Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve+Ali 20 reviews from this member

 As previous reviews, this is a very well kept site. The staff are polite and always say hello when they pass. Very clean and up to date shower facilities which are free to use. Lovely village a few minutes walk with a handful of pubs, a fish and chip shop and a spar.

The only downside of this site was the price. I paid 16 per night for a tent pitch with no electric in mid season, which I thought was way over the top, especially as this was the most expensive site on my 3 week tour.

The site shop was convenient, but way over priced again. You expect to pay a little more in a site shop, but I nicnamed the shop 'think of a price and double it' I paid 7 for a campinggaz canister, which are consistently 3 in most outlets and 75p for 0.5 litre milk 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MamaBear 6 reviews from this member

 Cayton Village is a beautiful site. All the pitches meandered through the park which is a really nice change from camping in a feild. Our greeting on arrival was warm, caring, and professional. Once checked in, we were shown our pitch which is nice to not have to wonder around searching. There is a barrier to enter and is operated by plate recognition so no need for a code or key.

The site has a nice play area for the kids but many children were sent unsupervised. My teenager took my toddler and had to bring him back as the older children decided to kick him. So if you have children, please supervise them.

The site is very clean. There is a code to get into the bathrooms but the doors don't always close right so they are open most of the time, but still have to remember the code. They are always cleaning the bathrooms as well. All the employees were super friendly and always said hello and smiled. Plenty of showers to go around and a nice washing up area for your dishes. I should mention that there are a few bath houses and even one at the reception area so if one is busy its just a quick walk to another one.

There is a shop on site that carrys just about everything you need including some camping gear. Scarborough is just a few miles away and you can drive in or take the bus. If you drive, I suggest the park and ride as the parking is free and it's dirt cheap to tak the shuttle. Tons to see and do there. Ask serves great food on the waterfront and Molly Malones at 9 Eastborough Street serves some great fish and the best gravy I've tasted. Looks a bit of a dive but clean and a view over the water. Filey is just a few miles away as well and is a lot quieter.

There is also a big Haven place up the road and a few nights could hear the entertainment. Cayton has a beach as well but be prepared for the hike down and up. Beautiful beach and very quiet.

A good selection of pubs within walking distance and a big grocery store not far away. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HOUGHFOX 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and definitley will not be our last. We share a tent with my sister and family so altogether 4 adults and 3 kids. We only booked the night before so was surprised when we asked to be near the kids play area and was given a fab pitch, our tent only just fit but thats because its a large 8 man.

The site had plots much bigger than the one we were on though.

All plots looked very level and we all noticed how clean and well kept the site is. The showers, toilets and pot wash rooms were spotless whatever time day or night.It was nice to be able to have a nice hot shower with my 1 year old boy hot water means no tears.

All our kids had hours of fun on the park all that was missing was a baby swing other than that it was spot on.

We went to the pub for a couple of nice cold beers on sat which was just down the road.Then on sun we paid a couple of pound to stay till 6pm.We decided to go in to Scarborough for a look round it only took 15 mins to get there we got wet through as it chucked it down all day.

All in all a grest site that we gave ten out of ten we cant wait to come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Laurie118 28 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site, found it through uk campsite. What can I say it was a great, friendly staff well laid out no feeling of overcrowding. The toilets & showers were very clean 10 out of 10. This site is in a good position for looking around this part of yorkshire. Chip shop and and two pubs in village, 5 min walk and bus stop outside. It had a good dog walking area and next time I go I will take the dog. I would recommed this site to anyone no matter what type of unit they have. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CHRISALIZ 14 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, friendly staff. Some pitches a little close together, particularly tents, hot showers, shop a little expensive (45p for bag of Walkers), Cayton Bay lovely, great for surfers.
One evening spoilt by noisy neighbours, although they did calm down after 11pm. Would definitely recommend this site although would not like to go at bank holiday or busy school hols. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kandmbarron 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever camping holiday, although due to the weather we only stayed 2 nights instead of the 4 we booked! We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We totally loved the site. It was immaculately clean and well kept and the security was top knotch! Although we did not use the shop, it always looked busy and well stocked.

We were sited next to the play area and our children (two 3 year olds and an 8 year old) thoroughly enjoyed it and made friends within minutes. It was such a great base for Scarborough and surrounding areas and we will definitely be going back soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 12over 1 review from this member

 Great site. On arrival you have a marshall allocated to show you to your pitch and they give you all the info you need for your stay.

Booked a hook up pitch and were situated in a pleasant setting just close enough to facilities with no passing traffic. Toilets and pot wash facilities were excellent and regularly cleaned. Facilities could get a bit busy if you picked the wrong time. Good for kids with play area and plenty of safe open space.

The local facilities were good with a shop, chip shop and 2 pubs only a short walk away. The fish and chips were excellent but prepare for a long wait as it is popular with the campers.

Both pubs we found were not very welcoming and in particular the one next to the chippy.(forgoten name!) Was quite a hostile environment against campers.

The main centre of Scarborough with all it's attractions was only 15 min drive away and Cayton Bay beach about 5 mins drive.

In Summary an excellent well maintained comfortable campsite. We will definitely be going again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ged Judd 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay with our family of 4No, children age 7 and 10 and have read some of the reviews.

We arrived on Saturday and stayed until Tuesday. The checking in was swift and efficient, but also friendly. Thankfully having stayed on until the Tuesday it completely changed our opinion of this site.

I would agree that that from Saturday to Monday the site was fit to burst and the facilities only just held out. Nevertheless the toilet facilities were always clean.

In the cold light of day we need to remember that these bank holidays are hay days for these campsites and the revenue helps put in place the facilities that are available all year round.

In our opinion, after the bank holiday rush the facilities were more than adequate. The showers were hot and the washing-up water was hot, there were not the queues for toilets and showers.

The tent pitches are mostly level and after the bank holiday Monday their was plenty of space for ball games around the tents.

The toilet facilities are a little to far from the tent field unless you're pitched around the access island.

Our youngest spent hours at the playground and enjoyed every minute. However, it's not really suitable for 10+ year olds.

The little things that would make things easier would be clothes hooks, for use when washing and a small hand sink for use after using the toilet. Although it was nice to see free soap for hand washing was always available.

The more difficult things would be, more electric hook ups in the area to the right as you enter the tent field from the right (on both sides of the tree area).

Whilst their we visited Scarborough, Filey and Robin Hoods Bay.

Robin Hoods Bay is on the coast road to Whitby (A171?) it's about 20 miles, but the scenery is so fantastic on route it didn't seem to take the 40 minutes that it did. A little tip, if there are already cars parked on the grass verge as you approach, follow suit, it generally means the pay and display car parks are already full and it's only about an extra 5 minutes walk.

If you're only having Fish & Chips once whilst you're away, save it for Marillons (I think) (up the ally at the jetty)at Robin Hoods Bay, don't worry about the que, they're definitely worth the wait.

All in all, it's obvious to see from the flower planters around this site that the management have a high regard for their business. We would definitely mark this down as a revisit. But maybe not over a bank holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baconbutty 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night Bank Holiday stay at Cayton Village (our second visit) and had a brilliant time

The park was once again imaculate, the staff very friendly and helpful

Although it was fully booked there was plenty of space for everybody and the toilets were spotless whatever time of day you visited

The only slight negative was the showers were only warm but giving the use they were getting it was hardly surprising

The site shop sells the basics but a short walk through the site (5 mins) leads into Cayton Village where there are 3 pubs a chipshop and a convenience store which sells everything you need

The playground on site was a big hit with our kids they spent loads of time there

Would recomend this site to anyone of any age and will definitely be going back 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vickster78 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a last minute break at Cayton Village Caravan Park. After studying the weather forecasts last week, we decided to camp 'up north' for the Bank Holiday weekend, and after phoning round over 20 sites in the area, I was lucky enough to get a cancellation at Cayton Village. We were only planning on going Saturday & Sunday night, but the cancellation was for Friday night too, so we ended up paying for that too, and at least it meant we could pitch early on Saturday morning. We paid 87 for 3 nights, 4 adults, 2 cars and electric hookup.

The staff on arrival were very friendly and helpful, directing us to the are where our pitch was. Here we were met by another member of staff who pointed out the pitch, electric hook up facilities and told us what other facilities were in the area.

It was the first time camping in my new Gelert Alaska tent, and I have to say the size of the pitch was just about adequate, although being a busy time of year, the surrounding pitches were occupoied and we were very close to the nearest tents - just the width of my car and about half a metre between us.

We were situated in a small field (Horseshoe field I think) which was also used as an access route to the dog walking area, so there were always people walking past.

We had electric hook up available, however we didn't use this (just it was only pitch available).

Toilet & shower blocks were a 2 minute walk away. They were clean whenever I used them, although I have to agree with previous comments about children being unaccompanied - they seemed to be running free inside and outside the toilet blocks at all times of the day. The showers were clean, but sometimes got very busy, and when I used them early evening, the water was not hot, more lukewarm. One hairdryer was available at 20p for a few minutes.

There was also a washing up area in the block, with about 6 sinks, however it was very busy and again the water was only lukewarm.

The shop is quite small, but ok if you need anything urgently, otherwise I'd go to Morrisons which is more reasonably priced and about 10-15minutes away. They do sell camping equipment etc in the shop, but it looked quite expensive - I guess you pay extra for the convenience.

The barrier is closed from 11pm to 8am - we came back about 11.30 one night and left the car in the car park by reception, and collected it next morning. At least this means you don't get people driving round at all hours waking you up!

The website states it's a ten minute walk to the beach - it took us about 25-30mins on a windy day, and it is a steep hill down to the beach.So be prepared! Beach seems nice enough, there's a little beach hut half way down selling a few refreshments, buckets & spades etc, but that's all we saw.

Nearby, the Blacksmiths Arms was a nice little pub - we went on on Saturday and it seems there are new owners so they were just sorting out a new menu. We had a really nice meal, and were told they were starting a carvery on Sundays.

We also went to The Tow Bar, which is along the route to the beach. There was an adult comedian playing, who was very funny.

In my opinion, the site is probably more suited to families with children (we were 2 couples).

My only critisism would be the lack of hot water - it was there at times, but not constant.

All in all, I wouldn't discount visiting this site again, but probably wouldn't go at such a peak time. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4006 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement