Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nelmo 23 reviews from this member

Just to add my tuppence to previous reviews - nice site and we had the most amazing weather which would make anywhere good.

Site very nice but couple of negatives:

1. Full-serviced pitches are very large but some of the other pitches are a bit tight for space, having just enough to squeeze a van, awning and car on. Also, many of them are pure gravel (no grass at all), which I wouldn't like personally.

2. I thought they were very clear about needing green fluid for the toilet but I still forgot for the first time. They had a CDP for blue stuff but it was disgusting - an overflowing hole in the ground with a heavy manhole cover you had to remove with tools from reception. Take or buy green.

3. No view from the site, which is a shame for such a beautiful area.

Great bike ride nearby (Tissington Trail) and strongly recommend a trip to Carsington Water, which has an even better 8-mile bike trail round it and a superb kids playground at the main visitors centre.

Overall, good site, clean facilities, outstandingly beautiful area.

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Menyou 8 reviews from this member

Well Rivendale is certainly a very different experience from many sites you may have visited before. It is set in a quarry surrounded by huge cliff type circular walls which can be a bit daunting when you first pitch up. It is all hardstanding though so motorhomers will love it. The walls block off any view of the beautiful surroundings the site is set in but give a superb experience of many bird types that nest in the cliffs and would not be easily seen elsewhere. The circular layout also means that many pitches are very narrow but long, almost pointed at one end which is also very different to other more boring square patch type set ups.

The site has effectively banned any use of the blue chemicals many use in the loo but do not tell you when you book. They sell green types in the shop but it is expensive so take your own.

Toilet blocks are fine but as Rivendale now take tents they can end up very muddy at times.

The whole place is very relaxing overall and there is a good on site bar which always helps. Its pricey in the summer at 25 a night, caravan, two adults, electric and awning and everything else is extra. These prices also apply all summer at week ends from Easter onwards. Would definitely go again but off peak.

The location is in exactly the right place to explore Ashbourne and Buxton and all the beautiful places in between.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kccm30 2 reviews from this member

What a lovely caravan park, set in beautiful Derbyshire, we woke up to snow the first morning we were there it looked so beautiful. We had a lovely time here and spent 4 days on the park, it was very peaceful and the amenities where spotless.

The toilets and showers had a code system so only the caravan users coould use them, they were extremely clean and well looked after. The play area looked nice but unfortunately when we visited the play area was very wet and the equipment was made of wood so it was unsuitable for my son to play on as it was very slippery which was a shame as he was really looking forward to going on it. The site hire a hot tub out which we saw on there website, unfortunately they charge a small fortune to use it and it can only be set up on a couple of pitches. They told us that it takes all morning to set it up and fill it and the cost for the rest of the day is 70.00 hence we never hired it! There was a little shop there which sold milk, bread standard essentials etc, there was also a pub which wasn't open all the time so we never got to see it.

All in all it was a lovely peaceful tranquil site and we will definitely be going back there in the future.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzz 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite in one of their purpose built wooden Yurts. Although the Yurt was very characteristic, unfortunately it was not really big enough for a family of 4, with only just sufficient room to position one double and two single air beds. This would have been OK if you wanted to use the Yurt simply for sleeping.

Due to the amount of wet weather, the area surrounding the Yurt was a mud bath, making it difficult for us to utilise the outdoor space on this occasion.

We camped with friends (another family of four), also in a Yurt, but one which was not reachable by car due to the fact it was on the top of a very muddy hill. This Yurt does have a wood burning stove, but with only just room for four to sleep it is not possible to use the stove unless you allow sufficient time for cooling prior to bed time.

Both Yurts retained the heat very well (from electric heaters), and we did not suffer with cold at all. In short, the Yurts would be a perfect winter retreat for two and a great in the dry (!) season for a family of four, who are prepared to cook, eat, etc outside.

In relation to the facilities, I would agree with most previous reviews. Shower / toilet block was great and always clean, despite the general muddiness of the site.

The location is fantastic and the staff helpful in recommending walks etc. The Tissington Trail is just over the main road and ideal for dog walking, but most other walks coming into contact with farmland and sheep and therefore dogs requested to be kept on leads.

The Family Pods look to be a little more spacious than the Yurts with a larger decking area to the front of each, and all facing a pond.

One little gripe is that when we booked, we were the only ones and we were told that we would be placed in a Yurt and a family pod which would be close enough to one another, allowing us to eat together, etc. However, upon arrival we realised that this was not the case and that there was a very muddy trek up and down the hill to one another.

One thing to note, if you have been here before, the camping field (we camped here in a tent the previous summer) has been partially dug out to create a fish pond/lake.

Generally though, I would recommend this site and would be likely to go back again.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wynyardlad 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from Rivendale campsite a site we really enjoyed. The site is lovely and the warnings about low lighting on a night is worth it on a clear night when you can see the night sky in all its glory,not many places in England you have clear views of the night sky.

The toilets were nice under floor heated and clean. The site is a bit out of the way if like me you park your van and don't move it and no car to get around. We used the local bus service to Buxton worth a look.

Date of Visit: January 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hammyhar 4 reviews from this member

This was first my ever caravan holiday, and I really did not know what to expect, I read the reviews for this site and thought I would give it a try. I loved it at this site, the staff were lovely, pleasant, chatty and they were very helpful when my car broke down, the site was very clean and the toilet and shower blocks were fantastic, clean, spacious and lovely and warm

I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fizz35 4 reviews from this member

First impressions, a lovely clean, organised site, in a disused quarry I presume by the surrounding area.So no views, but sheltered from the elements.

Stayed for 2 nights out of 3 as weather deteriorated (snow). Toilets and showers immaculate can't be faulted,liked the separate sink cubicles. They were always clean, and had a heated floor! We found Staff not to be very welcoming, but maybe we have been spoilt in the past.

Beautiful place for walking and cycling.Visited the pub one night, which was very appealing on the eye,due to old beams and stone walls, but cold (warmer in the caravan). Lovely room next door to the dining area with a wood burning stove, but had a child under 16 so were refused access.Would go back again,but in the summer months!

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigbertha 7 reviews from this member

Stayed for 6 nights over the half-term holiday and was pleasantly surprised. (had seen some 'moaning reviews')

The site is in a brilliant location for kiddy-cycling as the Tissington trail is just across the main road from the campsite entrance. We cycled with the kids slightly downhill as far as Tissington where there is a snack van and toilets then slightly uphill back to the site. On another day we cycled to Hartington on the road, for lunch in the tea room (very pleasant) then up to Parsley Hay (cycle hire and snack kiosk and really nice loos) and back down the trail to the site.

We pitched with the front windows facing the quarry wall and it was really nice to see the sun reflecting off it in the early evening. With binoculars you can spot birds of the feathered variety. (Husband almost got in bother as lady in opposite camper van thought she was being watched!)

We would go back here as it was a great site - safe for kids and brilliant for cycling.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Palmers3 4 reviews from this member

We are just back from our third stay at this great little site. This time in our new caravan.

We love the quite surroundings, the friendly staff, and the lack of things to spend money on!

Clean, tidy, Dog friendly well stocked shop and bar. 2 mins from Tissington Trail, great for our seven year old to cycle while we walk the dog.

We only live 40 miles away so nice and easy for that quick weekend away from it all.

Do take a torch you will need it.

We will be going back again and again no reason not to

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Munchkin24 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our very first camping trip and have to say we were pleasantly surprised, as we have nothing to compare this site to, I'll just have to give the best review I can.

The staff were friendly on arrival, the pitch size was more than adequate for our larger than average tent, we had hookup which was ideal.

The toilet block was generally clean, just muddy floor on an afternoon, but it was wet and muddy outside so that is understandable, the block was heated and had about 4 showers and 4 separate sink cubicles, not too overcrowded either, we went several times throughout the morning and evening and always managed to get a cubicle even though the site was fully booked.

The site is situated in a lovely place, we saw lots of families coming and going with bikes, unfortunately we never got a chance to do the walks but will definitely go back next year to see the sights.

There's definitely a warm friendly atmosphere at this site, nice little play park for the kids and lots of people making friends. I'm pleased we stayed here for our trial run as I can confidently say I'm a camping convert.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019