Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Keith007 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for a 7-day holiday based upon the pretty good reviews on this forum, but we were disappointed in some respects - but not all. Firstly we were on the far away Camping Field with electric; that meant on a strip along the bottom of the field, divided from the non-electric area by a rope fence. We had chosen this when booking before we knew, thinking we would be near our three daughters and their families who were coming for the weekend and they were all tent campers. But it just didn't work out very well. It was mobbed at holiday weekends - which is apparently normal! Also, the whole camping field was expected to use the one toilet block shared with one end of the caravanners main section. This was an absolute nightmare at weekends with a full camping field of some 75 units - mainly families with two or more kids! Almost no space to swing a cat. Queueing from 7am, for 90 minutes, for showers is not funny! Using the other toilet blocks became the norm with even longer walks of course.

Facilities for modern caravans on the Camping Field are not up to standard in my view. E.G. There is a stand pipe/tap for drinking water but NO drain for the disposal of grey water. Also CCCP points are miles away in the middle of the main caravan section!

There is a one way road system that does not loop round within the site - if you are driving, you have to leave the site and then come back in again! The barriers are 'number plate recognition' by cameras, both In and Out!

Apart from that, it was fine - not brilliant but OK. So if you are caravanning I would suggest NOT to use the Camping Field unless you are happy with all of the above.

Cannot fault the staff - they were marvellous, very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim-antonia 11 reviews from this member

 A very nice well tended site. The staff were friendly and helpful. The site is about 15min walk/5min drive from a beach which is excellent for surfing. When the tide is out it leaves a massive expanse of sand and rock pools, perfect for kids. We were in a tent and it was very busy while we were there, consequently the toilets and showers had queues of people waiting between 8-10am. Early birds will not have a problem. Although the toilets were busy they were clean and had plenty of paper. My daughters aged 8 and 5 thought the play park was very good it's a shame the tent field doesn't have one the same on it. I would recommend this site for families wanting a nice relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crossfire 19 reviews from this member

 Just spent a 3 night break at this site. First time we have gone camping with the kids. Never known rain like it, on the first night it rained from around 9pm on the Thursday to well after 4pm on the Friday. The campsite held up very well, I expected it to turn into a bit of a bog but it was fine. The facilities were great, clean toilets and showers, small shop for the essentials and a play area right next to our pitch. Couldn't have asked for a better pitch. It did get busy when we got to Saturday but you have to expect that when it is the start of the school holidays. Large walking area for the dog which was ideal. Fish shop in the village and a few other stores close by were also very handy if needed. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ctobin 1 review from this member

 This was our 1st camping holiday. We have 3 children of 13, 10 & 7.

The park was lovely, the staff very friendly & the facilities were excellent. (I have a bit of a thing about toilet facilities & was very impressed) - the toilet blocks were cleaned regularly there is a laundrette & are dish washing areas. The shop freezes your freezer blocks - although they do charge 50p per block.

Our tent pitch was just in front of the play area which was suited to the ages of my children (probably not so good for toddlers) & even my 13 year old daughter enjoyed herself.

Cant wait to go back again! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tsm1971 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week here the only down side for this site was the size of the pitch we were given for our tent was small. We had to peg the front end of the tent into the road bit, and then there was a small throw up tent with lots of land, so a little bit poorly set out on that side of it.

The site in general was very clean and in the centre of all the sites which were easy to get to. We made use of the new park and ride into Scarborough saved loads of money on carpark fees.There is a shop on site which was a bit pricey but ok if your desperate. There is a no noise policy after a certain time I think it was 10pm which is very good if you have kids and was much appreciated. Would stay again but would probably come with the caravan as they seem to get the better pitches 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deboraht1000 1 review from this member

 After reading the reviews on this site we decided to book a one night stay here. Would have been two but the weather at home on Fri was awful and the forecast was the same for the east coast.

I rang the site Fri afternoon to book for the following day and the phone was answered by a bright and cheery voice at the other end.

A good start.

The reviews on this site are accurate. The site itself was lovely and kept spotless.

As we booked at the last min we ended up in the rally field which was brilliant.

Level field with lots of space around you. An area of this was kept clear and family's were using this to play rounders, football etc with the kids.

The noise rule was followed as someone behind us on the electric pitch turned there music up loud at 10:30 and they were told to turn it down and off at 11:00pm. Bliss!

Would definitely return 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kaz1953 3 reviews from this member

 Agree with a lot of the previous reviews with regards to area, friendly staff, etc. One or two problems though. Firstly, the staff seem to race their transport around the site, which seems to be powered by a diesel engine by the sound of it, annoyingly loud!. Also, a nearby farmer had just started to use a 'crow scarer' when I arrived. My dog is frightened of loud noises. She decided she didn't want to go on the dog walking field anymore. The dog walking field has also been designated as a nature walk for children. Strange but true. On various days people has been walking their dogs without cleaning up after them. I wouldn't have wanted my children to walk on there 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephen1 3 reviews from this member

 A great site. Well placed to get between Whitby and Brid. Always kept clean and tidy. Toilet + shower blocks smart and comfortable with plenty of hot water. Very quiet at nite so we always had a good nights sleep. Wardens were always cheerful and say hello as they pass and if you need any help you only have to ask. Shop does not sell much but you can get bacon + eggs etc and papers for breakfast and Morrisons is only 10 mins away. Cayton is not a 'country' village but has 2 nice pubs. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lancashirecrew 1 review from this member

 We booked fairly late, but managed to get a pitch thank goodness. Our first caravan holiday with children - 3 of. They had a fantastic time, as did we. The no noise evening rule was followed and nights were peaceful. There was a partial power failure one evening, with the site owners sorting things very promptly. I think we probably had no power for all of 30 minutes, if that! The toilets / showers are well maintained, although there were queues at times. The staff were lovely, very friendly, and patrolled the site regularly throughout the day. We felt our children were safe at all times to play without constant supervision. The pitches were well spaced, we had a 'super site' with water, drain and electric so no need to walk for anything other than to empty the toilet canister. If it were not 4 hours away from home, we would go back tomorrow. Geography was never my strong point, but I am glad about that otherwise we would never have found this fantastic site! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul + max 1 review from this member

 Visited on 28th of may for 3 nights and had a fab weekend! We could not fault the weather, it was a scorcher. The site was lovely and the tent field was the best we have been to and we will definitely be returning soon.

The on site staff were cheerful and very pleasant. The shop sells a little bit of everything including an assortment of camping equipment, useful if you forget the little things! There are toilets and shower blocks scattered across the site (not sure exactly how many) and are clean with plenty of toilet paper. On our visit it was not crowded and we never had to wait to get a shower but I think there could be queues for the showers when busy as the toilet/shower block nearest the tent field only had 4 showers.

The kids visited the play area only once and the comments from them was that it could do with improving as there is very little there, no swings and they found it a bit of a disappointment. This would be our only negative of the site, as the play area is out of site of the tent field and unsuitable for little ones. It would be a big plus for us if they put a playground on the tent field. The site also has a no noise policy after 11.00pm which was adhered to which was good and we liked the barrier system which was in place as it stopped anyone entering or exiting the site between 11.00pm and 8.00am as it made you feel secure at night.

We visited the beach at Cayton Bay and although the route down to it was VERY steep it was a lovely beach which had a hut to the left of the path that sold food, beach toys, drinks, icecream, etc which was a godsend for the little ones. There are also toilets by the hut too.

The car park for the beach has a surf shop where you can hire surf boards, body boards and wet suits at a reasonable price. My 15 year old was in his element!

All in all we found the site a pleasure to stay at and would highly recommend to anyone who likes a friendly, peaceful and relaxing holiday.

We would rate this site 9/10 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement