Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: 17/08/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
                8/10 from 212 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steveh2010 4 reviews from this member

 Quiet, well managed and spacious site in the heart of the western Lakes. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Good modern and clean facilities with only a few minute walk to the local pub and a two mile walk along a riverside path to two more.

Whilst we didn’t use them there are lots of fire pits spread around the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Richard fleetham 1 review from this member

 Excellent site to stay at. The site and facilities were very clean.

We used it as a base for climbing scaffell pike and it is well situated.

The staff on site could not do anymore for you and all very welcoming and friendly.

Will definitely be back in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Octopusann 3 reviews from this member

 I have stayed here many times before but this was the first time under the new management and with my new tiny camper, Dobby.

The site staff couldn't have bee more friendly or helpful especially when I got in a mess putting up my new awning. I will be going back.

The site is now fully bookable which is a godsend when coming from any distance.

A big thank you to the team for your welcome and assistance. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Epotter88 1 review from this member

 A fantastic campsite in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

Me and my family stayed 3 nights at Fisherground campsite in The Lake District in mid-summer 2018. Our group consisted of 3 adults, a teenager and a 3 year old.

Some of the things that really impressed us while camping at Fisherground were the immaculate toilet facilities, the beautiful surroundings and the ability to have a safe fire each evening we stayed there (there are many fire pits located on site).

As well as enjoying our stay here, one other standout memory from our camping holiday was catching the train from the campsite to Eskdale. The train runs right by the campsite and was a huge hit with our 3 year old boy. Brilliant! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamjp 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a nine night stay at Fisherground and would heartily recommend it. It's great to go to a site that allows campfires and our children loved the playground and rafting lake. It's a great base to explore the western Lakes.

The staff took great care about finding pitches that spared the grass, wouldn't get too wet, were near a campfire position and faced a good view - they clearly care a lot about campers enjoying their experience on the site!

And the enforcement of the 10. 30pm noise curfew was a winner for me! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GemDeanBill 3 reviews from this member

 1st time at fisher ground this year. We had the most fantastic experience. Great facilities, beautiful setting and so much for the kids to do without it being a holiday park.

The staff were all extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. We cannot wait to return for a longer stay in the future!

Compared to other campsites we have visited, Fisherground is more expensive, but we were happy with the value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rhi+Gav 11 reviews from this member

 Ok, let's start with the positives, of which there are lots! The site is surrounded by hillside which leaves a big open plan field with plenty of protection from the elements!

A gorgeous outlook from well laid out and flat pitches. Pitches come with a fire pit which is a nice touch for the cooler evenings and the wardens come and empty them daily ready for your next use of it. Wood is available to purchase at the reception area.

The shower and toilet facilities were good and cleaned regularly throughout the day. It is 50p via a coin meter to use the showers but it was hot and lasted for a good period of time, so worth it! The hair dryer in the bathroom was free to use and of decent power.

There was a small queue for the shower on our first morning as there are only 4 but later in the day it was clear.

The miniature steam railway line runs across the back of the site and it has its own stop, perfect for going to visit Dalegarth or Ravenglass in the other direction, without having to use your vehicle! It was a popular attraction!

The site is close to Scafell, which is why we were there so anybody looking to hike, it is a 25 minute drive away from the Wasdale starting point, although be careful as the roads are a bit dicey!

The King George VI pub is a mile walk (10 mins) from the site and the food was fantastic, with plenty of ales on tap! All great, now onto the negative. We'd had a pig of a 6 hour journey to get there. We arrived at the same time as our family members who had travelled from a different part of the UK. Having not seen them in months and keen to stretch our legs we didn't check in straight away and chatted near to reception.

We were approached by a female warden and asked if we were checking in. We advised that yes we were but we're just having 5 minutes. 2 minutes later she reappeared saying that we had to check in as we were holding up other people! We were in no hurry and they could have just checked in the other party ahead of us. We felt rushed and harassed which was totally unnecessary.

Post check in and payment (which was expensive!) she then proceeded to make us wind down our windows so that she could emphasise the site rules, particularly focussing on the no noise policy after 22:30. We must have looked like a lively bunch. We all found her to be very rude and discourteous which resulted in a very flat arrival - not the welcome we are normally used to when camping!

Later, once pitched we proceeded to erect the gazebo we had brought with us. The lads took it into an open space to put it together, clear of the other tents and the van in our area, she appeared from nowhere to advise that she had thought we would have been more thoughtful to our neighbouring campers if we were going to sit under it later that evening and suggested that we move it.

We advised that of course we were going to move it into our own area but simply using the space to put it together! It may not seem like a big deal but she had such an attitude it made it feel more like a concentration camp than a family camp site! A real shame when there were so many other positives about our stay.

This individual really needs to learn some customer service skills and learn not to judge a book by its cover.

We have been camping for over 10 years and are always particularly mindful of our neighbouring campers and adhere to site rules but this was just ridiculous! It really spoilt what was otherwise a very lovely break. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Horsesitch 14 reviews from this member

 This site is primarily for tenting campers. The valley is attractive and the train station is very handy for travelling up and down the valley.

Although the toilet block is very modern, it's not cleaned very well and one of the big negatives is that it's 50p to take a shower!

Well actually it's £1 if you like a reasonable shower as it runs out pretty quickly. Whilst we were there a couple of wardens had a major row in their caravan and sounded as if they were fighting physically!

Finally, as I pull a car with my motorhome, I was astonished to be charged for an 'extra car'; this has never happened to me in this country or across France. I would never go to this site again 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Fast but dim 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on a Friday night, for one night.

Very organised on arrival, pre allocated pitch, great location and facilities.

Pros.

Location

Excellent shower block

Professional staff

Large pitches

Superb for kids (fires and play area/pond)

Cons.

Allocated pitches

Quite a few rules.

In all, an excellent site, in a great location. Good value too.

Not my cup of tea (too many rules. I'm a farm campsite lover) but my 14 yr old loved it.

I'd definitely go back, but maybe with a group of families. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camogirl- 15 reviews from this member

 Had a nice 4 night stay over Easter.

They put us on a pitch next to the rocks outside the toilets very noisy and rocks busy with kids climbing on them. We had been previously told there was no electric hook up available but were some available. Toilet block kept very clean with lovely showers.

These are 50p but have plenty of time to wash hair etc. There is use of a washing machine and dryer if needed and freezer for freezer blocks only. They do have a drying cupboard for shoes but is always full with kids trainers for wellies.

The Steam railway has a stop at the top of the campsite (times available on site) which can take you to lots of different places and is the option of sitting inside or out.

Walk to shop is along a very busy road would advise walking on foot paths/ getting train or driving, there is no site shop. Only phone reception is EE WiFi is available in the café in Dalgarth. 


Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement