Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 53 reviews from this member

 Pitches are of good size and the site is nicely hedged, leaving good views from caravan/motorhome windows. The pitch layout is relatively open but the depth of the pitches leaves adequate privacy. The ‘shop’ in the office appeared to carry most of life’s essentials and offered fresh bakery items to be ordered for breakfast. There are adequate facilities, but………….

Regrettably the site is showing serious signs of neglect – the ladies’ showers had some corroded fittings and the curtains looked stained and uncared-for. We were given a pitch number on arrival and were told where the water taps were located. We drove to the point nearest to our pitch, which had two taps, only one of which had a threaded fitting for a standard hose connector. I connected to that and was about to start filling our tank when my wife (who is somewhat shorter than me) noticed a sign over the tap which is concealed from taller people by a drooping bush. The sign read “Waste water”, and the tap next to it, without a fitting, had “Drinking water” above it. As we couldn’t understand why ‘waste water’ should come through a tap my wife went back to the office to enquire. She was told in a rather abrupt manner that it’s not really suitable for drinking, but what it was wasn’t known. Surely if this water is not potable it should be very clearly marked as such and possibly not located together with a drinking water tap. We used a canister to get water from the tap marked drinking water. The next morning we asked the different member of staff in the office about the 'waste water' tap and the sign, and she didn’t know of the existence of the different taps, and didn’t seem to care about the poor signage either.

Both members of staff we encountered seemed very indifferent to guests, and smiles were nowhere to be seen. No information, verbal or written, was offered on any of the site’s facilities or the surrounding area. We took our lives in our hands and walked down the narrow lane to Charlbury in the evening, sharing it with boy-racers clearly in a great hurry to get to and from the pub. On our return we found a beautiful pathway within the site alongside the road which would have spared us this anxiety for about a third of the way. When we commented that it would be nice if campers were given some information on this route the response was ‘well, you could have found it on the internet’!

This could be a good site once maintenance is improved, something is done about the water issue and staff attitudes are improved. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sulla 7 reviews from this member

 Loved this site! Good space between pitches although not marked out. Water and bins close. Really good dog walking trails adjacent. We had electric which was great. No fire pits which would have made this 10/10. Walking distance to Charlbury and pubs. Beer festival on when we were there which was fab! Maybe consider site or local walks map for free. Washrooms decent but not luxury.

All in all a great site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Izzytilly 2 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say, I love this site and have been twice now and stayed on different parts of the park, with a 3rd visit booked already. The staff are very accommodating and helpful at all times.

The site itself is well looked after and clean. It is a very family friendly site and at all times we have never suffered with not getting a good nights sleep, no noise experienced.

The facilities on site are good and I have never queued for a shower or toilet, even when the park is nearly full.

The pitches are one of the best sizes we have been on, we have a large tent and can still park two cars on it as well.

The site is also very dog friendly with some great walks around the site and also open fields down to Charlbury.

I would highly recommend this site as one to visit if looking for a quiet, family friendly, dog friendly site. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ashby30 2 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite!

We stayed here for Spring bank holiday for a family reunion and the campsite managed to pitch us all together. The pitches are well thought out so you don't feel on top of other people.

We had no need to leave the site as it is equiped with woodland walks, farm animals, play areas, a football pitch, tennis courts and a great shop.

The site was friendly and well kept and we will be back.

As I stayed in a caravan I can't comment on the toilet blocks but will say that my cousins said the showers were great. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SherylWarwick 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed with a group of friends over the May Day bank holiday. The owners very helpful and managed to put us on three pitches together.

No problem on arrival and we were told that we could site our caravan any way we liked meaning that the middle caravan in our group was able to go on side ways, creating a ' u' shape which was lovely.

Lovely playgrounds for the children and they really enjoyed the nature walk, fitness equipment and animals.

Two small negatives of this site:

1) the showers were too hot and powerful even for my 11 year old daughter. There no way of controlling the temperature and everything got soaked as the water blasted through the rather useless shower curtain.

2) the bathrooms themselves were a little tired and would benefit from a little updating.

We had some problems with some very rowdy older teenagers one night running screaming through our pitches at 11pm but then that the parents fault and not the sites.

This is the second time we have visited and will definitely go again. Hopefully the issue of the showers will be looked at. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 4beginners 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site set in the edge of the costwolds. Games room with pool, table tennis, table football and air hockey, kids loved it. 2 park areas and lovely woods to walk in. Clean and tidy, shop ok with bread baked to order.

The showers let it down though. We too had the problem that they are just too powerful, blow out the curtain and soak everything. Now I know why I had the place to myself when I went in!

There's a Co-op in Charlbury which is handy, and a pub which we didn't get chance to visit, but that's about it. For shopping try Witney, about 9 miles. Bourton-On-The-Water and Moreton-in-The-Marsh your typical Cotswold villages are about 20 miles away.

Would go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: CrochetDiva 8 reviews from this member

 Our first time staying in a Camping Pod - we were meeting up with friends for a weekend's camping, but given the age of all of our children (small) and our general cold-bloodedness (great), we wimped out of staying under canvas. Cotswold View offered a compromise solution of wooden camping pods that we could hire for the weekend, thereby allowing us a little more shelter.

The pods are small - we were 4 in our pod, and could only just get 2 double airbeds in side-by-side, but they were well insulated, meaning that the fan heater we had brought with us could just be used to take the chill off in the evenings, and given the 100s of blankets we had, we could switch it off overnight. They have power and lighting in them, and each pod has a picnic table and metal bbq table outside. We really liked our pod experience, and will certainly consider it again if we want to go away when the weather's chilly, or just for a weekend.

The only downside of the pods themselves was that there wasn't enough designated parking for each pod to park a car: it wasn't a problem as the pods weren't full, but I would imagine that it could easily become a problem.

The site was only very sparsely populated during our stay, which meant that the whole field in front of us was empty - I imagine that when the site is full, that it would feel rather cramped and hemmed in by the tents and caravans in the field in front. There is one pod that faces outwards, directly onto the path for the loo block - fortunately we weren't in that one, but I would suggest that people intending to camp in the pods check that they won't be there either, as there was a total lack of privacy in that pod.

The site itself was absolutely lovely, well-kept, with very clean loo and shower facilities (they were cleaned every morning while we were there - the site owners have obviously taken on board previous reviews about the site). The showers were thankfully hot and powerful (it was very cold at below freezing both nights, so that was hugely appreciated) but they were too powerful for children to be taken into them. There is a bathroom (with a bath!), and a disabled / family shower-room - but we didn't try them out - although they looked clean and well maintained.

The children loved the parks, the football pitch, the giant draughts and chess. And talking to the donkey - and we all enjoyed using the skittle alley (£5 per hour). Our friends had brought tennis rackets with them, but there was no discount from the £5 per hour charge for the use of the court and rackets etc. , so they decided to just play on the field instead!

A great highlight for us was the chip van's visit on Saturday night - great fish and chips!

Will we go to Cotswold View again? Quite probably - it's an area none of us had really visited before, and it's a good central point between our 2 families in easy reach of all sorts of great places to visit. (We visited Oxford on the Saturday - the site is a comfortable 30 minute drive from Oxford's Pear Tree Park & Ride - whilst in Oxford, we went to the superb Pitt Rivers Museum). We may also camp in pods again, as they're a really good compromise solution.

However, as a family whose idea of heaven is a field with a tap and perhaps a maximum of 10 other tents, this site wouldn't be somewhere we'd go to in high season as it would be far too busy for us. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Emollie 5 reviews from this member

 We travelled on Good Friday for 4 nights, my wife & I and 2 children 8 & 10.

Very pleasant campsite in a good location to visit nearby attractions. Blenheim palace is 6 miles away. Boughton on the water about 15 miles.

The site itself is lovely, good play park for most ages, a small play park for toddlers, walks through the woods and there are farm animals on site to visit.

Newspapers and freshly cooked bread and croissants from reception each morning. One evening a chip shop van arrived, unfortunately we weren't aware of this. Showers were very clean, hot and powerful, may suggest they need underfloor heating, but it was only 2 or 3 deg outside. All staff were very helpful.

We would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 39 reviews from this member

 This is a splendid site. The field is beautifully kept, surrounded by woods which are accessible with well defined paths, great for walking the dog or playing with children. We were two adults and one dog in the unit however, because we are grandparents who quite often take grandchildren away with us we explored the three play areas and the indoor games area, they are well planned, well stocked and well kept areas, we even saw someone cleaning the indoor games area on the Friday before half term. The shop is well stocked and sells freshbread and papers. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Its peaceful and quiet, don't what it would be like in the summer school holidays though! Its also of course in a beautiful area within easy reach of the village with well stocked co operative store and plenty of shops including and Indian takeaway which was lovely. Its also quite central for visiting the Cotswolds villages and towns. Oxford well worth a visit.

Only down side to the site is the fact that the facilities in two beautiful buildings are too far away from the further reaches of the field, this includes the chemical disposal points. They are only cleaned alternative days which isn't really enough when busy, which it became whilst we were there. They could have been built further apart and more compass pointed to allow for easier access at the rear of the field.

This doesn't detract from the attractiveness of the site but worth mentioning.

Will revisit at some point and look forward to it. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: StuCunliffe 1 review from this member

 Visited Cotswold View in early September for our first family camping trip with our 2 young girls (aged nearly 3 and 15 months).

We found the booking service friendly and easy and the arrival welcome good with no delays. Our pitch was excellent and a good distance from all the other tents, although not the pods!

The site was excellently maintained and the toilets clean and spacious. The showers were a little on the powerful side which is fine for the adults but a little too much for very young kids.

There are 3 play areas for the kids, one of which is for under 5s only and has child safe flooring. The wooded area was great for the kids to explore and the campsite in general has lots of room for kids to run around but still within sight. The donkey and pigs were a great hit.

The nearby town is well worth a visit but you'd struggle on foot due to the narrow roads and no footpaths.

The only thing I would mention (not sure if this is a good or bad thing), they don't seem to implement any sort of noise curfew. A 40th birthday celebration in the wooden pods directly behind our pitch went on until after 2am and was quite noisy. Maybe a reminder to campers to keep it down after 12 would be a good idea.

I wasn't aware the on-site shop shut early as we were there in low-season but when I approached the young lad who often works there re-opened and let me make my purchases.

In all a great site, very family orientated and well run with helpful staff. Will certainly be going back. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


36356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement