Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kazzacal 1 review from this member

My husband and I stayed at this campsite for two nights. We booked on previous reviews and we can agree with them all. The pitches are lovely and flat. The site itself is very well maintained, the shower block has plenty of facilities and even though it was busy whilst we were there we never had to wait for toilets, showers etc.
The shower block is also heated which is a great comfort. The on-site bar and restaurant were really good too. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and the food was lovely.
If you don't want to cook a breakfast in the morning a short stroll down the road in a layby is a van which serves up breakfast sandwiches etc. The site is ideally placed for the Tissington Trail and High Peak Trail. We would definitely recommend this site and will hopefully visit again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Timpro 3 reviews from this member

Arrived 16th April, weather very windy and dull

Checked in to a very nice and pleasant reception

We were given a map and shown where our pitch was and given codes to the toilet block(found toilets and shower block warm and very clean bit luke warm showers one morning but other days lovely and hot) so of we set to our pitch. After eventually overcoming the windy weather we were pitched and nipped off to local pub, the Bluebell (bit pricey and not brilliant for cost really, but obviously busy as its on Tissington cycle trail

Anyway the site is great and pretty quiet there is a nice play area for kids. The tent area is almost flat, where it is slightly banked is barely noticeable. There is a shop with a few basics and cafe that was sadly only doing coffee/tea and teacakes on the day we arrived (we were hungry!) There is also a bar which we didn't test as kids were zonked by 8 ish. Dish washing facilities okish could do with a little more space and few more sinks but kept very clean and tidy although one morning taps were a dribble but we coped (glad we only had a few dishes would of hated it if we had loads of bbq dishes and stuff ) Would gladly go again and soon too, great site and not too expensive.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dcrossy 3 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site set in a beautiful quarry. There were plenty of walks and trails to occupy you and the staff are very helpful and will give you advice on routes. The shower and toilet facilities were some of the cleanest we have ever come across and free. We took our 8 year old daughter and were delighted with the lovely big field and play area in the middle of the site for the kids to play in. She soon made friends. There is also a cafe and pub on site for the mums and dads (Although we didn't get to use either this time). We will definitely be going back here again and will be recommending to our camping friends.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

Excellent site with top quality toilet/shower block facilities and great location.

The playarea is a little basic, though probably fine for children over the age of seven.

The quarry provides a sun trap, sheltered from the wind, though sounds can be magnified. I loved the sounds of the jackdaws who never really shut up, and the dawn chorus, mentioned by another reviewer. We were able to walk from the site onto a route into the magical Dovedale Valley & Gorge.

I do not have a criticism, but would suggest to the managers that they should rotate the grass plots, to give time for the soil to dry out. Ours was plot number one in our section, and very muddy under our awning, and I got the feeling that the next available customer would be given the same plot after we left. Might be worth asking about this when booking.

Also, we chose this site because of the onsite bar and restaurant, which is much appreciated on cold March evenings. However, we didn't realise it was only open on Saturdays. Our mistake, but don't make the same one yourself. The bar when open is really nice though !

Overall, our stay was wonderful, and we'd go again.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dimapps 5 reviews from this member

We've just returned from our first trip in our new folding camper. Great little site, fully self contained within the grounds of an old quarry. Easy to find - just off the A515, checking in was quick and easy with a map to find our pitch, large pitch with hook up although pitch size did seem to vary.
First rate facilities - toilets were spotless and warm,the showers had plenty of hot water, very welcome! The bar staff were friendly and there was plenty of space for everyone, it didn't feel overcrowded at all.
The play area was small but the children tended to meet there and then create their own adventures. The shop was limited and Ashbourne is about 12 miles away, so stock up on your way through! Very peaceful site!
The advice about taking a torch should be taken seriously. If you are taking an awning ask for a half hard standing and half grass pitch, fellow campers really struggled to get their awning up on the hard standing! Direct access (across the main road) to the Tissington Trail a great advantage.
The only downfall of the entire trip was the dawn chorus at 5.30am, the sound seemed to be magnified by the old quarry cliffs!

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrneillees 7 reviews from this member

Searched high and low for a site accepting tents and this time of year, and boy did we do well!

From the moment we arrived we were impressed. Friendly and well organised reception and staff, not pricey, free use of EHU, map of site etc etc.

Immaculate site, toilet block out of this world, 5 toilets and 4 showers in mens (not sure about the womens), clean, freshly decorated and under floor heating!

Quaint onsite 'pub', but did feel like a clubhouse. If not 15 min drive to Ashbourne for all basic requirements. The shop on site is essentials only (including bread which was frozen).

We had a ball, one of only two tenters, felt very caravan-orientated and we did feel the tent pitches would be very close together during busy periods, perhaps too much so.

But overall we loved it and will revisit outside of busy periods.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dazwilliams 9 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 8 nights over half term. Facilities were excellent, toilets very clean, tidy and felt warm. The playground is great and large grass area is useful. The shop doesn't get fresh bread delivered so it was either frozen or none, this was a shame, considering the site was fully booked. I am convinced a local bakery would have seized the opportunity to take pre-orders (Ashbourne is only 10 mins away). That is just my opinion, I'm sure the site owners know best. (full fat milk would be a good idea, even if only during school holidays).

The Tissington Trail (within 100yds) is a great cycle track, even for our 5 year old (now without stabilisers).

We did try a local pub, The Bluebell. In my opinion, having to ask for your plates to be removed after waiting for 15 minutes isn't acceptable when the bar staff are busy chatting about night clubs etc. Then the desserts and coffees never arrived. With 2 young children we had no alternative but to leave, just as the manager was returning to the pub. After his involvement (and his utter disgust in the staff) he refunded us and apologised. A party of about 15 people also had to leave because they couldn't find staff to serve them a drink.

Considering we were celebrating a birthday during our stay, I organised the swedish hot tub. Before we arrived staff were arranging for us to stay on a pitch big enough to allow the hot tub to fit on. However,when we did arrive, I was told we couldn't have the hot tub as it wouldn't fit on the pitch, annoying but despite what you may think of the above complaint, I hate complaining so left it at that. I was told before we arrived on site that if it wouldn't fit on the pitch then they would definitely sort something out but nothing was done. The hot tub did get moved from where it was stored so I'm not sure what happened there?

All in all, we like the setting of Rivendale and would definitely return (wouldn't guarantee getting the hot tub though, even when arranged).

Nice local pub in Biggin (just about half mile off Tissington Trail, nice walk from site) and a cracking butty van stops most days in the layby about 200yds towards Ashbourne on A515, great lazy breakfast if you don't fancy defrosting your bread.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingerbroughton 4 reviews from this member

We have visited Rivendale on many occasions, we have always been greeted in a friendly manner. Vicky who is the Manager here cannot do enough for you.

Facilities are fantastic, toilets are always clean .Sometimes when entering the toilets there is soil on the floor but this is due to people not wiping their feet or taking off their boots.

The site is very quiet and even when it is really busy there seems to be little noise at night.

We will be returning here as often as we can as this is a ideal place for recharging your batteries.

I believe the wardens here work very hard and nothing is too much trouble.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2004mickd 3 reviews from this member

Just back from a 2 night stay, stayed on the main site with EHU. Have stayed on this site before but in the overflow field What a contrast!

The main site facilities are far superior but in the sites defence this is stated in their info.

Did find the site noisy well after the 11 o clock curfew. Went to the pub on the site the Prancing Pony what a great place, they had one room for families and another for adults only, both of which allowed dogs in, there was also a restaurant where dogs were not allowed. The food was good home cooked food and not to badly priced they also did a fish/chips takeaway.

Great base for walking and cycling with the Tissington trail and Dovedale being so close.

Will certainly be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davidbarlow123 2 reviews from this member

Arrived the 12th of September at 2 o clock. Raining as usual, it is a clean well thought out site. Very easy to find as it is on the A515 just outside Ashbourne. As you enter the site there is a pub / restaurant, shop and reception on the right. Book in, they tell you where to pitch or park. It is all one way traffic. Park up plug in your electric and away you go.
Only found 1 toilet block ladies gents and disabled. I am disabled and found the shower and toilet very clean water for power shower was free.
There is a small play area for children and plenty dog waling areas. A lot of bin areas, dog poo bins and water taps and toilet emptying places.
Staff were helpful. A very enjoyable 4 nights caravan holiday.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1722 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019