Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Durhamlad 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for weekend, what a lovely site, nice and peaceful, toilet and shower facilities clean and secure with code access.

Access to the site was by vehicle reg no recognition which was great, no unauthorised access.

Lovely fish shop 2 mins walk, pubs near by but one was really full and no room to move.

Small shop on site, staff pleasant and helpful.

Would definitely go here again had nice drive out to scarborough, filey and bridlington.

Plenty of room around pitches on site and hedges between rows to make more pleasant and private

If you arrive after hours the gate is locked but there are pitches with hookup to use until next morning 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: K599rag 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend at the end of August. Site is well located for Scarborough and Filey and the village of Cayton is 5 minutes walk away.

Usual facilities on the site and they are all adequate for a short stay. I would say that the cleaning of the showers/toilets should be more regular at peak times as they were in need of some TLC on a few occasions.

Staff were very helpful when required. They were always on hand and gave advice when needed. Believe me it was needed on the Sunday night when the wind nearly took half of the tents away. The staff were quick to react and called people on their mobiles to tell them to come back to the site before it was too late.

If you venture out into Cayton for a bite to eat the chippy is good and the pubs are indifferent. The Star is awful and the look from the outside is very deceiving. Inside, it's dirty and needs a refit and not a place to take kids. I'm no prune, but page 3 calendars behind the bar, next to the family room is not good. The Blacksmiths is excellent for food and beer and the kids were always welcome.

All in all the site was good and I would return in the future,, but maybe not on a bank holiday weekend as it was extremely busy. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debzz1970 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, with the best dog walk I know. Our 3 dogs and my 4 year old had a great time here, there's loads of space, a nice kids play area plenty of toilet/shower blocks, washing up facilities, and security is great with curfew times to prevent late night noise. Daily the grounds are kept pristine and grass is cut regularly keeping the entire site lovely and tidy

Cayton beach is great for dog walking all year and kite flying.

Its lovely and quiet without too many restrictions.

The local village has foody pubs, local convenience store and a chip shop and this sites location is mid way between Filey and Scarborough making it a great place to stay if you want to travel around. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobex55 2 reviews from this member

 We noticed on site it was a 5 star rated more like a 2 star would be more accurate. The showers on a morning were cold when complained was almost told was a liar. Not enough toilet facilities for the size of the camp. The overflow field had no toilet facilities whatsoever, no water stand pipes either.

They say there is a gym on site where was it I couldn't see one. The children's play park iff you can call it that was probably ok for a 1 yr old as there wasn't a lot for the kids to play on. The price you pay for the electric hook up for 4 days was way over the top £34.

I would definitely not want to visit this site again. The shop had only the very basic essentials and I do mean basic. The village pub called the str was really friendly children were very welcome. The camp site had a curfew of 11 pm why when people needed to get out the place because of boredom. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave MJ 5 reviews from this member

 When you arrive, the warden tells you where your pitch is and meets you there, he then unhitches your caravan and manually puts it on the pitch. We were on a super pitch. Nearby was the newest shower block (Top end of the site), also at the top of the site is a massive camping field, so as you can imagine the whole of the camping field use that shower block, It was always busy & dirty. The showers in the middle of the site were clean but cold. In front of our pitch was a dirt road which lead from the camping field, cars going by all day chucking up dust which then lands on your caravan and awning. The pitch size is good, the play park was also good, Morrisons close by, There is a excellent Chinese takeaway which delivers to the park. Overall too many people, not enough shower blocks. Will definitely not be returning ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GreavesMob 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights (Thurs to Mon) with 2 children aged 7 and 5, paid for dogs but didnít end up taking them (very good dog walk available) paid £76.

Excellent location for anyone wanting to be close to Filey/Scarborough. Lovely village with shop and fish and chip shop a couple of pubs, Blacksmiths Arms and the Star, both serve food, families are welcome and are walking distance from the site about 15/20 mins. Morrisons and McDonalds just up the road and a fantastic Chinese as recommended by the site staff (China Express), who will deliver to the site carpark site free of charge. Close to the beach but would take the car if you have small kids. Extremely steep slope leading to the beach, but very clean good for surfers, with board and wetsuit hire within the carpark.

Good clean facilities (shower room, washing up room, shop, playground) on the site and although the site was busy I never had to queue.

Tent pitches aren't marked out and you can choose where you pitch. Ground was good and drained well when it rained, slight hill with the option of pitching near hedges for a bit of shelter. I will be returning for longer next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fisher259 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed hear with my wife and 3 children for 1 week in a tourer with awning. My sister and her family joined us in their caravan as we usually go away with others and does not usually cause any issue.

Let's start with the positive, the grounds were well maintained the beach was around 10 minutes walk and there was plenty of room for walking and for the children to play.

We selected a super site pitch where you have a large hardstanding and a grassed area to the side. Unfortunately the way the management ask you to pitch up does not seem logical nor the best use of the albeit tight space. You have to pitch the caravan with the awning facing on the opposite side of the grassed area and only one foot away from a very prickly, hawthorn bush divide. Thus meaning to get to your grass sitting out area you have to exit via the awning and walk all the way around your caravan to sit. The next point and for no logical reason we could gather, the grassed area for you to utilise when wanting to sit out or eat was at the opposite side of the caravan meaning you had to walk around to it ??

This layout also made it impossible to enjoy our usual communal atmosphere when touring with others.

The toilet blocks could have been cleaner, not to the standard of other sites we've used and it was normal to queue for a shower, even if sometimes these were cold.

There are a number of rules not listed on the website, please be aware.

Although the above sounds very negative, we enjoyed our week and would consider a return visit but would ask for a different pitch with hopefully more space. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annieann 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to the site and of cause we returned our first visit was the previous year and was our first experience as campers we enjoyed it so much we've just rebooked for this year too.

As we take 2 large 10 berth tunnel tents this site is the only one that offers the space for these with electric

We love it here close to beach, Brid, Scarbourgh, Whitby all not far by car

Excellent site staff are brill so helpful and understanding to your needs

Looking forward to next years visit 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs chip 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from our 1st camping holiday and so pleased we chose this site. The site is really well run and the toilets/showers were kept very clean(3 blocks on site).

Even though the site was busy we never had to queue. Our 6yr old enjoyed the play area but spent most of is time playing with other children on the rally field where we were pitched. Glad we chose to pitch on there instead of EHU pitches as these did not have the room for kids to play around them.

Shop on site sells the basics and will freeze ice blocks for you for 50p each. There are a couple of shops in village for food supplies, a chip shop, and 2 pubs which serve food. Apparently the food in Blacksmiths Arms is good, but we never went so can't confirm.

Will definitely be returning to this site next year. Had a fab time. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sweatpea1 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 nights, we stayed on the rally field, 2 adults and 2 children (5 and 13) - they absolutely loved the space and freedom to run around playing ball games.

Plenty of room around the tent no crowding. Toilet blocks etc were always clean and never really busy - no queueing. Dishwashing area is good, a proper room so if its raining you don't get wet!

All staff really friendly and always seemed to be busy keeping the site clean. Will definitely return for a second visit. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3954 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement