Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park
Banbury Hill Farm, Enstone Road
Charlbury
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 3JH
Tel: 01608810314
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 28/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 231 Reviews
                9/10 from 231 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  231 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snifferg 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Cotswold View over the May Spring Bank Holidays with our friends, 4 adults, 5 children aged 13 and under and 2 dogs in total.

The site is ideally situated for touring the Cotswolds, Charlbury village has good pubs and Coop shop, Chipping Norton (8 miles or so) has a few more - takeaways, banks, a small Sainsbury’s etc.

Site is easy to find although all routes to it seem to take you through the village of Charlbury which is quite small but straightforward to navigate with care.

Entrance is through a security barrier and an access key is provided on arrival. Warden’s and staff very helpful

Our pitches were level, nice grass, easy to get the pegs in for the awning! We were next to the central play area which was convenient for the children if a little noisy at times but that was to be expected. Plenty of water and waste points about with facilities for recycling all usual types of rubbish.

Site has two toilet blocks, very cleans and well appointed, showers were hot and free. On-site shop good with essentials plus fresh baked (on premises) croissants and pain-au-chocolats every morning. Newspapers could be ordered.

WIFI available on-site for a deposit to cover the card containing the login details – plenty fast enough to keep up to date with what’s going on in the world.

There are ample activities to keep the children occupied – playground, mini football pitch, table tennis tables, air-hockey, outdoor chess etc plus a skittle alley and tennis court that could be hired for a small fee.

There are also a wood for playing in and a farm trail with horses, donkeys, pigs, rabbits and chickens. Farm trail also doubled as a dog walk with links off to footpath’s into surrounding countryside.

We all had a good time; it was less than an hour from our home (28 miles or so) so it’s somewhere we will probably visit again for a weekend stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiger-Lily 5 reviews from this member

 We're here in the middle of the half term week and having a great time. We are 2 families with children starting at 7yrs up to 10yrs.

On arrival we were met by a very busy reception as people were checking in and out, however we were very warmly greeted and given a full explanation of what's available. Entry card required with a returnable £5 deposit, also same for WI-FI

Good points:

Nice pitches with some flexibility and no extra charge for gazebos or dogs!

No amusements for the kids to want to spend money on

Playgrounds for all ages

Football pitch for those footie mad kids

Woods for the kids to play and for adults to walk in

Farm animals

2 shower blocks with hot water and relatively clean toilets

1 bathroom costing 50p for the hot water

Veg prep area which has a free microwave

Free hairdryer in the shower block (in the ladies anyway, not sure about the gents)

Small shop provides all those things you might forget to buy plus fresh 'pre-baked' bread and croissants every day, you can also order newspapers

Not so good points (well only one)

Showers in the first block are very very powerful and the flimsy curtain in the cubicle which divides the shower and dressing area moves with the force of the shower and creates a bit of a mess by letting water through(keep everything off the floor)

Would we come back, yes definitively for a quiet relaxing short break. Ideal for kids to get back to basics, make friends and have adventures. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family Brett 1 review from this member

 Our first real camping trip and we went with friends who had recommended this campsite as one they had stayed at before, no pressure then!

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (despite the downpour), we had a great time. The staff were very friendly on arrival, the process taking precious little time. Free wi-fi a real bonus, and the fresh croissants in the morning were just fabulous.

The shower blocks were always clean (although closing them both at the same time did result in crossed legs for longer than we would have liked, perhaps consider staggering the cleaning?!) and the other facilities (playparks, games room) were also well looked after.

Lots of lovely tearooms in nearby Woodstock, just as well after the long walks we did. Would definitely come again and strongly recommend for anybody looking for a high quality, well serviced campsite 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Camp4btan 2 reviews from this member

 Our first family trip in our folding camper couldn't have been better. We booked a fully serviced pitch (hard standing) backing onto the forest.

We turned up after Easter when it was lovely and quiet, but felt the pitches were close to each other and when the site was busy you could be very close to your neighbours. (but this being the first hard standing pitch we have been to, we can't really comment!)

Great walks in the forest, kids loved the play areas including the small area for toddlers with plastic slides and plastic cars.

Absolute bonus to find a bath in each shower/toilet block. 50p was worth it each night for the little ones.

Shower blocks really clean, heated and with a radio on! Only found the showers to be ultra powerful in one block and got your shoes wet.But that's just inexperience talking!

Adam Henson's Cotswold Farm Park is well worth a visit, only 1/2 hr or so away and loads for kids to do all included in the entrance price.

Great campsite and will definitely be coming back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alaina22 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from this excellent campsite, plenty do to for the children and all the facilities were nice and clean. Only criticism is that the showers only lasted in bursts of 5 seconds which is not great when trying to wash your hair.

Good sized pitches and I noticed there were lots of families in groups.

There was a games room and a skittle alley was available for hire.

Would definitely recommend to families. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ttxume 1 review from this member

 Having camped all over the world at many different types of sites and times of the year, I agree with many of the comments on here. It is potentially a lovely place, with plenty of plus points including the shower block and other facilities. Hubby and I went with the dog to get some R&R and do some fly-fishing nearby. The main draw-back of staying here was the noise level. It seems that management is no-where to be seen when kids are yelling and screaming at all hours of the night and starting up at 6am in the morning. This was unexpected and unwelcome in such a beautiful location. I know adults with children will perhaps think differently, but quite honestly the lack of basic respect for people’s privacy was appalling. Why would people leave their car radios playing loudly when they are right next-door to another pitch? Why would they be yelling WITH their kids with no attempt to quiet them down at 6am? These weren’t isolated incidents either. It went on for the whole four days we were there.

We walked to the town of Charlbury may times – lots of nice pubs and small shops. What a shame the butchers couldn’t make it work though – this was probably due to people stopping at the Co-op and going no further into the town.

Contrary to the comment below – there IS a cross-country route to the town. Please see the Ordnance Survey map of the area. It involves walking across the field to get to the bridleway from the site, which admittedly may be a pain in poor weather, however in the brilliant weather we had it was fine.

About half the pitches are in the shade of the trees and being pre-allocated we had no choice but to be under trees which prevented the tent from ever drying-out properly whilst others were in full sun all day (potentially a problem in Summer, rather than a problem in Spring).

Some of the pitches are close together. Great if you are travelling in a group like many of these people (below) were. However, this causes more noise problems for couples like us who value the peace and tranquillity of the countryside. Maybe this is a symptom of a site where the electricity hook-ups are included – personally I think the whole point of an escape like this is to get away from the intrusion of unnecessary noise and technology.

Will we be back? Maybe, if we do return, it will definitely be out of season, and I will be specifying what pitch I want. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deglenn 2 reviews from this member

 This really is one of my favourite sites. There are large toilet blocks (very clean) with excellent shower & washing facilities as well as good washing up areas with hot water!

The bin area was emptied on a regular basis & the whole site is well looked after.

The shop on site is small but offers all the basics as well as orders for hot bread & the prices are very fair. All the staff I came into contact with were helpful & friendly.

The play areas including the new adult exercise equipment which was placed here & there on the lovely trail walk was fantastic & so unexpected.

The animals were gorgeous, the pigs & the donkey were so friendly.

I spent 3 nights with my family this Easter & didn't need to go out in the car once, as I'd taken everything I needed, & the weather was perfect for exploring the beautiful surroundings by foot but even if the weather had been poor this site is just a drive away from so many attractions.

I'll be returning soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Susiejane 25 reviews from this member

 A marvellous site with something for everyone. We had 3 pitches together which were all quite large. We had plenty of room for a BBQ for all 13 of us without needing to move cars.

The children (ages 18 mths - 12 yrs) had plenty to do. The older ones enjoyed the woodland walk with the exercise machines and especially the horses and donkey, actually all of the animals! There was also a giant chess set and a giant draughts set for anyone to play as well as a tennis court.

They played in the park area and in the play room, in fact we saw very little of them! I suppose it helped that the weather was gorgeous, but I think it would be a good site whatever the weather.

There a lots of places to visit in the general area, Oxford is only a 20 min drive away.

Charlbury is close enough to visit for shopping at the Co-op but the camp site does have a good shop considering the size of it. I agree with a previous reviewer that it would be easier to sign in at a different place as the shop is so small.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The toilets and showers were always clean as was the rest of the site, it was obviously well looked after 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steveandstu 4 reviews from this member

 This site is one of the best we've been to.

The staff on arrival were very friendly & helpful. We needed 3 pitches together and they found us a great area by the kids playground.

The pitches are level with electric included, though we didn't use it.

The layout of the whole park works well. They even have pods to hire if you fancy leaving the tent at home.

The shower blocks were spotless at all times of the day, yet I never saw a staff member in there. Plenty of cubicles, sinks, urinals etc. And you even get to listen to Heart FM, which is played over the speakers while you shower.

The play equipment was good, our 6 year old spent many hours on it with other kids he met while there.

There is another area for older kids but I didn't visit that and they have a football pitch area with goals set up too.

There are farm animals for the kids to go & see while walking the Farm Trail, but they have also set up a Boundary Walk & a Woodland Walk, which are great for the dog walkers amongst us.

There is even wi-fi for those that need to keep in touch with the world.

The village of Charlbury is walk able (about a mile) but we drove down. Some lovely pubs & a Co-Op food shop.

The site has a very small shop within reception, but it lacks many items.

All in all, a fab site & we will be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: President_Gas 2 reviews from this member

 We spent two days in one of the 4-berth Pods on this site. We're a family of five so the Pod was on the snug side! But we booked it at short notice, too late to get a 6-berth Pod, and the dimensions are clearly shown on the website so we can't complain.

The larger Pods appear to be about three feet longer, so again, I think they'd be a bit tight for a family of six, but for five they'd be perfect. We had a dedicated parking space next to the Pod so it was no bother taking stuff to be left in the car as and when required.

Overall we were very impressed with the site and had a wonderful couple of days. The site was half-empty so was fairly peaceful - we intend to come back with our tent for a longer stay in the summer, when it will obviously be busier but we hope the site won't lose too much of its charm because of that.

The kids enjoyed the woodland walks, with exercise machines available to be used along one of them (great idea). Enough play areas to keep younger kids amused, and our boys made full use of the games room, which is small and a bit cramped, and the pool table has seen better days, but all games were reasonably-priced. We didn't use the tennis court but I had a look at it one morning, it's a carpet-type astro court and in excellent condition.

Nice to be able to get freshly-baked bread and croissants in the morning. The shop is small, but not as overpriced as many other such shops I've seen on similar sites, and seemed to have most of the things we needed (including butane gas, crucially, which I'd stupidly run out of on a Sunday evening.)

The toilets/shower blocks were nice and large and very clean. Showers were absolutely fine, our kids didn't think they were too hot.

Just a couple of small concerns - it struck me, as a relatively inexperienced camper, that some of the tent pitches were on sloping ground; only slightly sloping, but enough to maybe cause problems in wet weather.

Also, the Pods are split into two groups, one of 6 and one of 4. I'd strongly recommend trying to book one of the group of four, as the group of six (where we were) are right next door to the giant chess set, which was still being noisily used by kids with torches well past 9pm. As it happened, the kids in question were polite and apologetic when I asked them to quieten down a bit, but this could be a problem if more stubborn kids decide to pitch up there late in the evening, when you're trying to get your own kids to sleep.

Charlbury is a nice little town, a mile or so away from the site, easily walkable although, alas, there doesn't seem to be any cross-country route available, so the walk has to be done along the road (which isn't that busy). The newsagent in Charlbury is open very early, 5.30am I think. The Co-op opens at 7pm (later on Sundays).

We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. On the basis of this brief, two-day visit, we'd recommend this site to anyone, and we look forward to visiting again in the summer. 


Previous     231 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cotswold View Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


35196 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement