on potential non payers though. To the point of having number plate recognition barriers and codes on toilet blocks. You may need to go with your kids every time they need the loo!

Customer service is of a reasonable standard. Not personal though and its not family run. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martino 1 review from this member

 This was mine and the wife's first visit to this site. The staff were helpful and the site is clean. Showers and toilet blocks were spotless, bins were emptied frequently and the grass cut after each pitch was vacated.

The fish shop in the village served lovely Fish and Chips keep your eye on closing time as they shut at eight. The 2 pubs are ok and they both serve food, check the times. Mini-market on the outskirts of the Village,t he shop on site has basics but can be expensive.

Kids playground is well equipped. Approx 15 mins steady walk to Cayton Beach. I would recommend this site to Couples or families with small children there is nothing here for Teenagers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkshire_Lass 4 reviews from this member

 The facilities on this site are second to none, I really couldn't fault it.

We drove up and managed to get a pitch on the spur of the moment, just for one night. The views from the tent field are amazing and the cliff walks stunning early in the morning (I say early but I mean sun rise early as my daughter woke at dawn hehe)

For kids the site is brilliant, lots to do and there are cafes and shops and a lovely beach close by. They are also dog friendly so I'll definitely be going back with our Shar Pei now he's trained.

The site was quiet once it got dark even though it was busy and the pitches were spacious.

I am planning to revisit this site again, hopefully with the tent, though we don't have a car any more. It will be tricky with kids, dog and kit but well worth the effort. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gailybailey 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and will definitely be going back.

When we booked we were told that we would be in the rally field and that this was a little out of the way. I was dreading it, thinking we were going to miles away from the facilities. Not at all! Toilets/shower block/pot washing all very near.

The rally field itself is great, the kids can run around and the pitches are huge!

People in the shop and reception very friendly and helpful.

The showers nearest to the field get very busy, but the lady in reception had already advised me to try the other shower block, which weren't as busy. So we used the other shower block every morning, but not a problem at all, as hardly far away.

It's a great base for Filey/Scarborough, only about 10 minutes away from both.

Kids loved the playground, which was locked up on an evening, about 8.30.

Only slight gripe, is the combination required for the toilets blocks, which prevents younger children from going to the loo on their own!

All in all one of the nicest sites we've stayed in. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toonarmy11 1 review from this member

 Booked in advance (6 weeks early) considering bank holiday and half term starting from 1st June.

First the good things, site location is excellent. Close to cayton beach (20 - 30 mins walk, depending upon your speed), nearby Morrisons excellent (sells camping gear also). Other shops also nearly (5-10 mins walk). Onsite shop is reliable for milk / bread / eggs etc.

Customer service is excellent, always find a smiling face patrolling the site. The support team works non-stop & the result is there to see. Curfew at 11.00 pm is enforced.

Bathrooms were clean and tidy, looked to be of 2000-2001 time, but very well maintained. I used all men's facility, even on sat & sunday did not have to wait. Pot washing and washer / drier facility is excellent. No hidden costs only pay 20p for using hair drier in ladies. It rained non-stop on sat but no water logging.

Few comments of improvements, ladies facility were not upto mark as gents. Some basic fittings ie. few hooks in showers to hang clothes etc. will help. My wife tried all 3 facilities and found reception one to be most wanting. She had to wait for 2 - 5 mins during rush time (Sat & sunday).

Overall good facility & will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul7348 9 reviews from this member

 Reception staff were very efficient. Two members of staff showed us to our pitch and even unhitched the van and put it into place for us but it felt more that they were trying to ensure that we parked where they wanted us to be rather than trying to be helpful.

We had booked a super pitch to get a hardstanding but still had to park the car on muddy grass. And found that the drain was awkwardly placed and had to use the waste water tank anyway.

The site was very quiet, the only noise being the staff racing around in a little diesel powered golf cart from dawn to dusk, and beyond.

The shop was open all day but it's range was very limited.

We did walk into the village one evening but found both pubs to be fairly grotty, with a limited 'chips with everything' menu.

Scarborough is pretty accessible, but it is a good six miles from the site by road.

We didn't think that the site lived up to its own publicity nor offered value for money and won't be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Walshies 1 review from this member

 We spent 4 nights at the campsite on the rally field and it was fantastic. We only e-mailed the night before as the campsite we were going to was water logged. And I got a phone call at nine the following morning to say they could fit us in, which was very good of them. I,m also really glad the other one was water logged because we had a fantastic time. I have 2 boys aged 3 and 7 and within half an hour they had 5 friends and just played football and ran around like kids should. The toilet and shower blocks were always very clean and the longest we waited was 5 mins. There,s a short cut into the village which has a really good chippy and a pub which were both good. I would tell anyone to go to this site because I can,t see anyone not liking it. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement