Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Two Terriers 20 reviews from this member

A New Year break without the feelgood factor.

Were really looking forward to this break but unfortunately it was a major disappointment.

It was bitterly cold on arrival, after booking in we asked where we could fill the motorhome with water. With a shrug of the shoulders two members of staff stated that the water points were frozen & they didn't know! They then carried on talking to other people. Surely we could have expected better service than this?

The booking information we received had referred to the fact that you needed 'grippy' footwear & that they didn't grit. Ok but you would never expect to be skidding in a 4 ton motorhome just to try to get on your pitch! It was almost impossible to stand upright. Why can't you grit the roadways? Surely it would avert any potential accidents with the ongoing negative publicity this would cause? An overnight thaw then resulted in a muddy mess.

Facilities looked ok but never expected to see a man cleaning out ladies washroom without a sign up.

Customer service is again completely absent as in over 2 weeks we have yet to get a response to our official complaint.

We will not be returning to Rivendale at any time in the future because of the above reasons. Such a shame because it is certainly in a beautiful area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunshinecamp 5 reviews from this member

Really enjoyed 4 days at this campsite. It was the quietest site I have ever been to although it was relatively busy. No noise after 9. 30-10pm each night. However the noise from the main road did wake me a couple of mornings. Nice small children's play area and good toilet facilities. Very clean and warm. The tent area is a bit of a walk from the toilet block so set out before you're desperate. The cafe on the site sold excellent cakes. The campsite is right next to the Tissington Trail which was great for family cycling as it's an old railway line so very flat. Carsington Water was also good to cycle round (although a bit hillier)and has an excellent free children's play area.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glampingtime 3 reviews from this member

This is a large campsite with a very broad range of facilities and we camped over a long weekend as part of a group. All modes of camping are provided for, from motorhomes to tents, and there's a B&B on site for those who don't want to camp.

Modern toilet, shower and washing blocks are provided and these were clean and well-maintained although there was a fairly strong smell of faeces coming from the manhole covers outside one of the blocks (fortunately well away from the camping areas).

Camping is provided in two fields, both of which are reasonable flat and easy to pitch on. Unfortunately, one of the fields - the one we were in - is also adjacent to a main road which carries quarry traffic, right through the night.

The main issue we had was with the customer service which alternated between lazy and actually rude. When we arrived on the site, we struggled to find anyone who could tell us where we were supposed to camp, which resulted in us half-pitching in the 'wrong' location and having to move everything. Then, later on at about 8pm we were sitting around our campfire chatting away and a very rude and self-important warden came over to demand that we put the fire pit up on blocks (not provided). When it was pointed out to him that no blocks or instructions of any kind were provide, we were met with a barrage of excuses.

When paying top notch for a campsite (this is one of the most expensive sites in the Peaks), one expects the service to be at least courteous - sadly this was not our experience at Rivendale. This is a shame, because with all the facilities, it could potentially be a great place to stay. Until they sort out their staffing though, I couldn't recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Timpaul63 4 reviews from this member

What an excellent friendly site, perfect for exploring Ashbourne, Dovedale and walking the Tissington trail, the dog friendly bar had a lovely welcoming family feel with really friendly staff. The toilet and shower block was really clean as was the washing facilities. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. Our only slight criticism was the fine grit on the hard standings was easily carried into the van but the actual pitches were superb with plenty of space and privacy, we are already talking of visiting again before the season ends.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemissbossy13 3 reviews from this member

Beautiful location this is a great campsite if you are in a multi-use group (as we were) needing tent/caravan camping and B&B facilities. They're a 15 min drive from the nearest town, so sensibly have such things as a shop and bar on site. Toilet block was clean and pleasant. They let you have fire pits and you can hire them for a reasonable price, which is lovely when you are there with a group. The 11pm sound curfew was reasonable and everyone on the campsite seemed to stick to it. Almost all the staff were polite and pleasant.

Had we paid less for camping here we might have overlooked some issues, but at the price per tent per night I'd expect a little better.

1) Tent camping is close to a VERY busy arterial road, there are lorries driving at 50-60pm down it all night.

2) Constant strong smell of sewage around the toilet block and car park.

3) The toilet block and shower facilities were inadequate for a camping site of this size.

4) This sounds like a small thing, but, there was only 1 hook on the back of the shower doors (one of those chunky plasticky things that nothing stays on very well). When you're trying to manage clothes, a toilet bag and a towel it's not enough and honestly, how much does it cost to put a few more hooks on the back of the shower doors? The showers were so tight that there wasn't even enough room for a shelf.

5) The biggest gripe was the way that we were spoken to by a member of staff coming and checking our site at around 9:30pm. Apparently we hadn't put the fire-pit on bricks, which somehow, by telepathy we were supposed to know we should have done, given that it came with neither bricks, nor instructions. When it was politely suggested that this could be a strategy for the future, I was met with a whole load of excuses, none of which sounded at all insurmountable to me. Since some of our group had been delayed on the M1 there were a few people arriving. This was met with a serious telling off about ensuring we didn't make noise past curfew. Now, I'd like to straighten out a few things about our group a) We weren't out on a drunken screaming jolly, in fact almost all of us were around 40. B) Chatting round a fire in a completely separate field to the other campers can hardly be construed as 'making a lot of noise' c) We're not children or stupid - in fact I'd suspect the number of PhDs around the campfire went into double figures. I really do appreciate being spoken to as if I'm a paying customer, especially at those prices.

If they could fix those few things, or reduce the price, I'd say it was worth it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JillyMac 2 reviews from this member

This site was easy to find and very close to the Tissington Trail. The check in was easy; though it closes at 5pm. The pitch that we were allocated had hook up facilities and room for an awning but only just. We were squeezed between two dividing hedges opposite the quarry face, not a nice outlook.

The toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water, there was a children's play area which look well kept and the children were enjoying it.

We visited Buxton, Ashbourne and Bakewell while we were there, Bakewell was very busy on the Monday but it did seem to be market day.

There are other caravan sites in the vicinity with far nicer outlooks and bigger pitches, I would not go here again.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: K-Lynn 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first camping hol in Peak District. Rivendale is a great site. Pitches good size although due to previous rain some pitches very wet. Toilet block super plenty of toilets, showers, and private wash cubicles plenty of hot water. Always very clean. One down side a good walk from Tent pitches. Bit noisy at weekends but if you can go mon to frid great. Shop good with essentials. Coffee shop very good. Plenty of info from reception staff very helpful. Good play area for children. Plenty to do and see in surrounding area. Big supermarkets in Ashbourne for shopping. Will go back again still lots to see. Bike ride the Monsal Trail. Really good

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andypye 12 reviews from this member

First impressions of this site were good. Efficient check in, nice shop, friendly staff etc.

The disappointment came when we got to our alloted pitch. Overgrown shrubs, overgrown grass and litter were the first things we noticed. Pitches are also quite tight.

Facilities block was decent enough, always fairly clean.

Couldn't recommend eating on site I'm afraid, wasn't great and way overpriced.

Wouldn't return, quite disappointing.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mastiffgy 1 review from this member

Easy to find site with a good and easy check in system. The staff are friendly and helpful even printing some dog friendly website pages for me.

The toilet and shower facilities are very good and clean, however, depending on where you are pitched they could be quite a long walk. Only really a problem after a few pints around the BBQ!

Our pitch, in the Willowbottom area, was quite narrow, only just room for the caravan and awning. This meant that the next unit was just a couple of foot away past the dividing hedge. The pitch was level with hardstanding for the caravan and with the addition of a grass area for the awning made it easier to peg down. The view was a little disappointing with what appeared to be 3 units stored opposite our pitch with overgrown weeds and they were in need of a good clean.

If you have children there is a nice play area, if like us you don't but you do have a dog there are no designated exercise areas just places they are not allowed.

The pub, being a place we could take the dog, was busy (weather was bad) so we had to wait a while for food, however, the food was very good when it did arrive.

The was some noise that continued past midnight from large groups and do be aware of children running and riding around blind corners. Our stay was hampered by bad weather but not one for us in the furture.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Art red 4 reviews from this member

A large site set in the heart of the Peak District. Lots of choice, tents, caravans, motorhomes, camping pods, yurts.

Great, warm and clean shower and toilet facilities. I especially like the chairs in the shower area. Great space to put clothes / sit down to put on socks etc.

The site has a good well stocked shop. An excellent cafe, great breakfasts, afternoon tea. There is also a small pub on site which does good meals in the evening.

On site play area for the children.

The surrounding area is so beautiful with great walks, lovely villages. The site is right on the Tissington cycle trail. The Manifold trail is also nearby.

The local town of Ashbourne is only 10 mins away (or a couple of hours cycle down the Tissington trail) all the shops you would need and some lovely little cafés.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019