Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LouLiz 36 reviews from this member

 Booked this site as we were trying to find somewhere in between Reading and Worcester and Birmingham. We did a family barbecue on the Sunday and as there were 6 children ranging from 4 up to 9 this site was perfect. We found everything about it very relaxing.

The zip line and playgrounds were ideal to keep the children amused for a few hours.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We probably wouldn't go there if there was just the 2 of us during the school holidays as there were a lot of kids and bikes but perfect for families and I'm sure when the children are back at school it would be less crowded.

There is a lovely woodland walk and farm animals to see and a good cafe on site. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: S willis 13 reviews from this member

 Spent a week at this lovely site. Well maintained toilets. Clean water near by. Bins emptied daily. Wish they had a leaflet to tell you where everything was. We were put right next to park on grass pitch, luckily it was low season.

I think they put us there because grass pitches were the cheapest, we are on a pension so have to be careful with money. You can order fresh bread from shop, sorry but the bread had no taste.

Fish and chip van came on saturday, fish was nice, chips were frozen so weren't very nice. Cafe on site far to expensive 2 pound for cup of tea. Lady on site said she'd been using the site for 8 years but never used the cafe for other campers told her how expensive it was.

Shame for if they lowered their prices they would get more custom 11 pound for a breakfast. Would we return, sorry no far to expensive 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DandB 19 reviews from this member

 We visited here for a few days as a base to explore the Cotswolds, and it was mainly a good experience.

The site is in a good location, close to Charlbury. It is a mature and attractive site, and they were re-turfing areas whilst we were there to keep it that way. Although a reasonably large site, the layout breaks it up into different areas to give it a nice feel. Pitches are a good size. The woodland walks are very good - big enough to be useful.

Although not particularly modern, the showers are good and toilets usually clean, although there always seemed to be water on the floor, meaning that you have to be careful to keep your clothes dry.

Our only negative relates to the site rules. When looking at site rules, as well as laying out the behaviour expected from campers, they inform prospective visitors of what they can expect from this site. The booking conditions or site rules stated 'unable to cater for groups', 'quiet must be observed between 11:00pm and 7:00am', '.

Open fires [is] strictly prohibited, as are log burners, fire baskets. '. It therefore came as something of a disappointment to be woken past midnight by a group of families from about 6 units (that the site had clearly put together in a block of adjacent pitches), around a blazing fire, getting louder as the evening progressed.

Another group, just a little further away, also with a fire, still playing music. In fairness to the site, a phone call prompted a warden to come and quieten things down, but it shouldn't have been necessary to be woken or to make the phone call. Either enforce your rules, or don't have them. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stint234 4 reviews from this member

 We visited here for four nights with a family of 6 the youngest being 6months and the eldest child being 7. The campsite was booked on a spur of the moment decision as the weather was nice.

We arrived at the site and found our spot which was brilliant as it was next to a big play park so the children could play whilst we put the tent up. There are three play parks there to play on as well as the trail which has some exercising equipment on which was nice. You can take a look around the farm yard animals seeing pigs, chickens, sheep Donkey and goats.

The toilet bock was brilliant and always clean, the games room was a good idea as well.

At the reception you could order fresh croissants and pan chocolate which went down a treat, there was also a lovely little cafe which served breakfast and cakes which we loved.

Whilst there we visited Warwick Castle, Bourton on the water and Moreton in the marsh which everyone really enjoyed.

The campsite was probably the best campsite we have stayed in and we will be definitely coming back for another visit.

This campsite is hidden away and really is a hidden Gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gravon42 1 review from this member

 We came across this site by accident, having been driving for hours. It was a last resort. Reception were very polite, and although very busy, found us a pitch behind the toilet block. I found it very expensive compared to a lot of sites, and their high season is very Long: 26th May to 3rd Sept.

Everything worked as it should, and very clean, but it is a noisy site with the bins being constantly filled by the wardens on loud squeaky trolleys, and lots of children!

The bowling alley is particularly loud, and should be relocated further away. Would not return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scaryahir 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely large grass area for our 6 man tent. Paid 10. 00 for card with code for gate and wi fi pass. Wi fi only worked near the gate at check in, so not worth paying for but no choice is given.

Lots to do for the children. Football, zip line, table tennis, tennis court (you need to pre book court), walks around site, animals etc. There were lots of smiling faces from children of all ages (including my 13 year a old and his friends).

Highly recommend walk to Charlbury where there is a co op, cafe, play park and choice of 4 pubs. You just need to follow the signs from the park and along a easy path there.

Cleaning facilities were clean in both ladies blocks but the hand dryers didn't work in the top block so people used the hairdryer that was there. The second block the hand dryer whimpered its way to life and was not at all good to dry your hands. There was 2 hair dryers there.

Washing up at the outside sinks was clean with copious amounts of hot water.

The food at the shed was very nice, breakfast we had on the last day I did think was expensive for what there was. The service was fabulous and really friendly girls. Food was tasty and hot.

On a Saturday a fish and chip van came from 5 - 7. 30. We were advised it does get busy. At 6. 15 we walked round to a massive queue. We waited 20 minutes and then heard the lady telling people at the front they had run out of fish. Then she told another set of people they had no more mushy peas. After 30 minutes still waiting it was announced that last bag of chips was cooking and they had no more!

I highly recommend you drive to Chipping Norton, park on Sainsburys car park and walk over to a fabulous fish and chip shop where food was delicious. Service excellent and very well priced.

Reception had a good stock of alcohol and food. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights in July when the weather was mainly fine. We were quickly checked in and located our pitch.

All of the services were excellent - good showers and toilet block which was cleaned regularly. The site was quiet, with very little road noise and on site was quiet even when full at the weekend.

The dog walk in the woods was appreciated as our dog doesn't like road traffic. Children were well catered for.

All in all an excellent site, well positioned for exploring the Cotswolds. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acampingwewillgo 8 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Cotswold View and it certainly didn't disappoint again. There is now an addition of The Old Shed which is a very pleasant on-site cafe, they do cakes, coffees and the most amazing milkshakes (salted caramel-yummy)! Like other campers have mentioned some of the hard standing pitches do need levelling blocks but if this bothers you just ask for a level pitch if possible when you book and they'll kindly try and sort one out for you. There is a on-site small shop for essentials and they also do warm croissants and bread for the morning, best to book the day before.

Charlbury is a pretty little village which is about a 15 minute walk from the site. You need to follow the woodland trail, cross the road and then down another track and through a field. There are a good few pubs and a co-op. I printed off some walks before we left home and we did a 4, 5 and 9 mile walk whilst there and found The Plough pub in a neighbouring village which served lovely food.

The facilities are very clean, a handy laundry room with two washing machines and a tumble dryer. The play areas are very popular with the kids and it's a fantastic family campsite, very relaxed and friendly. We will be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Easilyled 1 review from this member

 As mentioned in other reviews this is a lovely site, clean and tidy throughout with well spaced pitches.

The barrier key and Wi-Fi keys have been combined into one 10 cash deposit card now but I guess everyone was having Wi-Fi these days. You get it back on departure anyway.

Lots for the children to do, animals to see and several play areas.

Our second visit and not last. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunnycamper00 11 reviews from this member

 Check in was easy had to leave a deposit of 5 for a card for the barrier which we got back when leaving

Toilet block was always clean showers were lovely and hot and rather than a press button every few minutes it was a constant flow

Free hair dryer which was a nice touch

There was even a bath if wanted and a disabled shower room

The children's play areas is very good and the zip wire is a great idea

Enjoyed the many walks including seeing all the farm animals was nice to be able to let the dog have a good run and also have fun

Downside is the hard standings are not all level and access is via the grass which when wet becomes very waterlogged and can be difficult to drive off with or without a caravan

A lovely site and will be back its nice being able to stay until 12:30 on day of departure makes a change not having to rush 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


35837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement