Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mosh111 1 review from this member

The site was very much as described by other reviews. The facilities on this site are excellent. We stayed in a tent in the meadow.

The meadow is basic camping but has a nice enough facilities yes shared male/female (you kind of get used to it!) When it rains it's a mess around this area.

We looked at the nice area for caravan's and electric hookup spots and it was a whole new site. We have now bought a folding camper and this site is very much on our list to take it to.

I think the price for the meadow camping is a little steep but it does seem better value for caravan and electric hookup sites. The meadow is fine and has lovely views but I wouldn't rush back for it at the price.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Frank Fletcher 3 reviews from this member

Rivendale is an excellent site with very friendly staff and ample sized well maintained pitches. The facilities are modern, clean and very well looked after. Superb scenery and cute wildlife wandering or flying about - we even found two newts under the groundsheet and were visited by a curious toad and a worm-seeking robin as we packed down.

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay and it was great to hear well behaved children playing in the playground where amusingly, the creaking of the swings sounded like Dr Who's Tardis taking off!

The on site pub was comfortable with a pleasant atmosphere and a certain rustic charm. They had 'Black Sheep' bitter which is one of my favourites so an extra * for that.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonferdi 2 reviews from this member

We stayed on what was described as a super pitch. When we arrived we were told that we had to park on the pitch facing straight in, very strange. Fortunately we are only a small campervan, because the grassed area we had to put our awning on was very small and sloping. The pond at the side of us smelt a little stagnant as well.

The toilet block described as luxurious! We would describe as adequate. True it was warm, but it was often dirty and the showers had mould in the grout and had seen better days.

The staff were very friendly and the location is ideal for the Tissington trail.

Our expectation of this site were very high when we booked our visit and felt very disappointed on arrival as it was not as described.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Phcmhewi 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Rivendale site and following the number of great reviews on here we were left rather disappointed.

Generally it is a nice site. We stayed in the quarry section and it is well planted and is right next to the toilet/shower facilities and play park. The toilets are ok (nothing amazing)amd generally everything is well kept and the site feels friendly.

However be aware of the ridiculous barrier they have in place in the evenings. It is raised at 10pm (too early if you ask me) and is not lowered until 9am! We wanted to get an early start and get out there before it got too busy, but you can not exit the site before 9am. The reception is only open 9-5 (so no chance of them letting us out. This is the only site I've stayed at where you could not leave whenever you wanted. If you are planning to do much during your stay - go somewhere else!

We got stuck outside after going out to eat (returning around 10:30pm). There is a small reception car park - which was full - so we had to park on the road and walk to our pitch.

With regards to parking - we paid extra for parking 2 cars - this is completely pointless as the touring pitches are not big enough to allow 2 cars to be parked. This is even after us requesting a larger pitch as the one we were sent to was too small for a van and awning because of a large tree - never mind a car! When I asked at reception for my money back I was met with attitude and I quickly gave up and simply replied with 'Forget it, we won't be coming back'. The woman at the reception could not have cared less.

Maybe I was unlucky and had a bad experience, but I will certainly NOT return. This is a site which tries to do everything and falls short at most.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevonatron 4 reviews from this member

Rivendale is a campsite divided by two standards - for an extra £1. 50 per night, one side is fully accessible with stone roads, good drainage, has a large toilet and shower block with separate men and ladies’ facilities. Here the general upkeep and presentation is also well maintained. However, this area is sloped and very overcrowded - some tents were so close their support ropes overlapped.

We’ve just arrived home after a nightmare holiday on the ‘other’ side of Rivendale, called the Meadow as the main site was full. The first shock was the fact our tiny toilet/shower block was unisex and shared by dozens of large groups/families.

The “Meadow” section, as they call it, is labelled this way because they claim it is for wild camping. It was immediately obvious the Meadow is actually just an overflow for when the other side is crammed to the point of bursting. What accounts for a road was nothing more than a mud track. We experienced heavy rainfall for the last part of the week and before long the Meadow had become a mud trap; cars would churn up the wet ground until eventually no one could get in or out the field.

To compound this health and safety issue was the lack of light. At night-time you are recommended to carry a torch as the owners respect the wishes of star-gazers and therefore feel it inappropriate to provide any light. What if a child were to be struck by a car sliding in that mud while it’s dark?

Let’s just get this out the way: nobody pays £16-per-night to go traditional wild camping. No apology for the fact they couldn’t be bothered to address the mud-bath that must be a regular occurrence every time it rains.

So bad was our experience, we are actually considering ditching our muddy tent. During 20+ years of all-season camping, we’ve seen beautiful campsites that provide excellent value and we’ve seen some bad eggs. Rivendale is by far the worst and it‘s a rotter.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Febe3 7 reviews from this member

To me Rivendale depends greatly on which part of the site you are in. We have been in the quarry and on the field. The quarry is better for us facility wise but feels a bit enclosed, nowhere for ball games etc.

The little playpark looked very nice though. The field is better but oh, so noisy as the road goes right past and is really busy most of the time.

The toilets and showers for the field are unisex, something we weren't told about and something I'm not over keen on. Also, the weekend we camped there they were overloaded as they had a wedding do on at the site too.

A word of advice, if there is a wedding on, and the site will tell you, just bear in mind it may be very noisy. Although I think the weekend we were there was the noisiest they have ever experienced. Put me off going to a music festival at any rate!

Situation wise it is very convenient for various footpaths and trails and not too far from Ashbourne etc We didn't use the other facilities such as the cafe or bar but they looked ok.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ian1972golf 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two night break had very heavy rain which the site coped very well with.

The facilities very good, staff very friendly. Just a short walk away is the tissington trail with some of the best unspoilt views south of the lake district.

The towns of bakewell, matlock and ashbourne are just a short drive away(bakewell is especially nice).

Wouldn't be a site for anyone with a phobia of rabbits there's loads of them on your early morning trips to the loo which the daughter and wife loved.

All in all a little gem will be returning

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Katymac 8 reviews from this member

This was a very well organised site with good shower facilities and well spaced flat pitches. There is a pub restaurant, cafe and small shop on site. These were useful although the shop was very pricey.

The site is perfectly located for anyone wanting to use the Tissington Trail and the site did have areas where you can lock your bike. There is a playground for the kids. Hookup available.

On the down side, the washing up area was too small for the size of the site. The site is not within walking distance of any other pubs or shops and it is about a 6 mile drive to the nearest facilities at Ashbourne.

We had a good time and would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pwmk 2 reviews from this member

My partner and i, with the dog, stayed here as a little get away weekend. Fantastic, clean and tidy, staff were brill, little shop sold most things, cafe come restaurant to bar meals in the upstairs bar, to where you can take your dog in.

Direct access to the Tissington trail, good walk either way, but worth it. Little kids park and a fare amount of work being done too. All in all great place for a weekend away.

Will be going back just for a pint in the bar with Jess our dog, who got so pampered.

The meals were fine, plenty on your plate and priced ok. The pitches were fine, catered for small to the larger Motorhome.

No signal with the digital antenna, Dish would be the one, as you are in an old quarry.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terryk74 2 reviews from this member

The site is well signed off the A515, the main road linking Ashbourne with Buxton some 6 miles out of Ashbourne. We received a friendly and helpful reception with an A4 layout provided of the site and showing our pitch position.

We chose to stay here 3 nights mid-week.

The site is an old quarry which gives it quite a quaint feel. Toilet/shower block was clean and tidy all the time we were there. This block also houses the 3 pot wash sinks.

There is a shop and cafe open daily with a bar which is only open weekends - DOH!

WiFi was used with no issues at £3 for 2 hours.

No problems with the EHC but TV reception was a little hit and miss.

For walkers the main assett is probably that just 300 metres from the main gate is the Tissington trail and a lovely walk down to the river Dove.

Based on this stay at Rivendale I would definitely go back again.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7629 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019