Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fisherground Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Eskdale > Fisherground Campsite Reviews

Fisherground Campsite
Fisherground Farm
Eskdale
(lake District)
Eskdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA19 1TF
Tel: 01946723723  or  01946723723
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 215
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 211 Reviews
                8/10 from 211 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  211 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Losthobbit 1 review from this member

 Had seen the Independents review and I think one in Camper magazine so decided to use this campsite for a change, a family holiday was needed the boys needed some freedom. The play area was great, my five year old loved it, jumping in the pond, swinging on the zip wire. Lots of clothes are needed because this sites biggest downfall is the lack of a drying room. Being hardened walkers we need an adequate drying room to dry boots, gaiters and waterproofs, Fisherground has what appears to be a cupboard the size of a rabbit hutch screwed to wall, it took three days to dry one pair of boots!

Perhaps we never saw the campsite at its best as it rained all week, only one dry day.Good place to test out a new tent with an in built bath tub ground sheet.

The toilet block was kept clean, and the bins were constantly being emptied.

Overall if the site had a decent drying room we'd have had a much better experience. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheshiregirl18 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site on Bank Holiday Monday,when we arrived there were about 5 tents as most people looked like they had packed off.

Firstly we were put in the wetest area, if you had non electric there were plenty of spots to pick, but limited for the hookup.

Charged 2.50 per day for vehicle that was not allowed to go past the barrier so basically we could of parked the car down the road for free.

5 per night for a tent (vango 600) with 3 people in. On top of 5.50 an adult so watch these extra charges. There were 2 tents in the whole field for 2 nights.So not exactly taking any other space.

50p a shower is a bit steep no time information given, no change left out, we have been to campsites and they have had a loyalty change 'pot'

Staff only came out when new people arrived

Plus points the fire pits are a great attraction buy wood elsewhere its cheaper! also great base for walks, Scafell pike, pubs and the train. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RandT 4 reviews from this member

 A nice campsite but a bit pricey for what it is. You get charged per person which is fair enough but then they add a 5/night supplement if you have a large tent and charge 2.50/night to park your own car! It's 50p for a shower which don't last long before they cut out leaving you covered in soap The guy looking after the place patrols on his quad bike and he'll tell you where to park, to be quiet, you're fire is too big etc etc! Overall it's kept well, it's in good order and the shower/toilet blocks are clean. The kids enjoyed the play area too. The local shop in Eskdale is the only one for miles so expect to pay about double for everything! The nearest supermarket is a Co-op in Egremont which is about a half hour drive. Great place for walking but if you want to drive to the lakes for a visit it'll take well over an hour each way due to the narrow windy roads. Muncaster Castle is nearby which is worth a visit. Last piece of advice, unless you are a mountain goat don't blindly follow your sat nav to get there which will take you over the Hardnott Pass like we did. This is an extremely steep road both up and down, full of hairpins and sheer drops down the montains. Not for the faint hearted! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules22 3 reviews from this member

 I found this site to be a disappointment based on the reviews and recommendations. The actual location is spectacular with splendid views. The local village of Boot is also great with two very good pubs/restaurant. I would also recommend the old mill tour in Boot. However the location is not accessible easily to the eastern part of the lakes and you can be restricted in where you can travel to in a day. Also great is the small railway which runs past the site.

However the site itself is lacking in toilet/shower facilities. The showers are at least 1 and I am sure this is used to control the demand for them. The toilet block is clean but is old and inadequate.

The site also very easily water logs and floods. The biggest problem with this is that there is a single gate access from most of the campsite to the toilets and this gate regularly flooded, meaning that even a trip to the toilet means paddling through sometimes large amounts of mud and water. Particularly after rain.

I think we were the only people to dislike the fires. If you find the constant smell of smoke a nuisance then this site is not for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikkijdee 1 review from this member

 Have just spent 2 night at this site and the kids had a great time. The facilities were ok clean but not really enough toilets or showers for the amount of tents that were there. Plenty of great walks and a good shop up the road. Have a few gripes about it though, firstly thought it was quite expensive for what they actually provide, and found the wardens quite grumpy they were still accepting tents even when the site site was very full with people driving round looking for a space. We met plenty of great people but at 10:30 were practically sent to bed by the warden for talking outside a tent.

Having a fire was great but the site got really smoky. My sister came to stay with her baby for a night at it ended up costing her 21 to sleep in my tent because they have a 2 night rule even though I was leaving in the morning which I thought was a bit over the top as she wasn't taking up a pitch. But the kids loved it and would like to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neveragain 1 review from this member

 Just like to echo a few comments about Fisherground. We've been there for 4 out of the past 5 years. First year was superb and we had decent weather. Add to that a cheap and cheerful campsite set in wonderful surroundings with the added bonus of campfires and a good playground for the kids. Yeah, there was no shop on site, which meant either a 5 minute car journey into Eskdale, or a half hour trek uphill to the little shop (which has a decent supply of food, wine ect), but hey ho.

Every time we've been since though, the weather has got gradually worse. As soon as those fell tops above the site get misty, you know the rains coming and believe me, Eskdale is like a magnet for the stuff. We where also there this year when the heavens well and truly opened. Some poor sods were bailing out their tents with pans after the brook surrounding the site burst it's banks.

Weather can't be helped, but it wasn't just that.

5 years ago we paid 14 per night for two adults two kids and a dog. Last year it was 18, which is a fair enough inflation rise. This year though it was 25. When I queried this the lady said 'oh you have a large tent and we surcharge in the summer holidays for those'. Funny that, because we've had the same tent for the past 5 years and twice before came in the summer holidays without any surcharge. It's a heck of a leap in price and I suppose I could understand it if the facilities were improved, like adding a shop, but no.

Still, the walk to Boot alongside the river is great (watch out for a really steep drop though near the Boot end bridge). Two good pubs and one even has a small playground for the kids. We chose to get the little train back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellymack 1 review from this member

 I'd agree with a number of reviews that this is a nice site, but wouldn't go as far as to say it was fantastic.

I say this for a couple of reasons, firstly at 23.50 a night plus 50p every shower, I thought it was just a bit excessive. The facilities were limited, clean though and totally acceptable but we felt that as there was only the one toilet/shower block, it did get dirty really easily and quickly.

Secondly, the location is stunning but if you are in the Lakes to see everything on offer, then it is not the place to be. There is only one road in and out and can be a 50 mile drive to get to the east side of the lakes.

On a positive note, the owners were polite, helpful and seemed quite laid back in their approach.

My kids enjoyed the pond and adventure park, and I really enjoyed the fire pits. You can't beat sitting around a roaring fire out in the open. Magic.

The Eskdale miniature railway was excellent, and if you visit their sister attraction, The Steamers on Ullswater, you get a 50% discount voucher.

Unfortunately for us, the weather was truly dreadful, it rained non stop for 17 hours, perhaps some of the heaviest rain I have ever seen! It resulted in the river almost bursting its banks and large areas of the campsite were under many inches of water. Some tents were floating away! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: I need sun 11 reviews from this member

 Finally managed to stay on this site that I'd heard so much about & wasn't disappointed. We all (adults & children) loved it & would definitely return.

The curfew was fine as we were pretty knackered by 10.30 anyway (lightweights that we are!).

My only problems were:

- no shop which we weren't really prepared for (don't rely on Ravensglass for bbq food like us - you'll be sadly disappointed! We even considered highjacking the Tesco home delivery van)

- the nearest pub (sorry, forgotten the name - we turned right onto the road & walked for about 5 mins) is NOT recommended. We were immensly lucky as, just after our order was taken, there was a kerfuffle at the bar as they had stopped taking orders (at 7pm on a Saturday night!). We guiltily ate our food & left asap.Not sure what went on there.

All in all a brilliant site. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NikkiGar 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite in a gorgeous location. Fabulous facilities for the kids - we hardly saw them all weekend and lovely walks nearby. The facilities were basic but spotlessly clean. The only problem we had was that the wardens spend the whole day patrolling on quad bikes, literally coming past every 15 minutes to see what people were doing and the owner even told us off because the kids had used their shoes as goalposts (made it look messy apparently). The other thing we had an issue with was that they pounced on friends with a 2.50 parking fee as soon as they arrived, even though at one point they were just dropping something off. It's such a shame because with the facility to have campfires it really is a very special place but unfortunately you just feel a bit like you aren't trusted. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Eileen P 8 reviews from this member

 Have just got back from a 2 night's stay with my family, the site is very nice but we think that the curfew of 10.30 is a bit silly. We were told to be quiet at 10.45 as we were being to noisy! talking.

We have been to a lot of other campsites with rules but nothing like this one, and strongly feel that we will not be returning to this one.

Toilet block was clean, and there was plenty of staff, children's play area's are very good but a bit on the small size if the site was full.

I also feel they need a shop on site, as at 9 everynight the gates are closed. So if you were out having a meal, you would have to be back before 9.

Some people might like this curfew of 10.30 which is fine but I do think that is a bit early. 


Previous     211 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fisherground Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fisherground Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fisherground Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Eskdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4691 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement