Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brisan12 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed 7 nights. quiet & peaceful this time of year, not sure its my kind of site during summer and school holidays, ok if you got kids plenty to keep then busy. Clean and tidy site with nice size pitches but disappointed with facilities, toilets ok but not cleaned daily, showers too powerful and because of this everything got wet.

Water pressure to sinks was just the opposite to the showers barely a trickle and took forever to get hot water, I did complain to reception but nothing was done, floor not cleaned daily.

A lovely site but could be a lot better if a little care and attention was given to the above,

Staff in reception very pleasant and fresh bread & croissants daily, nice little shop and daily papers. Lots to do and places to visit in the cotswolds. Will try again next year, hope the facilities are better. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Split ends 8 reviews from this member

 The weather was perfect for the 3 days we stayed which made the whole location perfect! We chose this site as it was the closest for Blenheim Palace for the Bike event (which was also amazing).

I was delighted with our pitch it was a lovely size with mass frontage. Lovely hedge system to divide the plots and mass trees. Not far from the park which was brilliant for our little ones.

The toilet block/washing up area was well managed, clean and spacious. The showers were powerful but too small. A bath was available for little ones too. Fab professional hairdryer.

Handy shop but too small and confused with bookings and shop intermingled and at times not the best system.

Boys loved the forest walk, farm and the parks. The children were ferril in the evenings but they loved it and we felt happy with them running free.

The grass was well managed and obviously regularly cut. I would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yellowmini 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a four day stay at the site. We were a party of two adults and three youngsters (6, 8 and 14) staying in a tent and a trailer tent. The pitches both had electric hook up but one of the outside plugs was faulty. After reporting this to the staff, it was quickly sorted out.

Pitches were of adequate size. Our pitches were located right by the middle sized play area but this caused no issues whatsoever.

We found the staff to be friendly but the need for a cash deposit on arrival took us by surprise. Wifi was useful but did prove problematic to gain access to as there were too many users at a time - given the site was probably only half full, I was a little surprised.

The toilet blocks were clean and had lots of hot water. There were two free hairdryers to use. The only issue was the amount of time the soap dispensers by the sink were empty. It took two days before they were filled.

The walks around the site were great, as was stopping on the way at the work out equipment dotted around. It gave us an excuse to eat more bacon the next day! The farm animals area was a hit with both the adults and children alike. The piglets were adorable and we have never heard a donkey sound like it was being pumped up before. If you go, you'll know what I mean.

We will definitely return to the site next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CRICKETER 2 reviews from this member

 We had a hard standing with electric hook up The hard standing was very good, large size and the grass around it was well maintained and kept short. Five star prices for one star facilities. The site promises free wi-fi but only if you can manage to get on, there is obviously a limit on the number of users at any one time and much of the time this was the case much of the time.

We had booked in for a week but came home a day early because we couldn't stand the disgusting toilet blocks any longer. True, there was plenty of hot water in the showers but they were so powerful that they blew the shower curtains out of the tray and soaked everything in the cubicle unless you hung your stuff up high. Showering was quite an unpleasant experience and very difficult for parents with small children, several times I heard children screaming as they were suddenly hit by the force of the shower. Unfortunately it wan't the same in the hand basins where the water trickled out of the taps at a very slow rate.

We were there over the bank holiday weekend and the toilets were only closed for proper cleaning on the Saturday morning. I was in the block several other mornings when the toilets were being 'cleaned' and the technique used to clean the handbasins was to wear a rubber glove and simply use the wet glove to collect the hair etc from around the taps. The floors were not swept properly and there were bits of toilet paper etc. left. And the toilets were badly stained. When the hand basins in the cubicles were used there was a pervading smell of drains and my husband said it was the same in the men's toilets. There was no sanitizing block in the urinal trough and consequently it stank!

There are lots of facilities for children with a super playing area but you want to make sure that, if you do not want to be disturbed by the sound of children playing, you specify you want a pitch away from this area, as it does get very noisy until quite late into the evening.

The grass pitches and the hard-standings for caravans and campers etc. Are the best pitches on the site. I wandered through the fields where the tents where pitched and I have never been on a site where the tents have been so close together and allowed to pitch in what appeared to be a haphazard way.

Once the bank holiday was over the site was much emptier but we couldn't stand the thought of the thought of using the facilities any longer so we returned home. A good site but they need to think very carefully about their daily cleaning, campers don't mind scruffy or tired toilet blocks as long as they are clean but these certainly weren't. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smileydad 9 reviews from this member

 We visited this site during half term, and arrived during torrential rain. (thank you to the fellow camper who loaned us his tent putting up skills and wooden mallet)

The site was a bit boggy, with mud everywhere, but with the torrents falling from the sky this was to be expected.

The check in was quick, with a 10 deposit for the barrier access card and wifi access codes (free wifi whilst we were there which was great for the football and rugby supporters in our group - watching the matches in the afternoons)

The shop has basic supplies and lots of choice of white wines, but only one red wine (sob!), bacon but no sausages. Bread / croissants etc had to be ordered the day before, for collection in the morning.

There are several showers and loos in the gents (urinals, hand basins and hair dryer also), and I presume similar in the Ladies.

There is a laundry with washing machines and tumble dryer. A games room with things like air hockey (not working) and some other stuff but we didn't try the others.

Wash up areas and toilet emptying areas are with the toilet blocks.

Water pipes are positioned around the site, and bin areas are also fairly frequently positioned around the site.

Showers are the push button type, with the time set between 10 and 20 seconds (depending on which shower you get). There's a door hook and a stool to put stuff on, with the dressing area separated by a shower curtain. Loads of hot water and no-one had to wait for a shower or the loo at any time.

Kids play area near us was good with a slide, swings, roundabout, climbing frames. Also large chess and draughts board games.

There were other play areas and games but we didn't look at those.

There are walks from the campsite through woods, trails, passed farm animals with a weird looking pig that looked like a cross between a sheep and a pig with a ginger perm (we reckoned it was a shig!)

Kids loved it, and so did the adults, even though it rained for 2 of the 4 days we were there.

Any staff we came into contact with were great, helpful and smiling.

Nice site with lovely villages nearby, easy access to nearby larger towns too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

 Having stayed here last year we couldn't wait to return as my previous review will prove. I've just returned from my return trip to Cotswold View and I am disappointed.

Check in was quick and easy but there was no clear guidance as to where pitches began and ended, which resulted in some campers grabbing a little bit too much of a pitch.

The three pitches that hooked up to the one electric supply box all had problems with the supply and we all experienced the same rude and arrogant man telling us it was our hook up leads at fault, not his supply. The couple two pitches up from us even went to Oxford to get a new lead to find out that it was actually a problem with the sites supply.

The shower block was kept clean but a few silly things like one of the soap dispensers was empty all weekend, one of the grates was missing off of the shower drain (which my soap fell down) and the push button shower only lasting for 4 seconds. Its the silly things that really start to niggle.

When I left this morning I handed my gate pass in and received my deposit back, all the while being made to feel like an inconvenience. I didn't get any enquiries as to whether or not I enjoyed my stay.

It is such a shame as this is a lovely site, my boys loved both the playgrounds and the dog walk is fantastic, but, I don`'t expect to receive hostility instead of hospitality. I will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Willandkelly 1 review from this member

 A very good site with very good facilities - An abundance of hot water, site was in very good condition considering the wet weather we have been having. Plenty of things to do in the area also farm animals for the children too see and a woodland trail with activity equipment to get fit whilst on your walk.

Very helpful staff that couldn't do enough for you, Great location - showers and toilet facilities always clean - Well worth a visit and we will be going back in the future.

Great for all the family. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BIG DAVE 13 reviews from this member

 Having read the recent reviews and having stayed here recently and many times before i have to say that this is not the site I first visited 6 years ago.

I think because this site has been so good for so long that an air of complacancy has been allowed to grow. This visit saw the site the emptiest i have known yet the weather was roasting.

The grass pitches were overgrown, yet again the toilet block had drainage problems.

It is such a shame that the site is getting negative reviews as I love visiting here. Lets hope the people that matter read these reviews and act now. Please please build a separate shop and booking in building. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcool 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Stayed there for the weekend with wife, 11 year old and dog.

Pitched next to children's park, wasn't too bad for noise. My pitch was a little un-grassy for the tent to sit on, however pitch was nice and big and had bush in-between.

Area about is great and the wood walk for the dog is superb, nice little shop, staff friendly, not much going on in charlsbury, is about a 15/20 min walk, but is nice.

Was concerned initially as there seemed to be big groups for a meet up, however everyone was friendly and there wasn't much noise at all after half ten.

Showers were too hot and powerful, but that really is the least of worries, super site! 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RUCKY61 5 reviews from this member

 me and my wife have just returned from 2 night weekend break at cotswold view site, this was our first visit and it wont be the last, the site is on the edge of charlbury (15 minute walk downhill 20 minute back uphill).

The site is spotless large pitches we were on hardstanding plenty of room and the grass around was so lush.

The toilet and shower block were a little dated but very clean and the showers had red hot water. The shop was small but quaint, fresh bread and pastries in the mornings were so fresh.

The site had plenty of activities for children, there are farm animals and walks around the site.

The village of charlbury is beautiful great views, 3 pubs the bull is very nice, the rose and crown is the locals pub great ales, then there is the bell which I would not recommend not much choice of beers.

There is a train station in the village that runs every hour to Oxford and only takes 18 minutes, we went for the day well worth a visit.

We will be returning to this beautiful site and village again next year. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement