Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hullfella 3 reviews from this member

 Wow this site was amazing, I really enjoyed my stay at this site.

When we arrived there had been a mistake in the booking and they was not expecting us till the next day but they soon sorted that error out and we was soon shown to our spot to pitch our tent up.

The site is so very clean, all day they had people collecting rubbish and first thing in the morning they had men all over the site collecting rubbish from the night before so you always wake up to a clean site.

The site is very beautiful and the way its set out really is good it feels like a village of its own and not a caravan park where people are packed in like sardines.

I would def use this site again and I now feel I have found a site which I would have no problem visiting many times in the year. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjennings 1 review from this member

 Just got back after 3 nights. The weather was changeable but on the whole fine.

This was our first time at this site and found it to be a nice pleasant well run site. The toilets/shower rooms were very clean but perhaps could have done with more showers. The mens were fine but my wife had to queue to shower. We stayed in the camp/rally site and found it spacious and quiet. No noise late at night.

The village Cayton was only a 5 minute walk from the site and we tried both the pubs, Blackmsiths and Star. We preferred the Blacksmiths as the food was very good.

Cayton Bay was a lovely quiet beach away from the hussle and bussle of which you could take dogs onto the beach.

Will def be going back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kingy99 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 9 nights mid to end Aug '09. (Just got home).

Generally clean site. Staff are helpful within their remit. Close to Cayton village centre which has a great chip shop, two stores, a post office and a couple of pubs. Also a Morrisons a mile and a half away. 10 mins walk to Cayton Bay (beach). Very nice beach with small shop and toilets there. Bus stop for Scarborough and Filey outside the site so you can leave the car parked up if you want to.

We requested a pitch near the play area as we have young children. This was declined and we were allocated a pitch which we wouldn't have chosen and weren't happy with. (We booked well in advance - nearly two months and stated this at point of booking).

The pitch was small and on a bad slope. We parked our car next to our unit and it was so close to the next pitch they had to use their awning from the side or walk into our car!

Once away from reception the roads go from tarmac to mot and chippings. VERY dusty and not pleasant with the wind the site gets.

Showers were at best luke warm or often cold. I personally gave up on them after two days and stuck with the caravans shower which I could guarantee was hot.

We've never had as many people (adults and children) walking across our pitch as a shortcut - even when we were sat out! We had to ask them to stop. Not the sites fault, but not something we've had before.

We all agreed that the site is in a very handy position for Cayton beach (which is lovely), Filey and Scarborough but for us the cons outweighed the pros and we will not return to Cayton Village.

The kids were very disappointed that the park was so far away (site rules say kids must be suprvised on the play area which is why we wanted a pitch close with a view of the area).

You can get around the small pitch by booking grass instead of hardstanding. The grass pitches took up a lot more room. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pammy Su 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice large site. Staff are excellent and very helpful. Shop on site, playground and several toilet blocks.

The site is well positioned for Cayton village and Cayton beach, a both in walking distance. Lovely pubs (you can take the kids to), and chippy in the village. Very handy site for Scarborough & Filey, being in the middle of them both.

On the down side the site is quite large, and they allow large groups of families/friends to come in together on the camping fields. The groups coral themselves on the field and this can be intimidating, and the can be noisy. On the plus side the site owner are very strict about noise, so if there are any problems tell staff immediately and they will deal instantly with the problem.

The site also gets very very busy at weekends, so getting a toilet/shower can be a bit of slog at these times.

Overall loved the site and will definitely use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Catwoman16 1 review from this member

 Campsite was very clean and tidy, toilet blocks kept very clean. Location of site was excellent, well placed for Scarborough, Filey and Whitby. Cayton Village had everything we needed and was only a short distance away. Majority of staff were friendly and helpful.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *deb* 24 reviews from this member

 Had 2 nights here. It's a great site between Scarborough and Filey, a short way (in the car) from Cayton Bay. Although it's quite a large site, it's split into sections and never felt overcrowded. We were in the rally field on the first night which has some hook-ups in one section. I did feel this was more of a walk to facilities but not too bad. It was a very spacious field but we went mid-week so I would imagine it packs out on a weekend. We moved onto the main park for the 2nd night as our pitch had already been allocated out. There was less room here but still pleasant. Toilets near to rally field were large enough but there were often queues. Big tip is to try the facilities by reception - peaceful and extremely clean with facilities to clean up after yourself! As others have said there is a little play area but it has wooden climbing equipment for more agile / older children. I echo the point that the camping field could use some play equipment too, though there was space for ball games and bikes which weren't really allowed on the main site. The staff were really helpful and the bins etc emptied regularly. I'd definitely consider staying here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave1558 1 review from this member

 We returned to this site this year for its ideal location and have had good times here. I noticed how the site is becoming busier and feeling more crowded,pitches have appeared where they didn't used to be and as it was busy they cramming them in, however the feeling of the site was still nice and friendly .The staff are lovely. We had a nice grass pitch which was quite spacious but others were tiny in comparison. Tv reception isnt great but I don't watch tv.

The local chippie is good and not too pricey as are the pubs.

The site was always spotlessly clean and tidy as are the showers and toilets. We were always concerned about the number of dogs around and I wouldn't have been happy if id have been next to the guy with 2 large Doberman as we have young children and some pitches are close together and seemed to be surrounded by dogs that were tied up outside awnings.

All in all we had a lovely time and its a nice site but closed in and quite overcrowded particularly around the playground 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dingobee 6 reviews from this member

 I spent four nights camping on the rally field. This was very spacious and everyone had pitched up in rows leaving large areas for driving to/from tent, and also for children to play games, which was excellent. Although the field was very busy the noise rule was adhered to and I was able to sleep well each night!

The toilet block nearest to the camping field did get very busy at peak times, with a queue for the showers, but I walked a short distance to another block in the caravanning area, which was practically empty, so worth the walk. The facilities were kept very clean and stocked with handwash and toilet paper.

This seemed to be a good family site, and the staff were friendly and polite. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GLEN61 1 review from this member

 Just got back from this camp site we had two tents, three adults two children, it was a very good site we were in the rally field. The only slight down side was that we were at the top of the field and had to go approx 200yds to the toilet block. The toilets themselves were kept very clean and the showers were free they also had a hairdrier that was a very reasonable 20p. The site was well maintained and the staff were very helpful.

There is a bus service that stops at the park gates that takes you into Scarborough or the other way to filey or bridlington. There is also a very reasonable park and ride system within a short distance from the park (approx 1/2 a mile ). Both the local village and the beach are in walking distance of the site although the beach is down a hillside and if you are taking a lot of things to the beach with you we would recommend using the car. The site is safe which made it great for the children as they could run about and play all day.

They have a light in the rally field so that you can see where you are going at night and all the campers that were there were respectful of each other and there was no noise after about 10.30 which is a big bonus if you are trying to get children to sleep. The electric is a 10amp system which is adequate.

There are plenty of water taps and the pitches are all of a reasonable level and the field is sheltered. We would recommend this site and we shall be going again to stay for longer next time. The rate of 22 a night in august we found to be very reasonable. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janex 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from spending a long weekend at Cayton Village and have had a lovely time. Cracking place and perfectly situated for exploring the local area (Whitby, Scarborough and Bridlington).

The facilities were great: showers/toilets were cleaned regularly, small shop stocking necessities and a kiddie playground.

After all the rain we've had, the pitches were not water-logged. The grass was kept pretty short and the whole site was well tended and secure. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement