Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steffanie 2 reviews from this member

 This is a superb family caravan site. Very relaxed, with large pitches and plenty of trees. Friendly staff and handy shop with larger Co op in Charlebury.

Lots to do for children and great for dog owners with many woodland walks. Farm animals to view. Will return again and again.

Toilet blocks could do with a facelift but are clean and functional. Extremely relaxing and welcoming family site with much to do both on site and in area.

Excellent on site fresh baked bread and croissants which are FAB but best to book to ensure availability. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oldnewromantic 2 reviews from this member

 Lots of pluses and a couple of minuses for me.

As far as facilities go this site has thought of everything. The shop is small but the stock is well thought out. There is a tumble dryer and washing machine available and a freezer. Showers and toilets were kept clean, and the water was nice and hot. No charge for showers and hairdryers but tumble dryer and washing machine are 2 each.

The people running it were very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful lunch in the Bell in nearby Charlbury and stumbled across a beer festival in Leaford.

It was the first time we had used a hookup and it was well worth it.

The wifi is free but not very usable. I don't think you can use it for anything you have to sign into like facebook or twitter.

The let down for me was how crammed together the pitches were. It's the smallest pitch size we've come across so far, and our friends pitch was in a corner. This meant it was slightly smaller still, and blocked off by the first tent going up the other side.

Also the tents and caravans were mixed in together. There did seem to be slightly less tolerance from those with caravans than those with tents. Perhaps we were just unlucky with our neighbours.

The closeness of everybody also meant that you lost that feeling of being outside in space and air that I love about camping.

For pitch size, and for the mixing up of tents and caravans, we have marked the site facilities down, but everything else was great. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camperman6667 1 review from this member

 Love this campsite - so much so we are hoping to go seasonal next year! Staff very friendly & helpful. Shower & toilet block always exceptionally clean & warm.

Shop well stocked with option to order daily papers and pastries. Children always love the play parks and forest walks. Only down side is a horrid smell as you walk near toilet area (would hate to have a pitch near there!)

Grass is always kept short and well kept and overall always looks clean & tidy.

The toys in the under 5's section could do with replacing as most of them were broken - which was a shame!

We didn't find the campsite noisy at night but was awoken at 6am from children playing in the park in the mornings - way too early!

Would highly recommend this campsite! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed a 2 night stay at Cotswold View and really enjoyed it. For quite a large site it was generally very quiet and incredibly well kept. The children's play area was very good which kept my lads entertained for most of the weekend.

We arrived early and received a warm and friendly welcome and given clear instructions on how to get to the pitch. Our pitch, which was nice and level, was three pitches in one large area, which was more than ample and caused us no problem.

There is also a small farm which you are able to walk around. The Farm's Donkey braying in the morning was a pleasant alternative to a Rooster.

There is a Co-op in Charlbury which is only a 5 minute drive away.

The toilet blocks and washing up facilities were clean and well kept, although they are beginning to show their age.

All in all, this is a fantastic site which I would return to. My parents enjoyed it so much, they are going back in September. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sparkand 2 reviews from this member

 We are currently on site with 2 children and 3 adults.

The weekends have been very very busy (but during the week pleasantly quiet)with lots of children which is fantastic for our family to the point they only return when they are hungry or thirsty. Brilliant !

The site itself is wonderful with plenty to do with the parks, walks, skittles and a few table games for the usual british summer weather.

B&B on site for any family members that want to stay but don't enjoy camping.

The site shop although small is reasonably priced compared to others and the stock they keep has been very well thought out

The free wifi is a definite big plus

The toilets and washing up facilities are spotless but the showers and taps do suffer from the usual very short times between presses

The animals on the site have kept the children amused (noisiest donkey I have ever heard but it has become something of an amusement)

The pitches are large with electrical hookup and despite being fully booked we do not feel crowded

All in all I will be returning again which coming from me is a very unusual. The staff are friendly helpful and unobtrusive but are always available when required. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FOXY1969 2 reviews from this member

 Can't fault this campsite in any way. We stayed in a tent and had 2 teenagers in our party. Large pitches, free WiFi, games room, good on site shop, lovely views and surrounding villages. Out and about, we had an excellent meal (great steak)at the Cotswold Inn in Burford (15 mins by car), we also visited Broadway and Boughton on the Water - go to the Dragon Fly Maze great value and fun for kids and adults. Also went to Batsford Arboretum, nice walk and Bug Hunt on in August - well worth a visit. The site also has a nice walk in the woods attached to the site which has some exercise equipment dotted around and great views - excellent for dog walkers. Shower and Toilet facilities were also excellent - clean and never had to wait morning or evening. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mellie26 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a lovely weekend break at the Cotswolds View Caravan and Caming Park. We had 4 pitches of a good size all with electic hook up. The sight was very busy and our pitches seemed a little cramped with some people nearby not pitching correctly to the plots and young children walking inbetween our tents to get to the play area.

Apart from this can't fault this Park, toilet blocks were clean and plenty of showers available at all times. Lovely little play area where our daughter spent most of her time making friends. Small little games room with table tennis, pool etc. There was also Tennis available to book I think it was 2. 50 for half an hour to hire.

We went on the forest trail which was excellent and what a surprise we had with an adults outside gym equipment to use, brilliant never seen anything like it before but definitely recommend it, well worth a laugh!

Had a afternoon visit to Chipping Norton around 7 miles drive away. Took Fish and chips back to the Campsite one evening from the Artic Fish and Chip Shop just off the main street. All in all a great place to base yourself if visiting the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DumnoniiNomad 6 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site with clean modern facilities and good sized, reasonably level pitches. It's management are very friendly and helpful, and the free wifi is a real bonus!

Good little shop with fresh bread and pastries delivered every morning.

We were only passing through this time, but will definitely put this site on our list of sites worthy of a longer stay when we will be able to comment further on the town and the walks in the area.

It's a bit out of town, however there is a footpath that is mostly off the main road. It's a bit of a haul up the hill after 'refreshment' though! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slyboots 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as a group of 3 families with kids aged from 1 to 8. Booking the three pitches together was fairly straightforward but took a long time as I had to give full details for each family over the phone (address, ages of kids etc), I wasn't allowed to book all three pitches in my own name.

The pitches are level and a good size and there is hedging breaking up the fields, we had a good area of three pitches together with hedging around the edge. There are two facility blocks which were clean and easy to get to from all parts of the site.

This is a great site for those with young kids, with good facilities (including bathrooms with actual baths, much easier with toddlers than showers). There are three play areas including one with toddler toys. They seem to allow ball games in the camping fields, this was not a problem where we were (in a small field with more hedges) but I think some people in the bigger, more open field had problems with footballs being kicked into their tents.

There was no traffic noise but we were disturbed at night / early mornings as we were right next to one of the playgrounds and some parents seemed content to send the kids out to play at 6am whilst they had a lie in - this isn't really the responsibility of the site though, more lack of consideration from other campers. There is also a small animal area with a cockerel and a rather noisy donkey, which both started making a racket from dawn! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Baker 9 reviews from this member

 Some real cash has been invested at this lovely campsite. The heated toilet/shower blocks are kept very clean and have free showers. There are plenty of water points and rubbish bins around the site which are regularly emptied.

Every pitch has electric hook up. And there is a great wifi network covering the site - again not just stick up a cheap aerial and hope, several antenna have been installed on high poles across the site.

The wifi is free, you pay a returnable 5 deposit for a card giving you an individual username and password to access it.

Some thought has been given to the layout of the site, it doesn't feel big even when pitched right in the middle of it. There are plenty of trees dotted around the site and the pods look good too (although a little small we thought).

The site is gated and an access card is required to get in, this is a returnable 5 deposit. The pitches are allocated when you book and numbered. Loads of space to pitch, even for monster tents.

We stayed for a weekend - our party was 4 tents, 8 adults, 8 kids and a dog. We made use of the on-site skittle alley, the kids also loved the play area and games room. Campsite staff were very polite and helpful.

There is a lovely wooded area towards the back of the site which has some signed paths giving beautiful views across the Oxfordshire fields.

The village of Charlbury is just down the road and has a large Co-op open late. Maybe that's why the campsite shop in reception is rather small.

We enjoyed a lunch stop at the Fawkland Arms in Great Tew, about a 10 minute drive north from the site.

We would return to this well-kept site. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


33532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement