Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisaBlack 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Cayton park, and what a lovely time we had. We were first time campers and very apprehensive, but we need not have been. The site was lovely, well maintained and very clean. Our pitch was perfectly sited near to the park so we could keep an eye on our children, but not directly next to it. The showers/toilet blocks were kept very clean too. My only complaint would be the push-on showers that didn't stay on for very long, but we managed.

Despite our air bed going down on the first night and a bird in the tent at 5am, we had a very enjoyable stay.

Our two girls 5 and 9 were very happy, with the park and freedom they had and made lots of friends with the other campers. The play park isn't huge, but suited our two. The 8am open and 8pm closure of the park worked well for us.

The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and visible around the site emptying bins, cleaning the bathroom etc.

The shop was pretty well stocked with the basics at a fairly reasonable price, there is a small shop, 2 mins drive for other items. For main shopping a 10 min drive into Scarborough to tesco is needed.

The nearest beach is Cayton beach and is the nicest. A bit of a walk down but lovely when you get there and lots if rock pools for crabbing. There is a little hut at the bottom selling snacks and beach stuff. There are also porta cabin toilets.

Scarborough and Filey beaches were also very nice but a lot busier.

Scarborough itself is v nice, went on the boating lake at Peasholme park which was good. We also went on a speedboat from north bay. A trip to Playdale farm is a must, v reasonable and the kids loved it. We also took a trip to Flamingo Land (40 mins drive) which was a great day out.

All in all a very good holiday and a nice park. Would return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebrindo 3 reviews from this member

 Had a long weekend stay here. Overall an enjoyable stay but some negative points that will put us off returning.

1, Tent pitches are too small. Our modest 4 person tent fitted fine but with about 1m to spare at the side before hitting the 3m fire gap which is strictly a no go area apart from when loading and unloading your tent etc.

2, The cars cannot be parked on the on the pitches, they are parked reasonably close by in spaces just big enough for an average family hatchback, providing you don't want to open your door to get out.

3, The showers are the popular push button type, but only stay on for between 3 and 5 seconds at a time (yes, I timed them) which makes showering a real pain.

4, Last but not least, the 'Family' room. This is NOT a family room, it is a small room with a bath and a toilet, that they charge you to use, but you cannot get a family in. My wife and I wanted to use this to get ourselves and 2 children ready, simply not possible. Only a bath (no proper shower), knee high basin and mirror and no ledges to put anything (bags, clothes, toiletries etc. ) on. Baby son had to lie on the floor and daughter had to sit on the loo while wife had a bath and I gave up and went to the shower block for a shower. We complained and our money was refunded, but just beware if this is a facility that you think you might use.

There are certainly good things about this site, the wardens are always around. The play area was great and believe me, if you are pitched right next to it as we were the 8pm closure time is a blessing. Shop was well stocked with OK prices and only a few minutes by car to Cayton Bay which is simply beautiful.

T0 sum up, loved the area, but will find a different site should we wish to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dogsrus 2 reviews from this member

 Booked asking to be near to the disabled facilities for my mum. When we arrived we discovered that they had put us close to a disabled toilet, but the only disabled shower was in a different area, reachable only by car. This was the only shower for disabled and we had to queue both mornings we stayed. Also, due to the one way system, we had to leave the park after my mum had showered to get back to our caravan.

A member of staff insisted on helping us park - this was because the caravans must line up perfectly with the edge of the pitches. We were not allowed to park our car on the pitch, but had to park on the grass. We had two rows of caravans across from us, not sure how the caravans at the back got in, and their cars were parked next to our caravan so people were walking past close to our caravan regularly. The other pitches were so close we could hear every word of conversations and the baby crying several pitches away.

The only thing I would recommend on this site is the dog walk, which is large and well maintained, one of the best I've seen.

In summary, don't go here if you need disabled facilities, one shower for the entire site. Although staff say all the shower cubicles are large they are in fact average size.

Do go if you have multiple dogs, the dog walk is fabulous and there is lots to do in the local area.

Sadly we left early, too crowded and too much hassle queuing for the disabled shower. No refund was offered although we did let staff know why we weren't staying. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purston Pirates 1 review from this member

 A 'gem' is how I would describe this site, it is well kept with very nice grounds, great play area for the kids, a great dog walking area and very clean warm and spacious shower/toilet blocks. On arrival staff were very helpful and gave us all the information we needed and more. We stayed over the weekend as a test run for some new equipment we had bought previous to out holiday in Newquay. We have a Higear Voyager 6 tent and had bought the canopy, the pitch we were on was large enough to pitch the tent and canopy which measures about 5m x 7. 5m all together. I can recommend the fish and chip shop in Cayton village and we also had a Sunday carvery in the Towbar pub which was good value. As we had dropped on some very hot and sunny weather we decided to spend the day on Cayton Bay beach which was a 5 minute drive from the site, there is a large car park near the beach which you have to pay for. The beach was very clean and quite busy as you would expect on a nice day, the beach however is quite a way down a long steep ramp and be warned it can be slippy as I found out to my peril. I would definitely recommend Cayton Village site and will be returning ASAP. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pambiss 1 review from this member

 Spent 5 days here and what an amazing time. Ideally situated and easy driving distance to scarborough, filey or bridlington with lots of beautiful beaches. Only an 45 min drive from Whitby which is well worth the visit. The site has lovely, friendly staff. The shop on site has very reasonable prices. All the toilet/shower blocks are very clean. A lovley place for a family to spend time together and discover the east coast. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B4dger 4 reviews from this member

 What a find, a beautiful well laid out site with hedged in plots. Level hard standings and we chose a super site so connected to water and waste, no fussing with the aqua roll and waste hog.

Plenty of room to erect our awning but had a bit of a job getting the pegs into the ground.

Very pleasant and helpful staff. Very clean and spacious toilets and showers.

The fish and chips from the village chip shop are to die for, lovely light batter, fresh good quality fish and super chips all at a very reasonable price. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Masonst0rm 10 reviews from this member

 Had a week here at the end of May, the site was very busy over the bank holiday weekend but to say it was half term the following week the site wasn't over busy. Staff really helpful and even show you to the pitch help unhook and push into place. On pointing out the tap on the super pitch was leaking they changed in within 10 mins, brilliant customer service. Only issue I had was the pitch next to mine was a season pitch and the people that came at the bank holiday weekend took over all the space between us and them which should have been shared, they were loud and were laughing and drinking till gone 2am. The site rules are respect others and no noise after 11pm, shame they didn't respect that. Site facilities were great loo's always clean and showers hot, only down side to showers were they are the push button type so after about 15 seconds the water stopped so you have to keep pressing the button. Lots to do round this area and can recommend Horecum Hole if you like hiking. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rabble 15 reviews from this member

 Just got back after a 5 night stay, one MH one caravan and a tent.

The good points are:

Close to the beach and village.

Good play area.

Clean toilet blocks.

Pitch for the motorhome fitted us on easily.

The bad points:

Expensive.

Play area closed and locked at 8pm.

Tent pitches small and strictly enforced.

Cars not parked on tent pitches but at the end of the row.

Will charge for any extras.

A site with lots of rules, nice and orderly and quiet for those who like that (too many for us). It is mostly the price that will stop us going again, we didn't think it was value for money! 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jackiedamien 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived home from 4 nights at Cayton Village (Thurs- Mon). This was our first trip in our first caravan and were to say the least, a bit wary! We needn't have worried. What a lovely place this is and the hard working staff couldn't have been more helpful to us newbies.

The site is spotless as were the shower facilities. We stayed an extra night which was no hassle. The site is a short pleasant walk to the beautiful beach (about 15min)and 5mins into the village so in a fab position. We also walked the Cleveland Way into Filey across the clifftops which was lovely.

I cannot fault this site or the friendly hard working staff that made our stay so enjoyable. Will certainly return soon.  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shandyboy 6 reviews from this member

 Overall impression is that it's a nice site in a good location.

The pitch sizes are adequate, we were on hardstanding. Clean toilet and shower blocks although the showers are the ones which keep going off after about 10 seconds!

Good kids play area.

They are a bit strict about the one way system which wasn't made clear to us on arrival! We got told off!

Excellent fish and chips from the village.

Not too keep on the Star pub, preferred the Tow Bar which was a little further to walk.

Great location for the beach and Cayton Bay has good surf so take your wetsuit!

Would return. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3362 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement