Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gina28060 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in our large tent with electric hook up. It was lovely to be met at your pitch by a warden to show you where to pitch and where everything is that you would need. The pitches are large and there are lines to make sure that the 3meter gap is between each tent. There are parking spaces for your car. The site is quiet and well looked after and nothing is too much trouble. The wardens are walking round most of the day so if you need anything you just need to ask. The dog walking area is huge and well kept and the bins are emptied daily. The toilets and showers are cleaned daily and always well stocked. Its just a short walk into the village if you need anything which is not stocked in the site shop. I will be returning 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Farquar 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back after spending 3 nights in a tent at Cayton Village Caravan Park. We have been before a few years ago and I can honestly say, we have again had another wonderful time. We checked in at reception and was given a brief run down of the sites regulations etc. By a very pleasant/friendly member of the site. We then headed to our pitch were again, we were greeted by other helpful site member who explained where the sites amenities were etc. The toilet/shower block we used was clean, there were 4 shower cubicles with hot water (not controllable. But at a steady temperature even for young children) for you ladies there was a hairdryer available at a cost of 20p, ( which lasted enough to dry my daughters hair and mine. Good value I thought) There are washing up areas/water sites with drinking water available/areas to dispose of your rubbish around the site and a neatly kept field area to walk your dog. The site itself is ideally located closely to Scarborough and not far from Whitby/Bridlington/ Filey for those days out. There is a NO NOISE policy after 11pm which everyone complied with, even before that time the site was settled which was great. We would recommend this site to anyone and will definitely be visiting it again! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jontyboy0 1 review from this member

 The site was easy to find. Booking in was quick even though we were third in a queue. The lady on reception was polite and helpful. When we arrived at our pitch, a male warden was rather unwelcoming and spoke to us like a naughty schoolboy caught with his hand in the cookie jar as he told us our do's and don'ts. Only downer of the visit. Had a parking spot away (20 yards)from the tent due to fire regulations we were told.

The grass had just been cut and markings of our pitch were clear to see.

The security coded shower block was first class, very clean, always stocked and cleaned at least twice a day. Washing up area clean and small but always a sink available.

Shops and pubs available in short walking distance and a Morrison's a short drive away. We only used Morrison's as we were passing everyday which was very busy no matter what time of day.

Plenty of refuse points and emptied regularly were we situated. Didn't view the whole of the site as we were near reception.

On the whole we would stay there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ged49 2 reviews from this member

 My wife, myself and son ( adult ) have just spent 4 nights at this campsite and we were very pleased with the site amenities, the toilet and shower blocks were clean and tidy and the staff were very friendly and approachable. There is a small shop on site which we did not use but looked well stocked with the items they sold. A short walk away from the site when you turn right at the exit is the local village which has everything you could need in regards of public houses, post office and other shops. If you turn left when you exit the site it is about a half mile walk to the cliffs with path leading down to the beach. If you feel up to it the Cleveland Way crosses this path and you could the follow the path to Filey or, as we did, you can walk to Scarborough. This is well worth doing and we enjoyed the views out to sea and the views of the cliffs are amazing.

All in all a great camp and ideally situated for being a base for touring the surrounding area 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aud9450 2 reviews from this member

 Money making site pitches very close together, car not parked beside caravan. Children's play area very small, playing field is a dogs paradise people with dogs walking past caravan all the time not good if you have small children. The only good thing about this site is the toilets and showers were very clean. The chip shop and pub in the village are closed so have to travel to get a meal out as there is nothing on site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeffruth 1 review from this member

 The campsite is very clean and the toilets and showers are exceptional, BUT only go here if you are going to use it as a base as their is nothing in Cayton. The local pub which is just outside the gates has closed down, the fish and chip shop has closed down also. The only local pub called the Star is a dump, although staff and locals are really nice people it needs a fortune spent on it. If you do stay here try not to be too close to the playground as the noise never stops till 8 at night when it closes. This place could to with an on site clubhouse and maybe an outdoor swimming pool and games room to justify its prices. I will not be going back here and will go back to Rudding park in Harrogate when I want to camp in Yorkshire again. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tranka1 1 review from this member

 Just got back from 4 days. It's a lovely site. Good for people taking dogs. A good clean site. Near beach. More entertainment on the bigger sites further up the coast. Showers clean. But the lack of pub or swimming pool. Is almost out in the country. For kids well bored kids, more for the quieter people. Met some very nice friends though 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Masonst0rm 10 reviews from this member

 Second time but some issues.

Second time we have stayed here as we enjoyed it so much. The site has great facilities and are cleaned on a regular basis so always clean. Dog walk faculties (field) is great and something that many site don't think off so great for dog lovers.

We were placed directly behind the main reception/house of the site large hedges so very sheltered from wind and rain but limits you for sun as well.

One major issue is noise from the house. The site has an 11pm noise policy however over the 2 weeks we were there often noise, chatting and loud voices/laughing from here at the weekend till 2am and 1 day in week till 3am. So if possible avoid these plots.

We also noticed many of the plots are now booked for seasonal plots so mid week the site was like a ghost town.

Cayton village is very quiet only one pub open The Star, ok for a quick beer while walking the dog but that's about all we were planning to eat there but didn't as it didn't look too great inside. The local chip shop now closed as well so you need to travel to eat out. We were informed of a bar called the Tow Bar near the coast road but didn't go there.

Not sure if we will be going back but only time will tell. One slightly disappointed returning customer. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 We booked a week here with our friends as part of our tour of Lincolnshire, Yorkshire and Derbyshire.

We read the description of the park it sounded ideal and they were offering OAP discount as well.

We arrived at the reception area in the entrance and it seemed to confirm that we had made the right choice.

Oh how wrong can you be!

We were given a list of do`s and don'ts and extra charges and deposits to pay and were told to follow the warden through the barrier to our pitches.

As we entered our touring field just inside the barrier our hearts sank. Instead of lush green neat pitches, we found grass long overdue for cutting, previous cuttings left on top of grass to dry up and crumbly dusty roads that looked very much like old tarmac road shavings and found we were surrounded by seasonal pitches all with long untrimmed grass and weeds around them. Was this a penalty we paid for getting the OAP discount?

Once we had set up our caravans we decided to walk round the park to see if it was all this bad.

Unfortunately things did not get much better until we got to the new? development so we made our way back to our pitches where we had to wash our little white dogs legs and feet as they were black from the roadways and our shoes were covered in dust.

We visited the toilet block which was very dated and smelly.

There were also 2 or 3 dogs staying in a caravan by the barrier who were continuously barking and throwing themselves at the windows when people walked past them.

It was then that we decided that this was probably the worst site we had ever stayed on and decided to leave the following morning and move on to a CC site. We knew that we would forfeit 6 nights pitch fee as it states that in the RULES, but it was worth it just to get away from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RICMorts 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over bank holiday weekend. Site was ok, showers clean and although site very busy never had to queue.

Pitches were small and cars had to be parked away from them which made it look even more cramped.

As only staying 4 days didn't bother taking awning as it takes ages to put up. Took a gazebo to put up for a little shelter at side of caravan. Wasn't allowed to put it up. Site doesn't allow gazebos? Not sure why? Wasn't as if we were taking up extra room, it was instead of awning.

Site shop ok if you need a few bits of food. Not too expensive.

Children's play area very busy and miles away from our pitch. Very strangely stuck in the middle of all the tents. It took us ages to find it. It was ok for the kids but very little parental supervision going on! On both occasions we visited there were kids being naughty and not taking turns or not playing nice which spoilt it a little.

Walked to pub in village, The Star, very run down. Had one drink and left. Walked in other direction to Browns campsite pub, The Tow Bar. Had brilliant beer garden with kids play area. Drinks were expensive though.

Overall campsite was ok and we enjoyed our time there. Site ideally located in between Filey and Scarborough. Wouldn't go back as felt crammed in. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3934 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement