Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Thellanwnog4 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here from Thursday until Tuesday as were off to the RIAT at Fairford on the Saturday and wanted a site not too far away.

We booked a 4 person pod as thought it would be easier than putting up a large tent just for a weekend and there wasn't much difference in costing between a pod and a pitch.

On the plus side I am glad I didn't take a tent as when we arrived it was extremely windy and people were struggling with tents. On the down side, the pod was small and we were cramped in there. We had a double airbed and 2 singles and you had no storage room, everything else had to be left in the car. Each morning we had to deflate the airbeds so we could put table and chairs in there. They do have a 6 person pod but even that didn't look much bigger.

Anyway, onto the site review.

Very welcoming on arrival, sorted out key, wifi card and gate access card quickly (Paid 10 deposit for these). You can order your papers / milk / bread / croissants etc for each morning.

Very well laid out site but also very open so when it is windy you know about it.

Good playgrounds for the kids, good football pitch, good under cover games room, good walks around the site with farm animals to look at including a very vocal donkey!

Plenty of toilets and showers. A family shower room and family bathroom (50p for water for a bath). A microwave and veg prep area for guests to use and also a freezer for ice packs. A normal laundry room with washing machine / dryer / ironing board etc.

Decent washing up areas. Nice touch was each sink had a plastic draining rack. By the time we left on the Tuesday, 3 had disappeared.

Bad points.

We used the family showers with my 4yr old and the water was scalding hot even my 12yr old said he got burnt. Hubby tried them out the following morning and he also got burnt. Mentioned to reception and they were supposed to sort it out but the next time we used them it was still fairly hot.

The showers are the silly push button type (as they have in the sports centres). You have to try and wash and press the button at the same time. They only stayed on for a few seconds at a time. Difficult when you have a head full of shampoo and are trying to find the push button.

Speed of traffic around the park. There is meant to be a 10mph speed limit but hardly anyone keeps to this including a member of staff who was driving around on his little truck and then proceeded to do doughnuts on the football pitch. One night a bloke nearly got run over by a car and there was an all out row in the middle of the park and 2 other blokes had to pull this guy off as he was about to hit him. If that had been a child, they would have been run over.

The pods are all fenced in to make it private but we had children climbing the fence to do the short cut through to the football pitch and walks. Got fed up telling them off.

There was nobody from the site coming around checking on things, i.E children playing ball around the tents when they are not meant to and we had to tell them the Elsan point was blocked and stinking to high heaven. We reported it on the 2nd day and they were not aware of this.

It is a nice site, very well laid out and a good location for visiting the cotswolds. We went by train from Charlbury to Oxford for the day on the monday and it only took 20mins. With a family rail card it only cost us 7.60 return for all 4 of us plus parking at the station.

We will go back I'm sure with a tent next time. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs Frod 2 reviews from this member

 We've recently spent a weekend at this campsite.

Positives:

Lots of hot water, clean showers and toilets - never had to queue for these, despite being very busy;

Well stocked shop including fresh bread and hot croissants as well as newspapers - if ordered in advance;

Lots for children to do - with a games rooms, chess and draughts, two play areas, tennis court and a few animals;

Generally quiet after about 11pm;

Negatives:

We booked in advance and were asked whether we would like a plot by one of the play areas, which we accepted (and told our children). When we arrived, it emerged that we had been booked as a tent on a hardstanding pitch, and that they were full for the weekend. As a result we were squeezed onto a small (grass) plot on the other side of a hedge to the reception area and far out of sight of either play area leading to great disappointment all round. The plot was also noisy with cars parked up/ came in and there is a children's ride outside reception which made intermittent sounds all night. Generally, not a relaxing experience!

Overall I think that it was bad luck that there had been a mess made of our booking, but might be worth double checking when you book that you have been allocated the right type of pitch.

There was radio coming over loudspeakers in the showers/toilet areas;

Quite pricey;

They have cockerels!

Generally, this just wasn't our kind of site - it is quite commercial with lots of bustle, not peaceful and whilst there are some lovely big plots, there are also small, noisy and cramped ones (these seem to be the plots in the field prefixed with 'R'). We had hoped to unwind and spend quite a lot of time on site whilst the children played, but instead couldn't wait to get away for the day. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lee.smitten 11 reviews from this member

 We have just spent our second weekend here and thought we would leave another review during a busy summer weekend.

We arrived early Friday morning for 2 nights and our check in was quick and easy.

We booked last minute and got the last few pitches on this very large campsite but we still had a great pitch with plenty of room even after we put the awning and kids paddling pool up.

The campsite had a great feel to it and even though the site was packed we had no problems with getting a free shower / toilet in the mornings.

The weather was great and so the campsite was buzzing with family and friends playing games and cooking outdoors but the site is perfect for kids, 2 playgrounds, games room, skittles, toddler cars and bikes, open area with goal posts, plenty of forest for hide and seek and even farm yard animals that you can interact with.

Camp shop is small but sells most things and if not then Co-op is a 2 min drive or 20 min walk through the countryside road/paths.

Plenty of water points and the site promotes recycling stations more than rubbish stations.

The best site I have been so far and we will be back again and again.

A little more pricey than some sites but worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Morgankaz77 7 reviews from this member

 Spent a busy Saturday night here, having booked at late notice, although full being the end of half term it was not unpleasantly busy. Lots of children and quite noisy until 10pm+, only to be expected on a beautiful warm evening.

Lots for the kids to do including 2 parks, football field and resident animals. Short walk into Charlbury to shop and pubs.

Toilet and shower facilities very good and clean, small but well stocked shop. Fab break and we're going back again shortly! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmaneilosian 7 reviews from this member

 What a find! We discovered this site by happy accident while looking for a one night stay not too far from home to test out our new tent.

It really is a great little site in a lovely quiet spot with nice pitches and a brilliant (and free) toilet and shower block. Tonnes of hot water, family rooms, bath, hairdryers - the works!

It was very quiet while we were there so I am not sure how it would fare in peak season (being quite small) but the on site facilities were spotless and EHU + wifi a real bonus.

We were pitched on a very spacious plot overlooking the children's play area which was handy for our 4 yr old. Pitches are separated by low hedging and woodland and the site seems very safe.

On site farm which was a hit with our little boy, decent walk into Charlbury which is pretty teeny but has a couple of pubs, a huge play area and a Co-op among other things.

Owner super helpful when a) we didn't have a hook up cable - he let us borrow his for free in the end and b) the battery died on our car which lead to him coming to our aid in an ancient landrover and armed with jumper leads! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brad4chelsea 3 reviews from this member

 We booked here for the kids half term break.

We wanted a bit of a chill out week and that's exactly what we got. Although when we arrived and began to pitch the tent, the heavens opened and made the task extremely difficult. It didn't help that the ground beneath the turf was very stony and bent almost every peg I tried to hammer in.

The site itself was very good, the toilet and shower facilities were excellent with lots of hot water and cleaned on a regular basis. There were lots of children as you would expect during half term and they let you know that they were there, they made great use of the play area and the games room and lots of them were riding bikes around the whole site which I thought was a little dangerous.

My 11 year old son took great pleasure in beating me at a game on the giant garden chess board, although I got my own back on the tennis court. At 11'o clock you could hear a pin drop. The free wi-fi coverage was brilliant as the boys video skyped their friends from the tent in the evenings.

We had a lovely time here and would definitely return in the future! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lee.smitten 11 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site this is.

We arrived for a 2 night stay in May and we had a great time at this site.

Great pitches with well kept grass areas.

Our pitch backed onto the kids playpark which was handy for our little girl.

Shower block was clean and tidy and plenty of cubicles and sinks.

The site had its own farm yard animals that were all friendly and our little one loved it.

Plenty of walks around the site into the forest area and also a walk into the nearby village.

The area is lovely and its one of the best sites we have stayed at so far and we are booked to go back again in June.

Wifi coverage is good although the speeds are poor (I was on call so needed it, but not really important if on a break)

On-site show sold man things including fresh bread and pastries in the morning)

Fantastic site, highly recommended 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lightwood 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 2 day visit at this fantastic site. We wanted to visit the area and from previous reviews it hit the mark. Everything about this site is good. From the friendly staff, clean facilities, great play areas for the kids, fresh croissants cooked on the premisis and large pitches.

Dogs are allowed if controlled and there is a walking area et aside as well. Stroll around the farm area. Nice walk to local village where there are 2 pubs at least and only 5 mins away along a safe path, one of which is a CAMRA award winner. Would recommend and will be going back ! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil173010 5 reviews from this member

 Used this site for a short break during May half term. We were lucky enough to get on at fairly short notice and really pleased we did. The site was busy and as you'd expect during school holiday there were lots of children about - with lot's for them to do. A number of playgrounds, games, walks, as well as the farm animals kept us all entertained. The shop is small but has all the essentials (as well as fresh croissants!).

Toilets were clean with plenty of hot water and all other facilities were of a high standard.

In fact we enjoyed it so much we've booked to go back for a longer stay in the summer 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lhqrxh1 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site on a very busy May bank holiday weekend. This site was the only place that we could get in to with electric hook up. I read the reviews on this site and thought that it sounded like a great site.

Good Points

1. The toilets/showers were clean and they consistently had hot water - I was concerned about the amount of showers (4 in the woman's block I used, there was another block) but this was unfounded as I did not have to queue once. There was the free use of a hairdryer and there were also cubicles just with sinks in.

2. The shop was well stocked - they provide a newspaper ordering facility, so if you like the day's news with your breakfast you should take advantage of this. They also cook their own bread on site including croissants and pain au chocolat.

3. The children's facilities - whilst my partner and I don't have children we could appreciate that children (young or older) would love this site - there is a games shelter (complete with pool table, table tennis and a few other things), 2 play grounds, a football area, a tennis court and skittle alley. The site also don't appear to object to children riding their bikes around site.

4. The washing up areas (2 blocks) - these were under cover - there was either 5 or 6 sinks, so again no queuing. There were drying racks to use if you felt the need to and again an ample supply of hot water.

5. The other facilities such as family bathroom, a disabled bathroom, vegetable preparation area, laundry room and a big chest freezer to put your freezer blocks in (although someone did walk off with our bag of blocks - a risk I think you have to be prepared to take).

6. Each pitch had access to EHU.

7. Recycling and bins - there was a big area for recycling where each bin was clearly marked and then another area for other general waste (these were emptied every day).

The not so good points

1. Whilst not the site or owners fault we found that the washing up area was always left in a very dirty state with food being left in the plug hole.

2. As it was a bank holiday weekend the site was full and it felt like we were a bit penned in - however this was probably more to do with the pitch we were given (L12 - not to be recommended) as it was right next to the games shelter and the driveway. We also seemed to be surrounded by numerous groups of people despite the terms and conditions stating they do not accept groups.

3. Again whilst this was probably more to do with it being a bank holiday I wouldn't recommend this site if you wanted to 'get away from it all' - there were still children running around and screaming between 10 and 11 at night - obviously again this is not the site or owners fault.

4. When booking the site you have to pay in full 28 days before your arrival date - whilst I did not object to this it is not something I have come across before and was amazed at the comprehensive cancellation policy. I guess it is a good way of deterring people from cancelling if the weather is bad, but I do wonder if they would be lenient if there was a genuine reason for cancellation.

Charlbury is a 15 minute walk away - there is a route that you can use to avoid most of the main road. There is a well stocked Co-op here and a couple of pubs (which we did not visit so cannot comment on). There are many footpaths around the area and wonderful views so if you like walking this is a good area to come to.

I think it would be nice to visit this site again when it was not so busy, as I think it would probably be completely different, but unfortunately we will not be visiting again. That being said I think that if you have got children, particularly older ones, then this is probably a great site to come to. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement