Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orangefleece 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site, very good facilities. Lots of pitches with hook ups, good play area for the kids, a very nice bar and restaurant too. The is something for everyone, we had a Family get together to celebrate my brothers 40th and all members of the family were able to stay. I found the toilets and showers to be very clean with hot water every time I used them at all times of the day. The site was very busy but it didn't seem crowded with lots of space for your own enjoyment.

I would certainly return again and would recommend it with hesitation.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KARL6 7 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site and were welcomed by the staff who were very friendly and helpful. We pitched up on a large pitch. We were one of the first on the tent area of the site but as the day wore on more people came and pitched up. On the leaflet we were given it stated that no cars should be parked on the grass, so I parked in the car park which was no problem as it was only 2 mins walking, but near enough all the other campers ignored the rule and duly parked on the grass and the site ended up looking like a car park with cars parked everywhere. Surely if the park makes these rules they should enforce them. The toilets and showers were very dated and could really do with updating, they looked shabby and there was paint peeling from the ceiling, they didn't look like they were regularly cleaned either. The washing up area was tiny, probably the smallest I have seen. The play area had a nice grassy area to the side of it, but the play area was very basic with a small climbing frame and a couple of swings, again needs updating. The area where the caravans and campers were parked up was in my mind awful, it consisted of a maze of gravel roads and where a lot of the pitches were there was no grass at all just a dust bowl, I would not like to caravan here. The pub was very nice and the cafe and pub food looked good but we never ate there. The location is good with a lot of the attractions in the Peak District within driving distance, with the Tissington Trail just over the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but the owners don, t live on the site and so we were told seldom visit, which isn't a good sign. We had a good weekend here but we won, t be coming back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Foggy5512 2 reviews from this member

Came for a 5 night stay on 21st July. High expectations on arrival as have looked extensively at the website only to be disapointed. The picture on the website is not the meadow. It appears to be the private land area behind the pub which is not for camping. It also states that wood can be purchased from the shop. They didn't have any, quite poor really as high season in the school holidays. The Meadow is quite nice but the grass is far too long (i have read a previous review reply that states it is protected and can't be mown which is fair enough) but it seems people have been having fires on the floor anyway and found that the wild camping is 2 small areas which are better situated than the meadow, not the longer walk as described on the website. The whole time we stayed we didn't see any staff come to check the meadow or see how people are doing and maybe they should if people are having fires on the floor on a supposedly protected site.

We rang repeatedly to arrange the hot tub and was told to keep ringing back as it was under repair. We eventually were told that we couldn't have it on the meadow which we didn't mind but when we walked to reception we spotted the hot tub in an area and it has clearly been stood with pipes and rubbish in for quite some time. Shouldn't be advertised if not available and should be made clear only available in certain areas. *Since I left this review, website has been changed **

We were not informed there was a water tap in the meadow and spent our 1st two days trekking up to the toilets. The tap isn't easy to see as its surrounded by long grass and flowers.

The meadow toilets themselves are an extremely unpleasant experience. Unisex toilets which neither us nor the children in our party liked. They are also far too small and situated right next to the very front gate. You have to walk right past the block to come back on yourself to get to the door (ill thought out) and there is a very strong smell of sewage coming from the tanks in front of the block all the time. I thought after reading lots of poor reviews the management would maybe sort out the lack of loo paper and dirt in the toilets but no, they were just as bad as previously described. The windows had been left open and the toilets were full of moths, bugs and flies. A shower at this time would have been dreadful as they would all have stuck to you. They were like this for far too long. An insectocutor or something would be a real improvement. Maybe another block and no unisex toilets, showers would help. It seems the meadow is an afterthought to the main site and feels a bit neglected, especially the toilet area. We did use the main block on the site and were not surprised to discover they were quite pleasant and clean. This is probably because people pay more to stay near there.

Shop is ok and pub is nice, the area around the shop and pub is very pretty.

We would not come again as the whole impression of the meadow is that they are after the money and wish to spend as little as possible maintaining or improving it.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

This site came recommended by a neighbour with a caravan.

Will not be taking any further recommendations from this neighbour!

Rivendale is set in a lovely location, with the quarry as a backdrop, Jackdaws nesting in the cliffs behind the pitches. Stunning countryside and Ideal for access onto the Tissington trail, with beautiful Dovedale and Ilam a short drive away.

This site could be amazing, It isn't. Our Pitch was triangular hard loose stone surface, every time a vehicle passed by a cloud of limestone dust followed.

Apparently if you intend to use an awning you get a larger pitch with a small grassy area. The pitches are all quite private surrounded by privet hedges.

There is a nice children's play area, which is well kept, just a real shame they don't appear to take the same care of the pitches.

Our main complaint was lack of cleanliness. We arrived on a Saturday, the toilets and showers hadn't been cleaned, we left on the following Wednesday morning. And still no cleaning had been done. The dish washing area was really Grim, with food debris, litter and dirty sinks, the draining racks were just a breading ground for nasty bugs and disease.

Other campers were complaining about the lack of cleanliness. And stating they thought the owners were facing financial hardship, no excuse for dirty amenities'. I am afraid unless they turn things around here they will be losing a lot of customers.

The camping fields for tents looked well maintained.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ashandalex 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from Rivendale. 2 night stay with children and friends. Great site.

Yes it is slightly more expensive than other sites but this is compensated by the flat pitches and standard of site. All pitches are level and fairly big. Our pitch was holding some water when we arrived but we brushed the water out of the puddles and this helped it. This didn't appear to be a problem across the site.

Rivendale is a very busy site with lots of young families and although a relaxed and friendly site it is also a respectful one. No rowdy or uncomfortable gangs of campers.

There is an 11pm rule on noise which everyone kept to. The sound of grown men, women and children singing the sound of music at 10.50pm was rather hilarious.

Very child friendly site with lots of children playing and ball games taking place.

Pub/restaurant on site, we did have a drink at the pub which was reasonably priced but didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment, a few people were using it.

Really clean site, washing up area is under cover, there was a queue for the area a couple of times though.

4 showers and ample toilets and wash basins in the ladies.

The only down side to the campsite, there is only one set of amenities. We never had to wait for them though and the showers were very clean, hot and free. Only being one toilet area however was a little bit of a pain with a 5 year old who never says she needs to go until the last minute and traipsing so far across the site late at night. Maybe a couple of porta loos placed around the site would be an idea especially as the site caters for approx. 120 units. One central set of amenities did also mean queuing for the washing up facility for some people.

Friendly and approachable staff, well stocked shop and information about the surrounding area.

Just across the road you can access the Tissington Trail. Turn right once you are on the trail and approx. 4 miles along is a little snack stop and another 4 miles Ashbourne. Absolutely perfect for a leisurely cycle.

Overall this is an excellent site. It is easy to find and in a great location and it's very clean and welcoming. We left with smiles on our faces and with very tired but happy children. All campers were very respectful of the site, facilities and the other campers.

Would we stay again? Definitely, can't wait to return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maxine1970 5 reviews from this member

Had a lovely weekend at this would definitely recommend. Very easy check in and helpful staff. We didnít use the pub on site so can't comment. It is very well maintained site and a lovely setting. The location is good for days out lots around. The only thing I would say that was a down side is the toilet facilities & washing up facilities are quite a walk if you are in a tent & very dark on an evening. It hasnít put us off we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markhem 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here early June with some friends and our kids (4-6 yr olds); a really nice site, easy to find and beautifully positioned between Ashbourne and Bakewell.

We stayed in one of the camping meadows @ £17 per night. A great touch that the carpark was kept separate to the tent pitches; meant the children could mill around and explore with no fear.

A decent enough toilet/shower block between the two meadow fields, kept clean and toilet roll well-stocked. I found the staff in reception were friendly and helpful.

Try the very local 'Dovedale' walk (easy and child-friendly with its stepping stones and caves).

Only negative I can offer really is regarding the amount of barbed-wire present on some of the stiles - with a lot of small children present this seems an odd oversight on the owners' part. I know we weren't the only concerned parents, so perhaps this could be attended to?

Also, the site is just off an A-road with occasional heavy-plant traffic, but this can't be helped. We pitched-up as far away as we could, and being in a 'dip' didn't notice any noise.

Overall, a very pleasant stay and we'd definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Splatypuffin 1 review from this member

Showers and toilet block clean, but be aware of the CCTV cameras. Great place to stay if you are a family or in a large group. If you want a quiet break this is not the place for you. Bar and restaurant only open Friday and Saturday. Didn't visit these but could hear the music. The barriers to the park are locked after 10pm and opened at 9am in the morning so don't expect a early start to the day. If you have a porta-potty you have to buy the eco friendly chemical from the shop. The cheapest bottle cost £8. Down the road is the pub The Jug and Glass, would recommend the meals there. Good food at a reasonable price.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

Have wanted to visit this site for a long time due to the location & description on their web site.

The location is perfect - great for cycling on the Tissington Trail, or walking in the stunning countryside, lovely village pubs with good food - try The Waterloo Inn, Biggin.

The facilities are spotlessly clean, great showers, plenty of bins, and everywhere very tidy.

Unfortunately, Rivendale is a busy, crowded site - not quite what you expect from the name. Some areas do not take dogs - which is fine unless you have booked with a dog & requested a certain spot and find that you are booked into the wrong area. We were messed around regarding moving, and ended up in what looked like a car park next to static caravans. We visited before the recent hot weather, but the dust was incredible, another problem if you are not parked in a quiet spot. Tents may not find this a problem as you will be on grass. There is a shop, bar & restaurant on site, and children's play area.

We would not visit again - very disappointed.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Delboy1uk 23 reviews from this member

Spent the bank holiday weekend at this site, we were Highly surprised that there was only one toilet / shower block for such a large site, though I do believe there is a small porta cabin in the 'wild camping' field. That said I only had to queue for a shower once but the wife was kept waiting on 3 occasions -, this was probably due to mums having to shower there children as well

The site is pleasant enough and the pub offers reasonable priced meals & drink, I think the publicity photos are somewhat deceiving as they do not show you the 'quarry end' of the site which is where we were sited. There are just a few pitches here where you can pitch your awning as the ground is just hard chalk. If you like your car or van to be clean do not come here, we were there for 3 days and all of the units and cars has a thick layer of chalk & dust on. I don't know what the owners can do to prevent this as it is an old quarry, maybe damping down with water or tarmacing the roads may help.

The good points are that the staff are very friendly & the site is within fairly easy driving distance to all the district as to offer, and is ideally situated for hiking or bike riding

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans Ė plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2287 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019