Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: *sue* 3 reviews from this member

First visit to this site, we went due to good reviews on here.

Only stayed 2 nights. Very lucky with the weather as it was truly lovely. We booked the meadow as main field booked up, but will go on the meadow in future as could not fault a thing. They don't pack people on there and thay allow fire pits.

Nice pub on site, cafe and shop. But not too busy as so spread out.

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coolmum63 2 reviews from this member

Our first visit to Rivendale, this was a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and ever so helpful, and most helpful when we had car problems. The facilities on site were first class, the changing of the convenience code at lunch-time Wednesday caused a little desperation lol. Don't believe all about the total darkness we found a lot of light pollution from the low level lighting. The campsite is based in the Dove Dale area of Derbyshire and it is one of the most beautiful areas in Britain. Local towns and villages are very picturesque, very welcoming, lovely friendly people. On the whole a return visit is on the cards

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robertsc 5 reviews from this member

Nice site, very sheltered located in a disused quarry. We did not need rock pegs as some have found. Found it a little cramped as we have a large tent.

Have the same gripes as other reviewers, washing up facilities not adequate and no hot water for most of the day.

We also found the campsite office staff to be real jobsworths, which annoys me, one of our party wanted to put up a pup tent for his 10 year old to sleep in and they put a quick stop to it, citing fire regs.

Great play area for the kids.

If your not to bothered about hot water and queueing to washing up, this is a really good site, excellently located.

We'll use it again as we only live 30 mins away and love that side of the peaks.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henshawcapes 13 reviews from this member

We visited Rivendale over Easter and have mixed views of the site to be honest.

Pros:

•Their desire to be ecofriendly is commendable – the site is recycling on a grand scale as the old quarry has provided a spectacular backdrop to the site

•The toilet block is clean and despite an issue with the hot water one morning, the staff quickly fixed the problem and kept everyone informed of what they were doing to rectify the problem

•The Tissington Trail is just over the road – we had some fantastic bike rides and the trip to Tissington Village is recommended

•The low lighting resulted in some fantastic views of the stars

•The play park is fine for little ones – it is well maintained

Cons:

•We booked a full serviced pitch but these were ridiculously narrow – half the porch awning was over the grass and it quickly became a soggy mess

•Some of the pitches seem very wide with hedges around them – great if you get one of these. However, some seem to be taken by seasonal pitches which limits the availability evidently

•They insisted we put the caravan onto the site nose-first. This is fine if you have a mover but the wife and I struggled without one

•Being an old quarry, the site becomes a sticky mess when wet and the kids and dog walked it into the caravan

•The dog walk is at the entrance to the site so it is quite a trek although the walk over the field is worth it once you get there

•The kids used the central grassed area by the toilet block to play football – our van got hit twice

We would not be going back – it is in fantastic setting and the rocks on the quarry walls are amazing in bright sunshine. Once it rains though, the place becomes very puddly and messy.

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buzzahole 13 reviews from this member

First outing of 2010 and it was no disappointment. The site was excellent with a superb, sun-trap backdrop of a quarry. The facilities were first rate with immaculate toilet blocks and a site that seemed to keep a 120 pitches very personable. The pitch size is huge and plenty of space for the largest of tourers but the ground was quite hard (could be the sub-zero temperatures!). A bar, cafe / restaurant and a location 100m from the Tissington trail means plenty to see and do.

The only criticism was that the camp site roads and pitches were made up of a chalky hardcore and thus stuck to shoes (and dogs!) which then trailed into the caravan.

On the whole though a great place to go and we will certainly be back!

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shaung 10 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, I took the two eldest boys away for 4 days in the motorhome, the people could not do enough to help. All facilities were A1. Tressington Trail just opposite the site was great for geocaching and cycling etc. Will visit again and would recommend. Easy access to Dovedale and just over 6 miles north from Ashbourne. We had friend that made a last minute decision to join us and they rented one of Rivendales camping pods, they also had a great break.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Steve McV 21 reviews from this member

This is a superb site with excellent facilities. Not cheap, but good value. Pitches are spacious, though narrow. We appreciated the hedgerows on the caravan park, as well as its wind free location in a former quarry. It was very windy when we were there. There are two large open camping fields also, one of these is a very long way away from the toilets. The site rents out Mongolian Yurts, again these are very distant from the toilets & other campers. This I'd guess is due to their log fires.

The advertised hot tub was we were told 'unavailable'. It stood near the entrance looking very much disused. Toilets are well equipped & clean (some mould on the ceilings). There is a spacious, well equipped children's play area.

The shop is well supplied. In the same building is a cafe serving cooked breakfasts through to evening meals. Upstairs is a small pub. The food was basic pub grub. Mildly disappointed that there was no real ale on tap!

Nearby there is a good cycling trail as well as many miles of walks. Ashbourne is a good town to visit. We had a great day at Matlock & the Heights of Abraham. Alton towers is about half an hours drive.

Certainly worth a visit.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CHRISALIZ 14 reviews from this member

Spent a wonderfully sunny weekend here. Unfortunately we booked at rather last minute and were given a large plot used for motorhomes overlooking the tent field. For some reason it was rather smelly, possibly due to the drain on the pitch. The tent fraternity had a wonderful time, quite noisy at times. Ask to be pitched towards the rear of the site where it is far more quiet. Lovely site tho when the tents have gone. Dovedale beautiful, Tissington Trail well worth a walk/cycle.

Down sides:

Lots of owners with dogs who don't clear up after their pets.

Showers - largish but for some reason the female occupants don't seem to clean up after themselves and some of the toilets left much to be desired. Do they treat their own toilets at home the same??? I feel sorry for the people who have to clean these.

Kids play area rather boring.

Seems to be under a flight path.

Good points;

Fantastic night scenery looking at the stars.

Good central point for some of the Peak Districts beautiful sights.

Bril when the tenters went home.

Pleasant staff.

Would we visit again, possibly if we could get a rear pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Watermonkey 11 reviews from this member

A family site just off the A50, this site is really easy to get to. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and there's plenty to do.

We had a rather unfortunate time at this site. When the heavens open round here, they really appear to open. So we got our campervan stuck.

The campsite is set into 2 rally fields and a main site. Although we didn't explore the main area too much, it appeared to have lots of hard standing and plenty of facilities including an on-site pub.

The facilities were OK, if a little smelly but whilst the showers looked a little odd, they worked very well.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyn C 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Rivendale and had a wonderful time with lovely views and friendly staff.

Checking in was simple and we were given a map with our pitch highlighted and told where the shower block and toilets were.

The ground was uneven but it didn't cause us any problems and the pitches were quite well spaced out - we didn't feel too close to the neighbours as we have done on other sites.

Ate in the bar/restaurant and although nothing special on the menu, we enjoyed the food and it wasn't overly expensive. We were also pleased that we could take our dog in with us in certain areas.

The toilets and showers are accessed via a coded door and were spotless and warm.

Would recommend this site and will definitely be returning!

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019