Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt+Hayley 3 reviews from this member

We were both really looking forward to going away this year, so we went to Derbyshire as we'd been two years ago and thought we'd try someone else. Hence finding Rivendale!

Upon arriving, appearances were good, it looked a lovely site, nicely spaced out etc,staff seemed nice. We went the last week of the season so the site was a lot less vacant.

We were instructed were our site was and where the facilities were. After nearly having a heart attack at the distance of how far away from them our pitch was, we were told not to worry, it wasn't as far as it looked.

The ground is hard which we'd anticipated and quite uneven, which we hadn't. Whether that was due to it being late in the season or not levelled correctly, we have no idea?!

Got set up etc and went to inspect the facilities. We wasn't overly impressed. The showers/toilets smelt awful. We understand it is expensive to re-furb these, but they could've tried.

The playground looked good for children (we have none!).

We didn't use the shop because we couldn't work out when it was open. We did use the pub/restaurant the one night it was open (tuesday only) and had food. It was good. Nice and quick service.

We had a loud, disruptful pitch next to us who were making racket till 11.30pm-12.00am so we complained about them and the problem was resolved the following night which we were extremely grateful about!

We stayed on Bindlebode Wood which was for tents etc. It was the furthest away from the facilities which we thought strange! All the caravans/tourers etc have stuff on them, so why are they put right next to all the facilities??! Its too far to trek in the middle of the night when you need the loo!

The barrier was still up at 9am on the one morning we had planned to leave early. When your site seeing, you want to be up and out early as poss for more time! We fitted along side the gap luckily so we were fine. But why its up until 9 is silly!

The site is in a good area if you want to see places (Dovedale, Chatsworth, Matlock, Bakewell, Buxton, Alton Towers etc).

Overall we had a good break away but it could've been better. The cost of pitch was fine but the facilities, or lack of, was not. The road is noisy nearby, but cotton wool in our ears solved that!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caroline_on_hol 2 reviews from this member

Easy to find campsite on the edge of the peak district (but definitely IN the peak district), very well laid out campsite, well organised space in an old quarry site - the edges of which provided wind shelter for those not 'wild'. I must admit I loved the space and natural beauty of the quarry edges.

Friendly and helpful person on the end of the phone when booking, and after short discussion we decided the 'Wild Camping' was for us. And indeed it was!

Low lit lights meant a warmly glow in the evenings, and definitely required torches.

We didn't have children in our party of two, but there were plenty running around and enjoying the area for them near the shower blocks and cycling around the edges of the campsite.

Shower blocks required codes which are changed regularly ensuring kids not running in and out all day and night, pleasant block but no special extras. Tokens for hairdriers (don't forget to buy them before the shop closes though). Plenty of toilets and washing areas all kept to a clean standard.

On site bar 'the prancing horse' very cosy and inviting, perfect for a few before turning in, set in a lovely converted barn.

Nearest pub quite a way - definitely not wobbling distance home, so on-site bar welcome.

Shop provided the necessary goodies you might need or have forgotten (including beer), reception area had everything else covered, maps, guide books etc.

The 'Wild Camping' was on the edge of the quarry, with no electrity or lighting, with by far the most exceptional views. If you have a 2 or 3 man tent, want a fire and views across the neighbouring farmland then this is definitely the place to be, what a treat. It was probably a few minutes walk to the block in the middle of the campsite; so be organised. But totally worth being there, no-one else had a view like we did.

We could still manage to park cars not more than 50 yards away from the tent, so not 'wild' in the remote sense, but definitely not in the middle of the other tents. Nearest neighbour was the big white permanent tent that is rented out with no electricity and great for family (family of 6 in there when we visited). Also slightly out on our limb with us, also another 'wild camp', this one without the terrific views though. So try and pick the top spot!

Recommended, and there will be only one place to pitch if we go back.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camperlj 1 review from this member

We enjoyed out our recent stay here at Rivendale, and would recommend it to others. Our only issue was that when the main pitching area had emptied out and there was only 4 tents quite evenly spaced out, new campers were pitched right beside us even though there was plenty of room for them to have been pitched elsewhere. The spaces are cramped and it would have been better for everyone if the site had decided to space tents out better.

Also it was not until we were there that we found that you can not use your own hairdryer - you have to buy tokens at 30p a go to use 2 in the ladies toilets. Also £2.50 for washing machine token and £2.00 for dryer token. The site was quite so we had no problem using the facilities but I imagine that only one washing machine and one dryer for a site so large could cause problems at peak times.

But we did have a good stay - and these faults do not detract from that.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SunnyDayLucy 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Rivendale for a friends birthday celebration for 2 nights in the middle of August. There were 4 families which included 9 children under 8 years old.

I booked about 4 weeks in advance as there were quite a few of us and I wanted us to be able to be pitched together. We also wanted a fire so booked onto the camping meadow. When we booked the owner taking the booking was very clear that we understood the more 'basic' facilities on the meadow.

The facilities were basic but this was again confirmed with us on arrival (I am assuming that they have had a few complaints!) but they were clean, 3 toilets and 2 showers for women and I assume the same for men! Pot washing with plenty of hot water.

You are allowed to camp anywhere on the meadow and luckily we did arrive early and were able to pitch together but don't think this would have happened if we arrived later as it did get busy.

We pitched at the far end which was quite near the main road and the road noise was loud in the early mornings.

We did enquire about renting a fire pit as was stated on the website but there didn't seem to be any but the owner did find us a very old large BBQ which we used instead.

Didn't use any other facilities apart from kids playground which was disappointing, only one swing.

The main site is very well kept and is very sheltered due to being in a quarry.

We went to Carsington Water for one day and that is fantastic for walking and has a brilliant adventure playground.Well worth it for a day out. Ashbourne and Buxton are both also near enough for day visits (and supermarkets!)

We had a great time and would visit again but probably wouldn't pitch near the road next time!

The staff seemed very friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Site Owner

I would just like to add some info. In response to the later reviews that might help.

Thank you for the constructive criticism. Our site generally drains very well - but this July brought record rainfall. Our staff forked pitches over and laid stone into the Camping Meadow entrance - but nothing could prevent mud in the conditions.

The Camping meadow is a protected Wild Flower meadow; it cannot be mowed or grazed much before the end of July to allow the orchids cow-slips etc to re-seed. However, we cut it in August with the mower on max. Height because longer grass stands up to traffic better in the wet. With rgerad to Beatty's complaint about the shower, the problem was she had not pulled the ceiling pull cord to switch the power on as it is electric. Not her fault - some one had thrown the sign away telling people how to switch them on. Our apologies to her regarding the door - which had swollen in the rain!

The barriers are there to stop caravan theft. Most cars fit between the bollards driven with reasonable care incl. Our landrover, L200 pick up, audi etc - so people in just a car can come and go as they please - except Touaregs, Cayennes & some large people carriers won't. It is up to clients to judge their own driving skills.

Late arrivals can get their pitch details from the bar until 10.30 p.M. If they have pre-booked & paid. The bar is open all week bar Thursday in our high season.

The pitches in the main pitching area have been mown, hedges trimmed etc - weather permitting - e.G not as often as we would have wished this year. Pitches in the main pitching area are mostly 30' + wide x 43' long. On the Camping Meadow they can be any size - within reason.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tiddles2408 3 reviews from this member

Nice sight. Very friendly at reception. Good size pitch and not too far from toilet block and showers which had good hot showers and only had to wait once for during the 8 day stay. Code needed for entry and changed mid week. Had food at bar and was nice but pricey would have liked vegetables with pie and stew.

Very close to Tissington Trail which is a lovely downhill ride to Ashbourne but not so easy uphill ride back. Very well located for touring the area. My only disappointing thing is that the site was noisy at night due to a group opposite us, this could just have been very bad luck. Also not huge amount of stock in on site shop.

Overall would recommend this sight and this area. Beautiful countryside and close to Dovedale for a nice evening walk.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ela1 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here from the sunday of August bank holiday weekend had booked 3 nights and stayed only 2.

On arrival we were taken aback at the volume of tents squeezed into the area, it appeared some pitches had less than 2 metres between each other. We found the site noisy in the tent area, possibly people not realising they have no brick wall between the neighbours: I spoke to some people who were caravanning who enjoyed their stay.

We also felt, due to the bad weather, the site mucky and the toilets had not been cleaned in the time we were there: the same mess in the same places.

I feel the site is better suited to carvans than tent campers.

The area surrounding the site is quite beautiful and will revisit Derbyshire again

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bob Memery 4 reviews from this member

Back after a week stay here. Arrived on time and given map of site to find pitch, which are well signed and cleared demarcated, but not really an adequate size for the tents we had informed them about in February, but squeezed them on. Site helper forked the ground where rain puddles had formed, but we didn't see him or the fork again on a week of fairly persistent rain.

As stated elsewhere, one block to the top end of the site is the showers, toilet and washing up area; 4 showers in each side and 3 washing up sinks not really enough for a site this size (and a proper 5 minute walk from the tented area, again a layout problem. Site appears tranquil but is marred by road noise from the Buxton-Ashbourne main road. Pub and restaurant facilities are welcome, but no local tap ales.

Handy for a lot of west Derbyshire sights such as Buxton.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen_1 2 reviews from this member

Camped at Rivendale over the August Bank Holiday weekend with a group of friends (3 pitches) and although the weather wasn’t the best, the pitches were terrible! To say we paid over £20 pn for a serviced pitch there was pretty much just clay areas with a tuft of grass here and there AND POOLS OF WATER! (we had to get some mats from town to make a path leading to our tents as was flooded!)

The shower blocks were clean and nice, even though you needed a code to enter (why I don't know!)

The bar itself was a nice looking building but due to the weather was full. We were there with 3 young children and a dog and there was a small family room which catered for all, another room for Adults and dogs only, and a further room for children and adults but NO dogs so were stuck.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beatty 2 reviews from this member

I was fully aware that The Meadow was a 'no frills' campsite - as stated on the website . But you would expect that both showers would be working.Only one was. And that it would be nice that the door leading into the shower portacabin could actually shut (therefore giving you some much needed privacy whilst leaning out of the shower to grab your towel from the quite-far-away hook. As my lovely friend so rightly put it.'I'm 40! I don't need to be flashing my bits for all to see!'). Also the owners have very rightly posted on the door that it should be kept closed at all times. I assume to keep flying bugs out etc. But as I said the door didn't actually shut so there were plenty of bugs to see!. It was incredibly muddy so it didn't help matters.

The mud. This is just sods law that we arrived after a couple of days of torrential rain! and the owners cannot be held to blame for that. However it would have been helpful if they had put grit/straw/sand down. We had a few hairy moments. Luckily the hubby (being a farm boy) has driven over many a muddy field and manage to navigate his way through the quagmire. A plus point - other campers informed us that if you did get stuck a tractor would come and pull you out as it had been doing this in previous days.

As Postbarney has mentioned in his review the grass in the meadow is still overgrown and very prickly!

This review is only based on The Meadow. I have no idea what the main pitch was like (though my friends did wander over to have a nosey and mentioned that all the pitches were very close together as it was chokka!) so one advantage of being in the meadow is that it was noise free as regards to other campers , the kids could tear around without bothering the ‘neighbours’ as there were only a few other tents . The view was also very lovely!

However it was not noise free re: the road traffic noise. I should have used Google Maps to check the location as the non muddy area where we pitched in, The Meadow, was located right next to the A515. The trucks and lorries were ground rumbling. And even more deafening in the middle of the night.

I cannot verify whether the toilets in the main pitching were lovely and warm and spotless as I never had the pleasure. Meadow campers weren’t allowed to use them. We did not have the code! I was aware of this before booking but it would have been nice if the owners had allowed us to use the main blocks once we informed them that only one shower in the ladies was working.

All in all I was very disappointed as I was sooo looking forward to a camping trip with the kiddies. And although the weather could be blamed for the mud . The overgrown cornfield, non working showers were just a little too much to make this a campsite I would return to. It’s a shame as there have been many positive reviews on this campsite but unfortunately the Gods were not looking down on us and thus camping at Rivendale for us was not such a positive experience.

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7704 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019