Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kidi 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here caravanning for a week in early July. Last time we were in a tent over 10 yrs ago and it was lovely to see how the site has matured - trees & shrubs grown, pitches well defined/screened etc. On arrival the staff were friendly, the pitch pre-allocated to us and a handy map to find it. It rained heavily for two nights so we couldn't put the awning up due to waterlogging. Staff were very helpful though getting us onto a drier pitch next day.

The cafe was great and the bar over the shop was nice too. But don't get hammered because the stairs up to it are steep - getting down them could be a problem! The shower block is superb with constant hot water and very well kept - spotlessly clean. We weren't troubled by the hand drier - heck we were camping so what can one expect!

Rivendale is handy for all local trails, towns, attractions etc. But we had a lovely stay onsite all week. Only went out to Ashbourne for shopping - the site shop could have been a tad better stocked bearing in mind most campers like a decent traditional fry up and maybe a steak with a bottle of wine at night.

The horse shoe quarry is a great feature but the ground needs solid steel pegs in places.

We loved it - friendly, green and peaceful, well spaced, serviced sites, nice walks, great value (everything a camper needs really) - but could benefit from better drainage - choose your weather wisely. We will go again particularly because it's great for astronomy and we always take a telescope with us.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trish0524 3 reviews from this member

Arrived on a very wet Saturday, met my sister and her family there. On first impression site was really nice, well laid out and we had adjoining pitches (which was a nice touch as we didn't ask for them) Took us a while to pitch awning as the ground is very hard but we managed.

Went to the bar on first night to see what it was like and wasn't really impressed. Staff not really interested, but gave them the benefit of the doubt as the weather was awful!

The toilet block was always very clean, but there wasn't enough showers so we all ended up getting up quite early to get in before we had to queue. On close inspection, pitches were not really 'looked after'. The weeds were very high which meant to us they probably hadn't been weeded since before the start of the season! Our children are teenagers so didn't use play area but it looked ok.

I also agree about the shop and the cafe not being open at the right times.

One real 'bug bear' was the fact you couldn't get off the site before 9am! (whats that all about?) because the barrier was up from 11pm til 9am???

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hairywol 29 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 5 nights in very wet weather in tent with EHU.

Arrived at 4.55pm after serious traffic in journey from Cornwall, slightly anxious as their letter says arrivals should be between 2 - 5pm. Not sure what would have happened if we had missed, but reception would have been closed.

The site's reception is housed in a sympathetically restored ex-farm building that also houses a well-stocked shop, a cafe (which also serves as a restaurant in the evening) and a 1st-floor pub. Check-in took only a moment since a map of the site had been pre-prepared with our pitch, and which also contained useful site information.

The site is divided into several areas with quaint names, some for tents and others for caravans/motorhomes. Our pitch seemed OK, but then found that the layout meant that when fellow campers arrived our tents were very close together (2m away from one neighbour). It turned out there were quite stark differences in pitch size and we were unlucky (the site does not seem to match pitch size to tent size).

There is a single central block for the entire site which houses toilets/free showers (inc. Disabled), washing up, laundry and a recycling centre. One one hand the attractive facilities are first-class, the toilets spotless and modern (though served with a single hand blower as useless as any I've encountered), but on the other they are a fair trek from many parts of the site (& as luck would have it we were furthest of any) which made night-time excursions and carrying washing-up things a bit of a pain. As often happens, tent-dwellers were furthest away from these facilities.

Adjacent to this is a play area with a grassed area for games and an area with wooden swings etc. For smaller children

When we arrived the site had been subject to continuous heavy rainfall and was coping badly, no doubt due to its location in a quarry which serves it so well in better weather. Large pools of water quickly turned into mud, and despite our best attempts our own pitch became very muddy. I understand though that this was a period of exceptionally bad weather.

The site pub is entered via a steep outside stone staircase and is very traditional-looking with stone walls and wooden floors. It is divided into two areas with the bar in-between; the first with pool table and TV caters for families while the second is reserved for over 16's only. As a couple whose own kids have flown the coop we were very grateful for this oasis of peace - especially so as some campers let their small kids run riot as they took refuge from some very wet weather.

Though traditional-looking the bar fails to serve cask real ales, although it redeemed itself when I noticed bottles of ale from a local micro-brewery which went down very well (& at only 2.35 a pint). It also serves a range of well-priced and tasty bar meals, which can also be taken downstairs in what is, between 9 - 5, a nice rustic-looking cafe with good coffee & cakes.

Within 30 mins drive is Ashbourne, Buxton and several picturesque villages such as Bakewell; Chatsworth House is also close by, and the immediate Peak District countryside is very picturesque once one is out of the quarry & can get a view. That said, the sheer quarry walls ringing the site are quite a view in themselves.

We did not see the site at its best - days of heavy rain and an unfortunate pitch dulled the experience. But given less than atrocious weather and a better pitch (larger & nrearer the ablutions) the experience would, I am sure, have been transformed.

We would certainly visit again, as long as we were sure of a decent pitch. At less than 20pn incl EHU the site is very good value.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ELPhillips 1 review from this member

Just spent a very wet and windy weekend at Rivendale, although it was made a lot easier with clean and hot shower/toilet block, launderette, under cover washing up facilities, good shop on site. Plus the kids were in wellies and rainmack playing at the kids park, play area. Plenty of room for everyone, definitely need proper tent pegs as the ground is rocky.

Recycling area, dog poo bins - all good.The whole site was very clean.

We walked from Whetton Mill to Thors Cave all very enjoyable with a big group adults and kids.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelham99 7 reviews from this member

We arrived on a dry day, although it had obviously been raining in the days before we arrived as our pitch and the two either side of us we VERY muddy and had large puddles of water in. The actual a lotted pitch area was large but due to the conditions the pitching area was limited and we were forced to pitch very close to the next tent, as did our neighbours either side. Can't comment on the rest of the site as we did not really get to see much of it, because it started raining heavily just after we pitched and didn't really stop until we left!

The facilities were clean, with plenty of showers and sinks for everybody ( the site was full ) Also had no trouble with water temps, was always nice and hot. The only minor criticism would be that there is only one hand dryer in the ladies, and it rubbish, had to take a towel with me just to wash hands!

The shop was fairly well stocked and provided a ice block freezing service for 25p per block. On the down side though, it is only open from 9 to 5, as is the cafe, which was a bit of a problem! Most people don't arrive back from sight seeing until 5ish and the cafe would have been great for tea,(having 2 children 5 and under)the pub did not open until 6.30 by which time the children were wiped out!

Although this sounds a very negative review, it is mainly due to weather conditions, not a bad site but don't think we will be returning!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingadee 1 review from this member

Really really good site! Friendly and lots of facilities.

Can't comment on the tents pitches, but the hard standing for Campervans is outstanding - loads of room, private and very well kept site all-round.

Toilets are immaculate, washing areas etc all very good standard. Good powerful showers (free) and a proper recycling setup, so you can camp guilt free!

What we really loved about this site was it's location - in an old quarry which meant it was very well sheltered - made sitting out on an evening possible in the British climate - a first for us!

Kids play area is very basic yes - but there's a good grassed area for games and there's loads to do nearby - why would you want to stay on the site all day?! Tissington trail is just over the road and there's lots of walking etc around too.

Price is a lot cheaper than other sites locally, but what this site offers is equal to the more expensive ones - what a gem!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robbo44 2 reviews from this member

This was our very first time camping and we chose Rivendale as it seemed like a well run very friendly site and not too big. We arrived at approx dinnertime and were welcomed by a friendly lady who booked us in and we found our pitch. We set tent up and had walk round the site. It was very clean and the toilet block was very clean. There is play area for children. There is a bar unfortunately wasn't open at time we were there. There are plenty of things to do and visit around the site , including Bakewell, Matlock and Buxton. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this campsite to anyone. We will be visiting again

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruane 10 reviews from this member

Stopped here the weekend following the Easter break. Booked in & was given a map of where to pitch, the pitch was too small for our tent so returned to reception & was given a new pitch not far away.
The site is an old quarry so is well sheltered depending on which way the wind is blowing. I would recommend rock pegs as the ground is rocky in places. The toilet / shower block has a 4 digit code to enter which is written on your map of the site. Always kept clean, showers are great & always hot. There is a shop, cafe, & bar on site.

Didn't use the cafe but the shop & bar were great, a pint of bitter 2.30p.

Great area for walking & cycling there is the Tissington Trail just across the road from the site. I forgot my mobile charger, I asked at reception and they had one, charged it for me no problem! certainly try & go back if we can!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Antvtr1000 9 reviews from this member

Stopped at Rivendale for 1 night on Thursday 28th May as a try out for the new Monty 6!

This was the warmest day of the year so far.Fantastic!

Camp is fairly small + quiet with only a couple of dozen tent pitches, well spaced, ours having EHU and being largely level and solid (despite the recent rainfall).

Camp has great Shower block / nice smallish play area for kids / cafe + pub on-site but couldn't try the pub as its shut on a Thursday (doh!).

As I said, very quite n' by 10pm it was almost silent.

Well located for tissington trail, Carsington Water (lovely), Ashbourne, Buxton etc etc.

Well recommended if you prefer the chillout rather that entertainment complexes!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BoulderingFletchers 5 reviews from this member

Stayed with a group of friends second weekend in May (probably the wettest weekend so far this year!) as we were doing the White Peak Half Marathon starting at nearby Cromford. We had a mix of campers, tents and touring and all enjoyed our stay, despite the uncontrollable and disastrous weather.

Ate in the bar on the Friday which was ok, felt that there was limited space for parties with kids as they were not allowed in the other eating area and the standard of food seemed ok (my chilli was rubbish) but other members of the party had ok food. Might be worth asking to reserve a table and pre-book food as we had over an hour wait and struggled to get a table.

Overall shower blocks were lovely and clean with nice hot water at all times, hairdryers need a token from the reception.

Nice play area for the kiddies.

Great location and well worth hiring the hot tub (we were in it whilst the hale storm descended on us!)

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5768 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019