Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rochie1711 4 reviews from this member

Visited in early June. This was our 4th visit to Rivendale and will not be our last. We were blessed with glorious weather which always helps.

It is pleasing to see the site make steady progress with the inclusion of the pods and yurts.

Had an evening meal and a breakfast in the pub/cafe. Very nice food at reasonable prices.

The staff continue to be welcoming and helpful. Cycled to Ashbourne on the Tissington Trail which was a delight.

Also visited Tissington Village during the Well Dressing which was glorious.

Keep up the good work!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suebear 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at Rivendale for 5 nights in May 2011, in term time. We were on the ‘meadow’ or overflow field.

Booking was easy – emailed for availability then phoned to book. Site was nice and easy to find, and we were given clear directions on arrival where to pitch.

The site was mostly flat-ish but there were plenty of molehills and rabbit holes to avoid. The road which boarders the site was quite busy. We were the only unit on the field for the most part of our stay.

Pitches were not marked, but there were also no clear rules of distance between tents – given people had the whole field to choose from, we were surprised to find we couldn’t park our car either side of our own tent when we got back on the Friday evening!

We were about 200m from the toilet block, a long way in the dark! It was annoying at first to have to remember codes for the toilets and potwash, but we did get used to it.

The facilities are unisex, which did confuse some people at first! They were only 2 weeks old when we stayed there, and they were cleaned 4 times a day. They needed it though – it was wet and muddy, and that was with mostly just us! Showers were free and hot, water in potwash was always hot too. I think that in the summer, when the site is full, 4 toilets, 4 showers and 2 potwash sinks will be a challenge! And who ever thought putting the nappy changing facilities in the potwash was a 'good idea' wants their head examining!

Fires were allowed off the ground, and there was a special metal bin for disposable BBQ’s. No recycling facilities though. We didn’t use the café or the bar, the shop was pricey for some things but not others. Camping gaz 907 was £18.95 so a good price, and there was no quibble changing it when we realised the thing had a dodgy seal.

We had been told to pitch our tent in a certain area of the site, as a school group was coming later in the week. Imagine our surprise to get home one night and find ourselves surrounded by them… To be fair, they were quiet early, but were also upearly – breakfast was nearly finished (for them!) at 6.30am… Another school group (Duke of Edinborough Scheme) arrived later in the week, both only there for one night, and well behaved, but did put a strain on the sinks and facilities.

We walked in Dove Dale, Bakewell, some fo the Tissington Trail and went to Alton Towers. Had a great meal at Bently Brook Inn, Fenny Bently. We had a great week, and if this site was closer to home we would go there again some time.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmasmum61 2 reviews from this member

We've returned this afternoon after spending three nights at this lovely campsite. The ladies toilet facilities are very good and well kept with four showers, two hand basins, two partitioned sinks and three cubicled sinks. All have a cloth provided to wipe round after use and a mop is provided for use after showering.

When we arrived on Thursday the site was very quiet but at the weekend, not surprisingly, it became very busy, but we never had to wait to use a sink or shower. The water was hot, plentiful and free. Showers are the type where you keep pushing a button and you can quite easily shower without having to get your hair wet if you don't want to.

Hairdryers are provided with the purchase of a token (30p I think) from reception. The toilet block is right by the caravan area who probably don't have any need for them, but are a little walk away from the camping area who do need them but they're not that far away and they're good which is the main thing.

EHU points are plentiful.

Dishwashing facilities are at the back of the toilet block with free hot water and dish racks.

Laundry facilities are beside the toilets - sorry, but I didn't venture in there.

The children's play area is small but adequate.

The shop is quite well-stocked with basic provisions and there is a pub and a cafe although we didn't use either of these.

Calor gas and Camping Gaz are available and wi-fi is available around reception and the cafe area (don't know if there is a charge for this, though).

Freezer blocks can be put in the freezer in reception but they charge 25p per block.

The Tissington Trail is accessible a short distance away and a selction of maps are available to purchase from reception.

Being a disused quarry means that some pitching areas can be stony below the surface turf - we used rock pegs as we had been advised by other members of UKCS and these were fine.

All in all, we loved this site and would definitely return in the future

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Spetchley 2 reviews from this member

We have just returned home from a long weekend in a Family Pod with 3 dogs. The pod was warm, dry, very cosy and private. It was carpeted, had a heater, light and an electric point-so remember to take a travel kettle.

After a very rainy couple of nights we were really pleased with our decision not to use the tent. The Pod has a deck at the front: ideal for cooking on, and the dogs sat in the afternoon sun watching the wildlife on the pond in front of us. There was no traipsing mud or grass clippings into the pod as the site is mostly clean and the grass seems to be kept short by the abundance of rabbits. The only muddy area is up a slope to the yurt and the mini woodland area.

One very small comment I would make was that there is nowhere hang wet coats etc. A rack on the wall outside the door would have been helpful.

The campsite is about 4 mins walk from a great old railway line converted for walkers. It was ideal for the dogs as they could have a little freedom. We walked to Tissington along the trail on the first day and managed to wear ourselves out! But it was a lovely walk and Tissington is very pretty.

The site is also on the main road to just about anywhere you would want to visit, and access is really easy. Ashbourne is close, with a good range of shops and plenty of car parking. As we had the dogs with us this visit was short but we will explore more next time.

The site is clean, quiet and well laid out although it is a bit strange that the main facilities are in the middle of the mobile homes, who don't really need them. Having said that, it was a very short walk and the showers etc were clean, free and hot. I worked out on the second day that it is better to take one of the supplied plastic chairs into the shower cubicle to keep clothes etc dry as the water creeps under the curtain right across the floor of the cubicle. The first time I ended up with a dampish jumper.

Remember if you visit over a Wednesday, the toilet block code changes on a Wednesday and you need to ask at reception for the new code. We went out for the day and forgot.

Washing up facilities were well lit, with 3 sinks and plenty of hot water. There were even drying racks which were really useful. There is a laundry with washing machine and tumble dryer but we didn't need to use it.

We never had to wait for any facilities but then again it was a quiet week outside school holidays.

There is a small shop on site which appears to have all the essentials. We bought local maps and the receptionist was very helpful in identifying which ones we needed.

There is a small 'woodland area' just up a track past the pods and the yurt. The dogs appreciated the walk, and we really appreciated the amazing view of the whole site from the top of the quarry.

We would definitely recommend this site and hope to use the pods again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjo5968 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a showery but enjoyable weekend at Rivendale. Facilities are first class, always clean with plenty of hot water for the showers and very warm inside.Small pot washing area, only 3 sinks, but never had to wait to clean the utensils. Reception staff were very knowledgeable about the area and were very helpful. We did not try the pub or restaurant but was told they are very good. We had trips out to Ashbourne and Bakewell and found the area very pleasant. We would recommend this site and will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shirleys 5 reviews from this member

Just spent 3 days here.

A lovely site with plenty of space and facilities. We were armchair campers with EHU.

My 8 year old spent a little time in the playground before finding other kids to play with, more for the younger tots than older children. The toilets, showers etc were all good, well maintained, clean and more than adequate. Also a wash area for pots but only small, 4 sinks with a small surface next to them.

Think of this site as more of a caravan park with Tent facilities as the caravans have prime areas near to facilities. Small shop and pub with basics.

If you are camping here don't try plastic or wire pegs, plenty of broken ones here. Rock pegs only as it's in a quarry and only about 4-5 inches of grass before you hit rocks. Also advise you to take your own as the shop had run out when we arrived and had not stocked back up. Fortunately we had took our own.

Due to the nature of the ground it drained off very quickly, please also note that this is not a flat ground unless you are in a van. Plenty of water and recycling points. We wandered over to the other side to look at the wild camping field, this was more of a clay with grass on top so didn't drain as well and also uneven ground.

All in all a good site and would go again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Irodeludo 2 reviews from this member

This site is only the second camping site we have visited and we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival.

The site as a whole was excellent and the pub/bar a nice surprise!

We were staying on what was called the meadow which had two fields to choose from and as it was extremely busy you had a slight queue for the the superb toilet facilities but never more than 2 minutes.

My only constructive criticism would be that the showers need to have a ledge or chair as the shower floor outside the shower itself would get quite wet.

All in all an excellent time had and will probably be returning if we venture out that way again!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bezaldine 2 reviews from this member

We stopped for a weekend in a Yurt 2 adults 2 children.

Site lovely very warm welcome, facilities shower and toilets were very clean and quite roomy compared to a lot of sites Iv been too.

Kids loved the park.

Only negative was the toilet block was about a five min walk with a small child took more than 10.

Yurt was a lot smaller than expected and just fit double air beds in so definitely worth packing light.

Had a lovely time would recommend this site

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma_louise 7 reviews from this member

Spent a week here in our large tent, on a pitch that more than accommodated it but you must tell them when booking so that they can allocate you to one of the bigger pitches.

The site is very clean, tidy and well maintained. There is a small kids playground with a small grassy area next to it for ball games. It's right by the toilet block which has the washing up facilities there too. In the ladies, there are about 10 toilets, 4 showers, 3 private basins and a couple of hand washing sinks. There is plenty of space and they were cleaned daily.

The shop stocks the basics and some toys and ice creams and the cafe is next door providing a relaxing environment for a cuppa while you use the wi-fi (We paid £10 for the week)

The bar upstairs is small and lovely with a pool table and the telly on. The food is reasonably prices and home cooked, I had no complaints.

We didn't see the owners at all during our stay which for me, having had some bad experiences with over bearing owners imposing rules, was just great! They had no need to either as the site was full of like-minded, civilised people.

I would completely recommend this site to anyone and if I HAD to mention anything negative, it would be something beyond the owners control - the wind! It picked up a bit at night and sounded worse than it really was due to the trees surrounding us, it really did blow though them and make some noise!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mum2kathryn 4 reviews from this member

This was our first ever camping trip (2 adults and two children (3 and 6)). I chose Rivendale as it was only about 1 hour from home, most of the reviews were positive and I fell for the pretty pictures on their website. We stayed for 2 days in the Easter hols in between the bank holidays.

Rivendale is in the southern part of the Peak District, the surrounding countryside is lovely - all stone walls surrounding lush green fields full of sheep and newborn lambs. The site itself is in a disused quarry - I did worry that it would feel a bit claustrophobic but it didn't - it had a sort of coastal feels, and the 'cliffs' look more natural than man-made. The site is a mix of tent pitches, caravans, statics, pods and a yurt. There is also a separate non-EHU camping field.

We camped on the EHU field - the area where we were was sheltered by a lightly wooded bank - I think this gave us a bit of protection from the wind, but the rustling of the trees may have made it sound more windy than it really was. The downside to this was we were in shade from mid afternoon onwards, so if you like to soak up the evening sun I'd ask to avoid pitches 1-11. All pitches are accessed via limestone roads, once the wind picks up quite a lot of dust can blow off them, and we all came back with white shoes!

The toilets, showers washing up area and playground were all situated in the centre of the site. The toilet and showerblock was very usable - clean warm, well lit and plenty of facilities - never saw anyone waiting. They are code operated (although the code lock was in the process of being replaced on the ladies while we were there). There are three large washing up sinks with drainers - I have nothing to compare it with but it seemed very civilised, and there was always plenty of hot water. The play area is fairly basic with a couple of swings, some balance beams and bridges. OK for a quick play while mum or dad washes up but won't hold their attention for too long. There is also space for ball games etc. The facilities were a bit of a walk from our pitch (especially at 3am!) and if it hadn't have been for a few empty pitches opposite ours, there wouldn't have been anywhere for the kids to play within site of our tent.

Onsite there is a small shop selling basic provisions, a cafe and a bar. We ate in the cafe twice and the food was good, the service quick and friendly. A modest full english was £5.99. One flaw we found if you want a cooked meal on site was the cafe closes at 5pm, and the bar opens at 6.30pm, so if you want to eat between those times you'll have to cook it yourself!

The website and previous reviews mention how dark it is on the site - I don't know if they've put in new lighting but there were some quite bright 'globe on a stick' type lights by the water points, at the entry to some of the hardstanding areas and by the shower block so I didn't find it that dark at all on my early morning trips to the loo with a 6 year old.

In general the site seems well run without there being an overbearing staff presence. In the EHU tent areas there was a mixture of families with young children, young couples and a few small groups. No one I wouldn't have wanted to be pitched next to. Our two nights with EHU cost about £35 (using 30% with the Mirror vouchers).

During our stay we visited Ilam Park, a National Trust property with lovely parkland, and Dovedale, a very pretty bit of river but a bit of a tourist trap. If you are a NT member and don't mind walking, park at Ilam Park and walk to Dovedale (route details in the visitor centre - 30mins walk) to save yourself the carpark charge at Dovedale.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019