Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barney737 3 reviews from this member

The site itself is set in an old quarry, but has been sympathetically developed. We stayed just the one night and went cycling on the tissington trail, only 100 yds from the site.

Lovely cycle ride with nice scenery and interesting stops for refreshment. Bike hire is available not too far from the site.

Had a full service pitch with hookup and water tap on pitch. A flat hardstanding pitch , no need for ramps :-) .Nice clean shower / toilet blocks,clean and safe playgound,site had a nice family feel to it.

The onsite pub/restaurant was a welcome site at the end of the day,had already had tea in the van,but the food looked good.

Overall a nice clean welcoming site not too expensive and we will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KevinRhodes 12 reviews from this member

This visit was early in the season and there was only ourselves and one other party on the main tent field when we were there. We have been here before and find the site welcoming and pleasant - we will definitely go again.

We have never camped on the 'overspill' site as we like to have electricity. We find the pitches on the main tent field quite generous, which is nice as we have quite a large set-up. I would second what someone else has said, though, and recommend rock-pegs.

Yes, the toilets are a walk from the tent field, however I find this quite pleasant. We have always found the toilets to be clean and well-equipped, (and also warm in cold weather!)

The children's playground is adequate and the kids love to see the rabbits in the morning and evening. The pub / restaurant only seems to open at weekends, although I think it may open more often in high season. The site is well situated for visiting the surrounding Peak District, with Biggin and Hartington a nice walk away up the Tissington Trail.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janbo25 17 reviews from this member

We booked this site a few months before going and for the first time ever we were required to pay the full balance before arriving for which we were dubious about. However upon arriving the staff were very friendly and provided info on our already assigned pitch, which was in a good location and was flat close to the electric, although friends of ours required a longer hook up due to the distance away from the hook up. The pitches were brambly which I must admit I prefer freshly cut grass pitches, also the road ran right in front of the pitches so although only quiet you did have to watch your children when playing.

The toilet block was ok but did look to need a good deep clean due to black mould being in the grout and on the floor etc, the showers were very hot and powerful although again felt they also needed a thorough clean. There were 4 showers each in both the ladies and mens which due to the time of year also meant you had to queue. The distance from the tent field to the toilet block was a good walk which seemed daft really because next to the toilets were statics, which obviously don't require the facilities!

Within the terms and conditions we received after booking it said they had a strict noice policy, like most after 10.30pm, however this was never imposed and this resulted in my husband having to ask people to quieten down at 1am! which in our opinion is very unacceptable and should be being monitored by the site staff.

Overall, It's a fair site helped by the really nice weather we had, although for the money I feel there are many nicer sites in the area. Hence the reason why we won't be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Some general comments and updates for members of the public about Rivendale, from the owners

Access to toilet buildings in the main pitching area is now by four digit code (not keys as before) so deposits for keys to access this building are no longer required. Some guests reported water/hot water shortages in May/June. These were due to Severn Trent Water having a problem with a pressure reducing valve at Hartington reservoir - which stopped our boilers & showers working due to a safety valve that prevents operation with low water pressure. This problem is now resolved.

With regard to the Camping Meadow this is a wildflower meadow that appeals to people who want basic facilities on an unregimented field with no electricity. It has lovely wild flowers and nice views. However, if you want power and luxurious showers and loos, you need to book in the main pitching area. In all cases please bring a torch as there is no lighting in any of the surrounding villages and roads - and no footpaths. This is the Peak District and we are over 1000 feet above sea level!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brown_la 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a two-night stay. Met up with family there (3 tents in total) so we pre-booked a few weeks before and were given the overflow field. We turned up nice and early so had a good choice of field to pitch tents. The views were beautiful and it was a nice setting; we enjoyed cycling on the the Tissington Trail.

The showers/toilets were basic; privacy and security was poor in showers and there are only 2 of them for each gender.

Generally, we enjoyed our stay and would probably go again but would hope the showers were improved. We managed to pick the only weekend in June with heavy showers and gale force winds though!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PhatDad 2 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a good weekend at Rivendale. We have a large tent (Outwell Montana 6) and when we booked there were no EHU pitches for the tent but I was offered a touring pitch to see if we could fit our tent on one. Unfortunately our tent would have been too large to fit so we were told to find a pitch in the overflow field. My wife took an instant dislike to this field and it's amenities. There were a few portacabins for toilets and showering.

Needless to say we didn't stay there long enough to investigate and we returned to the reception to see if they could offer something else. Fortunately and unusually for us as we tend to be the unluckiest of families, someone had cancelled just as we'd been directed to the overflow field and we got a very spacious EHU pitch.

As mentioned before, the site is within an attractive quarry setting which makes pitching a little difficult. Firstly, I advise anyone who camps here to scour the area the tent will be pitched for stones as there are loads. We didn't think of this and ended up risking our groundsheet each time we stood on the stones through the ground sheet. The second problem is that regular tent pegs and plastic pegs struggled to go into the ground. I was only able to get a few begs fully into the ground. Luckily the ground was very dry and held the rest of them in adequately but I would advise taking pegs that can deal with the rocky floor.

The toilets and showers were very clean and modern but very busy over the weekend. I will also second someone else comments who said it was weird how the campers who didn't need toilets and showers i.E. Those in campers and caravans were pitched so close to the toilets / showers while those of us who needed them had to walk a little way to get to them.

The bar and restaurant are open at limited times. We were told that the bar was only open at weekends.

The staff were very helpful and the location was great. The quarry acts like a very large speaker however so traffic passing along the road would be amplified so I can only imagine how noisy it would be to camp in the overflow field next to the road.

Overall a great site, great amenities and a nice setting. My wife prefers Rivendale over Lime Tree Park which was our favourite up to this point. We would only camp here again if we were able to pitch on the EHU pitches and funnily enough would only camp at Lime Tree Park on the non EHU pitches.

The play area for children is in the centre of the campsite near the toilets and is quite basic but the children seemed to enjoy it. We are one of the families that let our children play without supervision because we are trying to give them some independance in a safe environment compared to their regular inner city lives where they are limited to what and where they can go. So my apologise to the parents who posted a review earlier who did supervise their children, for letting ours run free and feral for a couple of days.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheilad 1 review from this member

Just returned from 3 night stay at Rivendale. Were booked onto overspill field and arrived later than planned to find all the level areas taken so had to pitch on uneven, overgrown area to avoid being next to the noisy main road.

Portakabin showers & toilets basic and clean but not very private. We didn't use the bar as we weren't on the site during its limited opening times but had a good lunch at the Coach & Horses at Fenny Bentley. Staff not very helpful in directing us to area to walk dogs on site & we never did find the small area they told us about. Everyone left on the Sunday & site was empty when we left next day. Although views from overspill site were good (if you managed to get a good pitch), the noise from the main road outweighed this & we would try to book on the main site if we go again.

Would probably visit again as we liked the location & accessibility of the Tissington Trail.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynm 84 reviews from this member

A really nice site. Tent part a bit far from facilities but didn't mind as that meant we were away from noise of the playground. Sad to see that people didn't keep to requests from owners like supervising their children in the playground, we and 1 other couple seemed to be the only ones that bothered. Tents seemed to be pitched closely too but everyone was fine. The waeather was awful whilst we were there but unlike Ashbourne which at one point had floods the site drained very well.

Facilities were kept clean and the showers were great too especially being free.

Shop was useful and we found the Bluebell Inn just down the road towards Ashbourne to do great meals. Sorry didn't go to Prancing Pony on site but next time maybe.

The big downside I could see was if you ended up on the overflow field as I wouldn't want to camp there.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stokedude 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from here liked the look of the site, the shop and staff were ok never went over board to help though had a take away from pub was not impressed with that or the price.
The toilets were ok, the only mess I found was from the people using them before the were cleaned again. Play area for the kids looked ok and the kids looked to be enjoing it.
Pegs for awnings my advice is to take the nail like pegs not the normal ones as these just bent and didnt go in far enough.
Good base for tissington trail just over main road, hartington is close by with its cheese factory and its shop you can get your basic supplies from here, also there is a garage in newhaven just up the road if you run short on basics.
Nice walk through the fields back of reception my dog loved it. Nice to see the campers can still say good morning even if the weather was rubbish shame I couldnt say that for the caravaners.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lilycote 8 reviews from this member

Stayed friday & sat night, 16th & 17th may, on a slightly damp weekend to 'shake out' our new tent.

Our first time here, lovely setting, spacious, flat, well draining pitch, immaculate washblocks. Washing up area was adequate, -cosy and intimate! Great bar and restaurant with separate family room (great for us child-free grumpys!) Reasonably priced, tasty, home cooked food (although coleslaw and salad with curry was an interesting combination)

Nice looking play area for kids with a largeish grassy bit and some wooden climby things for them to hurl themselves about on

Everyone very friendly.

The Tissington Trail is just yards from the camp entrance. Didn't need to try the shop. Will def be back as its just over an hour from where we live, great for a weekend escape.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019