Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vbennett214 18 reviews from this member

This site is located very close to the Tissington Trail which is an excellent cycle path for all levels of cyclists.

The site is very average and we were quite disappointed with it.

It is divided into various areas and the pitches are quite close together and some people park their cars off pitch and on the access roads which made it difficult to get in and out of the site.

The weather was lousy which does not help but some of the site roads are full of large pot holes which could be filled instead of left.

The quarry is not a particularly pleasant environment but that was just our personal opinion.

The shower/toilet block was not that clean but some of that was due to the people using it, many of the toilets were left in a terrible state!

The showers were not warm enough although the water in the handbasins was scalding hot!

The Prancing Pony Bar was ok, it did have an adult only section but it lacked atmosphere and it was the only place to visit in miles.

Not cheap but it had a no frills feeling to it.

Run by pleasant staff but it was clear they were understaffed at the time of out visit.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ah1234 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here at Easter very busy site with tourers statics and tents, was pitched next to tent site and was quite noisy at times but they soon went quiet at bedtime. Lovely clean showers and toilet blocks, staff were very friendly with a lovely well stocked shop and cheapish, site is a disused quarry, a stroll from the tissington trail where you can walk or hire bikes. Would stay again very big pitches

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwmrytle 6 reviews from this member

I have stayed at various sites and would say this one was average.

I went in low season (end of march). For the standard and availability of facilities on site this is very pricey.

Their toilet / shower block is reasonably clean, could be better, but to make up for it the showers were nice and hot and powerful. My main concern would be when in high season there wouldn’t be sufficient number of showers for the size of the site.

The confirmation of booking documentation sent out to you, details that you must arrive before 5 o'clock, but nothing of what to do if you are a late arrival. We knew were going to be late and because of no information contemplating arriving the next morning. We decided to chance it and go on the night, glad we did, as there are instructions on the reception window of what to do - turn out quite simple.

The pitch sizes and very big and you do not feel squashed in next to the next pitch.

There are no shops or pub etc in walking distance, but it is well situated in for the Tissington Trail and Dove dale.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tanner Family 1 review from this member

In brief, a well maintained; clean; sheltered; well run site, 5 minutes drive from Ashbourne with the Tissington Trail right outside the entrance. Would we go back. Yes.

We travelled to Rivendale during the October half term holiday week and stayed for 8 days. Our family of 2 adults 2 kids (10 & 11) and our dog, were joined by two other families. The site is easy to find about 10 minutes drive north of Ashbourne. On arrival the site has a large area into which you can pull up whilst registering.

The site is split into 5 or 6 areas, predominately for touring / static caravans, plus an area for camping. On the camp site there are a number of 'pod' structures, which look new and very tidy, although smaller in the flesh than they do in pictures.

The whole of the site is based in an old stone quarry and so with the exception of the camping field, there isn't a lot of grass (or mud), but the terrain does get 'messy' when wet with a thin layer of limestone 'sludge' on the road area, but it does drain quickly. The main caravan touring area is based around the circular quarry with the high quarry walls as a picturesque backdrop. The pitches around the outside of the quarry are large to very large, easily accomodating a 6. 5m van, plus awning plus car, with room to spare. The pitches in the middle seem to be reserved for smaller vans with no awning and motorhomes. All of the pitches are separated with a 6 foot hedge which adds to the privacy.

The toilet / shower block was always very clean, although we never saw anyone cleaning it and as a consequence it was never closed, but always clean. The showers are free; powerful and hot.

The site has a basic shop, which stocks milk; bread and other basic provisions including newspapers and a few toys for the kids, but only seems to get re-stocked weekly for anything other than bread and milk.

The pub / bar / restaurant seems to try to cater for all. A two storey building with the upper bar allowing access to children and dogs. A mezzanine lounge type area only for adults, and a downstairs cafe / restaurant area for adults and kids but no dogs. Menu is varied and quite extensive with food of a reasonable quality for a campsite bar / restaurant, if a little on the pricey side for the food, and definitely the beer.

Other attractions are that the site is literally on the Tissington Trail - with access being gained within 200 metres of the front gate.

They also have a (small) fly fishing lake - new this season and well stocked - one of our party had 9 trout out in short order - 4 kept (and eaten that night) 5 returned.

Other reviews on this site, mention it is dark - it is. But that adds to the attraction, and there are lights around the toilet / shower block, so none of us found this an issue.

A possible issue is the gate is (usually - not always) closed at 10pm and not opened again until 9am. If you need an early get away without the van to visit somewhere, you can leave the car in the car park the other side of the gate - if you need an early get away with the caravan. You may have to wait until 9am or hope that it is one of the days that they don't seem to close the barrier.

In summary a good site, and well managed by friendly staff and management, and one to which we would happily return. The site is open all year round.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Psychopebble 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at Rivendale for 5 nights at the end of August beginning o September.

Prior to the booking I had emailed and telephoned to check that 1) we were near the toilets as due to a medical condition I needed to be as near as possible. 2) as we were booking a tent and a caravan could we be as close as possible.

On arrival we were given a map and told where to go.

The site has separate areas for caravans and tents but the facilities are in the middle of the caravan area so its a bit of a walk from the tents. This meant that I ended up having to drive to the toilets - despite making it very clear that I needed to be in close proximity to a toilet.

There were 3 washing up sinks for everyone so there was always a huge queue - this was made worse by one sink being blocked when we arrived and it remained this way until after 24 hours my husband took the u-bend off and unblocked it.

There are no where near enough showers for the amount of units and there were always queues.

Despite paying for an upgrade to be next to us my parents were actually across the field from us despite there being tent pitches right next to them.

There was a huge wasp problem and the people opposite us actually left after 1 night due to there tent being full of wasps.

On the 3rd night there was an influx of groups of campers who proceeded to have group parties which lasted until well after midnight - there was no evidence of wardens and this behaviour occurred on their 2nd night stay as well.

The children's play area was very basic and not enjoyed by my 3 at all.

Rivendale is one of the more expensive sites but the cost is not reflected in the facilities. I would not be stopping here again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJEL4 1 review from this member

We stayed on this site for 4 nights over the august bank holiday period and had friends that were camping in the meadow. The touring pitches were not very wide so left very little space once the caravan and awning were positioned. We also encountered a lot of wasps that frequently made their way into our awning! Having said that the site was clean and tidy. Shower facilities were good and always clean. The kids playground was small but again well maintained. After a lot of rain the access to the meadow became extremely muddy and vehicles were obviously having trouble getting in and out, but huge credit to the staff on site who were doing all they could to keep the mud at bay. We would be happy to visit this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Slinkycat 6 reviews from this member

Had a really good time at this campsite, just a couple of niggles that I will also mention.

In a really handy area for visiting tourist attractions. Within 20mins drive we went to matlock bath (heights of abraham was great, well worth a visit, also a large sainsburys there) ashbourne, buxton & bakewell, bakewell was fab! 40mins drive we were in Derby, and just over 1 hour we were at Conkers, in ashby-de-la-zouch which was really good. Campsite well laid out, not the largest of pitches but adequate. Play Area was reasonable for my 8 year old, with an average size playing field. 3 wash up sinks, very tightly squeezed together. Toilet Area really good, with 4 nice and hot showers and hairdryers. (door code changes every Wednesday) Separate unisex shower block for the wild campers.

This campsite is right off the A515 so there is a bit of road noise, so if a light sleeper like me, take earplugs. Small shop with basics. A problem we did have relating to our pitch, which was no. 24, we must have been really close to a waspnests, as ourselves and the 2 pitches eiher side also suffered with stings. Our pitch was also really lumpy, 3 huge holes under the tent, resulting in 1 sprained ankle! After a huge amount of rain our pitch became really waterlogged so was extremely muddy. Remember to take torches as you will need them to go to loos after 8. 30pm. One thing I will say is the staff were really helpful. 1 of our tent poles snapped on our 2nd day, and the guy offered to rake through all the abandoned tents on the skip to find a spare pole for us which was soo kind. Ideal for a walking/biking trip

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lbeach 2 reviews from this member

We spent 3 night at this site in the middle of August. First the good bits:

The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful.

The pub is great and although we didn't eat there the food we saw looked (and smelt) yummy.

The field we camped in had amazing views!

The Tissington trail is less than 2 minutes away and made for great cycling.

The showers were hot and the toilets were (considering the conditions) cleaner than expected.

This comment however brings me to the downsides:

It had been raining and the meadow area was a mud bath! Cars couldn't get in and out and wellies were the only suitable footwear. We have a small tent and not being able to put our overflow of stuff in the boot was a pain (the car had to be parked by reception!)The toilets were very muddy and unisex which is not amazing. On our last day they did sort out the mud track road situation but I think is they are going to use the meadows for camping (and I hope they do, it was a good site) they do need to sort out a proper road into the site!

In general a good site but it could be brilliant with a bit more effort!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SafariChris 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the end of the first week of August, the staff in the office were friendly and efficient and we pitched on the 'Meadow'.

The toilet block seemed new and was clean during dry weather, the unisex aspect of the loo's were a bit off putting but once we got used to it was not really a problem, the showers had nowhere to put your dry clothes and resulted in a hopping frenzy with one boot on while trying not to knock over your carefully constructed cloth tower onto the wet floor, it wouldn't be too difficult for the owners to install something here ?

The 'Meadow' isn't really big enough to be called that and in places is far too close to the main road for any sleep I'd imagine. We were a bit further in and it was quieter.

The Tissington Trail is very close by and is better on a bicycle than a walk, bikes can be hired in Ashbourne a few miles away.

The shop on site has most things you may need, as we didn't use the pub we can't comment but it looked very quaint.

It rained very heavily towards the end of our stay and even though we had a 4x4 became quite concerned that we'd make such a mess getting off the site that nobody else would get out. In the end we parked in the car park out of consideration for the terrible state of the entry road to the meadow, by the end it was a mud bath and I'd imagine a lot of cars would be stuck, we left early and didn't find out.

We did hire a brazier for a campfire which is a great touch but sadly the logs on sale were too large to burn and were not seasoned wood. Take a felling axe with you or bring your own dry wood or you'll have a damp campfire that just smokes all night.

There isn't much for older kids to do on site but I guess you're here for what's on the doorstep, Dovedale is just a short drive away and is excellent for hiking, Caudwell mill isn't far either and sells some of the finest flour we ever baked with, try their Pizza dough flour. Outstanding !

Overall a nice enough site with decent facilities but suffers when it rains, a good base for exploring the local area, not the best site we've stayed at but not the worst either.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SCP2909 2 reviews from this member

We spent 10 nights at this campsite in our large family tent. The pitches were a good size, we fitted our Meridian 10 tent plus porch on, plus 2 cars with room to spare. This was great as it has become increasingly difficult to find sites that accommodate really big tents! The site was very pretty nesting in a quarry, and there was a nice grassed area and children's play area. Although the play area was small, all the kids had a great time, including my 16 and 14 year old nephews!

The toilet blocks I would describe as 'adequate'. There were plenty of toilets, but only 4 showers (although to be fair I only queued a couple of times at the height of the season). The showers were push button ones which are a nuisance, but I can understand why sites install them to save water! My main complaint about the toilet blocks was that they only seemed to be cleaned once a day, very early in the morning, so that by mid morning they were pretty mucky again. Personally I would have liked to see someone popping in a couple of times a day at least, just to keep things clean. One morning there was no water in the toilet blocks, but to give credit to the staff, they responded immediately when we informed them, and the problem was rectified an hour later.

The laundry room was lovely, spacious and clean with 2 sinks for clothes washing plus a washing machine and tumble dryer. The 'potwash' however was disappointing. It was basically a wooden hut tacked onto the toilet blocks and it was tiny! They had installed 3 sinks but these were right next to each other, effectively making it impossible for 3 people to wash up at the same time (let alone to have anyone drying up in there) Also, all of the sinks were really low, ideal for a disabled person (perhaps this was what they were aiming for?) but awful for anyone else - we all ended up with backache every time we washed up! Another thing lacking was a dustbin in the potwash, for tipping scraps into. It's a small thing I know, but having one means that people can scrape their plates before washing them, so that you don't end up with a sink fully of scummy food bits at the end (eurgh!). Overall I would rate this site as 'average' - we've certainly been to better ones at the price we paid.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1463 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019