Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 222 Reviews
                8/10 from 222 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Petes28815azs 1 review from this member

 Even though the site is due to close for refurbishment the site was immaculate, toilets and showers very clean, site wardens very helpful and busy looking after it.

2 pubs and chippy within walking distance, lovely tea shop in the village shop, the bus stops right outside the site entrance what else do we need ?

We will be back next year to see all the exiting new refurbed facilities 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Take A64 towards Scarborough, at roundabout take B1261 towards Filey. In Cayton village turn left into Mill Lane. (Signed) The site is about 100 metres on the left.

Cayton Village was previously a commercial campsite until purchased by the CMC in 2017. The Club have already signalled their intent to upgrade and modernise the site but currently it is being operated as at the time of purchase.

The site is in two parts, the main part with a variety of pitch types and a second part with all serviced pitches. The main part of the site has a mix of pitches although over half are serviced. Of the total 158 pitches there are only 29 hardstanding standard pitches but 46 standard grass pitches.

There are also 14 tent pitches. For anyone wanting to guarantee a hardstanding booking a serviced pitch might be the best option albeit at an additional cost.

Electricity of this part of the site is rated at 10 amp connected via blue CEE17 sockets. There are three smallish toilet blocks, one of which has dish wash and laundry facilities. Whilst all are kept clean they are now showing their age.

If the site was full they could come under pressure. For those not on a serviced pitch there are water points dotted around the site. There are grey waste points but not many. Likewise there are only two chemical emptying points in this section of the site. There is no motorhome service point but the wardens will point you in the direction of a suitable drain point.

For children there is an adventure style playground. Currently there is no WiFi available on site although we got a reasonable 4G signal on our phones. Next to reception is a same shop which doubles as an information room.

The second part of the site is called ďThe LaurelsĒ has 110 hardstanding pitches of a generous size. They are classified as Super Pitches as they have 16 amp electricity connections and a co-ax TV connection. This area has one toilet block also containing dish wash and laundry. There are three chemical emptying points including one at the toilet block.

This site is ideally situated between the resorts of Scarborough and Filey. It is a short walk into Cayton Village where there are a couple of convenience stores plus a pub and fish and chip shop. There is also a rather nice restaurant come coffee shop called the The Farrier which we used for coffee. For a larger shop there is a Morrisons about 2 miles away.

There are excellent bus links from the immediately outside the site entrance to Scarborough one way and Filey and Bridlington in the other direction. From Scarborough there are also bus and train services across a wider area.

Whilst the main attraction of this site will be the ease of access to the coast, Cayton Bay only a mile away, it could also serve as a good base for touring this part of Yorkshire. Castle Howard is about 25 miles away. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 So firstly, a lot of the reviews are negative about this site as it's not up to CAMC standards and they shouldnít change as much. Correct as at June 2019, itís not as regimented as most other CAMC sites and if you directly compare it isnít to the same standard.

Is it overpriced? We paid £37. 00 per night for 3 of us for a serviced pitch. We have paid a lot more and not received as much on non-CAMC sites. So taking it on its own merits for the price and location itís fairly priced.

The site itself, booking is simple via the CAMC site. Access is pretty straightforward just make sure you come in from the north part of the A64 as most Sat Navís seem to bring you off at the A1039 then send you up a road unsuitable for caravans, if you do take this route in error you can carry on and go round but its a fair old diversion. Checking in is very friendly as always with CAMC sites with pitches selected by yourself on check-in.

The Pitches - These vary dramatically across the site in size, shape, and views.

There are 2 toilet blocks, currently only 2 Blackwater Points, lots of bin and water points if you havenít got a serviced pitch. There are loads of both Grass and Hard Standing pitches, however, make sure you have some VERY good rock pegs if you want to peg down into the hard standing as I bent several rock pegs trying to get well pegged down. The water pressure on serviced pitches is restricted so it wonít blow most hoses apart (maybe a bit too restricted). It does say free WiFi is available we were on the serviced pitches at the back of the site and couldnít get any WiFi signals (Using a WiFi analyser I could find ďThe LaurelsĒ SSID at an unusable -90dB strength in areas)

The Facilities - The toilet blocks were cleaned to the expected high standard (Some people moaned about them shutting at 09:45, that's only one of them for an hour to clean them then they do the other one at 11:00). The only negative was the showers are controlled by a push button that needs pressing way to frequently and shower heads are a bit rubbish. The blocks are heated, light and airy and only dirty from inconsiderate campers using them. When they refurbish the site I hope they increase the Chemical Toilet points as with only 2 on-site itís can be a fair trek to empty the toilet.

In the Area - The site is centrally located 4 miles from both Scarborough and Filey, 25 minutes from Bridlington and 45 Minutes from Whitby. There is a Lidl 10 minutes down the road, at Scarborough, which is probably the closest decent sized place to shop. If you fancy a walk you can walk to the beach which will take you about 15 minutes.

In summary - Would we return, yes, there is nothing really wrong with it at the moment, once itís had the CAMC facelift over the winter I would hope it will fix a few niggles across the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst on a cycle touring holiday with our tandem, trailer and tent.

This was our longest stay anywhere during our tour for practical reasons as it was our planned mid way point where we could do some laundry!

Site was very quiet when we were there. Shop at reception has a few basics and were very helpful in charging mobile phones for us.

All the pitches are flat and quite spacious.

Showers pretty good and hot - not the most up to date in style but clean and functional.

We used the washer and tumble dryer which was very useful.

Decent location with access on buses to Scarborough and Filey. We heard a brass band concert in the gardens in Filey which was lovely. We ate at the Star pub which was decent and also had fish and chips from the chip shop which was very good.

The most expensive site of our cycle tour but not the best - maybe just not our kind of site. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Snap 16 reviews from this member

 We booked for 5 nights knowing this site is due for refurbishment.

It is not up to the usual club standard. We had a service pitch which was very small. The facilities are dated but are kept clean by the wardens. The location is ideal 5 min walk to the local pub in Cayton.

The Star is a locals pub in which is very friendly. The menu is not extensive but the food is freshly prepared and very good. (we ate here twice).

Would I return?. Yes but not until the upgrade I think an adjustment should be made in the site fees to reflect the standard of this site. The wardens were friendly and did a great job keeping the site clean. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sarahbeen 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a midweek break, Plus points: - Nice welcome from the wardens, large pitches, a nice walk way to a local pub (Tow Bar -Food good)and a fish & chip shop. The site facilities were kept clean, very large site (would not stay during the school holidays! a little shop on site, dog walk, bus service close to site.

Faults: Electric problems throughout the site, 10amp supposedly to the pitches. Dated toilets/showers - think they are all due a refurb? Refuse problems - not collected enough by local council?

They need to close the site and do lots of work on it, we wouldn't return as it is too large and too expensive compared to the other Club sites. We only used it for a base and during the day were hardly on the site. For families staying in the summer and spending more time on site I would look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 The site had just been taken over by the C&MC when we visited.

Itís a huge site with access to the beach 15 minutes walk.

Facilities were a little dated but plans were in place for an upgrade.

Would use again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

 First time staying here, although have been holidaying in the area for decades.

Was pleasantly surprised, as was told the site was in need of a refurb. Immaculately-kept grounds. Very clean toilet block, although dated was very adequate indeed. Security was good, and staff friendly.

I understand it will be taken over by the Caravan club soon and will be closed for almost a year from Nov 2018 onwards. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carolinamoon87 5 reviews from this member

 All pitches come with electric which I have to say, is the best!

You have to be n site before 8pm and I made it for 7:50 but I found that the site called me at 7:30 to see how I was going absolutely amazing and it's tiny touches that make it for you.

We were on a pitch next to the entrance which was between two toilet blocks (as in choice) bins were scattered around and although we didn't use them washing areas too. (thanks paper plates)

The site have a lock on barriers between 11pm-8am which is nice so you're not disturbed.

There's a basic shop there too.

It's certainly one I'd like to go back to in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nialan 1 review from this member

 Booked Sat 29/7 - Sat 5/8 but left Fri 4th due to appalling weather. Great site staff, v friendly and helpful, good size site, big enough for our Gelert horizon 10 with Kalahari porch. Parking adjacent to tent was useful but not available for all pitches.

Thankfully well drained as v heavy storm showers hit 2 to 3 times a day. Shower blocks near to shop could do with update. Beware lots of thistles and nettles in the maze so avoid kids taking short cuts across uncut sections or running into thickets at side of soccer pitch as that is also painful!

Kids playground smaller than pics suggest but our 3 n 6 yr olds enjoyed it even if it got crowded.

One big bugbear was restricted access to the one family bathroom leaving us with two kids in showers who wanted to shower or bath together but were restricted due to segregation of sexes and insufficient facilities. A bit 20th century for 2017.

Good location for scarborough and filey 15min either way. Nice beach in the bay with lifeguards but steep climb, take little, you have to climb back up!

Main drawback for us is distance from w. Mids and traffic on A64 during hols. Otherwise great site for good weather hols. 


Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4325 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement