Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coggs888 6 reviews from this member

 Spent along week end here as we had heard through friends that this was a good site and they were not wrong. Excellent facilities all round. It has a nice reception block with a well organised checking in area and you are led to you pitch and helped to set down you caravan.

Toilet /shower block are nice and clean with constant hot water and are cleaned regularly. Very close to park and ride and very cheap to use so you have not got to worry about parking in scarbourough.

The site is well placed out with a decent gap between caravans. We will use this site again as it is one of our favourites to date. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveaddy 1 review from this member

 Returned from our latest visit here at the end of August - we have stayed at this site 5 times previously!

I'm happy to say that every visit has been fantastic! the staff are always very friendly and cant do enough to help. The reception staff book you in very quickly and get you sited efficiently - they also have great knowledge of the area and what to do on bad weather days or if there's any events going off

The facilities are always clean and tidy, over the last two years the kids play area has been updated also and is very good.

The on site store has everything it needs and there's more on offer just a short walk into the Village.

The village has a couple of very good pubs and a cracking chippy!

Whitby, Filey, Scarborough, Bridlington are all very close by & Cayton bay beach is around a 15-20 minute walk - and its fantastic!

The dog exercise area is a great size (our collie loved all the extra walks that the kids took her on!)

Although the pitch sizes have got smaller this year 9m X 6m is still a decent size. We managed to fit a Voyager 6 + Porch, windbreak and our trailer on the pitch with room to spare!

I cant recommend this site enough, especially for families wanting a nice, quiet base to visit lots of places on the east coast!

We have already booked for next year! roll on 2012 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thekingstons 1 review from this member

 Nice site lovely area. Great walk into Scarborough along the coast. This was our second visit and I have to say it has become a lot more structured than our first.

On our first visit we found a lovely quite spot but this time we were told where to go

The pitch sizes are good and the site is clean and tidy

The washing facilities are fantastic and always spotless. The shop is expensive (paid twice the RRP for a bacon one morning!)

Short but lovely walk to cayton bay beech. This is a fantastic beech for the whole family.

All in all a nice, clean tidy site. I understand the need for an organised and structured set up but hope they don't go over the top with rules and regulation. The two site staff checking we were packing up an hour before departure time was not a good touch.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barkd04 2 reviews from this member

 Me and my husband and 5year old daughter have just had a two night stay, and found this site excellent,

Toilet and shower block pristine and plenty so no waiting,

Shop came in handy for a few things we forgot and treats for the little one.

The play park was fab as we were pitched just at the side so could watch our little girl as we relaxed, other campers were friendly and staff could not do enough to help.

Security was a great piece of mind,

Excellent for a short walk to cayton bay and village, and short drive to filey on the whole we could not praise this site enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richard1954 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed on The Laurels for a week. This is the new part of the site and all the pitches are fully serviced, a real benefit. Site is lovely with good sized pitches, ours was wide enough for the caravan and a 3 metre awning. Your car is parked on grass next to the hardstanding.

Facilities are excellent and very clean. Although the site shop is small there are 2 shops in the village (about a 10 minute walk) which are well stocked. It rained hard one night but the pitch was well drained so no puddles or mud walked into the awning.

Wifi was free and worked well.

I recommend anyone using the Laurels to take a 10 metre tv cable and plug into the tv point on the pitch as we got a full signal.

We would use this site again if we go back to Yorkshire.

Finally if you are staying here take time to visit Eden Camp Museum (about 30 minutes away by car) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Monbroomfield 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent two weeks here at this lovely campsite. Everything was lovely. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. The pitches are large with lots of room between the next one.

Toilets and showers cleaned two or three times a day. Cars are parked away from the pitches but as our puppy sleeps in the car we were given a different pitch so we could have her beside us.

Nothing is too much trouble. I would certainly return and recommend this site to anyone.

Close to Filey and Scarborough and bus stops at the gate. It is a two minute walk to the village for the pub or a meal.

Discount for OAP's staying7 nights. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moneypeni 9 reviews from this member

 My partner and I along with my son and his girlfriend stayed here for one Saturday night to try out our new tent. When booking my partner was told in no uncertain terms that this was not a rowdy site and if that was what we were after (we definitely weren't) there was a more suitable campsite down the road.

On arrival we were dealt with quickly and told to camp where we wanted in the camping field which we were directed to. The field itself was slightly sloping but flat at the top so we found somewhere suitable to pitch even on a Saturday afternoon.

The field was well sheltered with hedges but most of the pitches along the hedge were already taken. The toilet block had a key code on the door which came into operation at night time, but was not used in the day. This caused a big of jigging around on a night-time visit to the loo until someone opened the door as I had forgotten the combination!

The site is near to the village but we didn't visit it as we were only there one night.

The site is great for Scarborough and Filey which are within 20 minutes drive of the site.

All in all, it was a nice site for a short visit 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sundo 4 reviews from this member

 Spent the Easter weekend here, we stayed on the new Laurels area. It was more expensive than the other pitches due to your own elec point/water.

The Laurels is a very new area of the site, which is still under development to some extent. The pitches are generous, but regimented and it is all hardstanding, they are all new pitches, but this area is still a bit 'unfinished'.

The grass & seeds in some areas are still being grown / watered by sprinklers and the road into and around the Laurels is a really still a dusty track. It reminded me of a 'new build' housing development when the houses are built but the surroundings are not quite finished off yet. When it is finished it will be a much improved area.

The facilities block by the Laurels was fantastic. The showers / toilets were immaculate, with hot water consistently. The playground was great for the kids, it was large with lots of equipment, although if you're pitching near to it be aware it's a very busy area around it as the tents are mainly by the playground as well.

The shop was very good, it sold far more than the usual basics, all in all we enjoyed our stay, but probably thought it was a bit on the expensive side for what we got.

The nearby village has a couple of small convenience stores, a fish & chip shop and a few pubs.

Cayton Bay beach is beautiful and is about a 15 minute walk from the site and accessed by a steep slope & steps. The beach is wide,clean and sandy, perfect for the kids, it's a beautiful beach area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wettim 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Cayton Village camp site over a very busy Easter weekend. We booked the site specifically as it was at the side of the village and a 5 minute walk to the beach.

The village has 2 pubs, The Star and the Blacksmiths Arms, and has a great chip shop and a mini-market.

On booking some months ago, I stated we had a motorhome, no children and 2 small dogs. I also asked for a hardstanding pitch with electric hook-up. The pitch we were given was at the side of the children's playground, very noisy and not very suitable.

We put a wind-break up to stop the kids and their parents from walking right over our pitch (there was a path 20feet away but they all took a shortcut!), which didn't work, as they then started walking under our canopy instead!

Back to the review, the toilet block was tired. There were broken locks on the stalls in both the men's and the women's toilets, and the shower cubicles had broken tiles and plastic shower curtains, with a push-button system.

There is a small shop, a vast dog run and number-plate recognition. There is no swimming pool or entertainment.

The local beach is amazing, which is a big plus.

We paid 138 for 4 nights, far too much and not value for money. We have stayed on a lot better for a lot less and will not go back again. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I8blades 54 reviews from this member

 The check-in process is quick and simple. The barriers at the entrance have number plate recognition cameras so security is good. We were shown to our pitch which wasn't too far from the entrance or the toilet/showers. We had booked a 16 amp pitch but only got a 10 amp one but it didn't prove to much of an inconvenience,it was a fully serviced pitch, quite spacious and surrounded by hedges which gave a bit of privacy.

The toilet/shower block was of a good standard, heated and clean though the mop you were expected to use after using the shower was quite dirty.

There was a good area for exercising dogs. A nice looking play area for the kids and a small shop selling papers and very basic goods also a few camping spares.

Contrary to the web site its a bit more than 10 walk to the beach,it takes about 5 Mins in the car to the nearest point you can get,then its about 10 Mins walk, but its a very good beach reached by a quite steep path.

The village is reached by the back gate from the site which is signposted within the site,where there are 2 pubs,a good chippy and a couple pf shops. The 1st night we went in the Star and the people were so friendly ans welcoming we used it every time we went out.They have a very big garden which in the summer will be very good. We didn't actually eat there but the food looked and smelt fine.

The North Yorks moors are within easy reach.

Scarborough' and Filey are a few minutes drive away.

A good 4 night stay and we will definitely be going again 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3281 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement