Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samb079 1 review from this member

 Visited the site over the Easter weekend 2012. After reading some of the reviews from the end of last season we were worried and didn't know what to expect as we have two young kids 4 and 2 yrs. As soon as we arrived 2pmish we could see it was full. But first impressions were good. Everything was well laid out. We stayed on hardstanding in the laurels area which offers a higher rated hook up, Wi-Fi and also a tv point on EHU.

There was a toilet/shower block within 100yds of our unit, they were clean, well maintained, central heated and water was hot 24/7. Within the block was the elsan point, laundry and washing up facilities they were the best I've seen with stainless steel fixtures throughout. The on- site shop was small but well-stocked. The play ground was compact, but well maintained and the swings slide etc all looked brand new' all surrounded by a 7ft fence.

The site is located in Cayton village near Scarborough which provides a good base for touring. It has two pubs a post office and a lovely chippy, and supermarket 10 mins drive. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bramley-apple 6 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend here and managed to catch that final, fabulous weekend of the Indian Summer at the end of October. Since the weather took everyone by surprise, this was a bit of a last minute trip.

The pitch was a good size (we opted for EHU) and with small children we were grateful to back onto the secure play area.

Facilities were very clean and keycode protected at night. Plenty of hot water available.

The shop was pretty much empty, I imagine due to it being the end of the season.

Plenty of bins and water points around.

Fish & chips from Cayton Village chippy were very good indeed. And we enjoyed perusing the luxury caravans for sale near the entrance.

Morrisons is about 10 minutes away by car and open until 9pm (except Sundays). Redcliffe farm shop (on the road to Filey) is also very good for BBQ goodies, pies and pastries. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: THINGIBOB 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site because of the surrounding area and also because it has a five star rating and supposedly immaculate facilities and spacious pitches.

We were shown to our pitch and then ordered to park in an extremely precise fashion (we backed in nice and straight and were told to move 6 inches to the left) (A bit too pedantic we thought). The car parking space was ridiculous - a very small triangle on the right of the van, very close to the hedge which was overgrown and littered with rubbish, including an old carpet.

It made things very tricky with regard to water and waste as the car was almost on top of them and we had to go round the back of the van to reach them. We stated that we weren't happy with the parking arrangement so the staff came and chopped off a bit of the hedge, which didn't really improve things very much. The car was constantly covered in leaves and dust from the hedge.

We shared our hookup with a unit on the other side of the hedge and a caravan on a seasonal pitch which was very close behind us. The person on the other side of the hedge was not too happy with having to either go through the hedge or squeeze past our van.

The toilet facilities were dated and far from immaculate. The mop to clean the shower was absolutely filthy and standing in dirty water with no cleaning solution added. The block never smelt as if it had been cleaned properly and dirty marks on toilets etc stayed for several days. They should have been checked more often for the amount of people on the site.

The surrounding area is wonderful with the village very close by - access by a path off the site. A great fish and chip shop in the village, along with shops and two pubs. A fair walk to the beach if you have a lot to carry but there is a car park above the beach.

The shop on site is adequate and the children's playground not bad.

We were very disappointed with the site after reading the website. We felt it was overcrowded with the pitches far too close to each other in parts. The car parking rules were way over the top and inconsistent. We were surprised that we had to park on grass and not hardstanding (fire risk apparently), although we have stayed on lots of sites here and abroad and never had this problem before.

This certainly isn't a five-star site in our opinion and we will not return.  


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scruffy Wuffys1 14 reviews from this member

 Was very disappointed with this site. They advertise as a luxurious and well maintained. Unfortunately this was not our experience. Our pitch was in front of a seasonal pitch and access to the seasonal pitch was through ours.

The car parking spaces were very small and tight and for some reason we were not allowed to park on the hard standing we had to use the grass to the side.

The toilet blocks were dirty. There was a constant bad drain smell. The mop that was left for cleaning up after a shower was filthy and stood in a bucket of dirty cold water all the time.

The staff were unfriendly. Pitches way too close to each other. We also felt that this site was way overpriced.

The only plus point to this site is its location close to Cayton Bay, Scarborough and Filey. The fish and chip shop in the village is excellent.

Would not recommend this site and would not use it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tdci ross 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here last week on a Tues-Thurs basis before the bank holiday started. This was only our second holiday in the caravan and chose this site for its pitch with everything included (16amp elec, water, waste, tv and wifi).

This was on a very reasonable sized hardstanding pitch for caravan and awning with the car parked on grass by the side of the caravan. We'd never experienced hard standing for the awning and didn't have appropriate fixing pegs and needed to buy some heavy duty hard standing pegs which thankfully the on site shop sold, we then didn't have anything other than our rubber mallet so the shop very kindly lent us a proper hammer to put them in with.

The staff were very friendly and ultra helpful. Someone showed us to our pitch on arrival and helped us unhook (unnecessary but nice feature).

Unfortunately the weather prevented us from checking out the children's play areas and our one full day was spent in the lovely Whitby and Scarborough.

We didn't use the shower facilities or toilets as we used the caravans on this occasion. From the pictures they look very nice.

The sites security barriers are ANPR operated so don't let any vehicle in off the street which is great peace of mind for safety and secularity.

Only issue was a loss of broadband for nearly 24 hours of a 3 day stay due to weak signal supplied to area that we'd paid for. Signal was boosted and we were back online.

Overall very impressed and would recommend to anyone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie36 7 reviews from this member

 We were recommended to this site by quite a few friends who had visited over the years so I was expecting the site to be fantastic.

Upon arrival we were dealt with very promptly and efficiently and shown to our pitch by a member of staff.

Our pitch was more mud than grass! I know this isnt the fault of the site but as the pitch wasn't a square pitch we had no choice but to pitch where everyone else had pitched to fit our tent within the boundaries therefore covering our tent both inside and out with mud.

Lots of our friends had commented on how nice the shower blocks/toilets were. Indeed they were well looked after and adequate for the number of guests but why did they insist on cleaning them at the busiest time of day. Between 9am and 10am every morning the biggest shower block was closed for cleaning leaving those who wanted a shower queuing for one shower in another block. Other sites I have visited previously have all cleaned their showers around lunchtime when most people have left the site for the day!

Other than that we were happy with the site and staff who are all very friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, 5 minutes by car to Scarborough and filey and about 45 minutes to whitby.

If you visit Whitby go on the Heartbeat vintage bus trip. It cost 17. 50 for 2 adults and 2 children and we were out all afternoon. It was a really lovely journey through amazing countryside.

We went to the local fish and chip shop whilst we were there and they were lovely! If you walk, use the short cut from the top of the site so your chips don't get cold!

All in all its a great site, great location and lovely staff but shower cleaning times do need to be changed by the management! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dft762011 1 review from this member

 Recently returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely campsite, we have been here a few times now, first visit was 16 years ago, its got new owners since then but still remains a clean and tidy park, all tent pitches now have electric hook up points making life a lot easier, its nice to have a few lifes luxuries such as electric light and kettle.

Plenty of hot water available in the washing up facilities and always clean and tidy. Several toilet and shower blocks so never had to wait for showers, these are of the more up market type (no porta cabins here!)

The showers are nice and warm, not too hot for our little boys, they are operated by push button, they don't stay on for long but you just press the button again, always lots of hot water. There is a mop just outside the cubicles to give them a quick clean which is a nice touch.

Its a no noise after 11pm site, any problems the friendly staff will deal with it, however there are now rowdy gangs allowed.

The security is great, you enter and exit through a number plate recognition barrier, no cars in after 11pm and none out before 8am, if you wish to leave early I believe you can use the outer carpark.

The old camping field has been turned into a luxurious site for touring vans, not my thing but looks great, personally I liked camping in the field.

Overall a fantastic place to go within easy reach of Filey, Scarborough, Whitby etc, fantastic fish and chips available from Cayton Bay chippy a short walk through the site, village is sign posted.

Bins are emptied two or three times a day, the staff are constantly working to keep it a great site and make your stay as good as it could be, nice little kiddies playground, our eldest loved it 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Valda78 2 reviews from this member

 An excellent site with very helpful staff. On arrival you are taken to your pitch where you are helped in unhitching and siting your unit.

Pitches large, level and well serviced.

The site is in an excellent position for Bridlington/Filey and Scarborough. Cayton Village itself is only a matter of 100yds away.

My only (Minor) criticism is the shower I used (in the block attached to reception) it was small and had a plastic curtain which stuck to you, without a seat when dressing I got the bottom of my clothing wet

Excellent value for money, good facilities for young children - thoroughly recommended! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KERRY TAYLOR 1 review from this member

 Arrived on site at just after 12 noon, we checked at reception nice and quickly. We were lead to our pitch, which was lovely over looking the kids play area, with twin 7 yr old girls it was ideal.

The pitch was brilliant, the shower and toilet facilities excellent.

Nice and close to cayton beach for a stroll, morrisons 5-10 minute drive away for supplies, local village shops for convenience.

Staff worked hard all day cleaning and keeping the park, others on the site were friendly we will definitely be going back next year ! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Irene turner 3 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay here - our 5th visit to this site - which has been expanded since our last visit. It now has many more touring pitches but is still peaceful and very well kept. We had a fully serviced pitch on the Laurels. Faciltites are a little walk away - but were excellent -ONLY downside was the shower curtains which had seen better days. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Cayton village has 2 pubs. We liked the Masons Arms - the drink was cheaper and the food excellent. It is only a short drive to Scarborough and not far from Filey and Bridlington. Site fees are good in comparison to many we have visited - think this has a lot to do with it being a family-run site. It is somewhere we will return to again and again. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3340 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement