Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: FionaW1971 21 reviews from this member

We stayed here for around 5 nights leading into the August Bank Holiday & had rotten weather. I'd originally booked onto the tent area but as we bought a caravan mid season we swapped to the caravan pitches. With only about 10 days to go before the bank holiday and since tents and caravans are not pitched together, I was really impressed at how they went out of their way to find us a caravan pitch at such short notice.

The site is great, the location is perfect for lovely towns such as Ashbourne, Matlock, Buxton, Matlock Bath & Bakewell. The caravan pitch sizes vary greatly and some won't take an awning so be specific about what you need. It gets a bit muddy in bad weather so bring your boots and wellies if the forecast isn't too kind. Tent field (with hook up) looked a little exposed if the weather a bit rough, but the sense of community between the tenters looked great.

The site has its own bar and restaurant which all looked good but we didn't sample any of their offerings so can't recommend but menu's looked good and the bar looked nice. There is a small shop in with the reception but it only sells a few basics, but near to the site is a small retail park with an M&S food and there's a Morrisons not too far away.

Apparently the site hires out hot tubs but we didn't see any in use whilst we were there. Toilet blocks were clean and showers hot, we never had to queue to use showers etc. They operate a coded lock presumably to keep the kids from playing in them - which seemed to work.

Overall a really nice site in a great area.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Graingerclan 6 reviews from this member

We have just spent a happy if cold weekend at Rivendale. We were in a motorhome and some friend hired a static. The pitch for our motorhome was ok but very gritty. We don't have an awning but I would imagine it would be hard work to pitch one. The tent pitches are fine. We didn't use the bar or cafe. The showers were warm and clean when I used them at 7:30 on Sunday morning. The playground was in good condition but my 10 year old wasn't very impressed with it. We cycled to Ashbourne on Saturday - downhill all the way there and uphill all the way back! The walking and cycling in the area are excellent. We will probably come back but mostly because of the location.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debbieastan 11 reviews from this member

This site is very very dark at night. It recommends taking a torch and using it. I would too. The layout and fences make this site difficult to navigate to and from the toilet blocks when its dark.

There are rocks lining the paths which are very pretty in the daylight but quite dangerous once the sun goes down. I realise restricting the lighting is the site's policy to allow you to see the night sky but please get rid of the rocks.

The site is great for tissington trail and the very beautiful dovedale valley where the kids and the dog had a brilliant time paddling in the shallow river.

The only irritating downside for this site is the annoying keycode for the toilet blocks which the kids and many of the adults struggled to remember and use. I am sure this is not completely necessary in a campsite in the middle of nowhere.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bradleypark 2 reviews from this member

We used the site for an overnight on route north, we found the site gets very messy when wet. Our triangular pitch was very small and felt cramped. The keypads for the toilets were difficult to use. The blurb recommended you 'bring a torch' we found the site to be quite well lit except where needed eg. On the slippery footpath to the bar /restaurant. On a plus point, the staff were very helpful and well organised. The bar has a 'quiet area' for adults only which worked well. Would not want to stay any longer.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chakra 5 reviews from this member

Rivendale is a nice site. The location is great as you can walk to the Tissington Trail from the site, albeit across a busy road. The spaces were adequate and it was clean and tidy. I cannot comment on the toilets/showers as we used our own. The shop was expensive and not well stocked and we did not visit the pub/restaurant. There was a play area which the children visited but it was not very big. We had a fantastic time with our children. We cycled every day and enjoyed the outdoors. Very near to Ashbourne which has a leisure centre with pool.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lparker088 2 reviews from this member

We stayed from Mon 16th - Fri 20th August on the wildflower meadow and found the campsite very pleasant.

It was a beautiful area, the facilities were fantastic. There was plenty of hot water for washing up and showering, the toilets were clean even though the floor was muddy but hey it had been raining, and we are camping so what do you expect!?

The bar/restaurant was extremely cosy, very friendly staff and the prices were the same as home if not cheaper! we used the cafe once but it had excellent food and a nice variety of foods.

The staff were fantastic and did their best to make sure we enjoyed our stay, we had a noisy neighbour but after it was reported to staff this was soon sorted out.

The park came in handy as we had 3 young children in our party, even though it was only small, the children thoroughly enjoyed it a nd played for hours.

There are various walks to do and the area has beautiful scenery, there are also 2 buses for any trips further out, very friendly drivers and very cheap fares too.

We would definitely return to this site with or without children as it suits either sorts of party. It is inexpensive and we had great fun.

I'd say you get what you pay for but we definitely got more!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tricia16 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights,pitch size was fab, our tent is 7m x3m with plenty of room either side for our trailer.

Toilets were kept clean at all times, play park for the kids was busy. Pub on site serving really good meals even allowed in with dogs, there is a small snug at the back of the pub for adults only.

Downstairs from the pub is a cafe/restaurant, never used it so cant comment, but always seemed busy.

Shop/reception staff were very helpful, our cooker was faulty and the maintenance guy gave us his tool box to try and fix it.

About a 10 minute drive into main towns with the usual precinct and shops, did not do much sight seeing as only came to this site to take kids to Alton Towers,

All in all a great site and would recommend to anyone, well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kel2010 1 review from this member

We visited this camp site on the 10th August and stayed two days, we was pitched in the meadow which was quite big. The camp was busy with people arriving and going. The walks were fantastic, being in the meadow meant we had to use the trailer bathrooms which were more than adequate. There were hot showers available and the bathrooms were clean. The Rivenside site itself was huge covering pitches, caravans & holiday homes. There was also a pub which was lovely in the evening to relax after the long walks during the day. There was a shop which stocked water and a selection of food, there was a cafe which did a nice choice of food, although the breakfast time was only for 1 hour (9am-10am). All in All a nice campsite and being our first time camping we wanted it to be a good experience for all and it was.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Limadoca 2 reviews from this member

Our pitch was a great size and we had lots of room for our Outwell 8 berth tent with lots of space to spread out too.

The site is in an excellent location to explore the countryside and particularly Dovedale and the stepping stones!

The downside to this site is there are only 2 sinks for washing up and every time we used them there was no hot water.

During our stay we never witnessed the toilet blocks being cleaned and they were quite dirty by Saturday night. The staff were very friendly but we only ever saw anyone when checking in and out two days later.

As this site gets busy during the weekends there should be a warden as some people were quite loud and letting their children run all around our tent. It was worrying for us as we have a very jumpy puppy!

I don't think we would choose to stay here again as it is quite expensive compared to some other fantastic sites we have stayed at which were a lot cheaper.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derm90 1 review from this member

Stayed here with my two sons aged 13 & 11 and we really enjoyed it. The dry weather helped and this is right in the middle of a beautiful area. The staff were really helpful and friendly; we seemed to be asking for things all the time! The site is quite remote and the on site shop is limited in what it sells so either bring your provisions or be prepared to travel a bit to any decent shops (Ashbourne is nearest).

The site is one of two halves; the upper is beautifully laid out with well manicured grass areas and very good shower, toilets and laundry facilities. We stayed in the other half which was ideal for us as we wanted simple, no frills camping and the ability to have a campfire. Our pitch was as big as we wanted it to be and was well away from anyone else even though it was quite busy at the time. The toilets, showers and washing up areas were very basic (not a problem for us boys but I'm not sure my more selective 16 year old daughter would approve!)but there was always plenty of hot water when we used them. A few more sinks in the toilet & dish washing area would have been helpful as we had a bit of wait some times.

I thought it was bit expensive for what it was, but apart from that I really couldn't fault it. Ideal for a break with boys the same age as mine.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7892 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019