Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lou4 6 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay, which was helped by great weather, our children are 14 and 18 so obviously didn't use the play area but we thought it was great, really loved the idea of all the tents being able to have a fire. As we were out most days walking we were shattered by the evening and really appreciated the fact the wardens were on the ball as far as noise was concerned, not sure that all campers realise just how noisy they can be. All bins were continuously checked and emptied and toilets and showers kept really clean, overall great site just a shame we had to travel 5 hours to get there 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aconley 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back and found this site great we have an 8 year old son and he did not want to go out of the site for the 5 nights we were there, he loved it. The wardens are on the ball with noise, what I would say after half ten you can stay up and talk but nothing else as they are straight round - we got told of for the tv being too loud at half 9. But I think this was a good thing as it kept the site to its best and you were not kept awake by noisy neighbours, so think the wardens did a good job. Would def return but please take note on theire web site about how to get there, and not to go a certain way 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexyleprecaun 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from fisherground, I've been before and loved it, it was like camping in the wilderness.

When I first arrived on site I was slightly disappointed with how things had changed we were told that we weren't allowed to just choose our pitch any more (whereas before there weren't set pitches you just put your tent up where you wanted).

We were asked if we wanted a fire (YES! one of the main reasons for being there) and how big our tent was. The lady then radioed through the information to the man on site to locate a suitable pitch. I don't understand because on their rules it says you can choose any available pitches that have not been reserved.

Then it was made obvious that you were no longer able to park on the grass, or even to pull your vehicle onto it to dump your gear, you had to carry it, ok when you're near the parking area but we weren't.

The man showed my partner to the pitch, in the back of the small field behind the rocks, meaning that we had to walk through about 10 different pitches to get to ours or to clamber over the rocks. He told us that it was one of the best pitches on site because it was quieter.

Leaving the cars in the parking spaces means more pitches are available and also gave the effect of being out in the wilderness more, which I liked, just not the annoyance of carting the gear back and forth from the car.

For a while before the site filled up, and due to the rain the pitch was lovely and quiet we felt secluded, and was enjoying the peace, but then when the sun came out so did the kids. ( 5pm - 9. 30pm and then started again at about 8. 30am).

Despite there being a children's play area with water, climbing areas, etc they instead climbed all over the rocks surrounding our pitch and ran through our pitch too - so much for the peaceful quiet pitch we had been promised. He must have known that this would happen I mean it makes sense, all children have seen playgrounds, rocks are something new and exciting, and there was a good view from the top, children want to explore its only natural. (walking over the rocky area was the quickest way to the toilet block). I think we were fobbed off and put out the way due to being a young couple with a small tent.

I understand it is a family site and there are going to be children however he told us it would be the quietest pitch on site which was the complete opposite, and I wouldn't have pitched there given the choice.

The main selling points of fisherground are the scenic location and the fact that you can have camp fires, along with the little railway running along the back of the site and it having it's own stop.

The staff at fisherground are approachable and are strict with the rules, but are also available to help, offering those struggling to light a fire a hand to get it started.

The toilets and showers are clean, and it states that they are cleaned 3 times a day, I did bump into one of wardens on a cleaning routine, so it definitely gets done. The showers and toilets building is in a shed and there are only 4 sinks and showers so when the site is busy there are sometimes queues at popular times, particularly in the ladies. The bins are emptied daily, keeping down smells and flies.

You need 50p coins for the shower, 2 x 50p should do you for a shower. It is nice and warm.

Id advise to try and reserve a pitch if you can if you know the site well, and try to get there early so you can park in the designated parking bays.

You have to have left your pitch by 11am on the morning you are leaving, however you could still leave your car on site for £2 (good value considering I paid £7 at bowness for a full day) and jump on the railway to ravenglass, and walk back or catch a return train back.

All in all I enjoyed the stay but was a bit disappointed I couldn't choose my pitch anymore, I feel that if it's going to be a higher class more organised campsite then the showers and toilets should be updated.

The pub the king george iv is also welcoming and had local ales on tap, good prices and staff with good sense of humour.

I'd recommend if you're car is loaded up with all your camping gear you don't take the hardknott pass to get there, it might be the shortest route but it takes a long time as it is windy, narrow and constantly up and down steep slopes. The location once you get to site is excellent but the roads are a hassle. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robgoch 1 review from this member

 Just visited at the end of the half-term week with my 2 children (8 and 9): last years planned trip fell through so a lot of expectation riding on this - my fear was that I'd oversold it. Needn't have worried: it was superb, and I've not felt so chilled-out on any camp site so far.

The pond and adventure area drags in the kids straight away, so I felt I could get on with the tent easily. Very friendly vibe, lovely pitch (-the chap with the Midlands accent who convoyed us in was very welcoming, and showed us to a great spot in the central rocky area with overhanging trees).

Took a few minutes to realise just how lovely the valley was in warm evening sunlight, after a testing journey over Birker Fell from Broughton.

Barely saw the kids the following morning in between all the wet clothes being changed ! Loathe to gripe tho: I know its a cliche, but the masses of other children gel in these places, and they particular seemed to here: must be the pond.

Gripes ? Not really, but (1) they probably need a bigger washing-up area ! I took to boiling up water and scrubbing by my tent to avoid the queues

(2) like other correspondents: watch your freezer-packs ! Mine disappeared with 10 mins of going in the one inadequate chest freezer. I was convinced they'd been swiped - they were in a very distinctive bag - but one eventually turned up later, and having seen other campers desperately dragging out bags of packs to find their own, I concluded that stuff just falls out and gets grabbed if it bears a resemblance.

(3) watch out for the walk into the village: a bit of a trawl on a hot day with a whingy 8-year-old !

(4) - a mild caveat: I plumped for what I'd been told was a popular walk in Miterdale Forest (-from Eskdale Outdoor Bound Centre) up to Irton Fell and - eventually - views of Wastwater Screes. It turned out to be a steep, bearingless drag that eventually defeated us, and probably not to be attempted with young children. Try to get onto the Northern ridge of the valley immediately above the site, and you can head East and get the train back !

(5) don't move your car if you get a parking pull-in ! I ended up a fair hike from my tent, which made Saturday packing a bind.

Village shop is well stocked and friendly: and it's good to avoid having to trawl to Seascale or Ravenglass on what turned out to be minor roads.

Didn't try any of the pubs - tho' a couple of guys in nearby tents told me that the King George IV was lovely, with decent food (-that contrasts markedly with what people were saying on TripAdvisor last year).

The staff were all friendly and approachable: even the lady who ticked me off for contravening the one-way loop !

All in all a superb weekend: the kids were very glum to leave, which said it all. I suspect I've raised the bar, and will struggle to find as child-friendly a site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loonbin2 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner have just come from this camp site and found the camp site to be good and bad.

Pros- the fields are extremely flat and in very good condition. You can also have open fires and a local brings wood and kindling around in the evening which is really good(at a reasonable price.They don't accept groups of lads and girls so it is quiet.Though I don't have kids, the play area looked really good for kids.

Cons- the main con for me are the roads going into the site. They are not for the faint hearted. One of the roads going into the village is call hard nott pass. I would avoid this road at all costs. It has a 1 in 3 climb/drop with extremely tight hair pins. The other 2 ways in are better but it are still a nightmare.

The toilet block is not the greatest and I am no shower block snob.

Overall it is an OK site. Not one I would visit again mainly due to the roads and how long it takes to get any where but if you are after a remote get away this is for you.If not look elsewhere is my advise 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KBL6318 1 review from this member

 Third visit to the site - loved it! Kids mobiles are not on Orange so had a mobile and internet free time. No Facebook so the teenagers had to learn to talk to each other.

Will be back in August to enjoy the peace and tranquillity.

Need a stock of 50p for the shower, and money for the nightly visit of the ice cream van and the log man. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

Site was busy as it was half term and sunny but I was not disturbed either at night or in the morning. Looking forward to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fish111 3 reviews from this member

 I absolutely love this place both for its location and family friendliness.

Facilities are fine with showers that always work and plenty in number plus they are clean.

Lots to do for kids with a small adventure park and a small lake with rafts on them so take plenty of spare clothing as the kids get wet in no time as kids do. There are drying facilities so not a real problem.

The site is located between two pubs so take your choice on either as both are nice or you can stay on camp and have a BBQ on the permanent fire beds started with the logs that are sold on site which makes for a beautiful site if there is no wind and lots of people are having their fires going at dusk.

Plenty of walks to be had in the local area and the kids love the challenge of getting to the top of the hill behind the site.

Shopping in any of the nearby towns is easy as the miniature railway passes right past the site which has it's own alighting station.

The owners are strict on noise after 10. 30pm which is good and makes for an idyllic get-away for all the family. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Purl76 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed here after we turned up at our preferred site to find it was full, and the next on the list and the one after that too. This wasn't even on the list but I'm so glad we found it. We rang late afternoon and turned up early evening. The owner was really helpful, showing us to our pitch and providing us with wood for a fire (small fee). We were two adults on a walking trip and stayed for 4 nights. There was a lovely relaxed feel to the campsite with a fair amount of families. The children enjoyed the muddy pond with swing ropes and bridges. There were a few well behaved dogs as well. The facilities were great. Warm showers (50p), washing machines and tumble dryers and a boot warmer (I think). Fab pub down the road. Evening entertainment of sheep herding and the local railway all visible from the tent :-) One of my favourite camping holidays. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt_Don 1 review from this member

 “Don't believe all you read is true.”

Having read the mixed reviews before we booked we were somewhat apprehensive as we wanted somewhere to “chill and enjoy”. There were two families, 4 adults and 4 children aged from 11 to 8 and the site looked perfect, but the rules of the site were obviously upheld far beyond what we would consider to be reasonable going by some of the previous comments.

We arrived on Friday the 29th April and paid for the minimum 3 nights; even though we had to leave on Sunday afternoon as one of our party a medic was at work Monday morning. However, our pitch was great and we had the added bonus of being able to park both cars adjacent to our tents; although I know that a number of campers who were not as lucky. On arrival we were met by friendly staff, including Alison and she was all smiles, both before and after our stay! June was by far the most helpful and gave us advise on the walk up the Waterfall and the where to get the narrow gauge train back.

And yes, after the children had gone to bed, the 4 adults did stay up, with our camp fire lit and talked and drank well past midnight on both nights. We kept our voices at normal volume and we even cracked jokes and guess what. No one told us off! So either both Alison and her team had got the message to cut some slack off us hard working families or we were considerate enough not to disturb others, but still have a good time; make your own mind up!

Overall we had what we all agreed was one of the camping trips we had been on. Yes we would return and the King George IV pub (about 10 minute walk) is an English public house gem. What Fisherground lacks is a shop; simply put, it would make a killing and provide sustainable income and investment to make the site even better. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rm_pne17 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a sunny long weekend at Fisherground. Really enjoyed the experience of the campsite and the surrounding areas.We found the initial process of checking in to be fairly hassle free, we had a short wait before the barrier was open at 11 and were shown to our pitch by the warden; I know some people prefer to choose their own pitches but we were happy with where we were shown and got the impression we could have asked for somewhere different if we weren't!

The most pleasing aspect of Fisherground is the fact that you are allowed an open fire using old wheel rims provided on many pitches. Even if you aren't prepared for this and don't bring your own firewood, a friendly local comes round offering all you need to get a fire going, even for novices such as myself.

The toilet and shower block is clean and I feel the 50p charge is reasonable for a decent hot shower(and is probably necessary for a campsite of this size to prevent overuse of hot water)I did hear a few people complain about the showers being cold at around 8/9 in the morning but I never had a problem.

With us being a little old for the playground we sadly couldn't enjoy the zip wire and pond but it did look fun for those with children. The site generally did seem very family friendly as well as dog friendly!

The only negative I would mention is there could perhaps be an additional freezer as we struggled to find room for freezer blocks.

We visited the King George pub as well as Boot Inn and found them both good. Boot is about a half hour walk and Eskdale Green where there is a local village shop about 15 mins walk.

I highly recommend Fisherground, just one line of advice-don't use the hardknott or wrynose pass! 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5862 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement