Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fenlandfox 2 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights at this site and enjoyed our stay, we found the pitches to be of a good size and well marked out. Although the site was busy there were only short queues for the showers, on our visit a pathway from the tent site to the shower / toilet building was blocked with a barrier which made it a bit of a trek.

The reception / shop and bar / restaurant were welcome and well stocked.

The site is in an ideal location for sight seeing.

I would recommend this site if camping with children but if you are looking for a quiet break then maybe this is not ideal

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Liljo104 3 reviews from this member

We have just come back from here after spending 2 nights. The area itself is gorgeous and is a great base for exploring the area. We went on a weekend that was fully booked and boy could you tell! We was cramped in like sardines and all packed together which I did not like at all, I know you can't have a whole field to yourself but this was very cramped.

The toilet blocks are spotless but as mentioned in other posts the water pressure is terrible and only left a trickle when we tried to wash. The pot cleaning facilities where ok but the water pressure again meant we gave up and boiled the kettle to wash our pots.

The toilet blocks are the furthest away from the tents and is right next to the mobile caravan's, think it should be the other way round as most caravans have portable loo's! The kids park is outside the toilet blocks with a smallish grasses area for the kids to play on, never let mine go there thou as it was too far and I couldn't watch them.

Always seems to rain here and the ground does get boggy and I'm still cleaning up the clay like mud that got everywhere even now! We did go to the bar and the drinks are very reasonably priced, we also had kids meals and the burger meals thou did not think they was work the price much better to use the chippy or chinese in Ashbourne as we thought they where excellent.

Would I go back with the kids. No not at all as I thought they never had any space and getting the little one's to the toilet block in time was a challenge thou we would go back on our own to go walking as the area is gorgeous.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Loobs 5 reviews from this member

We really like this site. The size of the pitches is generous. There is a good number of toilet/wash facilities which are clean.

The situation is superb, especially for exploring the area. The proximity of the Tissington trail is a bonus.

The weekend we stayed, unfortunately there was a problem with heating the water so my cold shower really woke me up (though what actually woke us up were children whose parents hadn't taught them to be quiet at 6.30am while other people were still asleep!)

Our only disappointment was the washing-up facilities. There were only 2 sinks which were a bit yacky(there were parts of the sink, dirty water could get in but not be washed away). I think that having no hot water didn't help!

The bar on site was also a bonus. The beer was good and not ridiculously expensive. We didn't try the food but it smelt delicious!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Burton 39 reviews from this member

We spent 3 weeks here, mid June to mid July. Excellent weather and therefore had a great time.The site facilities were all excellent. They had a new boiler fitted to the shower block whilst we were there. Very effective hot power showers.

The walk across the fields to Parham was great as were the cycle rides on both the Tissington and High Peak Trails. We also walked down through Dovedale and got the bus back. The 42 and 442 stop just down the road from the main entrance although it's easier to get to the stop via the lane that runs along the bottom of the lowest camping field. There is a bus about once an hour into Ashbourne or Buxton.

Each touring pitch had hard standing and was enclosed by a hedge. The Jackdaws nesting in the old quarry cliff were spectacular. We're planning another week in November.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dajh 3 reviews from this member

Just stayed 16 nights at Rivendale. Site facilities, toilet block, laundry etc not spotless (hair, fluff etc a bit too evident) but acceptable. Showers (push button, fixed height and temperature) were good. The boiler broke down and despite efforts to repair it was 5 days later before a new boiler was installed. However, when I asked about some form of compensation a mutually agreeable arrangement was soon met.

The site is in an excellent situation, within easy travelling distance of all the major tourist attractions and is in a very pleasant disused quarry location. Some of the touring caravan pitches are very tight so make sure you ask for a big enough plot. Superb hook up supply rating.

Lots of walking and cycling opportunities from the site. Pleasant bar and restaurant serving good pub grub but check opening times and days. Shop sells essentials. Supermarkets 6 miles away in Ashbourne.

My only suggestion to the site owners would be to walk round the site occasionally as we saw kids racing around on bikes, dog walkers not picking up 'poop' and walking their dogs in the 'dog free zone'. A little policing of this would help but all in all we had a great time!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: STEWPOTS4 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 6 nights and whilst the location is fantastic (esp. Access to Tissington Trail), and the pitch sizes are good, we were a little disappointed with the facilities. The toilets were clean and there was sufficient sinks and showers but we struggled to get hot water at the sinks both morning and night so my children were regularly washed in cold water. There was no problem with hot water in the showers. There was only 3 sinks at the washing up point so we regularly had to wait and again we struggled to get hot water out of the taps. On one occasion, I walked to the washing up point with my dishes but after 10 minutes of trying to fill a washing up bowl, gave up and took my dirty dishes back to the tent. The toilets had key pads on the doors but to be honest, I didn't really understand why.

The bar on site was good and we ate there one evening. The food was nice, if a little expensive for what we actually got. Our biggest disappointment however was we ran out of gas about 6pm, one evening after reception had closed (5pm). We went to the bar and asked for a refill but were advised it would have to wait until 9am the next morning. Not ideal when you have 2 hungry children!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Patrick Jones 3 reviews from this member

We picked this site up from recommendations in a newspaper readers' best sites article. Though it wasn't exactly to our own tastes (we prefer grassier sites with a less corporate feel) they are certainly very good at what they do. The piches are mostly hard-standing with hook-ups throughout the site. The loos/showers are excellent - heated and always immaculate. Surrounded by quarry cliffs, the site is well sheltered and tranquil but the down side is that there are no real views and you need to avoid being in the shadows in some spots.

The site is particularly well located for cyclists being just over the road from an access point to the Tissington cycle trail.

The owners here are very enterprising and the site has all manner of extras as other reviews testify. It's open all year too (unusual in this area!) but beware that the ground can get a bit claggy after heavy rain.

Altogether a very good example of a well-organised, modern site - though the price reflects this.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ehutch2 1 review from this member

We arrived Friday night at 7pm which was not a problem despite web site advising 6.30pm arrival. Pitch size was absolutely fine for us (not sure what the norm is as it was our second time camping) but we had a small tent and about a 10x13m pitch. We spent the evening in the pub. I would say its small but perfectly formed for one evening. Unfortunately we had some unpleasant neighbours and when I politely asked them if they could keep it down after midnight was met by abuse but hey - you risk rude people everywhere. The ladies shower, wash and toilet facilities were immaculate and quiet.

The access to the nearby trails was exactly that - nearby - about 300 yards from the site. We decided not to spend our second night there only because after 40 miles cycling we preferred the comfort of our own bed didn't really fancy night two with the rude neighbours or a 2nd night in the pub.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debhill 28 reviews from this member

The site is in a spectacular position surrounded by spectacular scenery. It's within walking distance of Dove Dale and Millers dale. There is easy access to the Tissington Trail. The pitches are a good size. The Shower/Toilet blocks are superb. The washing up area is good. The shop is well stocked. There is a bar and cafe on site.

There were units that had more than one vehicle that made parking difficult. It was noisy after 11 - 1 night till 12 and 2 nights till 1.

I accepted that was a family site and that it was half term, however, children seemed to run riot all over the site rather than playing in the spacious play area provided. Would go back when I retire but not in the school holidays.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SUSANEMBERY 2 reviews from this member

We spent 4 days at this site and found the site to be well laid out and maintained. The location was great and we were able to go walking either from the site or from within a very short drive (to save the children an extra 4 miles!).

The staff were all very friendly and the pitches were generous enough to accommodate larger tents. The site was very rural in its location which was good, but within a 15 minute drive there was a small town with a good range of shops and a couple of supermarkets.

The only disappointment, and I only mention this in the hope that it prompts the owners to remedy the problem, was the hot water supply. On several occasions the hot water pressure was non-existent-literally. The hot taps and showers were all the 'press for a set time of water flow' type and sometimes nothing would come out. Nothing at all. Not very useful if you are washing greasy dishes from your morning bacon and eggs.

My husband had to endure 2 cold showers. In the ladies there was a sign informing campers that a new water pump had been installed and that if your shower started juddering you should go to the cubicle next to you and press the shower button in there. While my shower did not 'judder' it did occasionally pulse from hot to cold water. As I had a head full of conditioner at the time, I did not fancy leaving my cubicle to press the button in the shower next to me.

We did enjoy our visit to site, but we benefited from some good weather and relatively warm nights. Cold mornings and cold showers do not mix.

For the size of the site this problem really should have been sorted out.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5370 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019