Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Capitalbarbie 3 reviews from this member

Broke my camping virginity here! Came with friends who had requested pitches beside one another which was good. We were in the main site although not very close to the showers and toilets (which I was impressed with, clean and heated and never any queues).
All in all a nice site, went to the pub and they were between chef's so only had an option of 4 things on the menu of which they only had 2 left! I had chicken korma which was nice and was clearly made with fresh ingredients, was a little on the expensive side though.
It rained on the first day so was really muddy but this had dried up with glorious sunshine on the second day. We will come again as its not too far from home for us so is perfect for weekends and short breaks.
My only negative would be for a little more lighting in the evening, not floodlights but just small low level lighting pointing out the way to the toilets etc.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Postbarney 6 reviews from this member

On the pictures you see in brochures and internet, it looks great and cosy in the old quarry, but you only get that if you pay for a hook up. What they don't show you is the grass field, to the right when you drive in, with it's portacabin toilets / shower.

The field was overgrown, the grass felt more like corn field stalks, which were left after harvest, I thought the 'stalks' were going to pop up thru our groundsheet/bedrooms. Had a look round the quarry and tried to use the large, well kept shower block, but couldn't get in 'cause you are given a code if you pay for EHU. Only had a look when another camper let us in.

Pros. Nice pitch/toilets if you pay extra.

Cons. Non ehu Field close to main/noisy road, toilets/showers should be replaced / repositioned.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kedge 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a three day break and overall enjoyed ourselves. We had a super pitch and it was in a nice position and was spacious.
The site itself is in an old quarry and it does at first glance make it seem untidy, however it is a good site and the shower facilities were always clean. I do think they could do with more than one hand dryer in toilets, as I always had to wait for that.
The play area was ok but always very busy. There are some lovely walks of the site and the scenery is beautiful. Ashbourne is worth a visit there are some nice shops. We will definitely visit the area again and would be happy to go to Rivendale as it is a good site.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blackjasper 5 reviews from this member

We had a lovely weekend here. The weather was glorious. The site itself is well looked after, the showers clean and plenty of warm water. The pitch we had was excellent size and private as well. The park is good and we had many a hour there. The pub on site good although we ate there once and worked out very expensive. The shop is definitely basic! plenty to do in surrounding area and will be going back very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campkate 2 reviews from this member

Great basic site. We were on the additional field next to the main site. The facilities were basic but adequate for a few night stay - at £12 per night we couldn't grumble. There were some good climbing trees with a tree swing in it. It was a good location to get onto the Tissington trail. We had heavy rain fall which made the entrance to the field very boggy but feel sure the owners would have towed us out if neccessary. Plenty of space for the kids to play. We would go back but due to the facilities for no more than a couple of nights on the additional field. Don't know what the main site was like.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aria30 14 reviews from this member

We arrived at the site during a wet couple of weeks. We were originally booked onto the overflow field, as we didn't need ehu etc, but because of the wet conditions we were offered a pitch on the main site, which was lovely. Plenty of water taps and rubbish collection points around.

We couldn't hear any of the airplanes or motorbikes mentioned in previous reviews, because it rained so much! But that didn't spoil our enjoyment.

We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The showers etc were always clean and we never queued for them. The shop stocked the basics and we had a drink and bar meal upstairs, all of which were very nice.

The site is nicely placed to try out the Tissington Trail or to visit Matlock Bath (20 mins drive away). We also went to Castleton and that was about an hours drive.

The boys enjoyed playing on the play equipment and made some new friends. Altogether a nice friendly site, that we will be visiting again. Remember your rock pegs though!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Graeme_Cooke 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very wet 10 nights at Rivendale.

We were in the main tent area with electric (not the camping meadow) so we were well away from the main road. As such it was fairly quiet (with the exception of the odd noisy baby).

The toilets and showers were clean although a good deep clean wouldn't go a miss. Loads of hot water available but only 4 cubicles for each gender.

The site pub was small but good. The home cooked meals were excellent and well priced. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The site layout was good and there is a one way system that loops around each of the site sections. This means that you don't have to drive on the grass.

The park is small but the kids seemed to like it. There is small grass area within the park allowed the kids to play football and cricket.

Washing up facilities are limited to three sinks behind the toilet blocks. This often led to queues.

The only bad thing was that our pitch didn't drain very well. When we arrived the pitch had a big puddle in the middle. When we left the pitch was like a swamp. There was that much water it had soaked through our ground sheet. Our tent is a real mess and I can't wait for a better day so I can get it clean and dry.

My only other note would be about the camping meadow. It is a touch on the wilder side. Fine if that's what you are expecting but not what I'd want.

On the whole the Peak District was great and we'll be going back. We won't be going back to Rivendale as there's so many other sites in the area but it's still an ok site with a great backdrop of the quarry walls.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pumpkin503 4 reviews from this member

Just returned today from our first visit to this site and our first trip in our new tent.

We were pleased to note that we had been put in the adjoining pitch to our friends although I had called to confirm this on Friday morning so would have been a little disappointed if it hadn't been possible.

We arrived just at 2pm as we were asked not to arrive before but we saw that a lot of people were part way through setting up by the time we got to our pitches so must have been there before 2pm.

The facilities are clean and tidy although as a previous review indicates a 'deep clean' wouldnt go a miss.Its also strange that the serviced tent pitches are furthest away from the facilities yet caravans / static and motorhomes with their own are right next to the toilet block.

There was never a shortage of hot water and we never queued for a shower or to use the washing up area.

The pitch was ample for our 7m x 7m tent (and we spotted many bigger. The Diablo 900 being very popular) although only with the car parked in front and I do think that had there not been smaller tents either side our guy lines may have overlapped.

We drank in the pub on site and found the service friendly and the prices reasonable, we didnt eat there but the food did look lovely. The shop stocks basics.And I mean basics. There is not much of any on particular item either.

We enjoyed lunch at the Devonshire Arms in Hartington and also at the Bakewell Pudding Parlour in Bakewell.Well worth a visit.

All in all a good weekend only hindered by the showers that we have come to expect from a UK summer.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Scoobywrx 2 reviews from this member

This is the first camp site we have ever been to that we had to pay in full over the phone! We booked with two other families and specified that we wanted to be close together.

Upon arriving we found that the family in the tent was at least 15-20 minutes walk away in a field that was water logged! Didn't start us off in the best of moods!

I went to reception & explained the field was far from suitable and they kindly moved them to another pitch slightly closer to us!

The park that is on the site is ok but possibly only for older children, not for toddlers! There is nothing for toddlers to do & we was grateful that the older kids could amuse themselves.

The toilets & showers were not exactly clean but they were usable and the showers were free!

The pitches were quite closely 'squashed' together. There was not much space to move around on your pitch! All of the pitches were also within spitting distance of the roads, so unfortunately we couldn't let our little ones play next to the awning/tent for fear of them stepping onto the road.

The hard standing pitch is certainly HARD! As in quite large stones!

There is a small pub on site that we did visit once and to be honest I was pretty disgusted by the stand offish attitude of the bar people. They tended to look down there nose's at us! Not nice!

All in all I would not visit Rivendale again, certainly not impressed at all!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vikinguk 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for an extended weekend. Nice site and easy to find. Will stay there again. Most of my thoughts are covered by earlier reviews but Iíll just add:

Positives. Good and clean facilities. Good food and drink at reasonable rates. All pitches seemed to be flat. Good base to explore Dovedale, Tissington Trail etc. Playground good for smaller children. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Negatives. The A515 skirts the site and due to itís popularity with bikers at the weekend, noise can be intrusive. Also it is under the flight path to (I believe) Manchester airport, not that noisy to me but some might feel so.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019