Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RobandTrish 2 reviews from this member

 What an outstanding site! This is by far one of the best sites we've stayed on. It's clean, friendly, and has everything you need on site and if there is anything you can't get at the shop the village is just a mile down the road. We will be using this site for our weekends away next year for sure!

The toilet blocks were spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water and so well planned. Free showers, free hair dryers, free electric hook up, free dogs, it just doesn't get much better.

Ideal for children we have 2 small girls and they loved it too.

It's worth 5*'s and worth every penny of its very reasonable price. Thank you 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linwolf 6 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here. Very nice site with enough to do for the kids, play area and safe trails for them to explore.

Small but well stocked shop, where you can order croisants for breakfast.

Toilet blocks OK and didn't have to wait.

Open sided shed building with table tennis, pool table and air hockey. Also farm animals including pigs, sheep, chickens.

Had a nice meal at the Swan Inn at nearby Ascott under Wychwood.

No noise problems.

Overall a good site and worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alcazzey1 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as part of a large family group for 3 nights. The site was excellent and the owners were very accomadating, friendly and placed us all together, next to the childrens play area (which was handy). However, if you didnt have kids and wanted peace, that was not the area for you! The pitches are quite large and where we were, 3 pitches together had a hedge around for extra privacy and it also helped shelter from winds! A little expensive but probably worth it as electricity is provided as standard but you pay extra for having children p/night, which I dont like.

The facilties onsite were excellent and we never saw our children during the stay as they were running around the site safely, either playing on the air hockey, spending money in the shop or playing in the playground. The playgrounds were safe and well kempt. The whole site was quite clean, although at times the waste disposal areas seemed to smell a bit. The bathrooms and toilets were good, plenty of showers, a bath for smaller kids and a few hairdryers in each bathroom. Generally clean but have been to other sites where the facilities are spotless. There is 2 family bathrooms, but the one we went into flooded easily and there wasnt much room, so wont use that again. Water was hot but didnt last long so had to keep pressing!

Definitely go here again, safe and plenty to do for the family and just relaxing. Good base to visit the Cotswolds, which is just beautiful. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linny2008 14 reviews from this member

 Cotswold View campsite was a brilliant setting for our first camping trip. We were very, VERY impressed with the setting and quality and upkeep of the whole site inc pitch size and especially, the facilities for children.

There was so much to do, out little lad LOVED his first camping trip and we were constantly out and about looking at the animals, in particular the rabbits! The walks around the campsite were lovely too, well kept and easy walking for a toddler.

There was just one teeny tiny weeny area which we felt could be improved and that was the quality of the showers in both the ladiesí, menís and family rooms in the block near our pitch. In the menís and ladies rooms you had to literally lean on the button with your back in order to physically do any washing of hair or body as they turned off as soon as you let go of the button, which was uncomfortable but hey - no queuing for the showers! In the family rooms the showers stayed on for 30 seconds or so which was much better BUT the cubicles themselves were in a pretty poor state. However all facilites were clean and warm. For 50p we could even dunk small mucky boy in a bath.

That said we had a fantastic time and will be recommending the site wholeheartedly to our friends and family. There were sooo many positive aspects to our stay the showers represented only a tiny part. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarek7 1 review from this member

 Best site I have visited in a long time. Well signposted off the A4022 (or something like that) 1.5 hours from home, this site is situated on the edge of the Cotswolds.
An enormous site with exceptional facilities including; pool table, table football, air hockey, table tennis, giant chess and draughts, three play areas, well stocked shop, tourist information centre, tennis court & skittle alley.
There were numerous taps dotted around the site so it was not far to fetch water. The toilet facilities are well maintained and clean, warm water in the shower and a bath for the ladies!

There is a boundary walk if you have a dog or just fancy a romantic stroll with the woman or man of your dreams and a farm trail. The Farm trail takes you past horses, ponies, pigs, chicken, sheep and, the wifes favourite, a Donkey.

Excellent site for kids and grown ups alike.

The weather was brilliant with temperatures up to 36įC. I will be visiting again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biggles10 3 reviews from this member

 Would totally recommend this site especially if you have young children and a large tent.

The pitches are very spacious (even for our Vango Diablo 900), all have EHU are there is loads to do on the site, esecially for little ones - 2 play areas plus under fives area, woodland walk, farm trail. Tennis court and bowling alley for hire.

The site was packed the middle weekend we were there - lots of chatter, children running around, but by 10.30pm the site was silent.

The shop is very well stocked and in some cases cheaper than the local shops. Home made bread fab.

Staff very accommodating.

Only minor gripe - the facilities could have been a bit cleaner (floors, windowsills etc), but I'm just being picky!

If you have a small tent, don't need EHU and don't have a young family, the £20 a night might seem a bit steep - for us it was well worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slyboots 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as part of a larger group. I think it might have been the same weekend as the previous reviewer as we also experienced a massive thunderstorm in the middle of the night - frightened all the adults to death but most of the kids slept through it!

But back to the review.

Overall I would echo the positive sentiments expressed by others. A pleasant site with good facilities. The shop has lovely fresh-baked bread and pastries but if you want some in the mornings, book it the evening before or else you will face a long wait!

I do have a few gripes: 1) we were pitched immediately adjacent to the septic tank and it was a bit whiffy, but nothing too awful. We were not given any choice of pitches.

2) they seemed to have temporary staff covering the busy Friday night booking in period, they were rather slow and disorganised and didn't give us any information about the site, but the (I would guess permanent) staff we saw the rest of the weekend were much more efficient.

3) one set of our friends couldn't arrive until the Saturday night. The site has a minimum two nights stay policy at this time of year, but we were warned about this beforehand and our friends had agreed to pay for the two nights even though they were only staying for one. However, on the Friday night, the warden came and got rather cross with us because the pitch was empty, accused us of not telling them the situation, and moaned that 'we could have let someone stay there you know' - even though we had told them what was happening, and our friends were paying for the pitch. We would have been a bit annoyed if they had been getting two lots of money for it! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LauraS 6 reviews from this member

 I can't add much to other people's comments really! We had a lovely weekend (despite the weather which was pretty wet, with a massive thunderstorm in the middle of the night!). We went as part of a large party and the owners made sure we were all pitched together. The pitches were very generous and despite the site being busy, we had lots of privacy and space. The showers were fine with lots of hot water and even a bathroom, great for those with babies / toddlers.

Although there's lots to do on the site and nearby with kids if it's fine weather, we couldn't find much for little kids to do indoors nearby. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Shauniedaddy 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a four day visit and had a great time. Staff are friendly and more than helpful, pitch sizes are more than generous, and although the site was busy it never felt like it. Showers and toilets were always very clean and we never had to wait. Playgrounds were great (never saw the children) and the farm trails were a big hit. Shop is small but had everything that you may need and at resonable prices. Nice walk into Charlbury, but not very much going on, a few pubs with pricey menus but otherwise very pleasant. Overall an excellent site for families as all quiet after dark, and a great base to explore the Cotswolds from. We will definitely visit again! 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tarquin_rach 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for the last weekend in April and were really fortunate with the weather.

Booking in was effortless, £5 deposit for barrier key.

Was given a choice of pitches and opted for one near the under 5s play area as we have a 3 year old. Pitches are very generous.

There are 2 play areas, one for under 5s and one for the bigger children, a large shed/hut houses air hockey, pool and table tennis which was all reasonably priced. There are outdoor chess & draughts also.

Showers (even a bath), toilets, washing up facilities adequate and spotless.

Small shop on site for basics and you can order your papers, croissants, bread for the following morning.

There is a farm walk around the site where you can see the pigs, sheep, donkey, horses, to our 3 year old's delight!

Charlbury is 2 mins in the car, and you can walk via the farm walk. There are some pubs, however we did not try them. There is a very reasonably priced Co-op here.

Overall an excellent site and will definitely be returning. Have already recommended to friends. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


21470 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement