Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

What a nice campsite.

It's hard to add more to what's already been said. We really enjoyed our two nights here and will certainly return in the summer.

Lots of positives, it's an excellent location for exploring, being in an old quarry it's very sheltered, very quiet at night and the facilities are top notch

Not really many negatives, the site could certainly do with more lighting and whilst the toilets/showers are great, it was a pain having to type in a 4 digit code every time you wanted to go in, seems daft to have locked facilities in a secluded location

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Scrunchkins 19 reviews from this member

I stayed in a classic pod with my two young children aged 6 and 3. The pod was quite small but we did manage with the space for a couple of nights. A light and heater was supplied but as the heater was wired in and placed in a corner it wasn't very effective at heating the pod so I was glad that I had taken a heater of my own. The pod had electric points inside but it was just a double socket so I was advised to bring a double adaptor or gangplug if extra sockets were needed.

The pod was cosy even in the very cold weather which we experienced (-3). The site itself is a lovely and set in beautiful surroundings. The toilet block was lovely and clean and the washing up area was tidy enough, however there were only a couple of sinks so this might be an issue at busier times.

The children's play area was small but functional, however it did look a bit tired and could do with a bit of updating.

I did look at returning with my tent but the prices seemed a bit steep (£25 with EHU in high season) for what you get.

A nice site but a bit expensive.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rik666 22 reviews from this member

Things we liked - The location is perfect for exploring the south of the peak district, many of the pitches are very private & the bar is very good.

Things we did not like - Unfortunately the high standards of this site have slipped since our last visit, the toilet block was a little grubby, there was pot holes in the roads. The waste & chemical disposal points both overflowed during our visit.

Would we go back ? – Maybe.

Location - Stunning location, set in an old quarry which makes this site unique & it definitely has the WOW factor as you drive in. Situated about 6 miles north of Ashbourne on the A515

Pitches - Most of the pitches are pretty much dead level, most are hard standing with a small grassed area divided by 6ft hedges which gives a great deal of privacy, There is also a large grassed camping area + several Pods, yurts & lodges which can be hired, the roads around the site which are mainly lime stone chippings.

Some of the roads around the site have some large pot holes, when it rains these fill with water & it can make it challenging to get to the shower block

Toilets / Showers - the site has 1 basic toilet / shower block, this requires pin number to enter, There are 4 male + 4 female small shower cubicles, which is not many for 120 pitches, The showers have plenty of water at a good temperature, my biggest gripe would be how grubby the toilet block has become since our last visit.

Facilities - There is a well stocked shop, out door washing up areas & a laundry facility (which was out of order for our stay), waste recycling, Calor gas bottle exchange, several waste water disposal points (our local one was constantly overflowing) & drinking water points (our local one was surrounded by a thick muddy puddle & has a large boulder under the tap to raise your barrel unto the tap height, realistically this just just means you had to lift the barrel off the boulder when it was full while standing in a muddy puddle.

Children’s Entertainment - There is a small park + a small section of grass for ball games, but this is not really a child oriented site, also remember the camping site is no more than 100 yards from the A515 which is a 50mph road

Staff - Booking our pitch was hard work, We also had problems getting served in the shop.

WI-FI - I think WI-FI is available in the bar, but did not use it

Bar / Food - The bar serves good food and drink at a reasonable price (but it was only open a few times during our stay)

TV Reception - No problems here

Fishing - Fly fishing is available just about every where

Out & About – Stunning scenery just about, where ever you go, The Tissington trail is just across the road form the site which gives about 13 miles of easy walking or cycling, this also joins up to Dovedale, which is about 3 miles long, there are several large reservoirs include lady bower & Carsington waters both of which are stunning with beautiful walks around them, there are many large touristy places to visit including Alton Towers, Matlock Bath, various show caves, The Tramway Museum, The Brewer Museum & the museum of childhood + many more.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Timandjacky 16 reviews from this member

Last minute booking and lucky to get a pitch for 2 nights at what seems to be a very popular site.

Beautiful location, nice pitch felt very private though we were surrounded by lots of other motorhomes and caravans.

Very nice showers and toilets, clean and plentiful hot water. Never had to queue even though the site was full.

Good washing up facilities. Didn't use the shop or bar facilities but they looked nice.

Walked a few hundred yards on to the Tissington trail and walked about 4 and a bit miles to the village of Tissington which was very charming.

Would definitely recommend this site and location, will probably return some time.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andrealcmhc 2 reviews from this member

Great location, a bit of road noise where we were on the Meadow, but looked like it would be more sound proofed in the main camping area.

Bar served nice beer, and the staff were very friendly and happy to give advice about locality. We did not use the cafe, we were intending to have breakfast there, but thought it a bit pricey for basics such as cereal and toast.

I would have liked to see the shop opening an hour earlier (9. 00am is a long time to wait when you need milk for a cup of tea!)

A few minor gripes - they were clearly short staffed the Saturday we were there, and the shop was closed when it should have been open. The grass on the Meadow was far too long, and full of dandelions, and their resulting clocks which got everywhere. Also the toilet block on the Meadow is insufficient for the number of tenters on a busy weekend - though appreciate another larger block is available with a longer walk.

I would happily stay here again- but would try other places first.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Xerox 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at Rivendale campsite with a group of friends at the end of June.

When we arrived, we where directed to check in via a sign on the main road of the campsite. The receptionist was very friendly, however she was very busy, as she seemed to have to serve the shop as well the reception. The directions to our pitch where clearly marked out on a map for us.

We were pitched on the meadow, which a essentially a really big field with random muddy patchs in the field. Access to the toilets was easy, however if you forget the code your stuffed! The facilities were clean and tidy. There was a fair bit of noise at night due to the main road beside the meadow.

Its a nice site, but miles from anywhere, so you either have to drive or walk a really long way. Little cafe and pub on site. Its an ok site, but would like to be closer to village.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Djw1 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here on a very wet weekend in June. The check in process was very efficient and quick and we were given a map to our pitch location. We soon arrived at our pitch, however, due to the rain our allocated spot was more like a mud bath under an inch of water, luckily we were in the next spot along, this was under almost 6 inches of water! We returned to check in and were given the choice of a couple of other pitches to choose from. We picked one we liked and got set up.

The site is located inside an old quarry and as such the views are a little limited but has the advantage of being sheltered from strong wind and driving rain. The site has a main wash and toilet block that is a few minutes walk away, these are pretty clean with plenty of space, good hot water and plenty of loo roll! Cleaned each morning, they are good for a shower first thing!

Onsite there is a small bar, cafe and shop. The bar is very nice serving a small range of hot food and snacks along with good priced beer and wine.

The site rules call for no noise after 11pm, however, on both nights we stayed here there were groups of campers sat outside talking, laughing and swearing till gone 2am. Now I like to have fun and enjoy having a drink but I'm always considerate of fellow campers, especially as there were a few families with small children on site, the language and shouting at 2am was really unacceptable.

We reported this to reception after the first evening who assured us they send around regular patrols to deal with noisy groups, however on night two the same happened and we were forced to listen to more shouting and talking to the early hours.

It's really a shame that the site allow this to happen as without this it would have been a really lovely place to stay. We shan't be returning here and will look for sites that have stricter rules on noise after dark.

Such a shame Rivendale.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sare 2 reviews from this member

A great site with brilliant facilities, however we apparently went 'out of season' so choosing the site because of the pub and restaurant was a bit of a waste of time! We went the week after the normal May half term week, the site was really busy as a group of 20 Dutch tourers were there so I think the site missed out on an opportunity here. Note to others - check beforehand the 'in season dates'. But I still give the facilities a 10 as normally, the pub, restaurant is marvellous.

But it is a beautiful setting, in an old quarry. And is close to many places of interest.

We will definitely go back again as the staff are friendly, the shop is well stocked (great ice cream and wine) and the pitches are HUGE! You don't realise others are there as there is so much room.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 56 reviews from this member

We booked to stay at this site for two nights to end off a week's stay in the Peak District. Then we read the reviews written on UKCampsite.co.uk.

Generally speaking the reviews were quite poor on the latest bunch of reports, which made us nervous that the site was going to be below standard and that we would be disappointed, especially having already paid £52 for the 2 nights in advance.

Well, we are happy to say that upon arrival, when we were greeted by the very cheerful lady owner, we were directed to our pitch and were soon set up for our stay at Rivendale. We think that had you been camping, yes it was muddy but then we had so much rain, everywhere was suffering from the water on the ground!

The toilets were spotlessly clean, with mats to leave boots/shoes on when entering the facilities when it was muddy/wet. The showers were nice and hot.

We had a drink in the bar and found the atmosphere fine, one bar had a tv and pool table whilst the other had leather sofas. No complaints.

The shop on the site seemed to carry a fair stock of most things you would need to put food on the table.

Perhaps at £25 a night it was a little expensive, especially compared to the Caravan Club sites we had been staying on which were cheaper.

As has been said previously, the site is in the confines of an old limestone quarry. This provides an interesting backdrop with many birds, we think Jackdaws and Rooks(?) nesting in the craggy face of the 'cliffs'.

The site is just across the main road from a point where you can join the Tissington Trail (13 miles from end to end). Ask in reception and they will give you a map of the walks to be had here. The trail runs along an old railway line and is a flat, well surfaced, footpath / cycle way with some fantastic views of the lovely countryside to enjoy.

We would stay here again if we were in this area.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grev 3 reviews from this member

Visited in the Easter School holiday. Pitched a large tent onto very wet/muddy grass. They were generous pitch sizes (all pitches seemed to be serviced).

We paid £29 per night 2 adults and 2 kids. The week before they had had snow and some still remained on the quarry backdrop. Therefore some of the well used pitch area where previous tents had been was slowly becoming bog like.

Our porch groundsheet was not pleasant to walk on! However this is probably because of the severe weather in the previous week and the constant rain we had.

The quarry backdrop means that wind was not really an issue. Cars had to be parked 2 tyres on grass, 2 tyres on the road, which made it a tight squeeze a couple of nights to park near the tent. The pitch was slightly sloped, as were other ones, but some seemed fairly flat. Lost a lot of tent pegs! Old quarry=lots of stones!

The main road can be heard from the campsite and this may keep tent sleepers awake. The lack of lighting mentioned before was not an issue, there was plenty of light for you see where you were going, I've been in a lot darker places!

The location is excellent for driving to Buxton, Ashbourne, Alton Towers, Chatsworth House/Farm, Dovedale and the Tissington Trail.

The shower block was wholly adequate for our stay. They were reasonably new, clean, hot water was plentiful and I believe they had underfloor heating. We never had to wait for showers/sinks.

There were plastic seats you could take into the shower cubicle to help with storing your items, also plenty of hooks. Mop and bucket left to clean up after yourself, however the roads and paths allow footwear to get rid of mud plus a doormat as you walk in so as not to be spread into the showerblock.

There was also a washing/dryer room with a baby changing unit attached to the wall, but didn't use this. All the machines used tokens you had to get from the shop.

Not all tent or camper/caravan pitches were taken, so it may be busier in the summer regarding waiting for facilities.

The playground was simple but enough to keep them busy whilst I washed up. It also had a grassed area for ball games etc. Other older children enjoyed playing in the bush/tree area!

There is a large pond close to the tent pitches, which is fenced off.

The washing up area consists of 3 sinks in an open shedlike building. They had plate drainers attached to the wall which was very useful as it was a tight squeeze in there!

The on site pub/bar had a pool table which was used by us and was perfect for a drink or food when cooking was the last thing you wanted to do.

The shop has the basics and a few toys and icecreams!

We didn't use the on site cafe but it looked very pleasant, it states it has wifi, but didn't use this either.

The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5918 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019