Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Mill Lane
Cayton Bay
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO11 3NN
Tel: 01723 583171
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 310
Open: 01/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Take A64 towards Scarborough, at roundabout take B1261 towards Filey. In Cayton village turn left into Mill Lane. (Signed) The site is about 100 metres on the left.

Cayton Village was previously a commercial campsite until purchased by the CMC in 2017. This is a very large site split between two sections. We first visited the site in 2019 when it was much the same as before the Club took it over. Since then, the site has undergone a major refurbishment.

On the main site there are now 99 pitches, all but six are hardstandings. Of the hardstanding pitches 26 are serviced, 3 are Premium serviced pitches and the rest are standard hardstandings.

On the upper site there are a further 106 hardstanding pitches, 10 serviced pitches, 3 premium serviced, 7 dedicated to tent use and the rest are standard hardstandings. Each section has a large new toilet block, both with open grid motorhome service points.

There are water/waste/CEP points dotted around the site but some pitches are some way from these points and given the recent refurbishment it is disappointing that there is not at least an extra service point in each section?

Electric bollards are convenient to all pitches and are rated at 16 amps and use CEE17 blue connectors. The bollards are the new type which trip the supply when disconnected and there are illustrated instructions to show how to reconnect when you re-plug in. Unfortunately, there are no Co-Ax TV connections.

We got a reasonable signal with rooftop aerial but did experience some picture breakup. For younger children there is a rather nice adventure style playground on the main site and on the upper section there is a netting enclosed basket-ball pitch.

Next to Reception is a well-stocked shop selling most essentials. There is also a small games/TV room next door. Currently this is the only access to WiFi on site via a hotspot.

The Club are currently upgrading their WiFi offer across the network but eventually there will be site wide access. You can use your phone data allowance to connect to the internet but we found both 02 and EE difficult at our particular pitch, maybe because it was in a bit of a dip?

The site offers several different types of static accommodation under the “Experience Freedom” brand, this option can be booked online. Cooked Food vendors are also available on site on certain days, reception will have details.

This site is ideally situated between the resorts of Scarborough and Filey. It is a short walk into Cayton Village where there are a couple of convenience stores plus a pub and fish and chip shop. There is also a rather nice restaurant come coffee shop called the “The Farrier” which we used for coffee.

For a larger shop there is a Morrisons about 2 miles away. There are excellent bus links from the immediately outside the site entrance to Scarborough one way and Filey and Bridlington in the other direction. From Scarborough there are also bus and train services across a wider area.

Whilst the main attraction of this site will be the ease of access to the coast, Cayton Bay only a mile away, it could also serve as a good base for touring this part of Yorkshire. Castle Howard is about 25 miles away. 


Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 I was disappointed by the wardens attitude on arrival, I am blind and he didn't seem to understand how to talk to a blind person. The lady warden in the office didn't give off good vibes either. We were told to go and choose a pitch. Firstly we filled at the motorhome point. This is all very new and it is obvious that the site has had a major overhaul and everything seems pristine.

The pitch was fine certainly large enough.

The facilities block has been modernised but during our stay the wind and weather ws very cold but the block was not heated at all. Many other visitors said that it was too cold to stay in the toilets long let alone brave a shower. I did ask a female warden, who was very friendly, and she said the thermostat was at 20deg C. All I said that it was a shame that no-one ever checked it as it was freezing.

There is a small mini-mart within walking distance which became as we needed an Amazon delivery and that was a pick up point.

There is a back entrance, for pedestrians, into the site which is useful.

There is a bus stop outside the entrance gates. One way is Filey and the other way is Scarborough.

I needed a 6kg propane cylinder exchanging and there was a place nearby opposite Morrisons.

Our stay here was ruined by the cold temperature which was consistent in the toilet/shower block.

Would we return? To the area - definitely yes but to this site probably not. AS far as we were concerned the only plus point was the bus stop outside. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jeepster1961 2 reviews from this member

 Loved the site, good access and well laid out,

Visited when covid restrictions were in place but still enjoyed our stay,

Dog walk was a little on the small side 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Petes2 1 review from this member

 Even though the site is due to close for refurbishment the site was immaculate, toilets and showers very clean, site wardens very helpful and busy looking after it.

2 pubs and chippy within walking distance, lovely tea shop in the village shop, the bus stops right outside the site entrance what else do we need ?

We will be back next year to see all the exiting new refurbed facilities 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- Take A64 towards Scarborough, at roundabout take B1261 towards Filey. In Cayton village turn left into Mill Lane. (Signed) The site is about 100 metres on the left.

Cayton Village was previously a commercial campsite until purchased by the CMC in 2017. The Club have already signalled their intent to upgrade and modernise the site but currently it is being operated as at the time of purchase.

The site is in two parts, the main part with a variety of pitch types and a second part with all serviced pitches. The main part of the site has a mix of pitches although over half are serviced. Of the total 158 pitches there are only 29 hardstanding standard pitches but 46 standard grass pitches.

There are also 14 tent pitches. For anyone wanting to guarantee a hardstanding booking a serviced pitch might be the best option albeit at an additional cost.

Electricity of this part of the site is rated at 10 amp connected via blue CEE17 sockets. There are three smallish toilet blocks, one of which has dish wash and laundry facilities. Whilst all are kept clean they are now showing their age.

If the site was full they could come under pressure. For those not on a serviced pitch there are water points dotted around the site. There are grey waste points but not many. Likewise there are only two chemical emptying points in this section of the site. There is no motorhome service point but the wardens will point you in the direction of a suitable drain point.

For children there is an adventure style playground. Currently there is no WiFi available on site although we got a reasonable 4G signal on our phones. Next to reception is a same shop which doubles as an information room.

The second part of the site is called “The Laurels” has 110 hardstanding pitches of a generous size. They are classified as Super Pitches as they have 16 amp electricity connections and a co-ax TV connection. This area has one toilet block also containing dish wash and laundry. There are three chemical emptying points including one at the toilet block.

This site is ideally situated between the resorts of Scarborough and Filey. It is a short walk into Cayton Village where there are a couple of convenience stores plus a pub and fish and chip shop. There is also a rather nice restaurant come coffee shop called the The Farrier which we used for coffee. For a larger shop there is a Morrisons about 2 miles away.

There are excellent bus links from the immediately outside the site entrance to Scarborough one way and Filey and Bridlington in the other direction. From Scarborough there are also bus and train services across a wider area.

Whilst the main attraction of this site will be the ease of access to the coast, Cayton Bay only a mile away, it could also serve as a good base for touring this part of Yorkshire. Castle Howard is about 25 miles away. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Smarksmith 27 reviews from this member

 So firstly, a lot of the reviews are negative about this site as it's not up to CAMC standards and they shouldn’t change as much. Correct as at June 2019, it’s not as regimented as most other CAMC sites and if you directly compare it isn’t to the same standard.

Is it overpriced? We paid £37. 00 per night for 3 of us for a serviced pitch. We have paid a lot more and not received as much on non-CAMC sites. So taking it on its own merits for the price and location it’s fairly priced.

The site itself, booking is simple via the CAMC site. Access is pretty straightforward just make sure you come in from the north part of the A64 as most Sat Nav’s seem to bring you off at the A1039 then send you up a road unsuitable for caravans, if you do take this route in error you can carry on and go round but its a fair old diversion. Checking in is very friendly as always with CAMC sites with pitches selected by yourself on check-in.

The Pitches - These vary dramatically across the site in size, shape, and views.

There are 2 toilet blocks, currently only 2 Blackwater Points, lots of bin and water points if you haven’t got a serviced pitch. There are loads of both Grass and Hard Standing pitches, however, make sure you have some VERY good rock pegs if you want to peg down into the hard standing as I bent several rock pegs trying to get well pegged down. The water pressure on serviced pitches is restricted so it won’t blow most hoses apart (maybe a bit too restricted). It does say free WiFi is available we were on the serviced pitches at the back of the site and couldn’t get any WiFi signals (Using a WiFi analyser I could find “The Laurels” SSID at an unusable -90dB strength in areas)

The Facilities - The toilet blocks were cleaned to the expected high standard (Some people moaned about them shutting at 09:45, that's only one of them for an hour to clean them then they do the other one at 11:00). The only negative was the showers are controlled by a push button that needs pressing way to frequently and shower heads are a bit rubbish. The blocks are heated, light and airy and only dirty from inconsiderate campers using them. When they refurbish the site I hope they increase the Chemical Toilet points as with only 2 on-site it’s can be a fair trek to empty the toilet.

In the Area - The site is centrally located 4 miles from both Scarborough and Filey, 25 minutes from Bridlington and 45 Minutes from Whitby. There is a Lidl 10 minutes down the road, at Scarborough, which is probably the closest decent sized place to shop. If you fancy a walk you can walk to the beach which will take you about 15 minutes.

In summary - Would we return, yes, there is nothing really wrong with it at the moment, once it’s had the CAMC facelift over the winter I would hope it will fix a few niggles across the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: EstherP 26 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst on a cycle touring holiday with our tandem, trailer and tent.

This was our longest stay anywhere during our tour for practical reasons as it was our planned mid way point where we could do some laundry!

Site was very quiet when we were there. Shop at reception has a few basics and were very helpful in charging mobile phones for us.

All the pitches are flat and quite spacious.

Showers pretty good and hot - not the most up to date in style but clean and functional.

We used the washer and tumble dryer which was very useful.

Decent location with access on buses to Scarborough and Filey. We heard a brass band concert in the gardens in Filey which was lovely. We ate at the Star pub which was decent and also had fish and chips from the chip shop which was very good.

The most expensive site of our cycle tour but not the best - maybe just not our kind of site. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Snap 16 reviews from this member

 We booked for 5 nights knowing this site is due for refurbishment.

It is not up to the usual club standard. We had a service pitch which was very small. The facilities are dated but are kept clean by the wardens. The location is ideal 5 min walk to the local pub in Cayton.

The Star is a locals pub in which is very friendly. The menu is not extensive but the food is freshly prepared and very good. (we ate here twice).

Would I return?. Yes but not until the upgrade I think an adjustment should be made in the site fees to reflect the standard of this site. The wardens were friendly and did a great job keeping the site clean. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Sarahbeen 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a midweek break, Plus points: - Nice welcome from the wardens, large pitches, a nice walk way to a local pub (Tow Bar -Food good)and a fish & chip shop. The site facilities were kept clean, very large site (would not stay during the school holidays! a little shop on site, dog walk, bus service close to site.

Faults: Electric problems throughout the site, 10amp supposedly to the pitches. Dated toilets/showers - think they are all due a refurb? Refuse problems - not collected enough by local council?

They need to close the site and do lots of work on it, we wouldn't return as it is too large and too expensive compared to the other Club sites. We only used it for a base and during the day were hardly on the site. For families staying in the summer and spending more time on site I would look elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 The site had just been taken over by the C&MC when we visited.

It’s a huge site with access to the beach 15 minutes walk.

Facilities were a little dated but plans were in place for an upgrade.

Would use again. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cayton Village Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3666 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement