Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 31 reviews from this member

Ideal location if you enjoy walking or cycling. You could not ask for a better area, with the Tissington Trail right on your doorstep and plenty of different 'Dales' to walk through it's just right for folks who like being out in the countryside.

Confused us a bit when after pitching up we noticed an area right next to us which said strictly no dogs but we had a dog. This meant we were supposed to go the other way each time we left our unit to take the dog for a walk. Could not see any point in it and most people ignored the sign.

They do like signs at Rivendale - they are everywhere. The point is that there are so many that you give up reading them.

We were lucky enough to have some good weather which meant the road around the site dried out to a fine white dusty powder. This could be very annoying during a hot summer as it makes sitting outside a bit uncomfortable.

Very nice shower and toilet block but just a bit uncomfortable with CCTV being inside the toilet/shower area. Is that really necessary? I can understand it being on the outside looking at the entry door but inside just seems rather wrong.

Small well stocked shop and very nice cafe but watch out and be careful using your 30 min free wifi. It does not role over if you have unused minutes, you loose them once disconnected.

Would we visit again - yes but mainly due to its location

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noisydog 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Rivendale over the Easter Break. The staff where friendly and helpful, and showed me to my pitch. It was a good size, but there was no grass.

The facilities where nice, and kept clean but did get very busy at times.

It is in a easy to access location, close to the high peak trail, Buxton and Ashbourne. It is a nice part of the peak district.

Not very dog friendly however.

Management response: I would like to correct some misapprehensions about dogs at Rivendale.

Dogs that are under control and not dangerous are welcome at Rivendale THROUGHOUT THE PARK except for just 8 pitches at the end of one area - reserved for people who do not like pets.

There is an area for dog walking on the eastern hillside, on the southern field and on footpaths from the site.

Dogs are not allowed in toilet facilities or the children's play area for obvious reasons. They are allowed in the pub and in the café during the day.

We do have dog waste bins - but are installing more.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: DEBBIE HUGHES 5 reviews from this member

I'm going to bullet point my review cause it will be easier! We stayed in one of the yurts,

First the positives

. We were given a full refund!

. The main wash room had underfloor heating

. If you want to stay in a caravan (static) this site is aimed at you!

. Bag of logs supplied

Negatives

. Yurt dirty, shabby

. Access very bad to yurt, had to park along way off and carry heavy camping equipment up a hill on a unfinished area

. It rained in and wet our beds, clothes, shoes etc

. No kindling, fire lighters, paper, fire tools or ash emptying vessel

. Facilities too far away, we quickly decided not to use any pots because carrying a heavy bowl of dirty pots to the wash area would have been a nightmare! And fortunately we took our kamping kazi with us!

. No view

Even if the weather had been good, the position and shabbyness of our immediate area and yurt still made us want to leave early, the site owners seriously need to review the term ' Glamping'! :-(

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

Easy to find site, easy access and a pleasant welcome. We were directed to our pitch, and were instantly bombarded with 'dogs not permitted here' notices everywhere! We don't have a dog, but was off putting for our friends who do have a dog! Considering that they charge extra for dogs there was no designated dog area and no dog waste bins. Lovely walks off the site, but across a very fast road which you wouldn't want to cross at night!

Our pitch had no grass and was extremely dusty as the site is in a disused quarry. Every time anyone drove past we were engulfed in dust. Unfortunately it was very windy and dry during our stay and the dust made it very unpleasant to sit out. Some pitches were quite spacious, but ours was very narrow and despite the hedge between each pitch felt very close to our neighbours!

Overall the toilet/shower block was clean and warm. Only five showers in the ladies and unless you got there early queues quickly formed. The water temperature ranged from warm to luke warm.

The chemical disposal point closest to our pitch was disgusting. It was extremely difficult to use. There is a gate across the opening and an awkward step. The flush is right at the back and no one in there right mind is going to lean over this foul pit to reach the handle. This pit is also for the disposal of grey water and again it is extremely difficult to get your, often quite heavy, grey water carrier over the step without getting it covered in unmentionable 'waste'! I met up with several fellow campers who were all of the same mind.

We didn't use the bar or the restaurant but found the cafe very pleasant.

Would I go there again? No, which is a shame as it was a brilliant location for exploring the Peak District.

Management response: I would like to correct some misapprehensions about dogs at Rivendale.

Dogs that are under control and not dangerous are welcome at Rivendale THROUGHOUT THE PARK except for just 8 pitches at the end of one area - reserved for people who do not like pets.

There is an area for dog walking on the eastern hillside, on the southern field and on footpaths from the site.

Dogs are not allowed in toilet facilities or the children's play area for obvious reasons. They are allowed in the pub and in the café during the day.

We do have dog waste bins - but are installing more.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

The park is very easy to find from Ashbourne with plenty of signs in advance. The check-in process was nice and slick, advised of our pitch on the map and sent off to find it.

The pitch was pretty much pan flat, long and thin so car was parked in front of caravan. Everything on the site is close to hand including plenty of waste water emptying points etc. The toilet block was kept very warm and very clean. Showers were push button and were very warm. The restaurant was not open so cannot comment on that. The shop was well stocked and sells the biodegradable toilet flush which is needed for the site.

The site is very convenient for the Tissington Trail, Ashbourne, Tissington Hall, Carsington Water.

We would definitely stay here again. It was the first weekend of the site being open this year when we went and it was very quiet.

If you come to this site, definitely try the Bluebell inn, its approx. 2 miles down the A515 towards Ashbourne. We ate here both nights and cannot fault it.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whixley terriers 1 review from this member

On arrival reception were pleasant and was given map of site and told where too pitch. As we drove around site saw lots of signs forbidding dogs access to areas around site. Not good we thought as we had dogs in the back of the motorhome ! On pitching reasonable size and well separated by others with a hedgerow and grass. Unfortunately there was rubbish of wine bottles on the bank in front of the pitch which seemed to have been there sometime ! There is no defined dog walk area around site but you could walk out off site but wouldn't suggest this at night. So at night we walked around the pitch areas where we think dogs were allowed!

Reception were helpful to print local walking maps and the location of the site makes up for the disappointment of what we think could be a super site with some more tender loving care.

Toilets were very good so too the play park seems nice for kids.

The chemical waste area is not the favourite task for anyone but this one has a swing door to it, no flushing mechanism and a brick sill where deposits had been left because the ability to wash it down by the limited length of hose hadn't been mastered by many.

The location of the site is fab but we wouldn't come again as we felt it didn't welcome dogs ;the site was unkempt though we did find out the site had only reopened three weeks ago but our expectations are it should have sorted the rubbish out; site signs repaired and clearer. Ie where waste water could go ! On leaving we tried to empty the motorhome water waste but found both drain tops locked !

Overall there was lots of missed opportunities to maximise the sites potential.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trevexess 9 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights in November, very good campsite with lots of hardstandings, ideal for the motorhome. Facilities excellent, heated toilet/showerblock, hot water took a bit of time but everything spotlessly clean and tidy. At this time of the year and in midweek there were not that many tourers on site, so not sure how these facilities would cope if the site was full - very helpful staff, nice coffee bar/pub on site plus shop selling everything you could possibly need - great base for walking - right on the Tissington trail, you can walk to Ashbourne or Buxton - would def use again. Value for money because we use camping cheques

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanterri 47 reviews from this member

9 caravans with 17 people from The Practical Caravan Forum Woosie Round Table descended upon Rivendale. We were all met with a very warm welcome and given first class pitches close to the toilet block and one another.

The pitches all vary in size, some tapering, some longer than wider and some very big.

Sanitation is eco friendly so only use orgaic green toilet solution not blue.

Mostly hard standing with some grass areas. The site is barely a minutes walk onto the Tissington Trail. Get a bike!

This was The Woosie Round Table annual get together. Vicky the General Manager very kindly lent us her beautiful stone built cafe for our festivities. She even laid on a big burning log stove and underground heating. Plus of course we were able to use her bar for liquid refreshment whilst we enjoyed our food.

The site is very well kept, clean and the facilities warm.

A pretty reasonable dog walk on site. If you want more cross the road onto the Tissington Trail.

Plenty of good eating places around the area. In particular I can thoroughly recommend Carriages Pub and Italian Restaurant at Newhaven, two miles up the road towards Buxton.

A most enjoyable site and one we shall return to.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AA2005 6 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a four night [ should of been 5] stay at rivendale. Which is set in a old quarry which is located with in easy driving to all the main towns/villages, The staff are friendly and helpful. Our pitch had hedges around which is nice but when booking you must fill in the form correctly as this determines which pitch you are given. The toilets and shower block are very clean and warm with hot water every time. There is a cafe open in the day which doubles as a restaurant at night this is closed on Tuesday and Thursday nights so we ate three nights at the blue bell at Tissington just down the road. The only criticism we had was that the bar was shut in the week only opening on Friday and Saturday nights and that barriers go up at 9pm in the week and 10pm on fridays and Saturdays and go down at 9am as we like to travel at night or early we left just before the barrier went up,

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

We like to stay at Rivendale due to it's close proximity to the Tissington Trail and this was our third visit.

As the site is not within walking distance of a village the on-site café, pub and shop are very welcome and well used. The toilet and shower block is clean, heated and in good condition. Unfortunately there were long queues for ladies showers (only 4 available) during the weekend period we were there.

The non-awning pitch we were allocated was wedge shaped with hedges on 2 sides. Unfortunately the hedges were so overgrown it considerably reduced the space left available. Our pitch was not alone with this problem and the grounds in general seemed to have been a little neglected.

The area we were in had a sign stating dogs were prohibited but the pitch alongside and the pitch opposite had 2 dogs each. Not a problem to us but it could be misleading if this is important to you.

This is a great site and we will definitely return but next time it will probably be out-of-season.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5775 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019