Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campcapers 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Cayton with my two children and a friend and her two children.

Good campsite but agree totally with two of the previous reviews (we must have been there at same time!) about the older kids in the playground. We also had to take our kids away from the playground when the older ones were there as they were smoking, drinking and swearing and their parents were totally oblivious. We reported it to the staff on site, but were told that if we had a problem then we needed to speak with the kids or parents ourselves. Would you dare??

Other than that, the pitch was good and spacious and it was a lucky weather week! If I was to return I would need to ensure that the playground policy had changed as it made for a very uneasy few days. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stecky 8 reviews from this member

 Went here me and my wife on 22nd june 08,what a lovely tidy friendly site no noise a relaxing time. A very secure site with great clean hot showers laundry shop,no club house or food shop but a great location close to scarborough 5 mile and a 10 min walk to cayton beach we had a great time and will be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lozzie 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights at this site, we felt very hemmed in, and on top of each other, our hook up (20m) didnt reach the electric supply which showed how far away we were from the hook up however we did borrow an extension cable for a 30 deposit from reception. The childrens playground was very good but we had to remove our youngest grandchild (5 year old) due to very bad language from teenagers hanging about here till very late. The showers and toilets were very good and lovely and clean, the number plate recognition barrier is also good. Cayton bay beach is a 15 minute walk and good as it allows dogs on the beach, A taxi to Scarborough cost 14 for 7 of us in a mini bus.Overall, based on the limited pitch size we were allocated, not the best site we have stayed at, but worth a try if you like the area, as we do 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tallbloke 8 reviews from this member

 Family of 5 - Mum & Dad + 3 girls (10,8,3) - camping for one week.

We went to this site on the basis of the previous reviews, attracted by the play area and good facilities. Things got even better when we found out that the tent pitches were next to the playground - our kids could do their usual thing of wandering safely between the playground and the tent.

All the previous comments were backed up - friendly staff, clean & not-too-busy facilities although the site was quite packed-in (not much space between tents), possibly because it seemed to be much more geared towards caravans than tents (although I didn't investigate the overflow tent field too closely - it was a long way from facilties / playground / etc.). A lot of the pitches were over-used (had turned to mud).

Unfortunately, the playground was much more noisy than we were led to believe or had experienced at other sites - difficult when getting younger ones off to sleep. The play area later became a meeting area for teenagers who were there until pretty late generating more noise and some choice language!

The site had a general curfew of 11:00pm which was generally adhered to, but the 'rules' of no unsupervised children in the playground were ignored (probably accounting for the noise and behaviour), likewise there should supposedly have been no unaccompanied children in the facilties which to be honest would be unworkable anyway. A max. Age limit for playground use and an earlier curfew for the play area would have made our stay much more enjoyable, and would have saved us (and others) having to encourage children & teens to be more sociable!

Unfortunately, for these reasons we probably won't be going back to this particular site as we have experienced better, but despite this it was overall pleasant and well maintained and most of the previous positive comments are accurate, which is why they aren't repeated in detail here. Surrounding area is great - Scarborough beaches & parks, Eden Camp, Sealife, all fantastic. Shop was minimal but adequate for essentials (bread, milk, etc.). Big 'Morrisons' supermarket about 5 mins. Drive away. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pete + rosemary 3 reviews from this member

 Over the last few years we have not been very impressed with the camp sites we have been to. Cayton village caravan park is everything it is made out to be. From first being booked in to leaving, it was a most pleasant experience! Staff are exceptionally friendly and the site and facilities are brilliant. We couldn't get over how quiet the site was even at night, which made a change. Our second week went into the start of the school holidays, and we did notice a difference in the shower blocks as the site was full. On odd occasions people had left the shower block that we used in a bit of a state, but i must add it wasn't long before it was sorted out! This is the best campsite we have been on, and we really enjoyed the holiday.

We will certainly use this site again in the future when staying in this area!

Well worth the david bellamy gold award . 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikeyjo 3 reviews from this member

 Great campsite. Friendly and helpful staff and we pitched near the playground and hardly heard any noise

Showers and Toilets clean and not too full.

15 Minute walk to the beach but it is down a very steep slope

Blacksmiths Arms in the village was very friendly and served a good pint. Chip shop was also very good

Playground could have done with some Swings and the older kids are a pain (but that's the same everywhere you go). However we were told that the Owners have chucked people off the site for excessive noise (which is good to hear)

Could have done with a big field to play ball games but that's the only minor fault

Bus to Scarborough stops outside the entrance (just hail it down). Just beware that the service back isn't so frequent after 7pm and you have to get off in the village. But its a short walk

All in all a good site worth visiting 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sovereign 1 review from this member

 We chose this site as our first stay with our caravan having upgraded from a folding camper. We stayed 6 nights arriving late afternoon on the Friday. First impressions from booking in were excellent as we were shown to our pitch and guided on without having to make the dreaded reverse. We were on a corner pitch which gave us the impression of space. Other pitches seemed a little close together but we were fine. Toilet block just across the way very clean with plenty of hot water.

Security on site very good with reg plate recognition barriers which always worked for us. Site, though busy, was exceptionally quiet at night.

Childrens play area very good though probably aimed more at older children.

Would definitely return to this site as absolutely ideal for the traditional family seaside holiday with Scarborough, Whitby, Filey and Bridlington all very close. Cayton Bay is a lovely beech within walking distance of the site.

On the Sunday we went to the Cayton Village fete which was really very good with skydivers and a terrier (dog) display which was also excellent. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luisa51 1 review from this member

 Our family have not been camping before and I was really pleased and suprised by this campsite. Even after torrential rain, the ground in field remained firm. The whole site was very clean and tidy including washrooms, staff were helpful. Cayton bay was stunning and ideal for families. No noise policy after 11 really works. I would reccomend and will go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ellabellaboo 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for a week with my two children and friend with her two children. First time camping with them so was a bit nervous but found the site was really nice. The staff were all friendly and helpful, toilets and showers etc were spotless and cleaned regularly.

There is a bus stop at the entrance to the site which was great but after a fairly stressful morning getting 4 children ready and getting to the bus stop on time, the bus sailed straight past us! Ended up having to get a taxi which cost us 15.

Shop on site is fairly basic but most things you need. Didnt manage to get any full fat milk for my 1 year old though all week, had to go to another shop.

There is a family bathroom which you can rent out for 1 which was great for us as my children hate showers.

The playground was ok but not really suitable for 4 year olds - could do with a swing for smaller children.

Didnt get to any of the pubs in Cayton Village but the fish and chip shop is good.

All in all a fab site and would definitely return if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clazzy74 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from our first visit to Cayton Village Caravan Park and on the whole we were very impressed.
When we arrived on a Thursday the main camping field was virtually empty and we were told to pitch where we liked. On reflection we should have pitched nearer the bottom as the field is quite big so the loos were quite a hike! I agree with a previous review about bigger kids in the park, I took my three year old out because of bad language. The facilities were spotless and the shop held the basics. Cayton Bay is lovely and the kiosk is run by the friendliest people on earth! (Get your beach toys there as they are much cheaper than the site shop!)Definitely a thumbs up! 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2436 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement