Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ranger6 3 reviews from this member

 Came back yesterday Bank Holiday Monday 25/05/09 had a great three days stayed on the rally / tent field. Camp site full had to queue for showers and wash room but did not spoil the weekend in any way.
Really nice owners/staff, battery went down on the car, went to reception they had all just started eating a sandwich but stopped and found the jump leads no problem at all.
As already said fantastic dog walk area central for Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington and Caton Bay itself really nice although steep downwards and a bit of a hike back up, but nice and dogs allowed onto beach. Just on top of Cayton Bay is the tow bar pub nice pint and friendly staff great beer garden with children's play equipment.

The camp itself clean, toilets clean, showers clean, wash room for cutlery / pans again clean. The hot water for washing not hot but then again the amount of use it was getting would not expect it to be.
There is 11.00 no noise policy the entrance barrier is registration activated and stops working at 11.00 to stop cars driving around camp site great! You can get your car right next to your tent magic would I go again yes the only thing stopping me booking again is I want to try more sites. Met some really nice people if you are looking for a site in this area give it a go you wont be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ebonywisp 1 review from this member

 A camp site that has high standards in all aspects. Wonderful surrounding village with post office, fish and chip shop, excellent access for Scarborough and filey, lovely on site shop for all essentials.
The site is sheltered and has a superb dog walk, really pretty. Brilliant staff, so helpful. For us Cayton village caravan park has been perfect for our family and 2 dogs, like visiting an old friend, it has a charm all of it`s own and will make your stay a memory of the traditional seaside holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J.s1983 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site after being let down by another site close by. I rang the site 10 mins before my arrival and it wasn't a problem for the staff.

We were shown to a very well kept pitch in a quiet corner of the site.

The staff made sure we felt welcome and the price was really cheap for the four nights we stopped.

The toilet and showers where modern and cleaned twice a day to great standard.

The only draw back was an arguing couple close by but they where ejected promptly by wardens for nuisance behaviour.

3here is a small village with pubs and shops close by and is situated a 15 min drive scarbrough and filey, cayton bay around a 10 min walk.

The site is secure and safe for kids. We will definitely consider returning to this site as the only thing you can't guarantee is the weather but a warm welcome is a cert.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BuxomKels 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site 3 times. The first for a quick weekend stay, 2 nights, to see if we liked it, of course we did and went back twice. On one occasion our friends joined us with their 2 children and they loved it.

We were able to buy most things we needed on the site such as fire-lighters for the BBQ and ice creams for the kids. The dog walk there is fantastic as well.

More plus sides is the bus stops right outside the park so if you don't fancy taking the car you don't have to. Location wise was ideal for us, we spent a day on the quieter cayton bay and then another in Scarborough and filey, always plenty to do in this location or if you want to just relax at the park itself you can.

It's very kid friendly and there was usually a few kids playing and having fun, we enjoyed it there but if you'd rather not be disturbed, ask for a pitch further away as they tend to gather down the bottom of the field.

Staff were very friendly and showed you where to pitch up, there is electric hook ups if needed. We found the prices very good for a busy seaside town. Dog friendly as well is a big help.

Washing facilities were good, my only criticism as such is that there was no lighting at all, which is understandable, that's why we took a torch, but there was a lot of holes in the ground, maybe something to look at.

But that is really my only gripe, not a major one and nothing that would deter you from enjoying this place. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A4annie 1 review from this member

 This was our first camping holiday since being kids, and I was worried I wouldn't like it so only booked on for 2 nights, ended up staying 4 because I had to go back to work.

The site was clean with plenty of shelter with hedges, staff are very friendly and showed me to my pitch which was nice. There are plenty of shower blocks, so not to far to walk in the night and they even have a dog walk on site, which was brill as I have two large dogs.

There is a chippy local, I didn't use it so don't know how good. There is a small shop on site which is good for milk and bread and a tesco's the other side of Scarborough bridge which was very handy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davie G 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site. Facilities include a kids playground, good, clean and well maintained toilet / shower blocks and an on site shop. Additionally there is a great field for the dogs and also a fantastic little nature trail which takes you half way round the site boundary.
The village has a couple of good sized general stores, a couple of good pubs and a fish and chip shop. Morrisons have a superstore within a 5 minute drive away alongside a McDonalds restaurant / takeaway.

The fantastic beach, including the local surfing fraternity, is a 20 minute walk away and all the usual attractions ie Scarborough', Bridlington, Filey, Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay, Dalby Forest, Flamingoland etc. are all within a short drive . There are also a couple of good family orientated pubs serving decent grub, and with play areas for the kids, along the main Bridlington to Scarborough' road which is just a mile or so away.

All in all this is a really nice site and a good base for East Coast breaks. The one down point is that there's not much to do after dark for the older kids and teenagers which can be a problem. The best aspect of the site is the staff. They are friendly, always willing to help and carry out their work with a smile and happy demeanour which makes all the difference (unlike many other sites). They are a credit to the owners. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woody9 10 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights and found the site to be 1st class. The person at reception showed us to our pitch and helped guide me in and offered to assist with setting up if required.

The staff were fantastic, helpful,courteous, knowledgeable and polite.

The shower/toilet block was spotless and cleaned at least 3 times a day.

There was a number plate recognition barrier system in place which was very secure.

The local village was accessible via a gate in one corner of the site, which had a fish and chip shop (visited once and very good), a post office / local store and a few pubs, one of which had a beer garden and allowed dogs.

Overall a great site and well worth visiting, we will be going back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clairobics 1 review from this member

 This was a great campsite. Well signposted, and staff very helpful and friendly when checking in.

It was also kept very clean, toilets and washing up areas cleaned every day for 3 hours! Great hot showers, only short queue once in a while, but showers could stay on longer, before you had to push them again, as most people don't manage to wash their hair etc in like 20 secs!

Very family orientated - felt a bit left out being a singleton, although everyone was friendly.

Very close to the beach - and what a beach - one of the best on the Northern coast, I believe.

I chose it, as dogs are allowed to roam on it at any time and my elderly whippet cross, who'd never seen the sea up to then had a whale of a time.

Well-stocked shop with all the basics you need, if you've forgotten anything - I bought gaz cylinder from them.

Spacious - you can choose your pitch or if you need help they will suggest pitch for you - enough space for everyone - even in high season.

Great fish and chip shop - where you meet friends for life standing in the queue - because it's that busy - get there early!

Scarborough great of course for day out - get there early if you have a motorhome, as parking towards south end - but fills up quick.

Filey good too - but hard to park.

Best drive for VW fans along coastline and best beach for surfers for miles :) 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spooky666 4 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites we have been on. Pity the weather wasn't better. Staff very helpful, showing you where you were sited and helping you to unhitch and site caravan. Site quiet. Some pitches near main road but minimal noise. Toilet blocks (3) were spotless. Definitely would go back to this site, just hope the next time the weather is a bit better, but that is Britain for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz79 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend

We arrived to be told that the camping field was all soggy and had the chance of a refund but decided to chance it. We managed to find two spots that were dryish and pitched up our tents

The whole weekend was fantastic and we had a great time apart from being full of mud but after purchashing some wellies we just got on and enjoyed it.

Showers and toilets blocks were excellent and clean with plenty of hot water

Staff on the site were fantastic and very helpful,

Will definitely return again.

We even ventured out to the local pub that's just 5 minutes round the corner, and they were also very friendly and accommodating towards the children.

It offered a fantastic atmosphere, and would recommend it to any one.

An overall good weekend with plenty to occupy us all. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4266 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement