Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Crazyguider 25 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site!

This is one of the nicest sites I've ever visited. Friendly staff, spotless facilities and immaculate site, with beautiful views.

The site is about 1/4 mile off the road so road noise is negligible, and is accessed along a lovely drive between fields.

Check in is in a small hut which doubles as a shop. You are given a card with a gate code for 5 which is refundable. You can also get wifi for 5, but we chose not to.

We were on a hard standing pitch with water on pitch, plus ehu. The pitch backed onto the woodland walk.

Pitching was easy as it was flat.

The site is a mix of grass or gravel standings, and there is a mix of tents and tourers.

There are plenty of trees on site so it's nice and sheltered.

You will also find 2 facilities blocks, with plenty of showers, loos and privacy cubicles, all spotlessly clean. There is also a family bathroom and 2 disabled wet rooms, plus campers veg prep area with fridge, freezer, microwave and kettle.

The 2 kids play areas are well cared for, as is the woodland walk and trim trail. The animal section is a real bonus, especially when lamb feeding is in progress.

There is also a covered games room with table tennis, air hockey, table football and pool - all very cheap, and the best bit - a proper skittles alley for 5 an hour, which we had a great time in.

We visited Cotswold Wildlife Park, which was a fab day out, Charlbury, the local village/town which has a co-op and lots of other pretty places and an excellent pub, The Bell, which serves lovely food. We also visited Oxford, but were disappointed as the museums close on a Monday, and there was a lot of construction work going on.

We had a lovely time at this beautiful site, and are planning to go back for a weekend soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kakadu3369 16 reviews from this member

 This is the 3rd time I have visited this lovely site as it is reasonably local to us and why do we need to go further afield when it has everything we need to accommodate 10 children and 5 adults. The shower & toilet blocks have plenty to accommodate the site and are always very clean with plenty of hot water and free hairdryers.

The children love to play in the woods that run down the length of the site as well as the games room.

The pitches are a good size and the site is managed well.

We visit many sites in a year and this is by far one of our most favourite as a family friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SGreen679 3 reviews from this member

 Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. That's all I can say.

The site is lovely, child friendly and lots of play areas. Countryside walks through the woods and to visit the farm animals. Staff very friendly and a well stocked shop with emergency rations. Very easy to get to and wide roads for beginners. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PaulBB 3 reviews from this member

 Well ditto all the other good reviews clean tidy well kept. The only issue I had was I couldn't get the WiFi to work but I was only there 1 night and I had internet on my phone so no big deal. Not sure why you have to pay 10 deposit for card with entry number on and card with wifi user name and password on for easy enough to write down but whatever I guess they have there reasons.

So would I stop again yes 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandyellis 1 review from this member

 This was the third time we have been to this beautiful camp site. Previous times we stayed in the pods but this time we did `proper` camping and pitched up a tent.

The site feels very safe and the children go off and play by themselves. We took our sons walkie talkies this time so we could keep a check on where they were which was great fun.

The toilet/shower block were always clean and well stocked.

Staff were very friendly.

As it rained for most of one our days we hired out the skittle alley which was great fun and dry! We took a flask and drinks and snacks for the children. It was very reasonably priced at 5 for the hour.

We had a great time and are hoping to return later in the year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crowdpleaser 3 reviews from this member

 We chose this site as it has playgrounds and plenty of toilet facilities!

Check in painless! A quick 10 handed over for barrier card and wifi and on our way. We were allocated pitch 44 which was great for the playground and proximity to the loos!

I can only commment on the ladies facilities. The loo block closest to reception and our tent housed 6 loos, 4 showers and 4 vanity cubicles (bit of a waste in my opinion as they were quite underused). The other block was bigger and had more loos but still 4 showers I think. The site was fairly busy but never had to wait for a loo or showers over the weekend. Shower was hot and not those awful push button ones. Cubicle a little cramped but still fine. Loo rolls are topped up 3 times a day that I saw and shut each block one at a time for cleaning early afternoon. The facilities blocks also help dishwashing sinks (5 I think), bathroom, a family shower unit, disabled unit, baby change, veg prep room with a microwave in and a laundry room with 2 washers and a dryer.

The walks around the site are really nice. Lots of woodland and the brilliant exercise equipment to have fun on. The animals are very sweet and my 5 year old loved stroking the goat!

Now the play areas, we backed on to the main one which had slide, swings, tyre swing thing, roundabout and climbing frame. All the kids congregated there and my two made some friends to play with. They were gone for hours, only returning for food! Be aware, it gets very noisy here and the fun goes on til half nineish. This didn't bother us as we don't put our kids to bed til dark when camping otherwise they don't sleep with all the noise and light around but it may bother you if you want quiet. There is another smaller playground with toddler swing, tyre swing, climbing frame in but this was quite underused and could probably do with a bit of extension or updating.

There is a small field with football goals which is a great idea as it keeps the ball games away from the tent. This was very popular with groups of mainly dads and lads! Same field has the zip wire. Oh the hours spent on this, hauling the seat back up for the next victim to go pelting down the run, swinging up, peals of laughter at the end! My two absolutely loved this (so did their dad. )!

We ventured to the co op in charlbury on friday for some sausages and burgers for the barbie. Its a well stocked shop but had one choice of sausage (richmond, bleugh) and no burgers so we took a drive to chipping norton and went to Sainsburys there which is a decent sized store.

We went geocaching on Saturday morning at Witney and there really are some lovely places to walk, it is the Cotswolds after all. Lots of good circular trails in the area if geocaching is your thing or just if you enjoy walking!

Chip van came on saturday. Very nice food, we only ordered chips to go with out dinner, it opens at 5 til 7. 30 and its worth getting there at 5, it takes ages to get served. We waited 20 odd minutes just for a bag of chips.

We loved this site and will definitely go back, kids are obsessed with the zip wire. Any negatives? Just two and they are small ones. The site boasts its lovely woodland walks around the site but doesn't provide any sort of map of them. We asked in the shop and were shown a picture of them but they couldn't provide us with a printed map. We would have liked this as well to mark where our pitch was to keep in our files for return next time. This is a bit of shame and easily rectified. The other is, don't bother with the wifi! We tried numerous times over the weekend to connect (to look at weather) and had zero luck, we just used our own mobile roaming!

All in all 9/10 cotswold view, provide the map and you get a ten! We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend. A great site we were pleased to have found. I can't really add anything over the other reviews other than to say they are keeping up their high standards

Pitch was great, we liked being able to place the van at the back with awning in front as we do in France.

Shower blocks were fine.

Kids loved the play area and zip wire.

Pitch was fairly level, no blocks needed which was appreciated as we have a twin axle.

Welcome was friendly.

Departure was friendly and it was nice to be asked if we enjoyed our stay, not many ask.

Shop was good for a small site and stocked all the essentials.

Very close to Blenheim palace, a great day out.

Also recommend Cotswold Wildlife park, a great day out with the girls.

Nice mixture of couples and families on site, including a couple of overseas travellers which makes for good conversation.

We will be going again. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John+Sheila 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed at this site during April 15, and we found it clean tidy, large pitches, lovely toilet block, hot showers and very very helpful owners and staff. Unfortunately we had an accident in our car and had to leave early. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful during this awkward time. We will definitely go back later in the year.

John & Sheila manning 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acampingwewillgo 8 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at Cotswold View although we chose the wrong Easter week weather-wise! The pitches are nice and big and we were told we could position our caravan whichever way we wanted as long as the pitch marker was in the middle. We paid 5 for the barrier number card and 5 for the Wi-Fi card which is refunded when returning them.

The shop stocked everyday essentials and had warm croissants and bread in the morning, best to pre-order the night before.

The pitches are mainly level but some vans needed levelling blocks. We didn't use the facilities but did use the laundry room which had two large washing machines, one large tumble dryer and a sink for hand washing. The play areas for the kids are great with the addition of a new zip-wire which was very popular. There is also a couple of football nets which are situated away from the pitches so no worry of getting unwanted balls flying your way! It is a very friendly site and the staff were lovely and worked very hard at keeping everything tidy. The woodland walk is ideal for dogs and little kids and there are also some outside exercise machines along the walk which gave us a giggle and an excuse for some funny photos! The local areas are lovely and we visited Chipping Norton, Charlbury and of course Hubby wanted to go to the Hook Norton Brewery! I would best describe this site as a real family site because of the great playground facilities and the 'safe' feeling it has for the kids. We will certainly be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cryten 2 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful site, the website does not do it justice. We (2 adults & 2 children, 5 & 2) stayed in a tent, whilst the farther in law, mother in law and brother in law stayed in a trailer tent, we all stayed for a 4 nights. When you arrive you have to paid 10 deposit for the entry and Wi-Fi, and they only accept cash for this, which could catch people out.

When we pitched up and tried to connect the hook up there was no electric. So I rang reception (didn't want to walk there as it was raining) and they had someone there in less than 5 minutes, and the problem was solved.

The whole site is kept very well, it is kept clean and tidy, the bins were emptied regular. The toilet/shower facilities were clean, but by wife did say there was a smell in the ladies, but I was later told that they had a blockage, but the other toilet block was fine. The playgrounds were great and the kids loved playing on them. The walks around the farm and woodlands were also lovely. The shop on site is small but does stock a good range of essentials, and the freshly cooked bread is superb, just remember to order it the day before. The staff were friendly and helpful, and asked several times about my son (has he was sick on the Saturday morning).

They have a chip van every Saturday evening, but get there early has we had to wait for nearly an hour before being served. I have been told that they are planning to build a restaurant, which would be a great addition to the site, hopefully it will have a bar to.

The one thing that was really good was that we enquired about staying for longer on the day we were leaving (as the weather was nice). They told us has long has the pitch is not booked, you can stay for day at no extra charge. We will definitely be returning to this site, probably later this year, has we all enjoyed our stay there. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


30373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement