Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anrdea 1 review from this member

 Visited this site with my husband and our dog.

All staff were very helpful and friendly and the site is very clean and tidy.

The dog walk was very good and very clean.

There a 3 Toilet/shower blocks, but can only comment on the one nearest to the camping field.

It had a pin entry system and a rule that no children were allowed unsupervised in the toilet / shower block. ! maybe if the pin entry pad had been a couple of feet higher! It was over run with kids all afternoon and night (which made it very untidy and muddy!)

There were 4 showers and about 10 toilets (the camping field at the time we were there had 200 + tents on it!) so you had to be up pretty earlier to not have to queue!

It says on the web page a 10 min walk to the beach! allow 3/4 hour! unless your a fast walker. And access to the beach is not for the unfit, quite steep!

Not sure if we would visit this site again only because it was a bit too busy for us, we like to relax when camping and enjoy the quiet! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Louisa Westmorland 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site!

Very very clean and tidy. Great childrens play area (more suited to 6+). Toilets and shower blocks are 5*. Cleaned at least 3 times a day - we never had a problem or concern with using them.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Shop located on-site for food and camping supplies.

Located close to Scarborough and other coastal towns so very easy to go places.

We went down into the bay and took my daughter on a buggy board with a wetsuit hired from the surf shop - great!

Your pitch has ample room, with many of them having electric hook-ups.

There are seperate bins for your cooking/rubbish waste so the site can collect them for recycling at the end of the day.

A very highly recommended camp-site for anyone up the east coast! 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

 Cayton Village was very quiet and relaxing at this time of year. Some of the park was out of bounds due to the time of year but had no bearing on enjoying the park. The staff were very helpful although I couldn't book until a week before as I only wanted two nights and not the conventional three and when we got there they weren't exactly sold out!

The playground was good for the children although given it was so cold they didn't go over that much. The dog walk was adequate but as we were out of season we could take advantage of the whole of the camping field which was huge.

The toilet block was very clean (cleaned three times a day apparently) and the shop was stocked with essentials but do to the time of year (and understandably) was only open 8 - 10am you then have to find the wardens.

In all a good site and we enjoyed our stay. A point to note though, we were out of season and the pitches were small and close together 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Col.S 4 reviews from this member

 Spent four days at this site in Sept. First camping trip for 30 years (second childhood I guess). Anyway we found the site good. All facilities clean and tidy. However there was this noise at night all night, loud humming sound, when we asked one of the regulars in a caravan they said it was the McCain chip factory up the road.

After a couple of days you get used to it. The only other problem we found was the dog walk. Loads of POO everywhere, not many people seemed to clean up and not enough signs on dog walk, other problem was gangs of unruly dogs up to six in number owned by 'regulars' some dogs and owners quite aggressive. Never mind worth a visit I guess. Cayton bay itself is great, but watch the walk down to the beach remember you have to come back the same way.Very steep hill. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzieparsons 1 review from this member

 My husband and I with our two dogs have just returned from this lovely well kept campsite. We love coming to Scarborough and this camping experience has made the visit here even better.

The surrounding areas are beautiful. Whitby, Bridlington, Robin Hoods bay, Filey and Goathland (where they film Heartbeat) are to name but a few.

You may even see them filiming 'The Royal' or 'Heartbeat' if you're lucky.

There are quite a few pubs that serve great food. Blacksmiths arms and there isone at the top of Osgoodby lane (which I cant remember the name of).

There are quite a few supermarkets within easy reach and local shops.

The staff are so friendly that it felt as though we had known them for a long time and that they were life long friends rather than people who ran the campsite. We thought that it was a lovely touch that they showed you to where the pitch was for your tent.

The site was superb the grass was cut regularly even when wet, there wasn't any mess from, humans or dogs.

The toilets and shower blocks were not too far away from any of the pitches and they were extremely clean and regularly re-stocked with toilet paper etc.

We really cant rate this site enough as we found no faults what soever.

We will definitely be going back for another enjoyable time there and we will be recommending it to our other camping friends. Thank you Cayton Village caravan park. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The halls 8 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from our first trip to this site, and we are certainly going back. We arrived way too early, but the fab friendly staff allowed us to leave our caravan on the camping field till 12oclock.
When we got back, they towed it for us and sited it on our pitch.

Loads of room, near to the play area for the kids, lovely dog walk which was only spoiled by ignorant people not cleaning up after their dogs.
Showers and toilets cleaned regular, with mops and cloths to wipe up after yourself. I've never been to a site where they empty the bins as much as they do here, the staff take pride in the site.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the site is lovely and quiet on a night, with the barriers locking at 11pm till 8am.

Local chippy was nice, but grumpy staff and expensive prices meant we only went once.

We are planning a return trip to Cayton village soon, can't wait. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sid1 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned, unfortunately, from this excellent site. Very good location for coast or moors, spoilt for choice. Very clean site with good facilities. Stayed on a super pitch with good amount of room. Some of the normal pitches seemed a little bit close together. Excellent dog walk,onlyspoiltbyinconsiderateownerswhofind itbeneath themselvestoclearupafterwards.
Found some lovely village pubs if your willing to adventure a bit onto the back roads, lovely scenery as well while your driving. Best food if you go to Bridlington, is to drive back out towards Flamborough and just before Danes Dyke you have the Martonian just off the main road to the left. Excellent food, lots of it , and very reasonable price too.
Overall would have no reservations about returning to this site, excellent site, excellent location,excellentholiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bev/Ron 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights with our children. Reception staff were friendly and kindly took us to our allocated pitch. Also reasonably priced. All amenities were explained. Our pitch was close to playground for the children. The site has 3 shower/toilet blocks which were satisfactory. The only negative with the shower blocks was the cleaning floor mops they provided for you to use after showering were too dirty to clean with. All pitches are within small secluded areas which was very nice. There is a small shop on site selling all necessities. A short,pleasantwalking distance away is a pub, shop, post office. A short drive away is a major supermarket and a beach.A verynicesite.Wouldrecommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sharon963 8 reviews from this member

 The staff at this park where A1 we were meet upon arrival and shown to our pitch and then asked if we needed any help, our electric hook-up then stopped working and on of the lads helped repair it. We were give a sheet of paper with directions to the beach,morrissons and scarborough which I found very helpful.
The park itself is quite large but we did feel a little squashed in and only a children's park for the kids to play in no field for footie with 5 boys that was a problem. The toilet shower block looked fairly new and was clean most of the time although it was closed for 3 hours for cleaning and we had to use one of the other blocks (i think there was 3). Plenty of loos but only 4 showers but I only queued once.
Beach is about 20 mins walk away and there is a nice beach in scarborough (like a mini blackpool but nicer) about 20mins drive beware there is fairground rides there and they are not cheap. I'ld give this site 8 out of 10 and would return if I was in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Axel5171 7 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed a relaxing long weekend at Cayton Village. The campsite was superb and all the staff were very polite and helpful.

Even though the site was busy, there was a relaxed atmosphere, and noise was kept to a minimum after 11pm. The site is well maintained and the toilets are clean.

The site is ideally situated close to Scarborough and it is a pleasant drive up to Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby. We also had a trip to Goathland, which I am assured is in Heartbeat country!

The local beach at Cayton Bay is very pleasant, with rock pools for the kids (and adults) to enjoy. We managed to find some crabs, which amused the younger ones!

We tried the local chip shop and the food was very nice, although don't expect service with smile.

We also tried the local pubs for food, but the lack of vegetarian choices meant that we had to travel further afield in order to find something for us all to eat.

All-in-all a quality camp site and one that we will definitely return to. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3902 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement